DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-44 are pending in the application.
Claims 31-44 are withdrawn in the application.
Examiners Comment
To improve clarity for the groupings listed in claims 2, 6, and 19, it would be beneficial to use the standard Markush grouping language of “selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" (MPEP 2173.05(h)).
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-30, drawn to an aversive coating and an electrochemical cell containing an aversive coating, classified in H01M 50/1245.
II. Claims 31-44, drawn to a method of making an electrochemical cell, classified in H01M 10/0427.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process, such as by a dry application of the aversive agent and water-soluble polymer as opposed to first preparing a solution of the aversive agent and water-soluble polymer.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
-the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
-the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or
-the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Daniel J. O’Connor on 29 July 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-30. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 31-44 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 18-27, and 29-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11, 13, 17, 29, and 31 of copending Application No. 18/593,527 (reference application, hereinafter ‘527). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, ‘527 claims An aversive coating for an electrochemical cell, the aversive coating having a dry-weight composition comprising: 0.5 wt% to 65 wt% of an aversive agent composition; and 5 wt% to 98.5 wt% of a water-soluble polymer (claim 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, ‘527 claims the aversive agent composition comprises at least one aversive taste agent selected from: denatonium benzoate (DNB), capsaicin, allyl isothiocyanate, or peperine (claim 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, ‘527 claims the aversive coating having a dry-weight composition comprising: 0.5 wt% to 65 wt% of an aversive agent composition; and 5 wt% to 98.5 wt% of a water-soluble polymer (claim 1). This results in a ratio of the aversive agent composition to the water-soluble polymer of 0.005 to 13. This range overlaps with the claimed range of a ratio of the aversive taste agent to the water-soluble polymer is between 0.015 and 1.0, and the claimed value of the ratio of the aversive taste agent to the water-soluble polymer is about 0.15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claims 6 and 7, ‘527 claims the water-soluble polymer is selected from: polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyacrylic acid (PAA), polyacrylamide, or polyethylene glycol (PEG) (claim 3).
Regarding claims 8-10, ‘527 claims the aversive coating of claim 7, wherein the PVA is has a molecular weight of about 75,000 and is about 88% hydrolyzed (claim 4). The values of the molecular weight and hydrolyzation of the PVA lie within the claimed ranges of a molecular weight of about 10,000 to about 150,000 and 80% to about 95% hydrolyzed, respectively. Since the copending application recites a value within the claimed range, the claimed range is obvious over the copending application (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 11, ‘527 claims the aversive coating further comprises 0.1 wt% to 5.0 wt% of an adhesion promoter (claim 5).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, ‘527 claims the aversive coating further comprises 1.0 wt% to 5.0 wt% Lubrizol 2063 (claim 6). This wt% of Lubrizol 2063 overlaps with the claimed range of 2.0 wt% to 5.0 wt% Lubrizol 2063. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 14, ‘527 claims the aversive coating further comprises 0.01 wt% to 1.0 wt% of a surfactant (claim 7).
Regarding claim 15, ‘527 claims the surfactant is sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) (claim 8).
Regarding claim 18, ‘527 claims the aversive agent composition comprises a colorant and the aversive coating comprises 0.5 wt% to 60 wt% of the colorant (claim 11).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, ‘527 claims the colorant comprises FD&C Blue No. 1 (claim 13).
Regarding claim 21, ‘527 claims an aversive coating having a dry-weight composition comprising 0.5 wt% to 65 wt% of an DNB, 5 wt% to 98.5 wt% of PVA (claims 2-3), and 0.5 wt% to 60 wt% of FD&C Blue No. 1 (claim 13). These ranges overlap with the claimed ranges about 5.0 wt% to about 7.0 wt% DNB; about 35 wt% to about 45 wt% PVA; and about 45 wt% to about 55 wt% FD&C Blue No. 1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 22, ‘527 claims the aversive coating further comprises 1.0 wt% to 5.0 wt% Lubrizol 2063 (claim 6). This wt% of Lubrizol 2063 overlaps with the claimed range of 2.0 wt% to 5.0 wt% Lubrizol 2063. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 23, ‘ ‘527 claims the aversive coating further comprises about 0.01 wt% to 1.0 wt% SDS (claim 8). This range overlaps with the claimed value 0.4 wt% SDS. In the case where the claimed values "lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 24, ‘527 claims An electrochemical cell comprising: a positive terminal defining a first portion of an exterior of the electrochemical cell; a negative terminal that is electrically insulated from the positive terminal and defining a second portion of the exterior of the electrochemical cell; an anode positioned within an interior of the electrochemical cell and in electrical connection with the negative terminal; and a cathode positioned within the interior of the electrochemical cell, wherein the cathode is electrically separated from the anode and is in electrical connection with the positive terminal, wherein at least a portion of an exterior surface of the electrochemical cell is coated with an aversive coating, wherein the aversive coating has a dry-weight composition comprising: 0.5 wt% to 65 wt% of an aversive agent composition; and 5 wt% to 98.5 wt% of a water-soluble polymer (claim 1).
