DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Species BB, claims 1-3,7-12, 14, 20-29 in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges” and “a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites “promixal” which is presumed to be a typographical error and interpreted to be -- proximal --. . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3,7-12, 14, 20-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 25 recite “side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the side walls and the contaminant traps are “removably coupled to the base plate”. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. There is no way of determining what structure is required to have the side walls and the contaminant traps removed from the base plate. Since there is no way of determining what are the metes and bounds of the claim, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the side walls and contaminant traps are capable of being removably coupled.
Claim 20 recites “a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the contaminant traps are “removably coupled to the base plate”. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. There is no way of determining what structure is required to have the contaminant traps removed from the base plate. Since there is no way of determining what are the metes and bounds of the claim, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the contaminant traps are capable of being removably coupled.
Claims 3,7-12, 14, 20-24, 26-29 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,7-8, 10-12, 14, 20-22, 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerdan (US 20140109602) in view of Lin (US 20200324239).
Regarding claim 1, Cerdan teaches a condensate tray assembly (30, 32, 34, 12, 10) for filtering condensate from a heat pump (58, which is part of an air conditioner (i.e. heat pump)), comprising: a base plate (30, 32, 34) comprising a proximal end (see annotated Fig. below), a distal end (annotated Fig. below), a left side edge (annotated Fig. below), and a right side edge (annotated Fig. below), the proximal end configured to be elevated relative to the distal end (annotated Fig. below) such that the condensate from the heat pump flows from the proximal end of the base plate toward the distal end of the base plate (arrow flow, fig. 10); side walls (walls of 12).
Cerdan teaches the invention as describe above but fails to explicitly teach side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg and an outflow leg, wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray.
However, Lin teaches side walls (12) removably coupled (fig. 1) to the base plate (area holding 3) near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps (3) removably coupled (filter elements can slide out, paragraph 0002) to the base plate, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg (water into 3, Fig. 3) and an outflow leg (water out of 3, Fig. 3), wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray (dirt or contaminates, paragraph 0013) to efficiently collect dirt and contaminants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the condensate tray assembly of Cerdan to include side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg and an outflow leg, wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray in view of the teachings of Lin to efficiently collect dirt and contaminants.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that providing side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate would result in a difference in function of the Cerdan in view of Lin system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the system of Cerdan in view of Lin, would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed structure. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed removability solves any stated problem, indicating that the traps “may by” the claimed structure (see paragraph 0019), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the removability of the side walls and containment traps as claimed such that they produce an unexpected result.
Regarding claims 2, 21 and 26, the combined teachings teach the condensate tray assembly is configured to be slidably engageable (unnumbered brackets support 3 for slidably of Lin) with a condensate tray slot (opening of unnumbered brackets of Lin) of the heat pump, wherein the condensate tray slot comprises an opening (opening of unnumbered bracket supporting 3 of Lin) to an external surface of the heat pump (facing 12 of Lin).
There is no evidence of record that establishes that providing the condensate tray assembly is configured to be operably engageable with the condensate tray slot to filter the condensate and operably disengageable from the condensate tray slot to remove collected contaminants would result in a difference in function of the Cerdan in view of Lin system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the system of Cerdan in view of Lin, would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed structure. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed engagement solves any stated problem, indicating that the traps “may be” the claimed structure (see paragraph 0049), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the engagement of the condensate tray assembly as claimed such that they produce an unexpected result.
Regarding claims 3, 22 and 26, the combined teachings teach the condensate tray assembly is configured to be operably engageable with the condensate tray slot to filter the condensate and operably (fig. 3 of Lin) disengageable from the condensate tray slot to remove collected contaminants (fig. 3, paragraph 0002 of Lin).
There is no evidence of record that establishes that providing the condensate tray assembly is configured to be operably engageable with the condensate tray slot to filter the condensate and operably disengageable from the condensate tray slot to remove collected contaminants would result in a difference in function of the Cerdan in view of Lin system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the system of Cerdan in view of Lin, would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed structure. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed engagement solves any stated problem, indicating that the traps “may be” the claimed structure (see paragraph 0049), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the engagement of the condensate tray assembly as claimed such that they produce an unexpected result.
Regarding claims 4 and 27, the combined teachings teach the side walls are taller than the contaminant traps (fig. 3 of Lin).
Regarding claims 5 and 28, the combined teachings teach the condensate flows toward the distal end without overflowing the side walls when the contaminant traps reach a predetermined level of contamination (fig. 3 of Lin).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the contaminant traps further comprise one or more pleated screens (screen, paragraph 0011 of Lin).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein the pleated screens further comprise filter media (Hepa or carbon, paragraph 0011 of Lin).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach one or more of the contaminant traps are perpendicular to the side walls (fig. 3 of Lin).
Regarding claims 14 and 24, the combined teachings teach the heat pump comprises a condensate pan (78 of Cerdan) fluidly coupled to the condensate tray assembly (fig. 10 of Cerdan), the condensate pan configured to receive the condensate formed by the heat pump and transfer the condensate to the proximal end of the base plate (flow in fig. 10 of Cerdan).
