DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 9-15, 17-20, and 30 have been considered but are moot due to new ground of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 9-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 10-15, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 18/594,988. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim limitations are the same except the set of TBs is separated in frequency domain. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the set of TBs is separated in frequency domain instead of separated setting of the TBs in time domain in order to increase rate and/or efficiency of transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 11-15, 17-20, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nammi et al. (US 2014/0086351 A1) in view of Sengupta et al. (US 2022/0321259 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nammi discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: transmitting a set of transport blocks (TBs) between a first wireless device (100) and a second wireless device (200) by: mapping the set of TBs in a resource space comprising a time unit in a time domain and a frequency unit in a frequency domain (paragraph [0008]-[0017]; [0022]-[0025]; [0057]-[0077]; [0079]-[0096]; [0100]; [0169]; [0172]-[0173]; [0189]-[0194]; [0213]-[0221]; and so on, illustrating to communicate transport blocks (TBs), the TBs are mapped in unit time domain such as TTI and frequency domain), wherein: each TB mapped to a same codeword in the set of TBs (fig. 7; paragraph [0172]-[0176]; [0169]; and etc.. explaining each of the TBs are mapped to the same codeword, CW, per time or TTI); the set of TBs comprises n TBs mapped to the same codeword, and n is an integer larger than 1 (fig. 7; paragraph [0174]-[0176]; and so on, multiple TBs mapped into the same CW as shown in fig. 7), each of the TBs are in the time domain (paragraph [0169]; [0172]-[0173]; [0189]-[0194]; [0198]-[0201]; and so on); and each TB in the set of TBs is capable of being packaged separately at a transmitting end (e.g. fig. 4; paragraph [0101]-[0110]; and etc., separately generated, framed, and transmitted), and capable of being delivered separately to a receiving end (fig. 6; paragraph [0162]-[0173]; and so on, the TBs are separately delivered or transmitted).
Nammi does not explicitly disclose each TB in the set of TBs is separated in time domain, and the delivered separately is to an upper layer at a receiving end, and the each of the TBs has different priorities.
Sengupta teaches each TB in the set of TBs is separated in time domain, and the delivered separately is to an upper layer at a receiving end (paragraph [0090]; [0141]; [0157]-[0159]; and etc.), and the delivered separately is to an upper layer at a receiving end (paragraph [0132]-[0134]; and so on).
Sengupta does not teach the each of the TBs has different priorities.
Bhamri teaches the each of the TBs has different priorities (e.g. paragraph [0175]-[0177]; [0198]-[0200]; [0217]-[0219]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use each TB in the set of TBs is separated in time domain, and the delivered separately is to an upper layer at a receiving end, and the each of the TBs has different priorities as taught by Sengupta and Bhamri into Nammi in order to reduce interference and to optimize error handling, and to improve resource utilization and quality of communication.
Regarding claim 2, as applied above, Nammi discloses wherein: the resource space corresponds to the set of TBs. However, Nammi doesn’t disclose the set of TBs in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process in a carrier.
Sengupta teaches the set of TBs in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process in a carrier (paragraph [0087]-[0088]; [0133]-[0134]; [0137]-[0138]; [0143]-[0144]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the set of TBs in a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process in a carrier as taught by Sengupta into Nammi in order to correct error and improve throughput.
Regarding claim 4, Nammi disclose wherein: the time unit comprises at least one of the following: a transmission time interval (TTI), a slot, a sub-frame, or a mini slot (paragraph [0171]-[0173]; [0189]-[0194]; [0198]-[0201]; and so on).
Regarding claim 5, Nammi discloses wherein: the frequency unit. Nammi the frequency unit comprises at least one of the following: a subcarrier, a resource block (RB), a subband, a bandwidth part (BWP), or a carrier.
Sengupta teaches the frequency unit comprises at least one of the following: a subcarrier, a resource block (RB), a subband, a bandwidth part (BWP), or a carrier (paragraph [0100]; [0103]; [0105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the frequency unit comprises at least one of the following: a subcarrier, a resource block (RB), a subband, a bandwidth part (BWP), or a carrier as taught by Yang into Nammi in order to increase efficiency of transmission.
