DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) are rejected under 103, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued in the remark that prior arts do not disclose determine, based on the security policy, which communication layers of the storage system are to be configured to enable the particular client to access the data; and configure, by the storage controller within the storage system.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yashiro US 2009/0182957 discloses 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150, and the external information obtained by the external information obtaining unit 160. The storage layer controller 170 changes the storage layer of the file within the storage 140 by outputting to the storage 140 control information, i.e. it can be seen as also a security policy, for moving the file to the determined storage layer.
Specification
The Content of Specification of the disclosure is objected to because the bellow Items(g) and (h) are missing.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Content of Specification
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION ( missing): See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION ( missing ): See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauhan et al US 2015/0341428 in view of Harjanto US 2004/0267768 in view of Dowling et al US 2002/0053032 in view of Yashiro US 2009/0182957.
As per claim 1. Chauhan a storage system, comprising:
a plurality of storage devices (0008 the device identifying a set of servers, i.e. a plurality of storage devices, to load balance ); and
a storage controller operatively coupled to the plurality of storage devices, the storage controller comprising a processing device configured to ( 0010 a device intermediary,, i.e. a storage controller, to a server and several clients and 0008 The set of servers can have a unique identifier and include the multiple servers, i.e. plurality of storage devise and 0010 the device, i.e. storage controller, can include one or more interfaces, policy engines and load balancers, i.e. a processing device):
receive one or more parameters defining a security policy from a particular client to access data stored at one or more storage devices of the plurality of storage devices (0004 a load balancer executing on a device intermediary to servers and clients. The method can include the load balancer receiving, i.e. receive, a request from an agent executing on the server for a clients. The request from the agent can initiate establishment of a transport layer, i.e. one or more parameters defining a security policy , connection between the server on which the agent executes and the server. The method can include the load balancer accepting the request to establish the transport layer connection with the server. The method can include the load balancer receiving a request to access the server from one of the clients. Responsive to receiving the request to access the server from one of the client, the method can include the load balancer forwarding the request to the server. The load balancer can forward the request to the server via the transport layer connection established between the load balancer and the server. 0008 the device, i.e. storage controller, receiving multiple requests to initiate a predetermined number of transport layer, i.e. parameter defining policy, connections. 0010 the device can include one or more interfaces, policy engines and load balancers. And 0006 the device i.e. storage controller, receiving a multiple requests to initiate establishment of a predetermined number of transport layer connections from multiple agents executing on a corresponding plurality of servers on a same network ); and
configure, while bypassing user interaction with the storage system, layers of the storage system to enable the particular client to access the data stored at the one or more storage devices in accordance with the security policy ( 0010 The interface can be configured to receive a request from an agent executing on the server. The request from the agent can be to initiate establishment of a transport layer connection. The policy engine can be configured to accept the request to establish the transport layer, i.e. the security policy, connection with the server. The load balancer can be configured to receive a request to access the server from a client of the plurality of clients. The load balancer can be further configured to forward the request to the server via the transport layer , i.e. the security policy , connection established between the load balancer and the server responsive to the request of the server).
Chauhan does not disclose configure, while bypassing user interaction with the storage system, accessing the storage system to enable the particular client to access the data stored at the one or more storage devices; receive one or more parameters defining a security policy for the client; determine, based on the security policy, which communication layers of the storage system are to be configured to enable the particular client to access the data; and configure, by the storage controller within the storage system (underline and bolded emphasis).
However, Harjanto discloses configure, while bypassing user interaction with the storage system, client to access the data stored at the one or more storage devices (0036 a programming interface is provided for allowing access to a repository, i.e. storage, without, i.e. bypassing, requiring the user or application interacting with the repository to understand the schema, syntax, or programming model of the repository).
Chauhan and Harjanto are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of accessing the data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chauhan to incorporate the teachings of Harjanto and provide directly accessing the repository.
Doing so would provide a type of configuration is usable to access the repository, thereby increasing access to the repository quickly.
The combination fails to disclose receive one or more parameters defining a security policy for the client , determine, based on the security policy, which communication layers of the storage system are to be configured to enable the particular client to access the data; and configure, by the storage controller within the storage system (underline and bolded emphasis (underline emphasis).
However, Dowling discloses configure, multiple layers of the storage system ( 0049] To access resources behind the Secure POP, a resource requester can follow a series of functional steps which result in secure transactions with the resource provider. These steps include, but are not limited to, authentication, resource identification, session establishment, secure transactions, and session closure.0057, resource provide may supply a list of security policies to the secure POP for the user).
Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of load blanching.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chauhan to incorporate the teachings of Harjanto, including the teaching of Dowling and provide load balancing system for communication. Doing so would provide a type of configuration is usable to access the repository, thereby increasing access to the repository quickly.
The combination fails to disclose determine, based on the security policy, which communication layers of the storage system are to be configured to enable the particular client to access the data; and configure, by the storage controller within the storage system (underline and bolded emphasis).
