DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-18 are pending in this application and examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
4. The present drawings contain substantial shading that obscures key details of the present invention. Black and white line drawings are required. Any shading must comply with the guidelines set forth in MPEP 608.02(V).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
7. Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a first coolant using at least one liquid metal or at least one inert liquid salt” is unclear. Is this intended to mean that the coolant is a liquid metal or a liquid salt? Are these the same liquid metal or molten salt(s) introduced in the preamble? Additionally, the phrase “as the coolant of a primary circuit of the reactor” is unclear. Additionally, the recitation of “the liquid metal or liquid salt coolant” in line 11 is unclear because the claim previously introduced “at least one inert liquid salt.” It appears that claim 11 should simply refer to “the first coolant.” Moreover, the phrase “with the primary vessel filled with liquid metal (line 25, which is the second line of the second page of the claim) is unclear because the claim previous introduces the first coolant, which can be ither a liquid metal or at least one inert salt. Similarly, in line 28, it is unclear what the recitation “the liquid metal” refers to.
8. Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “a reactor core” in lines 12-13 is unclear because the claim previously introduces “a core made up of assemblies.”
8. Finally, regarding claim 1, the recitation “the heat” lack any antecedent basis. It is additional unclear what structural limitation the phrase “capable of removing the heat itself” places on the second coolant. The recitation “a heat network” is indefinite because it places no clear limits on the structure of this element.
9. Regarding claim 2, there is no antecedent basis for “inert liquid salt(s) between the primary vessel and the shell. Claim 1 introduces “at least one inert liquid salt” in the primary vessel. Regarding claim 3, there is no antecedent basis for the recitation “the second vessel” because claim 1 introduces a “secondary” vessel.
10. Claims 4 and 17 are unclear because they refer to “the inert liquid salt” while claim 1 introduces “at least one inert liquid salt.”
11. Claim 6 is indefinite because there is no antecedent basis for “the liquid metal of a bath between the primary vessel and the shell.” Such a liquid metal was not previously introduced. Claim 1 only introduces a liquid metal within the primary vessel.
12. Claim 9 is indefinite because it does not recite on which claim it depends.
13. Regarding claim 14, the phrase “the solid nuclear fuels are based on” is unclear. First, claim 1 introduces “nuclear fuel materials in the solid state,” and it is unclear if claim 9 is intended to refer to this recitation. Additionally, it is unclear what “are based on” means in the context of the claim. Do the nuclear fuel materials comprise the recited list? Moreover, there is a broad recitation “enriched uranium U235” combined with a narrow limitation “HALEU” which does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as" and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. For applicant's benefit, the portions of the reference(s) relied upon in the below rejections have been cited to aid in the review of the rejections. While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
17. Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthe et al., US 2021/0210229 in view of Austin, et a., GB 2 263 188.
18. Regarding claim 1, Gauthe discloses a nuclear reactor cooled by liquid metal ([0076]), comprising:
a primary vessel (10) axisymmetric about a central axis filled with a first coolant using at least one liquid metal as the coolant of a primary circuit of the reactor ([0084]), comprising:
a core (11) made up of assemblies (110) containing nuclear fuel materials in the solid state, contained in at least one barrel (see Fig. 4 and the NRC glossary definitions of fuel assembly and fuel rod);
a structure forming a redan (16), with a central axis coincident with the central axis of the primary vessel, the structure being arranged in the primary vessel so as to separate an inside thereof into a central zone and a peripheral zone so that during operation of the reactor, the liquid metal coolant circulates by natural convection, in a loop from a bottom of the central zone in which is arranged the reactor core inside which fission reactions occur, rises by heating to a top of the central zone, diverted towards a top of the peripheral zone to descend towards a bottom of the peripheral zone, where it is diverted towards the core of the reactor ([0088], [0090]);
a secondary vessel (32) arranged around the primary vessel;
a core head plug (14) configured to enclose the first coolant inside the primary vessel ([0085]); and
a system for removing the heat both during nominal operation and in situations in which the nuclear reactor is shut down ([0101]), the system comprising:
a shell (32) arranged between the primary vessel and the secondary vessel, defining a volume (E) with the primary vessel filled with liquid metal ([0084]); and
a closed secondary circuit (400) filled with a second coolant and capable of removing the heat itself removed by conduction through the primary vessel and transferred by the liquid metal, to a heat network ([0102-7]).