Regarding claim 6, Nammi disclose wherein the same codeword comprises at least one of the following: a first codeword, or a second codeword (e.g. fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Nammi further discloses including: receiving, by the second wireless device, control information corresponding to resource allocation of the set of TBs from the first wireless device, wherein the control information comprises at least one of the following: a resource space in a time-frequency domain for the n TBs; a resource indication in a frequency domain for the n TBs; a resource indication in a time domain for the n TBs; a mapping rule; an MCS for the n TBs; spatial multiplexing information related to a number of layers for the set of TBs; power control information for the set of TBs; an identification (ID) number for the n TBs; a resource mapping configuration for the n TBs; a number of TBs in the n TBs; a symbol position information in the time domain for each TB in the n TBs; or a frequency position information in the frequency domain for each TB in the n TBs (figs. 3-7).
Regarding claim 11, Nammi discloses wherein: the mapping rule comprises at least one of the following: a mapping pattern of TB to symbol in the time domain; a number of symbols in the time domain for each TB; a mapping relationship of TB index to symbol index, or mapping a TB corresponding to the second codeword according to the mapping rule of the TB corresponding to the first codeword in same time-frequency resource (paragraph [0009]; [0012]; [0015]; [0024]; [0098]-[0099]; [0160]-[0161]; and so on).
Regarding claim 13, Nammi discloses wherein: upon receiving all time-domain symbols of a TB in the n TBs, the second wireless device performs a TB level process on the all time-domain symbols without waiting for receiving any other TB in the n TBs, wherein the TB level process comprises at least one of the following: a de-mapping process, a de-interleaving process, a de-modulating process, a de-coding process, or a process of delivering to a higher layer (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Nammi discloses wherein: the first wireless device is configured to schedule transmission of the set of TBs, and the first wireless device comprises at least one of the following: a base station; a MAC layer in a wireless device; a scheduling unit; a user equipment (UE); an on-board unit (OBU); a road-side unit (RSU); or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (figs. 2-7; paragraph [0097]; [0164]-[0170]; [0172]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 19, Nammi discloses wherein: the second wireless device is configured to receive transmission of the set of TBs, and the second wireless device comprises at least one of the following: a user equipment (UE); or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (figs. 2-7; paragraph [0097]; [0164]-[0170]; [0172]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 30, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding a wireless communications apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 12, Nammi discloses information. However, Nammi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein: the control information is transmitted via at least one of the following: a downlink control information (DCI), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a high layer signaling, a MAC control element (CE), or system information.
Sengupta teaches wherein: the control information is transmitted via at least one of the following: a downlink control information (DCI), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a high layer signaling, a MAC control element (CE), or system information (e.g. paragraph [0140]-[0141]; [0156]-[0158]; [0165]; [0169]; [0171]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein: the control information is transmitted via at least one of the following: a downlink control information (DCI), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a high layer signaling, a MAC control element (CE), or system information as taught by Sengupta into Nammi in order to improve rate and security of transmission.
Regarding claim 14, Nammi discloses information. However, Nammi doesn’t explicitly disclose comprising: receiving, by the second wireless device, the control information from the first wireless device; processing, by the second wireless device, the set of TBs based on the control information by at least one of the following: receiving data from the first wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; sending data to the first wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; sending data to a third wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; or receiving data from the third wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device.
Sengupta teaches comprising: receiving, by the second wireless device, the control information from the first wireless device; processing, by the second wireless device, the set of TBs based on the control information by at least one of the following: receiving data from the first wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; sending data to the first wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; sending data to a third wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; or receiving data from the third wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device (e.g. paragraph [0140]-[0141]; [0156]-[0158]; [0165]; [0169]; [0171]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprising: receiving, by the second wireless device, the control information from the first wireless device; processing, by the second wireless device, the set of TBs based on the control information by at least one of the following: receiving data from the first wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; sending data to the first wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; sending data to a third wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device; or receiving data from the third wireless device based on the control information from the first wireless device as taught by Sengupta into Nammi in order to improve rate and security of transmission.