However, Yashiro discloses 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150, and the external information obtained by the external information obtaining unit 160. The storage layer controller 170 changes the storage layer of the file within the storage 140 by outputting to the storage 140 control information, i.e. it can be seen as also a security policy, for moving the file to the determined storage layer.
Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling and Yashiro are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of load blanching. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chauhan to incorporate the teachings of Harjanto, including the teaching of Dowling, including the teaching of Yashiro and provide controlling the layer of storage. Doing so would provide a type of configuration is usable to access the repository, thereby increasing access to the repository quickly.
As per claim 2. Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling and Yashiro disclose the storage system of claim 1, the combination discloses wherein to configure the determined communication layers of the storage system (Yashiro 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150), the processing device is further configured to: determine one or more credentials that are usable by the particular client ( Dowling, 0064 [0064] FIG. 6 provides a high-level overview of a process by which such authorization may occur. When an initial resource request is made to a well-known port by a user from a client network, user credentials may be validated (Block 600). If a user has not supplied valid credentials, any open sessions may be closed (Block 601). If a user supplies valid credentials, the Secure Core may create an internal credential set based on supplied user information (Block 602). Such a credential set may include, but is not limited to, a list of resources available to a user, and permissions associated with a user at each resource. 0065 After user and network credentials are created, a set of session credentials may be determined by forming a union of user and network credentials (Block 605) and by Block 606, current OSI Transport layer connections connected with user communications may then be bundled, and such bundles may be associated with appropriate session credentials. Wherein the determined credential are associated with Transport layer connection or for the transport layer connection).
As per claim 3. Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling and Yashiro disclose the storage system of claim 1, the combination discloses wherein to configure the determined communication layers of the storage system ( Yashiro, 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150, ), the processing device is further configured to: specify one or more types of transports to be used in a transport layer of the determined communication layers by the particular client to access the data stored at the one or more storage devices (Chauhan, 0012 the device can be further configured to receive multiple requests from the agent to initiate establishment of transport layer connections with the load balancer responsive to the server coming online. In some embodiments, the device can be further configured to receive, responsive to at least one transport layer connection of the predetermined number of transport layer connections closing, a new request from the agent. The new request can be to initiate a new transport layer connection to maintain a predetermined number of transport layer connections. In some embodiments, the device can be further configured to increase the predetermined number of transport layer connections to a second predetermined number of transport layer connections. The device can be configured to increase the predetermined number of transport layer connections based on a policy).
As per claim 4. Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling and Yashiro disclose the storage system of claim 1, the combination discloses wherein to configure the multiple layers of the storage system, the processing device is further configured to ( Yashiro, 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150,): configure one or more ports of a network layer of the determined communication layers of the storage system to be used by the particular client to access the data stored at the one or more storage devices ( Chauhan, Par 0258 the load balancing agent 702 may be configured with the server pool's name or identify the server pool's name. The load balancing agent 712a may determine that the server pool's name is published in DNS. The load balancing agent 712a may further determine that the server pool's name is associated with a load balancer that services this server pool (e.g., based on published information or information store in the map 716a data structure that maps the server pool's name to a load balancer). For example, the map data structure 716a or other database accessible to the agent 702a may store a service location record that provides the IP address:port of one or more load balancers that are servicing the pool. By obtaining this IP address:port, the load balancing agent 702a-n can send a request to initiate establishment of a transport layer).
As per claim 5. Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling and Yashiro disclose The storage system of claim 1, the combination discloses wherein to configure the multiple layers of the storage system (Yashiro, 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150, ), the processing device is further configured to: apply one or more protections to an application layer of the determined communication layers of the storage system to control access to the data stored at the one or more storage devices by the particular client ( Yashiro, 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150, and Chauhan,0007 receiving a new request from the agent to initiate a new transport layer connection to maintain a predetermined number of transport layer connections. The device may receive the new request responsive to at least one transport layer connection of the predetermined number of transport layer connections closing. In some embodiments, the method includes increasing the predetermined number of transport layer connections to a second predetermined number of transport layer connections. The method can include increasing the predetermined number of transport layer connections based on a policy).
As per claim 6. Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling and Yashiro disclose The storage system of claim 1, Yashiro discloses wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine which layers of the storage system are to be configured to meet the one or more parameters of the security policy (Yashiro, 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150),
As per claim 7. Chauhan and Harjanto and Dowling and Yashiro disclose The storage system of claim 1, the combination discloses wherein the determined communication layers correspond to layers of an Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) model ( Yashiro, Yashiro, 0033] The storage layer controller 170, i.e. the storage controller, determines the storage layer of the file stored on the storage 140, based on the meta information, i.e. security policy, determining the storage layer can be seen as the communication layer to the storage 140, managed by the meta information manager 130, the media configuration information managed by the media configuration manager 150, Dowling, 0047 only OSI layers above the Transport layer (i.e., the Session layer, in the OSI model) may communicate on a peer level using trusted software ).
As per clams 8-17, those method claims are rejected bases on the same rational set forth in the claims 1-7 respectively.
As per clams 15-20, those medium claims are rejected bases on the same rational set forth in the claims 1-6 respectively.
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496