DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite at least because it is unclear whether the limitation following the term “optionally” is in fact required by the claim. The limitation is not deemed to carry patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ollinger (EP 2 741 309 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ollinger discloses an x-ray analysis apparatus, including:
a) an x-ray source for irradiating a sample 9 with x-rays, where the x-ray source includes an anode 5 for generating x-rays and a cathode 2 for emitting an electron beam 3 towards the anode 5 to irradiate an irradiated area on a target surface of the anode 5;
b) a steering arrangement 10 for positioning the irradiated area on the target surface of the anode 5;
c) a processor configured to receive x-ray analysis information, and to determine a change in position of the irradiated area on the target surface based on the x-ray analysis information (pars.0028-0029);
d) a controller configured to control the steering arrangement 10 to move the irradiated area on the target surface according to the change in position determined by the processor (pars.0028-0029).
Examiner’s Note: the limitation listing various analyses for which the claimed invention may be useful is directed to an intended use of the claimed device which confers no patentable distinction over the prior art (also see par.0014 of Ollinger).
With respect to claim 2, Ollinger further discloses that the x-ray analysis information includes information about the position and/or orientation of at least one component of the x-ray analysis apparatus (optic relative to the focal spot on the anode, par.0028) and/or information relating to the position of an x-ray focal spot on the sample (difference in position reflects misalignment between the optic and the focal spot on the anode, par.0028).
With respect to claim 3, Ollinger further discloses that the steering arrangement 10 is a magnetic steering arrangement (par.0042).
With respect to claim 5, Ollinger further discloses that the effective focal spot size is less than 100 microns (as low as 30 microns, par.0013).
With respect to claim 6, Ollinger further discloses that the processor receives calibration data relating to the x-ray analysis (calibration tables are standard protocol in any field), where:
e) the calibration data includes a data structure that maps an input based on the x-ray analysis information to an adjustment output relating to the change in position (focal spot position for each operation mode, par.0029); and
f) the processor is configured to determine an adjustment output based on the x-ray analysis information and the calibration data, and output the adjustment output (par.0029).
With respect to claim 8, Ollinger further discloses an x-ray optic 6 arranged to receive x-rays from the x-ray source.
With respect to claim 11, Ollinger further discloses that the processor is configured to determine the change in position of the irradiated area on the target surface by receiving, as an input, x-ray analysis information relating to an x-ray flux through the x-ray optic, and determining, as an output, a change in position corresponding to an increase in x-ray flux through the x-ray optic (par.0029).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Ollinger discloses a method for controlling an x-ray analysis apparatus configured to focus an electron beam 3 to an irradiated area on a target surface 5, including:
a) receiving, by a processor, x-ray analysis information;
b) determining, by the processor, a change in position of the irradiated area;
c) executing, by a controller, a control signal for controlling a steering arrangement 10 such that the position of the irradiated area is changed according to the change in position determined by the processor (par.0028); where
d) the change in position compensates for a variation, error, or misalignment in the x-ray analysis apparatus (par.0028).
Regarding claim 16, Ollinger discloses an x-ray analysis apparatus, including:
a) an x-ray source for irradiating a sample 9 with x-rays, where the x-ray source includes an anode 5 for generating x-rays and a cathode 2 for emitting an electron beam 3 towards the anode 5 to irradiate an irradiated area on a target surface of the anode 5;
b) a steering arrangement 10 for positioning the irradiated area on the target surface of the anode 5;
c) an x-ray optic 6 arranged to receive x-rays from the x-ray source;
d) a processor configured to receive x-ray analysis information, and to determine a change in position of the irradiated area on the target surface based on the x-ray analysis information (pars.0028-0029);
e) a controller configured to control the steering arrangement 10 to move the irradiated area on the target surface according to the change in position determined by the processor (pars.0028-0029); and
f) where the change in position is configured to align the x-rays generated by the anode 5 relative to the x-ray optic (par.0028).
