DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the October 1st, 2025 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”).
Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received in the Remarks on October 1st, 2025:
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are pending in the current application. Claims 6 and 8 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on October 1st, 2025 with respect to Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are acknowledged, however, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art of record fails to read on the claim limitation “the battery energy system is capable of simultaneously powering the battery set and the reefer container when an external power supply is connected to the battery energy system” as cited in Claim 1 is not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant’s argument that because the previously cited Woodsworth reference (“Woodsworth” US Patent 8,295,950) discloses a power management system that redirects the available power sources to demanding components that it cannot read on the instantly claimed battery energy system is not persuasive.
While Applicant is correct in stating that Woodsworth discloses a power management system that redirects available power from power sources to demanding components, the power sources are still within the power management system of Woodsworth. And, therefore, the power management system of Woodsworth does supply the power to demanding components.
It is noted that Woodsworth was used as a secondary reference in the rejection to modify the primary reference of Sadeghi (“Sadeghi” US PG Publication 2021/0083335). While the power management system of Woodsworth may be slightly different than the claimed battery energy system, the benefit of simultaneously powering a battery set and a reefer container when an external power supply (including a generator) is connected to the battery system being to ensure sufficient charge to the battery energy system would be true regardless of any potential differences between the power management system of Woodsworth and the claimed battery energy system.
Based solely on this argument, the rejection of record is maintained.
Applicant’s argument that the APU Charger 42 of Woodsworth is not an external power supply is not persuasive.
Woodsworth explicitly states that the APU charger 42 may supply its power from an external source including a generator (Col. 23, lines 5-18). Therefore, a battery connected to the APU charger 42 that is receiving power from an external source is an external power supply as the charger acts as the medium for the external power supply to enter the battery.
Based solely on this argument, the rejection of record is maintained.
Applicant’s argument that Woodsworth does not supply enough power to operate the reefer container is not persuasive.
The Woodsworth reference was not used at any point in the rejection to read and/or teach on a specific power supply requirement. As currently written, Claim 1 requires that external power supply be connected when the battery energy system powers both the battery set and the reefer container. There is no specific requirement that the battery need to be the source of said power. As currently written, the external power supply is sufficient for powering both the battery set and the reefer container. The system solely needs to supply the power, which would be received from the external power supply.
Additionally, Woodsworth does not define a specific maximum battery capacity or size. It is wholly unclear how Applicant arrived at the conclusion that the battery of Woodsworth is insufficient.
Based solely on this argument, the rejection of record is maintained.
Therefore, the rejection of record is maintained. Any modifications to the rejection are as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “wherein the battery energy system is capable of simultaneously powering the battery set and the reefer container when an external power supply is connected to the battery energy system” as found in Claim 1, lines 12-14 is interpreted such that the battery set and the reefer container are simultaneously powered by the battery set. The source of this power may come from either the external power supply, to which the battery energy system is connected, or an internal power supply, such as a battery. It is also possible that the simultaneous powering of the battery set and the reefer container may be provided by a combination of the external power supply connected to the battery energy system and an internal power supply.
Prior Art
Previously cited Sadeghi US PG Publication 2021/0083335 (“Sadeghi”)
Previously cited Gu KR102112726 (“Gu”)
Previously cited Hilse DE102011086495 (“Hilse”)
Previously cited Tate US PG Publication 2021/0178913 (“Tate”)
Previously cited Woodsworth US Patent 8,295,950 B1 (“Woodsworth”)
Previously cited Hanke DE102011012723 (“Hanke”)
Previously cited Chung US PG Publication 2020/0335836 (“Chung”)
Previously cited Curran US PG Publication 2021/0313569 (“Curran”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadeghi US PG Publication 2021/0083335 in view of Gu KR102112726, Hilse DE102011086495, Tate US PG Publication 2021/0178913, and Woodsworth US Patent 8,295,950.
Regarding Claim 1, Sadeghi discloses a battery energy system (i.e. battery-based system) to supply power to a reefer container (i.e. refrigerated transport) (Abstract, [0002]), the battery energy system comprising:
a battery management system 202 comprising a battery set (i.e. battery unit 201), a battery management controller (i.e. control system 204) ([0025]), an Internet of Things (IOT) gateway ([0032]), and a cooling (and heating) system 205 ([0025]);
a housing adapted to contain the battery management system (Abstract, [0025]), the housing having a substantially rigid back and a substantially rigid bottom for supporting the battery energy system (Fig. 1, [0024]),
wherein the battery energy system is adapted to supply power to the reefer container (Abstract).
Sadeghi fails to disclose a DC/DC converter, a DC/DC controller, an inverter, and a control panel.
However, Gu discloses a battery energy system (e.g., battery cell charging system) ([0001]) comprising: a battery management system (e.g., BMS) ([0001]) comprising: a battery set (e.g., battery cells) ([0001]), a battery management controller (e.g., control unit of the BMS) ([0001]), an Internet of Things (IoT) [gateway] ([0064]), and a cooling system (e.g., thermoelectric element) ([0039]).
