DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 2, the word -- a -- should be inserted after the word “from”. In line 4, the word -- the -- should be inserted after the word “from”. In line 5, the phrase “a drill rig” should be changed to -- the drill rig --.
In claim 4, line 1, the phrase “the first gas measurement” should be changed to -- the first gas measurements -- to provide proper antecedent basis. In lines 1-2, the phrase “the second gas measurement” should be changed to -- the second gas measurements -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 5, line 2, the phrase “a first gas sample” should be changed to -- the first gas sample --. In line 5, the phrase “a second gas sample” should be changed to -- the second gas sample --.
In claim 7, line 2, the phrase “the first gas measurement” should be changed to -- the first gas measurements -- to provide proper antecedent basis. In line 2, the phrase “the second gas measurement” should be changed to -- the second gas measurements -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 8, line 2, the phrase “the first sample” should be changed to -- the first gas sample -- for better clarification and consistency. In line 3, the phrase “the second sample” should be changed to -- the second gas sample -- for better clarification and consistency.
In claim 11, line 3, the word -- a -- should be inserted after the word “from”. In line 12, the phrase “the first gas measurements” should be changed to -- the first gas measurement -- to provide proper antecedent basis. In lines 12-13, the phrase “the second gas measurements” should be changed to -- the second gas measurement -- to provide proper antecedent basis. In line 15, the phrase “the first gas measurements” should be changed to -- the first gas measurement -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 12, line 4, the phrase “of the” should be changed to -- of --.
In claim 13, line 2, the phrase “the first gas measurements” should be changed to -- the first gas measurement -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 15, it appears this claim should be depended upon claim 14 to provide antecedent basis for the phrase “the expected ratio” in line 2 of the claim and furthermore, the phrase “the expected ratio” should be changed to -- the expected ration of the first gas measurement and the second gas measurement -- to provide better clarification.
In claim 16, line 2, the word -- a -- should be inserted after the word “from”. In lines 10-11, the phrase “the first gas measurements” should be changed to -- the first gas measurement -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 18, line 5, the phrase “the second gas measurements” should be changed to -- the second gas measurement -- to provide proper antecedent basis. In lines 6-7, the phrase “the first independently quality controlled gas measurements” should be changed to -- the first independently quality controlled gas measurement -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 1, the phrase “the first gas commands” lacks antecedent basis. In lines 1-2, the phrase “the making second gas” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3020916 (Guerriero et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Guerriero et al. discloses a mud gas analyzer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-3, a method for mud logging comprising making first gas measurements V2 (e.g. gas measurement value by analysis unit 19 at a plurality of measuring times in several samples of a drilling fluid; paragraphs [0016],[0024],[0059],[0061],[0070],[0082]; step 210) of a first gas sample obtained from a circulating drilling fluid 43 (e.g. injector for injecting drilling liquid; paragraphs [0021],[0022]) on a drill rig 13,15 (e.g. drilling pipe with drilling tool; paragraphs [0017],[0018]) using a first gas chain (e.g. paragraphs [0024],[0025]); making second gas measurements V1 (e.g. gas measurement value by analysis unit 19 at a plurality of measuring times in several samples of a drilling fluid; paragraphs [0016],[0024], [0059],[0061],[0070],[0082]; step 200) of a second gas sample obtained from the circulating drilling fluid on the drill rig using a second gas chain (e.g. paragraphs [0024],[0025]); defining a quality control window (e.g. predetermined range values R1,R2 for normal state; paragraphs [0096] to [0100]) for the first gas measurements from the second gas measurements; cross quality 125 (e.g. qualification unit to qualify the gases to be analyzed; paragraph [0052]) controlling the first and second gas measurements by comparing the first gas measurements with the quality control window (e.g. comparing V2 to the predetermined range values R1,R2; paragraphs [0096] to [0100]; [0096] – quality of each gas measurement values V1 matched with V2, then assigned to V2; [0115]). (See, paragraphs [0015] to [0128]).
With regards to claim 2, Guerriero et al. further discloses the making the first gas commands and the making second gas comprises measuring a composition of at least one alkane gas (e.g. hydrocarbon; paragraph [0070]) using a gas chromatography apparatus (e.g. gas-liquid chromatography; paragraph [0049]).
With regards to claim 4, Guerriero et al. further discloses adjusting the first gas measurement or the second gas measurement when the first gas measurement is outside of the quality control window (e.g. paragraph [0119] - gas measurement value to be filtered can also be adjusted to neighboring gas measurement through linear interpolation; paragraphs [0094] to [0112]).
With regards to claim 6, Guerriero et al. further discloses the first gas measurements are independently quality controlled; the second gas measurements are independently quality controlled; the defining comprises defining the quality control window for the first independently
quality controlled gas measurements from the second independently quality controlled gas
measurements; the cross quality controlling comprises comparing the first independently quality
controlled gas measurements with the quality control window. (See, paragraphs [0088],[0089],[0126],[0016],[0024],[0059],[0061],[0070],[0082]; step 200 and step 210).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3020916 (Guerriero et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0153955 (Strapoc et al.).
