DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding objections to the claims:
Claims 1 and 20 were objected to for multiple informalities. The Applicant amended claims 1 and 20 to correct the informalities, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §§102 and 103:
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-13, 15, and 19 were rejected as being anticipated by Striedelmeyer. Claims 2-4 were rejected as being obvious over Striedelmeyer in view of Barden. Claims 5-6 were rejected as being obvious over Striedelmeyer in view of Barden and Folkesson. Claim 10 was rejected as being obvious over Striedelmeyer in view of Homma. Claims 7, 14, and 20 were rejected as being obvious over Striedelmeyer in view of Folkesson. Claim 16 was rejected as being obvious over Striedelmeyer in view of Brauer. Claim 17 was rejected as being obvious over Striedelmeyer in view of Busquets. Claim 18 was rejected as being obvious over Striedelmeyer in view of Barden, Folkesson, and Busquets.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 3/5/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 20 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0054058 to Hawkins.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-9, 11-13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0054058 to Hawkins (cited by Applicant on 3/5/2026) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0360133 to Striedelmeyer (cited by Applicant on 3/1/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Hawkins teaches an electrical machine arrangement (FIG. 2, 12), comprising:
an electrical machine (FIG. 2, 16) having a rotor (FIG. 2, 24), a stator (FIG. 2, 25), and a housing (FIG. 2, 50) enclosing said rotor and stator, and an oil cooling system (FIG. 2; 30, 60) connected to the electrical machine and configured to control an oil flow to and from a first axial side of the electrical machine (FIG. 2, 65; Paragraph [0016]; [0019]-[0021]),
wherein the oil cooling system comprises a feeder pump (FIG. 2, 60) configured to control the oil flow out from the first axial side of the electrical machine (Paragraph [0023]), and wherein the oil cooling system further comprises a control unit (FIG. 2, 30) configured to control a retarding effect of the electrical machine by controlling the operation of the feeder pump (Paragraph [0018]; [0020]-[0022]).
Hawkins does not teach the rotor comprising at least one channel for pumping oil from the first axial side of the electrical machine to a second axial side of the electrical machine.
However, Striedelmeyer teaches a rotor (FIG. 1, 2) comprising at least one channel (FIG. 1, 5) for pumping oil from the first side of the electrical machine to a second axial side of the electrical machine (Paragraph [0034]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins with the rotor channel of Striedelmeyer to more efficiently cool the entire volume of the rotor.
Regarding claim 3, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein Hawkins further teaches the feeder pump being arranged remote from the electrical machine (FIG. 2, 60; Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein the oil cooling system further comprises a sump and wherein the feeder pump is configured to pump oil from said sump (Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 8, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein Striedelmeyer further teaches the rotor comprising a plurality of channels (FIG. 6, 5) for pumping oil from the first axial side of the electrical machine to a second axial side of the electrical machine.
Regarding claim 9, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 8, wherein Striedelmeyer further teaches the plurality of channels being distributed at an equal angular space around the rotor (FIG. 6, 5).
Regarding claim 11, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein Striedelmeyer further teaches the at least one channel being embedded in the rotor and arranged radially inside the maximum rotor radius (FIG. 6, 5).
Regarding claim 12, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein Striedelmeyer further teaches the at least one channel extending axially along the entire rotor from the first axial side of the electrical machine to a second axial side of the electrical machine (FIG. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 13, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein Striedelmeyer further teaches the at least one channel extending along a constant radius (FIG. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 15, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein Striedelmeyer further teaches the at least one channel extending at a constant circumferential angle (FIG. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 19, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches a vehicle (Hawkins FIG. 1, 10) comprising the electrical arrangement according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Hawkins teaches a method for cooling an electrical machine (FIG. 2, 16), comprising: feeding cooling oil to a first axial side of the electrical machine (FIG. 2, 65; Paragraph [0016]; [0019]-[0021]), pumping the cooling oil from the first axial side of the electrical machine to a second axial side of the electrical machine (FIG. 2, 26), and controlling an amount of cooling oil at the first axial side by means of a feeder pump (FIG. 2, 60) in order to control a retarding effect of the electrical machine (Paragraph [0018]; [0020]-[0022]).
Hawkins does not teach pumping the cooling oil through at least one channel extending along a rotor.
However, Striedelmeyer teaches pumping cooling oil (Paragraph [0034]-[0041]) through at least one channel (FIG. 1, 5) extending along a rotor (FIG. 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hawkins with the rotor channel of Striedelmeyer to more efficiently cool the entire volume of the rotor.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer and in further view of European Patent No. 4 011 720 to Folkesson et al. (hereinafter Folkesson; provided by Applicant on 3/1/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1.
Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer does not teach the electrical machine further comprising an oil return channel arranged in the radial space formed between the rotor and the stator.
However, Folkesson teaches an oil return channel (FIG. 3a, after exiting 24) arranged in the radial space formed between the rotor (FIG. 3a, 3) and the stator (FIG. 3a, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer with the oil return channel of Folkesson to have a more streamlined and compact path for the oil to recirculate.
Regarding claim 14, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1.
Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer does not teach the at least one channel extending from an inner radius at the first axial side of the electrical machine to an outer radius at the second axial side of the electrical machine.
However, Folkesson teaches a channel extending from an inner radius (FIG. 3a, 22) at a first axial side of an electrical machine to an outer radius (FIG. 3a, 24) at a second axial side of the electrical machine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer with the channel of Folkesson to increase the range of cooling of the electrical machine as it cools more of the rotor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0234405 to Homma et al. (hereinafter Homma; cited by Applicant on 3/1/2024).
Regarding claim 10, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1.
Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer does not teach the at least one channel being arranged at an outer circumference of said rotor.
However, Homma teaches an electrical machine with a cooling channel (FIG. 3, 2) arranged at an outer circumference of a rotor (Paragraph [0072]-[0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer with the channel of Homma as its placement may provide a more efficient cooling of the components of the electrical machine (Paragraph [0073]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0012500 to Brauer et al. (hereinafter Brauer; cited by Applicant on 3/1/2024).
Regarding claim 16, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1.
Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer does not teach the at least one channel extending at a varying circumferential angle.
However, Brauer teaches an electrical machine with cooling channels (FIG. 2, 54) extending at varying circumferential angle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer with the channels of Brauer as the angle assists in the movement of oil through the channel (Paragraph [0022]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0166284 to Busquets et al. (hereinafter Busquets; cited by Applicant on 3/1/2024).
Regarding claim 17, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1.
Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer does not teach the rotor being provided with an axial flow pump arranged at the first axial side of the electrical machine.
However, Busquets teaches an electrical machine provided with an axial flow pump (FIG. 4, 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer with the axial flow pump of Busquets to potentially increase the oil flow rate and therefore cooling rate and capacity of the oil cooling system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer and in further view of Folkesson and Busquets.
Regarding claim 18, Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer teaches the electrical machine arrangement of claim 1, wherein the oil cooling system comprises a feeder pump (Hawkins FIG. 2, 60), a sump (Hawkins Paragraph [0013]), an outlet valve (Hawkins Paragraph [0023]), and a control unit (Hawkins FIG. 2, 30), wherein the feeder pump is arranged remote from the electrical machine (Hawkins FIG. 2, 60) and configured to pump oil from the sump (Hawkins Paragraph [0013]), wherein the outlet valve is configured to control the oil flow out form the first axial side of the electrical machine (Hawkins Paragraph [0023]), and wherein the control unit is configured to control the operation of the feeder pump and/or the outlet valve (Hawkins Paragraph [0023]), wherein the rotor comprises a plurality of channels (Striedelmeyer FIG. 6, 5) for pumping oil from the first axial side of the electrical machine to a second axial side of the electrical machine, wherein the plurality of channels are distributed at an equal angular space around the rotor (Striedelmeyer FIG. 6, 5), wherein the plurality of channels are arranged embedded in the rotor and arranged radially inside the maximum rotor radius (Striedelmeyer FIG. 1, 5), wherein the plurality of channels extend axially along the entire rotor from the first axial side of the electrical machine to the second axial side of the electrical machine (Striedelmeyer FIG. 1, 5), wherein the plurality of channels extend at a constant radius (Striedelmeyer FIG. 1, 5), and wherein each of the plurality of channels extends at a constant circumferential angle (Striedelmeyer FIG. 1, 5).
Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer does not teach the electrical machine further comprising an oil return channel arranged in the radial space formed between the rotor and the stator, and wherein the rotor is provided with an axial flow pump arranged at the first axial side of the electrical machine.
However, Folkesson teaches the electrical machine further comprising an oil return channel (FIG. 3a, after exiting 24) arranged in the radial space formed between the rotor (FIG. 3a, 3) and the stator (FIG. 3a, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer with the oil return channel of Folkesson to have a more streamlined and compact path for the oil to recirculate.
Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer and Folkesson does not teach the rotor being provided with an axial flow pump arranged at the first axial side of the electrical machine.
However, Busquets teaches an electrical machine provided with an axial flow pump (FIG. 4, 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine arrangement of Hawkins in view of Striedelmeyer and Folkesson with the axial flow pump of Busquets to potentially increase the oil flow rate and therefore cooling rate and capacity of the oil cooling system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834