DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 3/1/2024.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bone (US 2003/0095842) in view of Izumisawa (US 6311583).
With regard to claim 1, Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), comprising: a body (8, 12) comprising: a handle portion (6), comprising: a connection (36, 38) to an energy source; and a switch (30, 32) connected to the energy source (34); a motor housing portion (12) rotatably attached to the handle portion (6) at a hinge point (78), the motor housing portion (4) comprising: a motor (16) connected to the energy source (34); and a head (20) mechanically connected to the motor (16) and having a tip (as shown in fig.4), the tip (28) oriented to rotate about an axis orthogonal to an axis of rotation of the motor (16); wherein the switch (30, 32) is configured to provide energy to the motor from the energy source when the switch is pressed; and wherein the motor housing portion (4) is configured to rotate at the hinge point (78) with respect to the handle portion (6) except for at a total angle of travel of at least ±20°.
Izumisawa teaches an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (33, 61) including a different angle of pivot/rotation deemed of at least ±20° (see fig.1).
In view of Izumisawa teaching, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time filing to modify Bone with the travel angle of at least ±20° for the purpose of angularly positioning the tool relative to the handle during use (Abstract).
With regard to claim 2, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), wherein the switch (32) comprises a trigger (30) configured to rotate about a hinge point (76) fixedly attached to the handle portion (16).
With regard to claim 3, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), wherein the handle portion (6) further comprises at least one button (40) configured to prevent the motor housing portion (4) from rotating about the hinge point (76) when the at least one button is in a locked position, and to allow the motor housing portion (4) to rotate about the hinge point (76) when the at least one button (40) is in an unlocked position.
With regard to claim 4, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), wherein the energy source is a battery (34).
With regard to claim 5, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), wherein the battery (34) is a rechargeable, removable battery.
With regard to claim 6, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), further comprising a directional switch (44) positioned on the head.
With regard to claim 7, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), wherein the directional switch (44) is configured to change the direction of rotation of the motor (16).
With regard to claim 8, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), wherein the motor (16) is an alternating-current or direct-current electric motor.
With regard to claim 9, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), wherein the motor (16) is a pneumatically (Izumisawa fig.1) actuated motor and the energy source is a source of pressurized gas.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bone (US 2003/0095842) in view of Izumisawa (US 6311583) and further in view of Nowak Jr. et al. (US 6547015) hereinafter (Nowak).
With regard to claim 10, modified Bone discloses an angle-adjustable ratchet tool (2), except for at least one grip element positioned on the handle portion. However, Nowak teaches an angled wrench ratchet including at least one grip element (27) positioned on the handle portion (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bone tool handle with a grip element in order to provide non-slip and cushion handle. Further, grip element on the tool handle is within the engineering purview of the skilled artisan, and does not provide unexpected result.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
7/7/2026