DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 01 March 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-19 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 09 July 2024 and 19 November 2025 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 18 recites a “motor vehicle that includes an electric machine according to claim 1”, but does not recite any additional limitations of said electric machine. As such, claim 18 does not further limit the subject matter, i.e. the electric machine, of the claim upon which it depends.
The Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 16-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Licentia, GMBH (GB 1,105,807 A), hereinafter referred to as “Licentia”.
Regarding claim 1, Licentia discloses an electric machine configured as a salient pole synchronous machine (fig. 1-4; page 1, lines 10-12), comprising:
at least one component [10-17] configured as a stator or a rotor [10-17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 43-50), the at least one component [10-17] comprising:
a plurality of parts [11], wherein at least two parts [11a,11b] of the plurality of parts [11] each have at least one tooth [t1,t2] extending along a radial direction of the electric machine (fig. 3; page 2, lines 45-50; circumferentially spaced poles comprise teeth, pole shoes, and windings wound thereon); and
a winding [14-17] wound around each tooth [t1,t2] of the at least one tooth [t1,t2], the winding [14-17] being formed from one or more electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 48-64); and
a cooling system [20-22] configured such that a cooling fluid [air] is led through a hollow cross section [20] of at least one of the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 60-106).
Regarding claim 2, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein each of the plurality of parts [11] is segmented and includes exactly one tooth [t1,t2] (fig. 3; page 2, lines 45-50; each circumferentially spaced pole is attached to the rotor yoke [13] and comprises a single tooth).
Regarding claim 3, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the at least one component [10-17] is configured as a rotor [10-17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 43-50), and the plurality of parts [11] of the at least one component [10-17] are situated along a circumference of a rotor shaft [10], the rotor shaft [10] extending along a longitudinal direction of the electric machine and being rotationally movably supported (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 43-48; the rotor shaft is impliedly disclosed as being located at axis [10], about which the rotor rotates in direction [25]).
Regarding claim 4, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein each of the teeth [t1,t2] have a T-shape including a longitudinal bar and a transverse bar, the longitudinal bar extending along the radial direction and the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires being wound around the longitudinal bar (fig. 1, 3; page 2, lines 45-50, 71-74; the wound portions of the teeth extend radially and are capped by “pole horns 23” which extend circumferentially).
Regarding claim 5, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein at least one of the windings [14-17] includes a plurality of winding layer groups [14,15,16,17] situated one on top of another relative to the radial direction, each of the plurality of winding layer groups [14,15,16,17] including a winding layer [14,15,16,17] or a plurality of winding layers situated one on top of another, the plurality of winding layer groups [14,15,16,17] each comprising a separate electrically conductive conductor wire [14,15,16,17] (fig. 1, 3; page 2, lines 48-61).
Regarding claim 6, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 5, as stated above, further comprising at least one fluidic input connection component [31] configured to fluidly couple input-side end sections [21] of electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] of at least two winding layer groups [14,15,16,17] to one or more feed chambers [33] (fig. 3-4; page 2, lines 91-106),
wherein the one or more feed chambers [33] are fluidly coupled upstream from the electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] of the at least two winding layer groups [14,15,16,17], such that the at least two winding layer groups [14,15,16,17] are fluidly coupled in parallel (fig. 3-4; page 2, lines 76-90).
Regarding claim 7, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 5, as stated above, further comprising at least one fluidic output connection component [32] configured to fluidly couple output-side end sections [22] of the electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] of the at least two winding layer groups [14,15,16,17] to one or more discharge chambers [34] (fig. 3-4; page 2, lines 91-106),
wherein the one or more discharge chambers [34] are fluidly coupled downstream from the electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] of the at least two winding layer groups [14,15,16,17] (fig. 3-4; page 2, lines 76-90).