Regarding claim 15, Nammi further discloses comprising: in response to receiving the data from the first wireless device, sending, by the second wireless device, feedback information to the first wireless device by at least one of the following: sending the feedback information separately for each TB in the n TBs; sending the feedback information together for the n TBs; sending the feedback information for each code block (CB) in the n TBs; or sending the feedback information for each code block group (CBG) in the n TBs (paragraph [0050]; [0052]; [0054]-[0055]; [0097]-[0100]; [0102]; [0161]; and so on).
Regarding claim 17, as applied above, Nammi discloses feedback information. However, Nammi doesn’t disclose comprising: in response to the feedback information being same for each TB in the n TBs, sending the feedback information comprising a feedback indication for the n TBs, wherein: in response to each TB in the n TBs being received successfully, the feedback information comprises an acknowledgement (ACK) indication indicating each TB in the n TBs being received successfully; and in response to each TB in the n TBs being received unsuccessfully, the feedback information comprises a NAK indication indicating each TB in the n TBs being received unsuccessfully.
Sengupta teaches comprising: in response to the feedback information being same for each TB in the n TBs, sending the feedback information comprising a feedback indication for the n TBs, wherein: in response to each TB in the n TBs being received successfully, the feedback information comprises an acknowledgement (ACK) indication indicating each TB in the n TBs being received successfully; and in response to each TB in the n TBs being received unsuccessfully, the feedback information comprises a NAK indication indicating each TB in the n TBs being received unsuccessfully (e.g. paragraph [0087]-[0089]; [0133]-[0134]; [0138]; [0174]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprising: in response to the feedback information being same for each TB in the n TBs, sending the feedback information comprising a feedback indication for the n TBs, wherein: in response to each TB in the n TBs being received successfully, the feedback information comprises an acknowledgement (ACK) indication indicating each TB in the n TBs being received successfully; and in response to each TB in the n TBs being received unsuccessfully, the feedback information comprises a NAK indication indicating each TB in the n TBs being received unsuccessfully as taught by Sengupta into Nammi in order to reduce losing or dropping of packet.
Regarding claim 20, as applied above, Nammi discloses transmission of the set of TBs. However, Nammi does not disclose wherein: the third wireless device is configured to receive or send transmission of the set of TBs, and the third wireless device comprises at least one of the following: a user equipment (UE); or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node.
Sengupta teaches wherein: the third wireless device is configured to receive or send transmission of the set of TBs, and the third wireless device comprises at least one of the following: a user equipment (UE); or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (fig. 2; paragraph [00136]-[0146]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein: the third wireless device is configured to receive or send transmission of the set of TBs, and the third wireless device comprises at least one of the following: a user equipment (UE); or an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node as taught by Sengupta into Nammi in order to reduce latency.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nammi in view of Sengupta and Bhamri, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2018/0279328 A1).
Regarding claim 3, as pplied above, Nammi discloses each TB in the set of TBs. Nammi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein: each TB in the set of TBs corresponds to a media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU).
Yang teaches each TB in the set of TBs corresponds to a media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) (paragraph [0053]-[0055]; [0060]-[0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use each TB in the set of TBs corresponds to a media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) as taught by Yang into Nammi in order to improve reliability of transmission.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nammi in view of Sengupta and Bhamri, and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2021/0289540 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Nammi discloses wherein: the second wireless device determines a transport block size (TBS) of each TB in the n TBs by: receiving the control information corresponding to the resource allocation of the n TBs (figs. 3-6; paragraph [0169]-[0170]; and so on). Nammi doesn’t disclose determining, in a HARQ process, a number of resource elements (REs) for each TB, a modulation coding scheme (MCS), a number of layers; and determining the TBS of each TB in the n TBs based on the number of resource elements (REs) for each TB, the modulation coding scheme (MCS), the number of layers.
Khoshnevisan teaches determining, in a HARQ process, a number of resource elements (REs) for each TB, a modulation coding scheme (MCS), a number of layers; and determining the TBS of each TB in the n TBs based on the number of resource elements (REs) for each TB, the modulation coding scheme (MCS), the number of layers (paragraph [081]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use determining, in a HARQ process, a number of resource elements (REs) for each TB, a modulation coding scheme (MCS), a number of layers; and determining the TBS of each TB in the n TBs based on the number of resource elements (REs) for each TB, the modulation coding scheme (MCS), the number of layers as taught by Khoshnevisan into Nammi in order to reduce congestion and overloading.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461