Regarding claim 20, Cerdan teaches a condensate tray assembly (30, 32, 34, 12, 10) for filtering condensate from a heat pump (58, which is part of an air conditioner (i.e. heat pump)), comprising: a base plate (30, 32, 34) comprising a proximal end (see annotated Fig. below), a distal end (annotated Fig. below), a left side edge (annotated Fig. below), and a right side edge (annotated Fig. below), the proximal end configured to be elevated relative to the distal end (annotated Fig. below) such that the condensate from the heat pump flows from the proximal end of the base plate toward the distal end of the base plate (arrow flow, fig. 10); side walls (walls of 12).
Cerdan teaches the invention as describe above but fails to explicitly teach a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg and an outflow leg, wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray.
However, Lin teaches a plurality of contaminant traps (3) removably coupled (filter elements can slide out, paragraph 0002) to the base plate, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg (water into 3, Fig. 3) and an outflow leg (water out of 3, Fig. 3), wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray (dirt or contaminates, paragraph 0013); and the condensate tray assembly is configured to be slidably engageable (unnumbered brackets support 3 for slidably) with a condensate tray slot (opening of unnumbered brackets) of the heat pump to efficiently collect dirt and contaminants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the condensate tray assembly of Cerdan to include side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg and an outflow leg, wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across; and the condensate tray the condensate tray assembly is configured to be slidably engageable with a condensate tray slot in view of the teachings of Lin to efficiently collect dirt and contaminants.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that providing a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate and wherein the condensate tray assembly is configured to be slidably engaged with a condensate tray slot of the heat pump would result in a difference in function of the Cerdan in view of Lin system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the system of Cerdan in view of Lin, would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed structure. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed removability or engagement solves any stated problem, indicating that the traps “may by” the claimed types or others (see paragraph 0019, 0049), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the removability and engagement of the containment traps and condensate tray assembly as claimed such that they produce an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 25, Cerdan teaches a condensate tray assembly (30, 32, 34, 12, 10) for filtering condensate from a heat pump (58, which is part of an air conditioner (i.e. heat pump)), comprising: a base plate (30, 32, 34) comprising a proximal end (see annotated Fig. below), a distal end (annotated Fig. below), a left side edge (annotated Fig. below), and a right side edge (annotated Fig. below), the proximal end configured to be elevated relative to the distal end (annotated Fig. below) such that the condensate from the heat pump flows from the proximal end of the base plate toward the distal end of the base plate (arrow flow, fig. 10); side walls (walls of 12).
Cerdan teaches the invention as describe above but fails to explicitly teach side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg and an outflow leg, wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray.
However, Lin teaches side walls (12) removably coupled (fig. 1) to the base plate (area holding 3) near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps (3) removably coupled (filter elements can slide out, paragraph 0002) to the base plate and perpendicular to the side walls (fig. 3), each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg (water into 3, Fig. 3) and an outflow leg (water out of 3, Fig. 3), wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray (dirt or contaminates, paragraph 0013) to efficiently collect dirt and contaminants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the condensate tray assembly of Cerdan to include side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate and perpendicular to the side walls, each said contaminant trap comprising an inflow leg and an outflow leg, wherein the contaminant traps are aligned against the condensate flow to facilitate collection of contaminants present in the condensate as the flow of condensate traverses across the condensate tray in view of the teachings of Lin to efficiently collect dirt and contaminants.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that providing side walls removably coupled to the base plate near the side edges; and a plurality of contaminant traps removably coupled to the base plate would result in a difference in function of the Cerdan in view of Lin system. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the system of Cerdan in view of Lin, would have reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the system would function as intended being given the claimed structure. Lastly, Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed removability solves any stated problem, indicating that the traps “may by” the claimed structure (see paragraph 0019), and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the removability of the side walls and containment traps as claimed such that they produce an unexpected result.
Claim(s) 9, 23 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerdan (US 20140109602) in view of Lin (US 20200324239) as applied to claims 1, 20 and 25 in view of Hancock (US 20180347850).
Regarding claims 9, 23 and 29, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach a settling groove is formed between a pair of neighboring contaminant traps between the outflow leg of a first neighboring contaminant trap and the inflow leg of a second neighboring contaminant trap.
However, Hancock teaches a settling groove (260, 280) is formed between a pair of neighboring contaminant traps (255, 275) between the outflow leg of a first neighboring contaminant trap (flows from 275 to 255, paragraph 0049-0049) and the inflow leg of a second neighboring contaminant trap (flows from 275 to 255, paragraph 0049-0049) to promote the flow of condensate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the condensate tray assembly of the combined teachings to include a settling groove is formed between a pair of neighboring contaminant traps between the outflow leg of a first neighboring contaminant trap and the inflow leg of a second neighboring contaminant trap in view of the teachings of Hancock to promote the flow of condensate.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763