Regarding claim 25, ‘527 claims the electrochemical cell is a button cell or a coin cell (claim 17).
Regarding claim 26, ‘527 claims 2% to 50% by area of an exterior surface of the positive terminal is coated by the aversive coating (claim 1). While this does not overlap with the claimed range of greater than 50% by area of an exterior surface of the positive terminal, it is close. In the case where the claimed ranges are nearly overlapping, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 27, ‘527 claims 2% to 50% by area of an exterior surface of the negative terminal is coated by the aversive coating (claim 1). While this does not overlap with the claimed range of greater than 50% by area of an exterior surface of the negative terminal, it is close. In the case where the claimed ranges are nearly overlapping, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 29, ‘527 claims a total amount of aversive coating applied to the electrochemical cell comprises about 10 µg to 30 µg of an aversive taste agent (claim 29). This range overlaps with the claimed value of 25 µg of an aversive taste agent. In the case where the claimed values "lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 30, ‘527 claims the electrochemical cell is packaged in child-resistant packaging (claim 31).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/593,527 (reference application, hereinafter ‘527) in view of Okazaki (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0398308).
‘527 is relied upon as described above.
‘527 does not claim the aversive coating further comprises 0.01 wt% to 2.0 wt% of a viscosity modifier, or the viscosity modifier being carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC).
Okazaki teaches a coating including a colorant (pigment) (abstract), that is applied to metal surfaces ([0017]). Okazaki further teaches the coating includes carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) as a viscosity modifier (rheology control agent, [0054]), which is included in a range of 0.01 wt% to 5 wt% in the coating ([0100]). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 wt% to 2.0 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). The inclusion of carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) as a viscosity modifier in this amount allows for the coating to be applied by spray-coating, rotary atomization coating, or the like, in turn simplifying production ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) as a viscosity modifier in the amount taught by Okazaki in the electrochemical cell of Knight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this inclusion for the advantage of a simplified production of the electrochemical cell.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 28 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/593,527 (reference application, hereinafter ‘527) in view of OK (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0244409).
‘527 is relied upon as described above.
‘527 does not claim a total dry amount of aversive coating applied to the electrochemical cell is about 0.1 mg to about 1.2 mg.
OK teaches an improved button cell safety system (abstract), which includes an aversive coating composition ([0025]). OK further teaches a total dry amount of aversive coating applied to the electrochemical cell is less than 0.1 g ([0063]). This amount of the aversive coating allowed for enough of the colorant to be released in a few seconds when placed in artificial saliva to color the artificial saliva solution ([0063]), which in turn would give rapid indication if a person had placed the battery in their mouth, in turn increasing safety. This total dry amount of the aversive coating overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 mg to about 1.2 mg. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the amount of the aversive coating as taught by OK in the claimed invention of ‘527. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this amount for the rapid color change of saliva, which in turn would increase safety.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: figures 2 and 3, ref. #13, #14, #15, and #16. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference characters in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 contains the trademarks/trade names Lubrizol 2063, Lubrizol 2062, DowSil Z-6137, DowSil 3-6121, PP-6 in lines 1-2. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify the adhesion promoter and, accordingly, the identification is indefinite.
Claim 13 contains the trademarks/trade names Lubrizol 2063 in line 2. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify the adhesion promoter and, accordingly, the identification is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14-20, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0127488).
