DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei Bi et al (“Fabrication and characterization of As2S3/Y3Fe5O12 and Y3Fe5O12/SOI strip-loaded waveguides for integrated optical isolator applications”, as attached in IDS dated 12/27/2024, “Lei”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lei discloses a magneto-optic thin film (description discloses: “We report two novel strategies to integrate magneto-optical oxides on oxidized silicon and SOI platforms based on strip-loaded waveguide structures”), comprising:
A substrate (description discloses: “In this study, we report the integration of a polycrystalline YIG film on oxidized silicon and SOI substrates using As 2S 3/YIG and YIG/SOI strip-loaded structures);
A diffusion barrier layer disposed on the substrate and comprising a metal oxide (description discloses: “To evaluate the magneto-optical properties of these films, a 500nm YIG film was deposited on a transparent MgO substrate and crystallized by rapid thermal annealing under similar conditions”; Figure 1(c) discloses the room temperature Faraday rotation spectrum of a 500 nm polycrystalline YIG film growing on an MgO substrate);
A buffer layer disposed on the diffusion barrier layer (description discloses: “Figure 1(c) shows the room temperature Faraday rotation spectrum of a 500 nm polycrystalline YIG film growing on an MgO substrate”);
An optical isolation layer disposed on the buffer layer (description discloses: “We expect that, although not observed in X-ray diffraction patterns, a small fraction of amorphous or secondary phases I responsible for scattering in the polycrystalline YIG film, therefore increase the material lose at near infrared wavelengths. This loss mechanism has to be reduced or compensated by materials with stronger magneto-optical properties, such as Bi/Ce:YIG, to allow the fabrication of low insertion loss optical isolators in the future”).
Regarding Claim 2, Lei discloses the magneto-optic thin film of claim 1, wherein the metal oxide comprises at least one of magnesium oxide (MGO) or zinc oxide (ZnO) (description discloses: “Figure 1(c) shows the room temperature Faraday rotation spectrum of a 500 nm polycrystalline YIG film growing on an MgO substrate”).
Regarding Claim 5, Lei discloses the magneto-optic thin film of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises at least one of silicon (Si), silicon-on-insulator (SOI), or silicon nitride (SiN) (description discloses: “In this study, we report the integration of a polycrystalline YIG film on oxidized silicon and SOI substrates using As 2S 3/YIG and YIG/SOI strip-loaded structures).
Regarding Claim 6, Lei discloses the magneto-optic thin film of claim 1, wherein the buffer layer comprises yttrium iron garnet (YIG) (description discloses: “Figure 1(c) shows the room temperature Faraday rotation spectrum of a 500 nm polycrystalline YIG film growing on an MgO substrate”).
Regarding Claim 8, Lei discloses the magneto-optic thin film of claim 6, wherein the optical isolation layer comprises rare earth-doped YIG (description discloses: “We expect that, although not observed in X-ray diffraction patterns, a small fraction of amorphous or secondary phases I responsible for scattering in the polycrystalline YIG film, therefore increase the material lose at near infrared wavelengths. This loss mechanism has to be reduced or compensated by materials with stronger magneto-optical properties, such as Bi/Ce:YIG, to allow the fabrication of low insertion loss optical isolators in the future”).
Regarding Claim 10, Lei discloses an optical isolator (description discloses: “it is suggested that a Bi:YIG or Ce:YIG layer may be integrated in these waveguide structures to achieve a higher NRPS and figure of merit for optical isolator applications) comprising:
a magneto-optic thin film (description discloses: “We report two novel strategies to integrate magneto-optical oxides on oxidized silicon and SOI platforms based on strip-loaded waveguide structures”), comprising:
A substrate (description discloses: “In this study, we report the integration of a polycrystalline YIG film on oxidized silicon and SOI substrates using As 2S 3/YIG and YIG/SOI strip-loaded structures);
A diffusion barrier layer disposed on the substrate and comprising a metal oxide (description discloses: “To evaluate the magneto-optical properties of these films, a 500nm YIG film was deposited on a transparent MgO substrate and crystallized by rapid thermal annealing under similar conditions”; Figure 1(c) discloses the room temperature Faraday rotation spectrum of a 500 nm polycrystalline YIG film growing on an MgO substrate);
A buffer layer disposed on the diffusion barrier layer (description discloses: “Figure 1(c) shows the room temperature Faraday rotation spectrum of a 500 nm polycrystalline YIG film growing on an MgO substrate”);
An optical isolation layer disposed on the buffer layer (description discloses: “We expect that, although not observed in X-ray diffraction patterns, a small fraction of amorphous or secondary phases I responsible for scattering in the polycrystalline YIG film, therefore increase the material lose at near infrared wavelengths. This loss mechanism has to be reduced or compensated by materials with stronger magneto-optical properties, such as Bi/Ce:YIG, to allow the fabrication of low insertion loss optical isolators in the future”).
