DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5-8 recites the word “DMTE” the acronym should be defined (spelled out) at least in the first instances in the claims.
Claims 9-18 recites the word “DSDS” the acronym should be defined (spelled out) at least in the first instances in the claims.
Claims 12 and 17 recites the word “CBRS” the acronym should be defined (spelled out) at least in the first instances in the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 13, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the claim objections set forth in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar (US20220369085).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Kumar discloses a method comprising a dual-SIM, dual-subscription (DSDS) mobile transfer entity (DMTE) (Fig. 3 discloses a Vehicle User Equipment includes a modem 30. ¶0069 discloses that the modem 304 may be configured to support dual SIM (subscriber identity module) dual active (DSDA) mode. In DSDA mode, the modem 304 can provide an independent network connection, or communication link, for each of two network access subscriptions): receiving information that original operations of a first base station of a first wireless network are to be modified (¶0111 discloses that the V-UE updates a configuration of the IVS modem, switches the C-V2X service from the first network access subscription to the second network access subscription or from the second network accesssubscription to the first network access subscription); determining that a DSDS devicehas a first active session with the first base station; and generating instructions for the DSDS device to establish a second active session with a second base station of a second wireless network in order to hand off the first active session with the first wireless network to the second active session with the second wireless network (¶0133 discloses switching the C-V2X service comprises: switching the C-V2X service from the default network access subscription to the user network access subscription based on the C-V2X service being available for the user network access subscription and not the default network access subscription. ¶0137 discloses wherein: an emergency call (eCall) service is not available for the default network access subscription, the eCall service is available for the user network access subscription…switching to the user network access subscription based on the eCall service being available for the user network access subscription and not the default network access subscription ), wherein the second active session is related to the first active session (¶0073 discloses that the subscriptions may share transceiver resources).
Regarding claims 3, 7, 12, and 17, the cited reference Kumar further discloses wherein: the first wireless network is a Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) network; and the second wireless network is a non-CBRS network (¶0090 discloses that operate in DSDA mode without C-V2X. In this case, there may be two active SA subscriptions (one 5G and one LTE)).
Regarding claim 5, the cited reference Kumar discloses a DMTE comprising: a memory; and at least one processor, coupled to the memory (¶0138 discloses that an apparatus comprising a memory and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the at least one processor) and operative to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is drawn to a to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the cited reference Kumar discloses a DSDS device comprising: a memory; and at least one processor, coupled to the memory (¶0138 discloses that an apparatus comprising a memory and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the at least one processor) and operative to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject
to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1, 5, 9-10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh et al (US20220286994).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Singh discloses method comprising a dual-SIM, dual-subscription (DSDS) mobile transfer entity (DMTE) (¶0129 discloses that the UE 120 may be capable of operating in a multi-SIM multiple active (SR-MSMA) mode, such as a dual SIM dual active (DSDA) mode (e.g., when the UE 120 is associated with two subscriptions): receiving information that original operations of a first base station of a first wireless network are to be modified (¶0130 discloses that when the UE 120 is in an active session … using the first SIM 305 a, the UE 120 is capable of receiving a notification of a voice call using the second SIM 305 b …to tune to the second cell 315 b where Fig. 3 discloses that the UE 120 may communicate with a first base station 310 a via a first cell 315 a (shown as Cell 1) using the first SIM 305 a and with a second base station 310 b via a second cell 315 b (shown as Cell 2) using the second SIM 305 b); determining that a DSDS device has a first active session with the first base station; and generating instructions for the DSDS device to establish a second active session with a second base station of a second wireless network in order to hand off the first active session with the first wireless network to the second active session with the second wireless network (¶0171 discloses that if the UE 120 is in an active voice call on a DDS subscription and if a voice over WLAN service … is enabled on a non-DDS subscription, then the UE 120 may transition (or hand over (HO)) the communication link carrying the PDU session from the non-DDS subscription to the DDS subscription), wherein the second active session is related to the first active session (¶0170 discloses that the UE 120 may transition a communication link carrying a PDU session from a first subscription to a second subscription by moving an IMS PDU session from the first subscription to the second subscription using a communication link carrying a PDU session associated with the second subscription. ¶0172 discloses that if the UE 120 is in an active voice call on a non-DDS subscription and if a voice over WLAN service is enabled on the non-DDS subscription, then the UE 120 may transition the communication link carrying the PDU session from the non-DDS subscription to the DDS subscription).
Regarding claim 5, the cited reference Singh discloses a DMTE comprising: a memory; and at least one processor, coupled to the memory (Fig. 2 and ¶0114 discloses a processor and a memory) and operative to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is drawn to a to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claims 10 and 15, the cited reference Singh further discloses the DSDS device automatically terminates the first active session (¶0170 discloses that when one subscription is on an active call, the other subscription enters an OOS (out-of-service) state).
Regarding claim 14, the cited reference Singh discloses a DSDS device comprising: a memory; and at least one processor, coupled to the memory (¶0250 discloses that an apparatus for wireless communication at a device, comprising a processor; memory coupled with the processor) and operative to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (US20220286994), in view of Shatsky (US20090022103).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, the cited reference Singh does not explicitly teach before terminating the first active session, the DSDS device informs the first wireless network of the establishment of the second active session and receives an instruction from the first wireless network to terminate the first active session.
In an analogous art Shatsky teaches before terminating the first active session, the DSDS device informs the first wireless network of the establishment of the second active session and receives an instruction from the first wireless network to terminate the first active session (¶0015 discloses a method includes the steps of placing the active call on hold; establishing a second call from the VoIP interface to the cellular interface of the dual-mode device via the communications server and the PLMN, wherein the second call includes a VoIP leg from the VoIP interface of the dual-mode device to the communications server; instructing the remote device to initiate a new call to the communications server referencing the second call and causing the communications server to replace the VoIP leg of the second call with the new call, thereby joining the remote party to the second call connected to the cellular interface of the dual-mode device; and terminating the active call).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Shatsky to assist in routing sessions to the correct network and avoiding any communication interruption.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462