Regarding claim 16, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the component [10-17] is configured as a rotor [10-17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 43-50),
wherein the cooling system [20-22] forms a cooling circuit through which the cooling fluid [air] is conveyed by a conveying device (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 60-106),
wherein a rotor shaft [10] of the component [10-17] is rotationally movably supported, extends along a longitudinal direction of the electric machine (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 43-48; the rotor shaft is impliedly disclosed as being located at axis [10], about which the rotor rotates in direction [25]), and includes or is adjacent to at least one feed channel [33] and/or at least one discharge channel [34], the feed channel [33] and/or the discharge channel [34] extending, at least in sections, along the longitudinal direction of the rotor shaft [10] (fig. 3-4; page 2, lines 76-106), and
wherein the feed channel [33] leads from the conveying device to the at least one electrically conductive wire [14,15,16,17] having the hollow cross section, and/or the discharge channel [34] leads to the conveying device from the at least one electrically conductive conductor wire [14,15,16,17] having the hollow cross section (fig. 3-4; page 2, lines 76-90; arrows [27] and [30] show the path of the cooling fluid through the channels).
Regarding claim 17, Licentia discloses a component [10-17] for an electric machine configured as a salient pole synchronous machine (fig. 1-4; page 1, lines 10-12), the component [10-17] configured as a stator or a rotor [10-17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 43-50) and comprising:
a plurality of parts [11], at least two of the plurality of parts [11a,11b] each having at least one tooth [t1,t2] extending along a radial direction of the electric machine (fig. 3; page 2, lines 45-50; circumferentially spaced poles comprise teeth, pole shoes, and windings wound thereon);
a winding wound [14-17] around each tooth [t1,t2] of the at least one tooth [t1,t2], the winding [14-17] being formed from one or more electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 48-64); and
a cooling system [20-22] of the electric machine being configured to lead a cooling fluid [air] through a hollow cross section [20] of at least one of the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 60-106).
Regarding claim 19, Licentia discloses a method for manufacturing a component [10-17] configured as a stator or a rotor [10-17] for an electric machine configured as a salient pole synchronous machine (fig. 1-4; page 1, lines 10-12, 43-50), comprising:
assembling the component [10-17] from a plurality of parts [11], at least two of the plurality of parts [11a,11b] each having at least one tooth [t1,t2] extending along a radial direction of the electric machine (fig. 3; page 2, lines 45-50; circumferentially spaced poles comprise teeth, pole shoes, and windings wound thereon), at least one electrically conductive conductor wire [14,15,16,17] for forming a winding [14-17] being wound around each tooth [t1,t2] of the at least one tooth [t1,t2] before the component [10-17] is assembled (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 48-64),
wherein a cooling system [20-22] of the electric machine is configured to lead a cooling fluid [air] through a hollow cross section [20] of at least one of the at least one electrically conductive conductor wires [14,15,16,17] (fig. 1-4; page 2, lines 60-106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Licentia in view of Pyrhönen et al. (US 2013/0285487 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Pyrhonen”.
Regarding claim 13, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 5, as stated above.
Licentia does not further disclose one or more electrical connection components, each of the one or more electrical connection components being configured to couple end sections of the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires of two neighboring winding layer groups of one of the windings to one another, such that the two neighboring winding layer groups are electrically coupled in series.
Pyrhonen discloses an electric machine comprising a component [100] having electrically conductive conductor wires [103] wound around teeth [102] (fig. 1; ¶ 0035), further comprising one or more electrical connection components [105], each of the one or more electrical connection components [105] being configured to couple end sections [106] of the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires [103] of two neighboring winding layer groups of one of the windings [103] to one another (fig. 1; ¶ 0035-0036), such that the two neighboring winding layer groups are electrically coupled in series (¶ 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the windings of Licentia having one or more electrical connection components for connecting its windings in series as taught by Pyrhonen, in order to achieve a desired voltage level (¶ 0037 of Pyrhonen).
Regarding claim 14, Licentia, in view of Pyrhonen, discloses the electric machine according to claim 13, as stated above, wherein Pyrhonen further discloses that the end sections [106] of the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires [103] of pairwise neighboring winding layer groups of each winding [103] are coupled to one another by an electrical connection component [106], such that all winding layer groups of each winding [103] are successively electrically coupled in series (fig. 1; ¶ 0035-0037).