Regarding claim 1, Knight teaches an aversive coating for an electrochemical cell (abstract and [0077]). The aversive coating has a plurality of substituents, first being a water-soluble polymer ([0003], polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) or polyacrylic acid (PAA)), which may comprise up to 100% of the aversive coating dry-weight composition (as the other constituents are optional additives, [0025]). The aversive coating may also contain a dry-weight composition of 0.1 wt% to 3 wt% of an aversive agent composition ([0052], calculated from 1000 ppm to 30,000 ppm of the aversive agent), 0.1 wt% to 8 wt% of a surfactant ([0061]), 1 wt% to 45 wt% of a plasticizer ([0047]), and 0.1 wt% to 5 wt% of other auxiliary additives ([0063]). The aversive coating may also contain a dry-weight composition of 2 wt% to 25 wt% of a colorant ([0056], the colorant is provided in a range of 5 wt% to 25 wt% of the water-soluble polymer. Therefore, when all other additives are set to their maximum, the minimum amount of the colorant added as a wt% of the total dry mass is 2%, and the maximum amount of the colorant added as a wt% of the total dry mass is 25% when the remainder of the mass is only the water-soluble polymer).
The minimum amount of the water-soluble polymers is 39% (when all other additives are set to their maximum values), resulting in a range of the water-soluble polymer in the dry-weight composition of the aversive coating being 39 wt% to 100 wt%. This overlaps with the claimed range of 5 wt% to 98.5 wt% of a water-soluble polymer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05)
The dry-weight composition of the aversive coating including 0.1 wt% to 3 wt% of an aversive agent composition ([0052], calculated from 1000 ppm to 30,000 ppm of the aversive agent) also overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 wt% to 65 wt% of an aversive agent composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Knight further teaches he aversive agent composition comprises at least one aversive taste agent selected from denatonium benzoate (DNB), capsaicin, or allyl isothiocyanate ([0049]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Knight further teaches that the water-soluble polymers PAA and PVOH may be included in ratios ranging from 90:10 to 10:90 ([0023]). As the wt% of the combined water-soluble polymers is 39% to 100%, as stated above, the wt% of a single of the water-soluble polymers ranges from 3.9% to 90% (when combining the ratios of the individual water-soluble polymers with the wt% of the combined water-soluble polymers). As stated above, Knight further teaches the aversive coating may also contain a dry-weight composition of 0.1 wt% to 3 wt% of an aversive agent composition ([0052], calculated from 1000 ppm to 30,000 ppm of the aversive agent).
Knight therefore teaches a ratio of the aversive taste agent to the water-soluble polymer is between 0 and 0.77 (the minimum ratio determined when there is no aversive taste agent present, the maximum ratio determined when one of the water-soluble polymers is selected at 3.9 wt% and the aversive agent is selected at 3 wt%). This overlaps with the claimed range of between 0.015 and 1.0, and the value of 0.15. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Knight further teaches the water-soluble polymer is selected from polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyacrylic acid (PAA) (PVOH, abstract), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyacrylic acid (PAA), polyacrylamide ([0042]), or polyethylene glycol (PEG) ([0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Knight further teaches the PVA has a molecular weight of about 30,000 to about 140,000 ([0029], Knight states that viscosity is a used as a proxy for molecular weight, and that a range of 1 cP to 50 cP for viscosity can be used. It is well known in the art that a viscosity of 4 cP to 6 cP correlates to molecular weight of 30,000–70,000, and that a 40 cP to 65 cP correlates to a molecular weight of 140,000–200,000). This overlaps with the claimed range of about 10,000 to about 150,000. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 9, Knight further teaches the PVA is 70% to 99.9% hydrolyzed ([0030]). This overlaps with the claimed range of about 80% to about 95% hydrolyzed. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10, the above cited ranges for the molecular weight and hydrolyzation of PVA include the scenario in which the PVA is has a molecular weight of about 75,000 and is about 88% hydrolyzed. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 14, King further teaches 0.1 wt% to 8 wt% of a surfactant ([0061]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 wt% to 1.0 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 15, Knight further teaches the surfactant is sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) (sodium lauryl sulfate, [0060]).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, King further teaches the aversive coating further comprises carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) ([0042]), which is a viscosity modifier. Knight also teaches that auxiliary substituents may be added to the aversive coating in a range of about 0.1 wt% to about 5 wt% ([0063]). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 wt% to 2.0 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 18, Knight further teaches the aversive agent composition comprises a colorant ([0053]) and the aversive coating comprises 1.95 wt% to 25 wt% of the colorant ([0056], the colorant is 5 wt% to 25 wt% of the water-soluble polymer mixture. As the water-soluble polymer mixture ranges from 39 wt% to 100 wt%, as explained above for claim 1, this results in the given overall wt% of the colorant). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 wt% to 60 wt% of the colorant. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Knight further teaches the colorant comprises FD&C Blue No. 1, FD&C Blue No. 2, FD&C Green No. 3, FD&C Red No. 3, FD&C Red No. 40, or FD&C Yellow No. 6 ([0053]).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Knight teaches an electrochemical cell that is a battery cell wherein at least a portion of an exterior surface of the electrochemical cell is coated with an aversive coating ([0077]). The electrochemical cell comprises a positive terminal defining a first portion of an exterior of the electrochemical cell (metal surface that coats the anode) and a negative terminal defining a second portion of the exterior of the electrochemical cell (metal surface that coats the anode) ([0076]). The electrochemical cell further includes an anode positioned within an interior of the electrochemical cell and in electrical connection with the negative terminal (as the anode is within the metal surface that is coated on it, it is in the interior of the electrochemical cell, and since the anode and the metal surface are in contact they are electrically connected) and a cathode positioned within the interior of the electrochemical cell (as the cathode is within the metal surface that is coated on it, it is in the interior of the electrochemical cell, and since the cathode and the metal surface are in contact they are electrically connected) ([0076]).