Gauthe does not disclose a second heat removal system comprising a phase change material. Austin teaches a liquid metal cooled nuclear reactor (see Fig. 1 and p. 1) comprising a primary vessel (1) axisymmetric about a central axis, filled with a first coolant using at least one liquid metal as the coolant of a primary circuit of the reactor
a secondary vessel (3), arranged around the primary vessel;
a reactor pit (7); arranged around the secondary vessel;
a system for removing decay heat in accident situations of the nuclear reactor, the system comprising: at least one solid-liquid phase-change material (PCM) arranged inside a space delimited between the shell and the secondary vessel (p. 4), the PCM(s) being capable of melting while storing by latent heat at least some of the decay heat emitted by the core in accident situations, for a predetermined duration (p.4).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention/filing would have found it obvious to combine the heat removal system of Austin with the reactor of Gauthe for the predictable purpose of “increasing transfer of heat through the space” surrounding the secondary vessel of Gauthe (see Austin at p. 1).
19. Regarding claim 3, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe further discloses the primary vessel and the shell being concentric right cylinders (Fig. 4), while Austin further teaches the primary and secondary vessels being right cylinders arranged concentrically with each other. It would therefore have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the chape of Gauthe’s secondary vessel to be a cylinder.
20. Claims 4 and 17 further limit an alternative limitation of claim 1. Because Gauthe discloses the other alternative, these claims are not addressed further on the basis of prior art.
21. Regarding claim 5, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe further discloses a reactor wherein the closed secondary circuit comprises a serpentine coil (42) arranged between the primary vessel and the shell in a spiral around the shell (Fig. 3, [0117])
21. Regarding claims 7 and 8, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Austin further discloses that the phase change material is a power of aluminum (see pp. 3-4). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention/filing would have found it obvious to combine the heat removal system of Austin with the reactor of Gauthe for the reason stated above.
22. Regarding claims 9 and 10, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe further discloses the primary vessel and the shell being made of AISI 316L stainless steel ([0084], [0099]). Austin is silent as to the material of its secondary vessel. However, it would be reasonable to assume that it is made of a heat conducting metal so as to transfer heat to the phase change material between the secondary vessel and the reactor pit (p.4). Accordingly, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to select the AISI 316L stainless steel of Gauthe for all of the vessels on the combination with Austin. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
23. Regarding claims 11 and 12, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe further discloses a nuclear reactor wherein the primary vessel is devoid of moderating material so that the reactor operates using fast neutrons ([0001] “fast”). Regarding claim 12, thermal sodium graphite reactors are known, so it would have been obvious to apply the cooling systems taught by Gauthe and Austin to such reactors to obtain the same emergency cooling capabilities in a thermal sodium-cooled nuclear reactor.
24. Regarding claims 13 and 14, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe further discloses a reactor wherein the solid nuclear fuels are nuclear fuel assemblies ([00077]), but is silent as to the type of fuel in the fuel assemblies. However low enriched UO2 fuels are ubiquitous in the art and therefore would have been an obvious choice in the reactor of Gauthe (see the NRC glossary definitions of fuel assembly, fuel rod and fuel pellet).
25. Regarding claim 16, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe does not disclose a less than 20 MWth reactor ([0003]). However, it would have been obvious to apply the cooling systems taught by Gauthe and Austin to such a reactor to obtain the same emergency cooling capabilities.
26. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthe et al., US 2021/0210229 in view of Austin, et a., GB 2 263 188 in further view of Hunsbedt et al, US 5,021,211.
27. Regarding claim 15, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe suggests the presence of a reactivity control system ([0006]), but is silent as to its details. Hunsbedt teaches a liquid metal cooled nuclear reactor having a reactivity control system comprising control rods inside the primary vessel (column 4, lines 36-38). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have found it obvious to combine such control rods with the reactor of Gauthe for the predictable purpose of “ control[ing] the fission activity and rate of the fuel of the core and in turn production of thermal energy (column 4, lines 3-40).
28. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthe et al., US 2021/0210229 in view of Austin, et a., GB 2 263 188 in further view of Jackson US, 3,888,730.
29. Regarding claim 15, Gauthe as modified by Austin makes claim 1 obvious. Gauthe does not disclose fins on the heat exchange tubes of its secondary circuit. Jackson teaches a heat exchange circuit for a liquid metal cooled nuclear reactor, the heat exchange tubes having fins on their periphery (column 3, lines 43-50). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have found it obvious to combine the fins taught by Jackson to the cooling system of Gautier because it is well-known in the art of heat exchangers that fins provide increased surface area, thereby increasing heat transfer between media.
Allowable Subject Matter
30. Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
34. Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18593478 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the reference application anticipates instant claim 1. The dependent claims of the reference application anticipate the dependent claims of the instant application.
Interviews
Additional References
The attached Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892) cites additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/SHARON M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646