DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a robotic device comprising: …an expansion unit…; a deflation unit…; an air blowing unit comprising a supply and exhaust pump, an air supply pipe, an exhaust pipe, and a valve”. It is unclear “an air blowing unit…and a valve” is the same or different structure as “an expansion unit” and “a deflation unit” as the specification describes “the warm air blowing unit 52 is an example of an expansion unit” (para. [0095]) and “the warm air blowing unit 52 is an example of the deflation unit” (para. [0110]).
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN114672977 (hereinafter CN’977).
Regarding claim 15, CN’977 teaches a method performed by a robotic device, the method comprising:
inserting a deflated airbag into an inside of clothing (machine translation, step S1, put the inflatable hanger into the clothing);
inflating the clothing (machine translation, step S2, start the blower to inflate the airbag) by inserting via an air supply pipe (figs. 4-9, air blowing channels 411, 412) using a supply and exhaust pump (figs. 4-9, suction and blower mechanism 3 comprising a blower 32 and a suction fan 33), gas into the airbag to expand the airbag;
deflating the airbag (machine translation, step S5, start the suction fan to extract air from the airbag) by removing via an exhaust pipe (figs. 4-9, suction channel 413) using the supply and exhaust pump (figs. 4-9, suction and blower mechanism 3 comprising a blower 32 and a suction fan 33), the gas from the airbag;
extracting the deflated airbag from the inside of the clothing (machine translation, step S5, the user can take out the clothes); and
switching, using a valve (figs. 4-9, switch 34), between insertion of the gas via the air supply pipe and extraction of the gas via the exhaust pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114672977 in view of Kwak (US 2019/0390396).
Regarding claim 1, CN’977 teaches a robotic device comprising: an expansion unit (figs. 4-9, blower 32) configured to inflate clothing by inserting gas into an airbag to expand the airbag; a deflation unit (figs. 4-9, suction fan 33) configured to deflate the airbag by taking out the gas from the airbag; an air blowing unit comprising a supply and exhaust pump (figs. 4-9, suction and blower mechanism 3 comprising a blower 32 and a suction fan 33), an air supply pipe (figs. 4-9, air blowing channels 411, 412), an exhaust pipe (figs. 4-9, suction channel 413) and a valve (figs. 4-9, switch 34), wherein the expansion unit is further configured to insert the gas into the airbag via the air supply pipe using the supply and exhaust pump, wherein the deflation unit is further configured to extract the gas from the airbag via the exhaust pipe using the supply and exhaust pump, and wherein the valve is configured to switch between insertion of the gas via the air supply pipe and extraction of the gas via the exhaust pipe (machine translation).
CN’977 does not clearly teach an insertion unit configured to insert the deflated airbag into an inside of the clothing and an extraction unit configured to extract the deflated airbag from the inside of the clothing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kwak teaches a robot is configured to hang the clothes on the hanger (para. [0021]) and the robot is configured to extract the hanger from the clothing (the robot arms are configured to grip and move the hanger to a specific location, as shown in figs. 1A-1B, the clothes are moved and folded at a folding unit, where the clothes are spread and folded without the hanger).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine CN’977 with a robot as taught by Kwak for the benefit of fully automating a series of processes of folding the clothes which provides rapidly and exactly spreading wrinkles of the clothes (Kwak, para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak does not teach the insertion unit is further configured to insert the airbag into the clothing through a hanger on which the clothing is hung.
However, CN’977 teaches the hanger comprises an airbag system and Kwak teaches the insertion unit is configured to insert the hanger into the clothing (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak with the insertion unit as taught by Kwak for the benefit of fully automating a series of processes of folding the clothes which provides rapidly and exactly spreading wrinkles of the clothes (Kwak, para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak teaches a drying unit (CN’977, fig. 4, drying mechanism 9 comprising a dryer 91) configured to dry the clothing while the clothing is hung on the hanger.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114672977 and Kwak (US 2019/0390396), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN207958774 (hereinafter CN’774).
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak does not clearly teach the expansion unit is further configured to dry the clothing by increasing a temperature of the gas inserted into the airbag.
However, in the same field of endeavor, CN’774 teaches the expansion unit is further configured to dry the clothing by increasing a temperature of the gas inserted into the airbag (para. [0031], the steam pump control system passes through the steam outlet micropores and is introduced into the high temperature steam of 1000 C for drying).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak with the teaching that the expansion unit is further configured to dry the clothing by increasing a temperature of the gas inserted into the airbag as taught by CN’774 for the benefit of drying the clothing and removing the wrinkles while the clothing is over the inflatable airbag.
Regarding claim 13, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak does not teach a washing unit configured to wash the clothing while the clothing is hung on the hanger.
However, CN’774 teaches a washing unit configured to wash the clothing while the clothing is hung on the hanger (machine translation, para. [0034], the laundry rack of the utility model can be placed in a water tank having a certain height for washing, taking out from the water tank and then drying/ironing and other clothes finishing).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak with a washing unit as taught by CN’774 for the benefit of providing a washing apparatus upstream of the drying device in the automated laundry facilities.
Claims 4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114672977 and Kwak (US 2019/0390396), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saji (US 2009/0045231).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak does not teach a folding unit configured to fold the clothing by a folding a mounting plate on which the clothing is mounted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Saji teaches a folding unit (fig. 4) configured to fold the clothing by folding a mounting plate (figs. 7-9, plates 232, 420) on which the clothing is mounted (figs. 7-9, clothing is mounted on plates 232 and 420).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak with a folding unit as taught by Saji so that the garment is automatically folded while being suspended on a hanger and the floor area occupied by the garment folding apparatus is reduced (Saji, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji does not teach the folding unit is configured to fold the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate.