Gu teaches the battery management system further comprises a DC-DC converter ([0039]), a DC/DC controller (e.g., charge controller) ([0090]), inverter ([0015]), an ON/OFF switch ([0037]), and a control panel (e.g., control unit) ([0023]) such that the battery management system can control the power supply ([0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery management system of Sadeghi to further comprise a DC/DC converter, a DC/DC controller, an inverter, an ON/OFF switch and a control panel such that the battery management system can control the power supply, as taught by Gu.
Sadeghi in view of Gu fails to disclose an insulation monitoring device and a plurality of DC contactors.
However, Hilse discloses an energy storage system that has universal usability for vehicles that use a large amount of electrical energy ([0001]-[0003], [0010]). The energy storage system comprises a battery management system (e.g., BMC) ([0006], [0065]), a DC/DC converter ([0039]), and a control panel (e.g., control device 54) ([0054]).
Hilse teaches an insulation monitoring device (e.g., insulation monitoring unit 66) to trigger a shutdown on the energy storage device in the event of a short circuit ([0061]) and a plurality of [DC] contactors (e.g., main contactors 50, 52) for controlled connection and disconnection of the energy storage device ([0058])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the battery energy system of Sadeghi in view of Gu would further comprise an insulation monitoring device to trigger a shutdown on the energy storage device in the event of a short circuit and a plurality of DC contactors for controlled connection and disconnection of the energy storage device, as taught by Hilse.
Sadeghi in view of Gu and Hilse fails to disclose that the housing is adapted to be fastened to the reefer container via at least two brackets each having a centrally located connection point adapted to receive a fastener.
However, Tate discloses a power storage device with a housing a housing (Abstract). Tate teaches a vehicle fastening member that can be easily positioned and reliably attached ([0006]) such as to adapt the housing to be fastened to a vehicle via at least two brackets (i.e. engagement protruding portions) each having a centrally located connection point adapted to receive the threaded vehicle body fastening member (Fig. 7, [0008]-[0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery energy system of Sadeghi in view of Gu and Hilse to adapt the housing to be fastened to a vehicle, including the reefer container, via at least two brackets each having a centrally located connection point adapted to receive a threaded fastener so that the easily position the housing within the reefer container, as taught by Tate.
Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, and Tate fails to disclose wherein the battery energy system is capable of simultaneously powering the battery set and the reefer container when an external power supply is connected to the battery energy system.
However, Woodsworth discloses a battery energy system (i.e. power management system) including one or more energy storage devices to supply power to a reefer container (i.e. refrigerated truck) (Col 4 Lines 1-20), the battery energy system comprising: a battery set (i.e. auxiliary power unit including one or more batteries – APU battery 46) that is capable to provide power to both AC and DC accessories and a cooling system (i.e. an air conditioning system – APU air conditioner 40) (Col 4 Lines 37-45 and Col 5 Lines 40-62); and wherein the battery energy system is adapted to supply power to the reefer container (Col 2 lines 35-41 and Col 4 Lines 1-11).
Woodsworth teachers that the battery energy system is capable of simultaneously powering the battery set 46 and the reefer container when an external power supply, such as the APU charger 42, is connected to the battery energy system (wherein the power supplied to the reefer comes from an additional battery set 46 or an additional primary battery within the battery set 46 within the battery energy system that is not actively being charged by the APU charger 42) in order to ensure sufficient charge to the battery energy system (Col 6 Lines 19-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery energy system of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, and Tate such that the battery energy system is adapted to supply power to the reefer container and the battery energy system is capable of simultaneously powering the battery set and the reefer container when an external power supply is connected to the battery energy system in order to ensure sufficient charge to the battery energy system, as taught by Woodsworth.
Regarding Claim 2, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth does not explicitly disclose wherein the control panel comprises an outlet receiver, an inlet charging port, a display and a switch box.
However, Gu discloses wherein the control panel (e.g., control unit) comprises an outlet receiver (e.g., command received from the user terminal) ([0037]), a display ([0053]), and an ON/OFF switch [box] to be able to control the current of the battery ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the control panel of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth to further comprise an outlet receiver, a display, and an ON/OFF switch box to be able to control the current of the battery, as taught by Gu.
Further, Hilse teaches cables 26, 28 in which charging current or voltage flow through (inlet charging port) to charge the energy storage system (battery) ([0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery energy storage system of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth to further include an inlet charging port within the control panel in order to charge the battery, as taught by Hilse.
Regarding Claim 5, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
Sadeghi discloses wherein the reefer container is capable of maintaining an ambient temperature of 40o Celsius (which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of between -40 degree Celsius and +52 degrees Celsius) via power supplied by the battery energy system as shown by a performance chart of the system (Fig. 12, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
Sadeghi discloses wherein the battery energy system is configured to supply the reefer container with at least 0 kW (which overlaps the claimed range of 15 kW) of power (Fig. 12). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding Claim 7, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
Sadeghi discloses wherein the battery energy system is a three-phase power electrical system ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 8, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 7.