With regards to claim 3, Guerriero et al. does not discloses the first gas chain comprises a first degasser and a first gas measurement device and the second gas chain comprises a second degasser and a second composition measurement device.
Strapoc et al. discloses a system for mud gas logging comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-11, a method for mud logging 30 (e.g. mud gas analyzer system; paragraph [0038]) comprising making first gas measurements (e.g. gas measurements via flow line from gas analyzer 62; paragraphs [0039],[0042],[0043]) of a first gas sample obtained from a circulating drilling fluid 32 (e.g. circulated drilling mud; paragraphs [0033],[0036],[0039]) on a drill rig 12,14 (e.g. drilling string with drilling tool; paragraphs [0032],[0033]) using a first gas chain 36 (e.g. first flow line; paragraphs 0036],[0039]); making second gas measurements (e.g. gas measurements via flow line from gas analyzer; paragraphs [0039],[0042],[0043]) of a second gas sample obtained from the circulating drilling fluid on the drill rig using a second gas chain 41 (e.g. flow line; paragraph [0039]); the first gas chain comprises a first degasser 61-1 (e.g. degasser; paragraph [0039]) and a first gas measurement device 62-1 (e.g. gas chromatograph spectroscopy; paragraph [0043]) and the second gas chain comprises a second degasser 61-2 (e.g. degasser; paragraph [0039]) and a second composition measurement device 62-2 (e.g. (e.g. gas chromatograph spectroscopy; paragraph [0043]). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the first gas chain comprises a first degasser and a first gas measurement device and the second gas chain comprises a second degasser and a second composition measurement device as suggested by Strapoc et al. to the system of Guerriero et al. to have the ability to extract gas from the drilling mud and direct the gas to be analyzed for a more enhanced measurement system to evaluate the gas. (See, paragraphs [0015],[0039] of Strapoc et al.). At the same time, as indicated in paragraph [0004] of Guerriero et al., degassers are frequently used and is a well-known concept without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claim 5, Strapoc et al., modifying Guerriero et al., further discloses the making the first gas measurements comprises obtaining a first gas sample from the circulating drilling fluid using a first degasser and making the first gas measurements on the obtained first gas sample; the making the second gas measurements comprises obtaining a second gas sample from the circulating drilling fluid using a second degasser and making the second gas measurements on the obtained second gas sample. (See, paragraphs [0039],[0040],[0067]).
With regards to claim 7, Strapoc et al., modifying Guerriero et al., further discloses the defining the quality control window comprises determining an expected ratio of the first gas measurement and the second gas measurement (e.g. ratio of isotopic measurements; paragraphs [0043],[0045],[0047], [0066],[0080]).
With regards to claim 8, Strapoc et al., modifying Guerriero et al., further discloses the expected ratio is equal to a coefficient multiplied by a ratio of a drilling fluid flow rate through a first degasser used to obtain the first sample and a drilling fluid flow rate through a second degasser used to obtain the second sample. (See, paragraphs [0044],[0054],[0065],[0067], [0075],[0082]).
With regards to claim 9, Strapoc et al., modifying Guerriero et al., further discloses the defining the quality control window further comprises defining first and second control limits from the expected ratio to define the quality control window (e.g. range of kinetic isotopic; paragraphs [0075],[0054]).
With regards to claim 10, Strapoc et al. does not explicitly specify such parameter where the expected ratio defines a center of the quality control window, as claimed in the claim. However, to have set such test characteristics as in the clam is considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities to the operator and/or manufacturer that would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0153955 (Strapoc et al.) in view of EP 3020916 (Guerriero et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Strapoc et al. discloses a system for mud gas logging comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-11, a method for mud logging 30 (e.g. mud gas analyzer system; paragraph [0038]) comprising making first gas measurements (e.g. gas measurements via flow line from gas analyzer 62; paragraphs [0039],[0042],[0043]) of a first gas sample obtained from a circulating drilling fluid 32 (e.g. circulated drilling mud; paragraphs [0033],[0036],[0039]) on a drill rig 12,14 (e.g. drilling string with drilling tool; paragraphs [0032],[0033]) using a first gas chain 36 (e.g. first flow line; paragraphs 0036],[0039]); making second gas measurements (e.g. gas measurements via flow line from gas analyzer; paragraphs [0039],[0042],[0043]) of a second gas sample obtained from the circulating drilling fluid on the drill rig using a second gas chain 41 (e.g. flow line; paragraph [0039]); defining a quality control window (e.g. results are compared to samples taken from reservoir at reservoir pressure and temperature conditions which is this quality control window; paragraphs [0005],[0007],[0015], [0040]) for the first gas measurements and the second gas measurements. (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0085]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is cross quality controlling the first and second gas measurements by comparing the first gas measurements with the quality control window.