However, Saji teaches the folding unit is configured to fold the mounting plate (fig. 7, plate 232 is folded) while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate (fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji with the teaching of Saji that the folding unit is configured to fold the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate so that the garment is automatically folded while being suspended on a hanger and the floor area occupied by the garment folding apparatus is reduced (Saji, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji does not teach the folding unit is configured to fold the mounting plate while the clothing is heated and pressed on the mounting plate.
However, Saji teaches the folding unit is configured to fold the mounting plate while the clothing is heated (fig. 18, para. [0103], steam is let out from the air outlets 200h before start of the folding operation) and pressed (figs. 7-9) on the mounting plate.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji with the teaching of Saji that the folding unit is configured to fold the mounting plate while the clothing is heated and pressed on the mounting plate so that the garment is automatically folded while being suspended on a hanger and the floor area occupied by the garment folding apparatus is reduced (Saji, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak does not teach a folding unit configured to fold the clothing by folding the airbag while the airbag is inserted in the clothing.
However CN’977 teaches the hanger comprises an airbag system and Saji teaches the hanger comprises a folding unit configured to fold the clothing by folding sections of the hanger while the hanger is inserted in the clothing (fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak with the teaching that a folding unit is configured to fold the clothing by folding the section of the hanger while the hanger is inserted in the clothing as taught by Saji so that the garment is automatically folded while being suspended on a hanger and the floor area occupied by the garment folding apparatus is reduced (Saji, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji does not teach the airbag has a folding line for folding.
However, CN’977 teaches the hanger comprises an airbag system and Saji teaches the hanger has a folding line (fig. 6, folding line 232a) for folding.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji with the teaching that the hanger has a folding line for folding as suggested by Saji so that the garment is automatically folded while being suspended on a hanger and the floor area occupied by the garment folding apparatus is reduced (Saji, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji does not teach the folding unit comprises a robot arm that is further configured to fold the airbag at the folding line.
However, Saji teaches the folding unit comprises a robot arm (fig. 6, arm 222) and is further configured to fold the airbag at the folding line (fig. 6, at the line 222a).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji with the teaching that the folding unit comprises a robot arm and is further configured to fold the airbag at the folding line as suggested by Saji so that the garment is automatically folded while being suspended on a hanger and the floor area occupied by the garment folding apparatus is reduced (Saji, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji does not teach the folding unit comprises an actuator provided at the folding line and configured to fold the airbag at the folding line.
However, Saji teaches the folding unit comprises an actuator (fig. 6, element 234) provided at the folding line and configured to fold the airbag at the folding line.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji with the teaching that the folding unit comprises an actuator provided at the folding line and configured to fold the airbag at the folding line as suggested by Saji so that the garment is automatically folded while being suspended on a hanger and the floor area occupied by the garment folding apparatus is reduced (Saji, para. [0028]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114672977, Kwak (US 2019/0390396) and Saji (US 2009/0045231), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Saji (US 2009/0120972)(hereinafter Saji’972).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji does not teach the deflation unit is configured to remove the gas from the airbag on the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Saji’972 teaches the deflation unit is configured to remove the gas from the airbag on the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate (fig. 28, para. [0206], [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure CN’977-Kwak-Saji with the teaching that the deflation unit is configured to remove the gas from the airbag on the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate as suggested by Saji’972 for the benefit of providing a garment folding apparatus capable of automatically folding garments (Saji’972, para. [0001]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114672977 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of CN207958774.
Regarding claim 16, CN’977 does not teach drying the clothing by increasing a temperature of the gas inserted into the airbag.
However, CN’774 teaches drying the clothing by increasing a temperature of the gas inserted into the airbag (para. [0031], the steam pump control system introduces steam through the steam outlet holes for drying).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine CN’977 with the teaching that drying the clothing by increasing a temperature of the gas inserted into the airbag as taught by CN’774 for the benefit of drying the clothing and removing the wrinkles while the clothing is over the inflatable airbag.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114672977, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Saji (US 2009/0120972).
Regarding claim 18, the modified method CN’977 does not teach after the airbag is extracted, folding the clothing by folding a mounting plate on which the clothing is mounted.
However, Saji’972 teaches after the airbag is extracted, folding the clothing by folding a mounting plate on which the clothing is mounted (figs. 28-30).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine CN’977 with the teaching of Saji’972 that after the airbag is extracted, folding the clothing by folding a mounting plate on which the clothing is mounted for the benefit of providing a garment folding apparatus capable of automatically folding garments (Saji’972, para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified method CN’977-Saji’972 does not teach the gas is removed from the airbag on the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate.
However, Saji’972 teaches the gas is removed from the airbag on the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate (fig. 28, para. [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified method CN’977-Saji’972 with the teaching that the gas is removed from the airbag on the mounting plate while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate as suggested by Saji’972 for the benefit of providing a garment folding apparatus capable of automatically folding garments (Saji’972, para. [0001]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified method CN’977-Saji’972 does not teach the mounting plate is folded while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate.
However, Saji’972 teaches the mounting plate is folded while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate (figs. 29A-29C).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified method CN’977-Saji’972 with the teaching that the mounting plate is folded while the clothing is adsorbed on the mounting plate as suggested by Saji’972 for the benefit of providing a garment folding apparatus capable of automatically folding garments (Saji’972, para. [0001]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 11/17/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection to the claims has been withdrawn due to the applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 11/17/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732