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (US 2020/0098537 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses an x-ray analysis apparatus (Figs.2C and 3), including:
a) an x-ray source 20 for irradiating a sample 60 with x-rays, where the x-ray source 20 includes an anode 25 for generating x-rays and a cathode 21 for emitting an electron beam towards the anode 25 to irradiate an irradiated area on a target surface 26a,b,c of the anode 25;
b) a steering arrangement (double-arrow, par.0033) for positioning the irradiated area on the target surface 26a,b,c of the anode 25;
c) a processor configured to receive x-ray analysis information, and to determine a change in position of the irradiated area on the target surface 26a,b,c based on the x-ray analysis information (to match the wavelength of the optics 90a,b,c, Fig.2C, for a given analysis: par.0029);
d) a controller configured to control the steering arrangement to move the irradiated area on the target surface 26 according to the according to the change in position determined by the processor (Figs.2C and 3 and corresponding descriptions).
Examiner’s Note: the limitation stating various analyses for which the claimed invention may be useful is directed to an intended use of the claimed device which confers no patentable distinction over the prior art.
With respect to claim 2, Yun further discloses that the x-ray analysis information includes information about the position and or type of at least one component (optics 90a,b,c,) of the x-ray analysis apparatus.
With respect to claim 3, Yun further discloses that the steering arrangement is a magnetic steering arrangement (par.0033).
With respect to claim 5, Yun further discloses that the effective focal spot size is less than 100 microns (par.0033, as low as 10 microns).
With respect to claim 6, Yun further discloses that the processor receives calibration data relating to the x-ray analysis (calibration tables are standard protocol in any field), where:
e) the calibration data includes a data structure that maps an input based on the x-ray analysis information to an adjustment output relating to the change in position (selecting areas 26a,b,c (Fig.3) to match the spectrum to the optics 90a,b,c (Fig.2C) for a given analysis requiring a particular emission line (par.0029); and
f) the processor is configured to determine an adjustment output based on the x-ray analysis information and the calibration data, and output the adjustment output (pars.0033 and 0036).
With respect to claim 8, Yun further discloses an x-ray optic 90a,b,c arranged to receive x-rays 22 from the x-ray source 20 (Fig.2C).
With respect to claim 12, Yun further discloses that the x-ray optic 90a,b,c is interchangeably coupled to the x-ray source 20 (Fig.2C).
Regarding claim 16, Yun discloses an x-ray analysis apparatus, including:
a) an x-ray source 20 for irradiating a sample 60 with x-rays, where the x-ray source 20 includes an anode 25 for generating x-rays 22 and a cathode 21 for emitting an electron beam towards the anode 25 to irradiate an irradiated area on a target surface 26a,b,c of the anode 25;
b) a steering arrangement (double-arrow, par.0033) for positioning the irradiated area on the target surface 26a,b,c of the anode 25;
c) an x-ray optic 90a,b,c arranged to receive x-rays 22 from the x-ray source 20;
d) a processor configured to receive x-ray analysis information, and to determine a change in position of the irradiated area on the target surface 26a,b,c based on the x-ray analysis information (to match the wavelength of the optics 90a,b,c, Fig.2C, for a given analysis: par.0029);
e) a controller configured to control the steering arrangement to move the irradiated area on the target surface 226a,b,c according to the change in position determined by the processor (Figs.2C and 3 and corresponding descriptions); and
f) where the change in position is configured to align the x-rays 22 generated by the anode 25 relative to the x-ray optic 90 (Figs.2C and 3 and corresponding descriptions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ollinger, as applied to claim 3 above.
With respect to claim 4, Ollinger does not specifically disclose a quadrupole electron beam steering arrangement.
However, Ollinger does state that it is advantageous to have the electron beam deflection device (par.0021) manipulate the electron beam in two orthogonal directions, providing two linear independent movement directions (par.0022), and that the electron beam deflection may be performed magnetically through energized coils (par.0023).
The skilled artisan readily appreciates the fact that individually controlled, magnetic quadrupole electron beam steering optics have been routine in the art for decades for precise control over deflecting the electron beam in two orthogonal directions specifically for focal spot position and/or focus control.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ollinger to use magnetic quadrupole beam steering optics, as is routine in the art, in order to provide the precision control over the electron beam in two independent orthogonal directions, as required by Ollinger and as is recognized in the art.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ollinger, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Yokhin (US 2006/0062351 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Ollinger does not disclose the details of a goniometer, other than the fact that the disclosure is compatible with various diffraction and scattering methodologies, both traditional and grazing-incidence (par.0014).