While Knight does not explicitly teach negative terminal that is electrically insulated from the positive terminal, nor wherein the cathode is electrically separated from the anode, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the requirement for the anode and cathode, as well as the anode terminal and cathode terminal, to be electrically insulated/separated from one another, as otherwise the battery would short circuit and would not function. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. MPEP 2112.III
The aversive coating has a dry-weight composition comprising 0.1 wt% to 3 wt% of an aversive agent composition ([0052], calculated from 1000 ppm to 30,000 ppm of the aversive agent), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 wt% to 65 wt% of an aversive agent composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
The aversive coating also contains 39% wt% to 100 wt% of a water-soluble polymer (as calculated above in claim 1). This overlaps with the claimed range of 5 wt% to 98.5 wt% of a water-soluble polymer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 26, Knight further teaches that 100% or less of an exterior surface of the positive terminal is coated by the aversive coating ([0074] and [0076], in which the positive terminal is coated with the aversive coating). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 50% or greater of an exterior surface of the positive terminal is coated by the aversive coating. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 27, Knight further teaches that 100% or less of an exterior surface of the negative terminal is coated by the aversive coating ([0074] and [0076], in which the negative terminal is coated with the aversive coating). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 50% or greater of an exterior surface of the negative terminal is coated by the aversive coating. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0127488) in view of Castelberg (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0319133).
Knight is relied upon as described above.
Knight does not explicitly teach he aversive coating further comprises 0.1 wt% to 5.0 wt% of an adhesion promoter, the adhesion promoter is Lubrizol 2063, Lubrizol 2062, DowSil Z-6137, DowSil 3-6121, or PP-6, nor the aversive coating further comprises 2.0 wt% to 5.0 wt% Lubrizol 2063.
Castelberg teaches a polymer coating composition used for coating a metal surface (abstract and [0008]). Castelberg further teaches the polymer coating composition includes 0.2 wt% to 40 wt% Lubrizol 2063 as an adhesion promoter ([0110]), which, when included in this proportion, allows for improved corrosion resistance to the metal surface ([0106]). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 wt% to 5.0 wt% of an adhesion promoter and 2.0 wt% to 5.0 wt% of Lubrizol 2063. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Lubrizol 2063 as an adhesion promoter in the wt% of Castelberg in the coating composition of Knight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the adhesion promoter for the improved corrosion resistance.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0127488) in view of Okazaki (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0398308).
Knight is relied upon as described above.
In the alternative, Knight does not explicitly teach the aversive coating further comprises 0.01 wt% to 2.0 wt% of a viscosity modifier, or the viscosity modifier being carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC).
Okazaki teaches a coating including a colorant (pigment) (abstract), that is applied to metal surfaces ([0017]). Okazaki further teaches the coating includes carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) as a viscosity modifier (rheology control agent, [0054]), which is included in a range of 0.01 wt% to 5 wt% in the coating ([0100]). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 wt% to 2.0 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). The inclusion of carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) as a viscosity modifier in this amount allows for the coating to be applied by spray-coating, rotary atomization coating, or the like, in turn simplifying production ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) as a viscosity modifier in the amount taught by Okazaki in the electrochemical cell of Knight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this inclusion for the advantage of a simplified production of the electrochemical cell.