Guerriero et al. discloses a mud gas analyzer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-3, a method for mud logging comprising making first gas measurements V2 (e.g. gas measurement value by analysis unit 19 at a plurality of measuring times in several samples of a drilling fluid; paragraphs [0016],[0024],[0059],[0061],[0070],[0082]; step 210) of a first gas sample obtained from a circulating drilling fluid 43 (e.g. injector for injecting drilling liquid; paragraphs [0021],[0022]) on a drill rig 13,15 (e.g. drilling pipe with drilling tool; paragraphs [0017],[0018]) using a first gas chain (e.g. paragraphs [0024],[0025]); making second gas measurements V1 (e.g. gas measurement value by analysis unit 19 at a plurality of measuring times in several samples of a drilling fluid; paragraphs [0016],[0024],[0059],[0061],[0070],[0082]; step 200) of a second gas sample obtained from the circulating drilling fluid on the drill rig using a second gas chain (e.g. paragraphs [0024],[0025]); defining a quality control window (e.g. predetermined range values R1,R2 for normal state; paragraphs [0096] to [0100]) for the first gas measurements from the second gas measurements; cross quality 125 (e.g. qualification unit to qualify the gases to be analyzed; paragraph [0052]) controlling the first and second gas measurements by comparing the first gas measurements with the quality control window (e.g. comparing V2 to the predetermined range values R1,R2; paragraphs [0096] to [0100]; [0096] – quality of each gas measurement values V1 matched with V2, then assigned to V2; [0115]). (See, paragraphs [0015] to [0128]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing cross quality controlling the first and second gas measurements by comparing the first gas measurements with the quality control window as suggested by Guerriero et al. to the system of Strapoc et al. to have the ability to easily visualize and determine whether the quality of the gas measurements might be erroneous. (See, paragraph [0115] of Guerriero et al.).
With regards to claim 2, Strapoc et al. further discloses the making the first gas commands and the making second gas comprises measuring a composition of at least one alkane gas (e.g. methane; paragraph [0040]) using a gas chromatography apparatus (e.g. gas phase chromatography; paragraph [0043]).
With regards to claim 3, Strapoc et al. further discloses the first gas chain 36 comprises a first degasser 61-1 (e.g. degasser; paragraph [0039]) and a first gas measurement device 62-1 (e.g. gas chromatograph spectroscopy; paragraph [0043]) and the second gas chain 41 comprises a second degasser 61-2 (e.g. degasser; paragraph [0039]) and a second composition measurement device 62-2 (e.g. (e.g. gas chromatograph spectroscopy; paragraph [0043]). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0085]).
With regards to claim 4, Guerriero et al., modifying Strapoc et al., further discloses adjusting the first gas measurement or the second gas measurement when the first gas measurement is outside of the quality control window (e.g. paragraph [0119] - gas measurement value to be filtered can also be adjusted to neighboring gas measurement through linear interpolation; paragraphs [0094] to [0112]).
With regards to claim 5, Strapoc et al., modified by Guerriero et al., further discloses the making the first gas measurements comprises obtaining a first gas sample from the circulating drilling fluid using a first degasser and making the first gas measurements on the obtained first gas sample; the making the second gas measurements comprises obtaining a second gas sample from the circulating drilling fluid using a second degasser and making the second gas measurements on the obtained second gas sample. (See, paragraphs [0039],[0040],[0067]).
With regards to claim 6, Guerriero et al., modifying Strapoc et al., further discloses the first gas measurements are independently quality controlled; the second gas measurements are independently quality controlled; the defining comprises defining the quality control window for the first independently quality controlled gas measurements from the second independently quality controlled gas measurements; the cross quality controlling comprises comparing the first independently quality controlled gas measurements with the quality control window. (See, paragraphs [0088],[0089],[0126],[0016],[0024],[0059],[0061],[0070],[0082]; step 200 and step 210).
With regards to claim 7, Strapoc et al., modified by Guerriero et al., further discloses the defining the quality control window comprises determining an expected ratio of the first gas measurement and the second gas measurement (e.g. ratio of isotopic measurements; paragraphs [0043],[0045],[0047], [0066],[0080]).
With regards to claim 8, Strapoc et al., modified Guerriero et al., further discloses the expected ratio is equal to a coefficient multiplied by a ratio of a drilling fluid flow rate through a first degasser used to obtain the first sample and a drilling fluid flow rate through a second degasser used to obtain the second sample. (See, paragraphs [0044],[0054],[0065],[0067], [0075],[0082]).
With regards to claim 9, Strapoc et al., modified by Guerriero et al., further discloses the defining the quality control window further comprises defining first and second control limits from the expected ratio to define the quality control window (e.g. range of kinetic isotopic; paragraphs [0075],[0054]).
With regards to claim 10, Strapoc et al. does not explicitly specify such parameter where the expected ratio defines a center of the quality control window, as claimed in the claim. However, to have set such test characteristics as in the clam is considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities to the operator and/or manufacturer that would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claims 11-15, the claims are directed to apparatus claims and are commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 1-3,7-9 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Furthermore, Strapoc et al. further discloses a processor 80 (e.g. paragraph [0048],[0055]-[0057]) configured to generate a log depicting the first gas measurements and the quality control window.
With regards to claims 16-20, the claims are directed to method claims and are commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 1,3-4,6-10 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references cited, particularly Crownover, Codazzi, Niedemayr, Hanson, Greer, Droge, Gzara and Rowe, are related to mud logging system comprising a circulating fluid on a drill rig; gas measurements of gas samples, and degassers for the gas samples.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855