Sadeghi discloses wherein the three-phase electrical system is capable of supplying a voltage output ranging from 380 Vac to 480 Vac ([0006]) (which encompasses the claimed range of 440 volts to 460 volts). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
The skilled artisan would recognize that 1 Vac is equivalent to 1 volt.
Regarding Claim 9, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
Sadeghi discloses wherein the IoT Gateway is configured to provide wireless connectivity with the battery energy system (i.e. wireless capabilities) ([0032]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 7.
Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth fails to disclose wherein the IoT gateway is configured to provide real-time charging system status.
However, Gu teaches wherein the IoT gateway is configured to provide real-time charging system status in order to display the status to the user ([0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the IoT gateway of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth to be configured to provide real-time charging system status in order to display the status to the user, as taught by Gu.
Regarding Claim 11, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 2.
Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth fails to disclose wherein the switch box permits manual control of the battery energy system and includes real-time system status gauges.
However, Gu teaches wherein the ON/OFF switch [box] permits manual control (e.g., via user terminal remote control command) of the battery energy system and includes real-time system charging status gauges (e.g., comparing the charging voltage of each battery cell to a standard value) in order to block charging when a cell is out of range ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the switch box of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth to be able to permit manual control of the battery energy system and include real-time system status gauges in order to block charging when a cell is out of range, as taught by Gu.
Regarding Claim 12, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
As previously described in the rejection of Claim 1, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth discloses wherein the battery management system further comprises pushbuttons (e.g., ON/OFF switch) adapted to start and stop the battery energy operations (e.g., charging) (Gu [0037]) and a contactor (Hilse [0058]) (which meets the claim limitation of at least two selected from the group including pushbuttons adapted to start and stop the battery energy system operations, a contactor, a plurality of relays, and a plurality of fuses).
Regarding Claim 13, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
As previously described in the rejection of Claim 1, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth discloses wherein the fastener is an axle pin (e.g., threaded fastening member) (Tate Fig. 7).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadeghi US PG Publication 2021/0083335 in view of Gu KR102112726, Hilse DE102011086495, Tate US PG Publication 2021/0178913, and Woodsworth US Patent 8,295,950 (as applied to Claim 1) and further in view of Hanke DE102011012723.
Regarding Claim 3, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1, but fails to disclose that the cooling system comprises a pump, a cooling unit, and a coolant reservoir.
However, Hanke discloses a cooling system for an electric energy storage device ([0001]). Hanke discloses a lithium ion battery 7 with a cooling system ([0057]) comprising a pump ([0021]), a cooling circuit 16 (cooling unit) ([0057]), and a coolant expansion tank (coolant reservoir) ([0021]) within a three-phase electrical system such that an additional thermal element is not needed during an increased power loss ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the battery energy system of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth would further comprise a pump, a cooling unit, and a coolant reservoir within a three-phase electrical system such that an additional thermal element is not needed during an increased power loss, as taught by Hanke.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadeghi US PG Publication 2021/0083335 in view of Gu KR102112726, Hilse DE102011086495, Tate US PG Publication 2021/0178913, and Woodsworth US Patent 8,295,950 (as applied to Claim 1) and further in view of Chung US PG Publication 2020/0335836.
Regarding Claim 14, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the cooling system is fluidly connected to the inverter to prevent overheating of the inverter.
However, Chung discloses a battery for a vehicle comprising a cooling system (i.e. electric device cooler) and an inverter (Abstract, [0029]-[0030], [0046]).
Chung teaches the cooling system is fluidly connected (i.e. circulating cooling water) to the inverter to prevent overheating of the inverter and a motor ([0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cooling system of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth such that wherein the cooling system is fluidly connected to the inverter to prevent overheating of the inverter and the motor, as taught by Chung.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadeghi US PG Publication 2021/0083335 in view of Gu KR102112726, Hilse DE102011086495, Tate US PG Publication 2021/0178913, and Woodsworth US Patent 8,295,950 (as applied to Claim 1) and further in view of Curran US PG Publication 2021/0313569.
Regarding Claim 15, Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth teaches the instantly claimed battery energy system of Claim 1.
While Sadeghi does not explicitly state that the cooling system is housing in a slide out drawer removably inserted in the housing, Sadeghi does teach that the housing comprises one or more doors to provide access to the various components and/or subsystems, including the cooling system ([0024]).
Further, Curran discloses a battery bank 770 that comprises a cooling system, such as an insulator, that can be externally powered and power an apparatus ([0048]). Curran teaches the use of a battery drawer within the housing (i.e. portably unfolding solar panel array system) that is easily removed and can easily slide in and out of a main support frame such that the battery bank and its components, including the insulator, provide quick access for the user ([0053]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery energy system of Sadeghi in view of Gu, Hilse, Tate, and Woodsworth such that the cooling system is housed in a slide out drawer removably inserted in the housing to provide quick access for the user, as taught by Curran.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729