Claims 21, 23, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0127488) in view of OK (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0244409).
Knight is relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 21, Knight teaches an aversive coating (abstract) comprising 37.5 wt% PVA and 49.4 wt% FD&C Blue No. 1 ([0136], when PVOH is 12.5 g and the colorant is 14.83 g, and the total dry-weight of the composition is 30 g). These values lie within the claimed ranges of about 35 wt% to about 45 wt% PVA and about 45 wt% to about 55 wt% FD&C Blue No. 1. Since the prior art recites a value within the claimed range, the claimed range is made obvious over the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
Knight does not explicitly teach the aversive coating having a dry-weight composition comprises about 5.0 wt% to about 7.0 wt% DNB.
OK teaches an improved button cell safety system (abstract), which includes an aversive coating composition ([0025]). The aversive coating composition contains less than 10 wt% of the aversive agent ([0026]) , the aversive agent being denatonium benzoate (DNB) ([0027]). The inclusion of DNB at a loading of less than 10 wt% of the coating allows for appropriate levels of offensive and obstructive flavors that prevent or discourage ingestion of a battery containing the aversive agent ([0026]). This range overlaps with the claimed range of about 5.0 wt% to about 7.0 wt% DNB. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include DNB as the aversive agent in the amount taught by OK in the aversive agent composition of Knight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this aversive agent and amount in order to prevent or discourage ingestion of a battery containing the aversive agent.
Regarding claim 23, Knight further teaches the aversive coating further comprises about 0.1 wt% to about 8.0 wt% of SDS ([0060]-[0061], sodium lauryl sulfate). This range overlaps with the claimed value of 0.4 wt% SDS. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 28, Knight does not explicitly teach a total dry amount of aversive coating applied to the electrochemical cell is about 0.1 mg to about 1.2 mg.
OK further teaches a total dry amount of aversive coating applied to the electrochemical cell is less than 0.1 g ([0063]). This amount of the aversive coating allowed for enough of the colorant to be released in a few seconds when placed in artificial saliva to color the artificial saliva solution ([0063]), which in turn would give rapid indication if a person had placed the battery in their mouth, in turn increasing safety. This total dry amount of the aversive coating overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 mg to about 1.2 mg. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the amount of the aversive coating as taught by OK in the electrochemical cell of Knight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this amount for the rapid color change of saliva, which in turn would increase safety.
Regarding claim 29, with the amount of the aversive coating of modified Knight imported above of 0.1 g or less, as taught by OK, and the amount of the aversive agent of Knight, 0.1 wt% to 3 wt% ([0052], calculated from 1000 ppm to 30,000 ppm of the aversive agent), this results in an amount of the aversive agent being 0 g to 0.003 g, or 0 mg to 3 mg. This range overlaps with the claimed value of about 25 µg of an aversive taste agent. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0127488) in view of OK (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0244409), further in view of Castelberg (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0319133).
Knight and OK are relied upon as described above.
Modified Knight does not explicitly teach the aversive coating further comprises about 2.0 wt% to about 5.0 wt% Lubrizol 2063.
Castelberg teaches a polymer coating composition used for coating a metal surface (abstract and [0008]). Castelberg further teaches the polymer coating composition includes 0.2 wt% to 40 wt% Lubrizol 2063 as an adhesion promoter ([0110]), which, when included in this proportion, allows for improved corrosion resistance to the metal surface ([0106]). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 2.0 wt% to 5.0 wt% of Lubrizol 2063. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Lubrizol 2063 as an adhesion promoter in the wt% of Castelberg in the coating composition of Knight. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the adhesion promoter for the improved corrosion resistance.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knight (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0127488) in view of Kuo US Patent Application Publication No. 20160226039).
Knight is relied upon as described above.
Knight does not explicitly teach the electrochemical cell is packaged in child-resistant packaging.
Kuo teaches a safe package for electrochemical cells (micro batteries) (title). The safe package is child resistant packaging (abstract), which prevents children from accessing and swallowing the electrochemical cell by mistake (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to package the electrochemical cell of Knight in child-resistant packaging, as taught by Kuo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this packaging to prevent children from swallowing the battery.
Conclusion
/MAL/
Myles Alan LovaszExaminer, Art Unit 1788 08/14/2026
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788