Yokhin teaches a multimodal x-ray analysis system where the different x-ray analyses (par.0072), including reflectometry, XRD, grazing-incidence XRD, and SAXS (par.0073). The x-ray analysis information that the system of Yokhin provides a processor is the various starting positions and orientations of each component of the goniometer for each analysis type (Figs.1 and 2). In particular, the x-ray analysis information includes information about the orientation of the incident arm 40 relative to the sample stage 24 (Fig.1, par.0073, upper positions are used for XRD, lower positions used for XRR, SAXS, and grazing-incidence XRD). In this manner, the device components are automatically positioned in the preset optimal locations for a given x-ray analysis mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ollinger to have the x-ray analysis information further include the orientation of the incident arm of a goniometer relative to the sample stage, as taught by Yokhin, in order to streamline the transition between x-ray analyses.
With respect to claim 19, Ollinger does not disclose the details of a goniometer, other than the fact that the disclosure is compatible with various diffraction and scattering methodologies, both traditional and grazing-incidence (par.0014).
Yokhin teaches a multimodal x-ray analysis system where the different x-ray analyses (par.0072), including reflectometry, XRD, grazing-incidence XRD, and SAXS (par.0073). The system of Yokhin provides x-ray analysis information to a processor including the various starting positions and orientations of each component of the goniometer for each analysis type (Figs.1 and 2). In particular, the x-ray analysis information includes information about the orientation of the incident arm 40 relative to the sample stage 24 (Fig.1, par.0073, upper positions are used for XRD, lower positions used for XRR, SAXS, and grazing-incidence XRD; also see at least pars.0088-0091). The x-ray analysis information also includes preset information regarding the initial orientation (rotation) of the sample stage 24 for some analyses (par.0107). In this manner, the device components are automatically positioned in the preset optimal locations for a given x-ray analysis mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ollinger to have the x-ray analysis information further include the orientation of the sample stage around the first rotation axis, and the orientation of the incident arm about the second rotation axis, as taught by Yokhin, in order to streamline the transition between x-ray analyses.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 10, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 7, while rotatable sample stages are routine in the art for the types of x-ray analyses disclosed by Ollinger (par.0014), the prior art neither teaches nor reasonably suggests the additional limitation that the processor is configured to determine the adjustment output based on the orientation of the sample stage, as required by the combination of features as claimed. The prior art, particularly Ollinger, focuses on aligning the focal spot on the anode to the x-ray optic, where further alignment to downstream components is handled by known means.
With respect to claims 9 and 18, while x-ray optics and sample stages and goniometers are routine in the art for the types of x-ray analyses disclosed by Ollinger (par.0014), the prior art neither teaches nor reasonably suggests the additional limitation that the processor is configured to determine the adjustment output based on the orientation of the incident arm, as required by the combination of features as claimed. The prior art, particularly Ollinger, focuses on aligning the focal spot on the anode to the x-ray optic, where further alignment to downstream components is handled by known means.
Similarly, with respect to claims 10 and 20, while x-ray optics and sample stages and goniometers are routine in the art for the types of x-ray analyses disclosed by Ollinger (par.0014), the prior art neither teaches nor reasonably suggests the additional limitation that the processor is configured to determine the adjustment output based on the orientation of the incident arm around the second rotation axis and based on the orientation of the sample stage around the first rotation axis, as required by the combination of features as claimed. The prior art, particularly Ollinger, focuses on aligning the focal spot on the anode to the x-ray optic, where further alignment to downstream components is handled by known means.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (cited in the attached PTO-892 unless otherwise stated): US patent documents to Nonoguchi and to Canfield each teach an extensive array of magnetic electron beam optics; and the remaining prior art are US family members of previously-cited prior art.
THOMAS R. ARTMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/THOMAS R ARTMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884