Regarding Claim 11, Lei discloses the optical isolator of claim 10, wherein the metal oxide comprises at least one of magnesium oxide (MGO) or zinc oxide (ZnO) (description discloses: “Figure 1(c) shows the room temperature Faraday rotation spectrum of a 500 nm polycrystalline YIG film growing on an MgO substrate”).
Regarding Claim 14, Lei discloses the optical isolator of claim 10, wherein the substrate comprises at least one of silicon (Si), silicon-on-insulator (SOI), or silicon nitride (SiN) (description discloses: “In this study, we report the integration of a polycrystalline YIG film on oxidized silicon and SOI substrates using As 2S 3/YIG and YIG/SOI strip-loaded structures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Chen et al (US Publication No.: US 2022/0367631 A1, “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 3, Lei discloses the magneto-optic film of claim 2.
Lei fails to disclose that a thickness of the diffusion barrier layer is less than 10 nanometers (nm).
However, Chen discloses a similar film where a thickness of the diffusion barrier layer is less than 10 nanometers (nm) (Chen, Paragraph 0081 discloses a range of 1 to 5 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film as disclosed by Lei to have a particular thickness as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing resistance and the barrier layer’s ability to mitigate/block diffusion (Chen, Paragraph 0039).
Regarding Claim 4, Lei in view of Chen discloses the magneto-optic thin film.
Lei fails to disclose that the thickness is within a range of 3nm to 8nm.
However, Chen discloses a similar film where the thickness is within a range of 3nm to 8nm (Chen, Paragraph 0081 discloses a range of 1 to 5 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film as disclosed by Lei to have a particular thickness as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing resistance and the barrier layer’s ability to mitigate/block diffusion (Chen, Paragraph 0039).
Regarding Claim 12, Lei discloses the optical isolator of claim 11.
Lei fails to disclose that a thickness of the diffusion barrier layer is less than 10 nanometers (nm).
However, Chen discloses a similar film where a thickness of the diffusion barrier layer is less than 10 nanometers (nm) (Chen, Paragraph 0081 discloses a range of 1 to 5 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film as disclosed by Lei to have a particular thickness as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing resistance and the barrier layer’s ability to mitigate/block diffusion (Chen, Paragraph 0039).
Regarding Claim 13, Lei discloses the optical isolator of claim 12.
Lei fails to disclose that the thickness is within a range of 3nm to 8nm.
However, Chen discloses a similar film where the thickness is within a range of 3nm to 8nm (Chen, Paragraph 0081 discloses a range of 1 to 5 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film as disclosed by Lei to have a particular thickness as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing resistance and the barrier layer’s ability to mitigate/block diffusion (Chen, Paragraph 0039).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Sweet et al (US Publication No.: US 2024/0003042 A1, “Sweet”).
Regarding Claim 7, Lei discloses the magneto-optic thin film of claim 6.
Lei fails to disclose that a thickness of the buffer layer is within a range of 90 nanometers (nm) to 110 nm.
However, Sweet discloses a similar film where a thickness of the buffer layer is within a range of 90 nanometers (nm) to 110 nm (Sweet, Paragraph 0019 discloses a range of 50nm to 500nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film as disclosed by Lei to have a particular thickness as disclosed by Sweet. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the fabrication process (Sweet, Paragraph 0105).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 15, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a method, comprising: depositing a diffusion barrier layer on a substrate, wherein the diffusion barrier layer comprises a metal oxide; depositing a buffer layer on the diffusion barrier layer to obtain a film layer, wherein the buffer layer comprises yttrium iron garner (YIG); placing the film layer in a deposition cavity for in-situ annealing; injecting oxygen into the deposition cavity; increasing a temperature of the deposition cavity; holding the temperature for 3 to 5 minutes; waiting for natural cooling the deposition cavity; placing the film layer in an oxygen atmosphere n which partial pressure of oxygen is 0 mTorr to 100 mTorr and temperature is 650°C to 700°C, and depositing an optical isolation layer on the buffer layer to obtain a magneto-optic thin film, wherein the optical isolation comprises cerium-doped YIG (Ce:YIG).
The prior art of Lei (“Fabrication and characterization of As2S3/Y3Fe5O12 and Y3Fe5O12/SOI strip-loaded waveguides for integrated optical isolator applications”, as attached in IDS dated 12/27/2024, “Lei”) discloses a magneto-optic thin film comprising Ce:YIG (Lei, description). However, Lei fails to explicitly disclose the various film layer and the deposition method of achieve a magneto-optic thin film. The prior art of Srinivasan (US 2022/0214568 A1) discloses a general environment of using a deposition technique in an oxygenated environment while maintaining a high temperature to achieve an optical isolation layer (Srinivasan, Paragraph 0055; Paragraph 0008). However, Srinivasan also fails to disclose the particular layers that are deposited on one another and the particular method used to achieve the magneto-optic thin film comprising Ce:YIG.
Therefore, Claim 15 is allowed. Claims 16-20 are allowed by virtue of their dependence on the allowed claim.
Conclusion
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871