Regarding claim 15, Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 6, as stated above.
Licentia does not further disclose one or more electrical connection components, each of the one or more electrical connection components being configured to couple end sections of the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires of two neighboring winding layer groups of one of the windings to one another, such that the two neighboring winding layer groups are electrically coupled in series, wherein at least one shared connection component is provided which forms a fluidic connection component of the at least one fluidic connection components and an electrical connection component of the one or more electrical connection components.
Pyrhonen discloses an electric machine comprising a component [100] having electrically conductive conductor wires [103] wound around teeth [102] (fig. 1; ¶ 0035), comprising one or more electrical connection components [105], each of the one or more electrical connection components [105] being configured to couple end sections [106] of the one or more electrically conductive conductor wires [103] of two neighboring winding layer groups of one of the windings [103] to one another (fig. 1; ¶ 0035-0036), such that the two neighboring winding layer groups are electrically coupled in series (¶ 0036),
wherein at least one shared connection component [830] is provided which forms a fluidic connection component [830] of the at least one fluidic connection components [809] (fig. 8; ¶ 0058) and an electrical connection component [105] of the one or more electrical connection components [105] (fig. 1; ¶ 0035-0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the windings of Licentia having one or more electrical connection components for connecting its windings in series as taught by Pyrhonen, in order to achieve a desired voltage level (¶ 0037 of Pyrhonen).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cooling system of Licentia having at least one shared connection component as taught by Pyrhonen, in order to efficiently connect the tubes of the cooling system thereby improving the effectiveness of the cooling system and improving motor performance (¶ 0002, 0058 of Pyrhonen).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweinert (US 2017/0126084 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Schweinert”, in view of Licentia.
Regarding claim 18, Schweinert discloses a motor vehicle that includes a synchronous electric machine [20] comprising a component [22] with windings [24,25,26] wound thereon (fig. 18; ¶ 0100-0101).
Schweinert does not disclose the electric machine being that according to claim1.
Licentia discloses the electric machine according to claim 1, as stated above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the motor vehicle of Schweinert having the electric machine as taught by Licentia, in order to provide a simple and effective arrangement for cooling the conductors (page 1, lines 21-24 of Licentia).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, and all claims dependent thereon, the prior art does not disclose, inter alia, the electric machine according to claim 6, further comprising one or more supply parts, each of the one or more supply parts being situated next to at least one of the windings relative to a longitudinal direction of the electric machine,
wherein at least one of the one or more supply parts is configured as a feed part having at least one of the one or more feed chambers.
Regarding claim 9, and all claims dependent thereon, the prior art does not disclose, inter alia, the electric machine according to claim 7, further comprising one or more supply parts, each of the one or more supply parts being situated next to at least one of the windings relative to a longitudinal direction of the electric machine,
wherein at least one of the one or more supply parts is configured as a discharge part having at least one of the one or more discharge chambers.
While the prior art discloses various arrangements for cooling the windings of electrical machines, it does not disclose, in combination with the hollow cross-section conductor wires recited previously, the above arrangement of the supply parts being both situated longitudinally adjacent to the windings and configured as a discharge part. As such, the devices recited in claims 8 and 9 are neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
El-Refaie et al. (US 2022/0320933 A1) discloses an electric machine component having cooling fluid circulated through hollow conductors.
Schweinert (US 2021/0091619 A1) discloses hollow conductors through which a cooling fluid is circulated.
Kulkarni et al. (US 2014/0265660 A1) discloses a rotor of an electrical machine comprising salient poles wound with coils, and tubes containing cooling fluid embedded within the conductors.
Kaminski et al. (US 4,543,503) discloses a rotor comprising poles wound with coils having hollow conductors through which a coolant is circulated.
Fujioka et al. (US 4,335,324) discloses a rotor of an electrical machine comprising poles with coils having hollow conductors through which a coolant is circulated.
Elliott (US 3,652,882) discloses a rotor of an electrical machine with coils comprising hollow conductors through which a cooling fluid is circulated.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834