DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/23/2025 regarding claims 2, 4-8, 10-14 and 16-19 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 8, 10-11, 14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griot (US PG Pub. No. 2018/0270840) in view of Jiang (US PG Pub. No. 20170164270) and further in view of Watfa (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0374793), Bemmel (US PG Pub. No. 2006/0101409) and O’Neill (US PG Pub. No. 2013/0304825).
As per claim 2:
Griot teaches a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 3 UE 115-b OR device 905 including components of wireless device 115, please see Figure 9 and paragraph [0180], comprising:
at least one memory (see Figure 9, paragraph [0182], memory 925 comprising software 930);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see Figure 9, paragraph [0180], processor 920 coupled to memory 925 via bus 910) and configured to cause the UE (see paragraph [0181], processor 920 may perform functions or tasks supporting policy communication via control plane signaling) to:
retrieve one or more UE policies for routing UE application traffic via the mobile network (see paragraph [0099], an example policy implemented at the UE is the SSC Mode Selection Policy (SSCMSP). The SSCMSP is used by the UE 115-a to associate the UE applications with SSC modes and to determine the PDU session which this traffic should be routed to), the one or more policies stored at the UE (see Figure 3, paragraph [0120], explicitly states: “Before establishing a communication link, it is likely that the UE 115-c does not have stored all of the policies for that particular portion of the wireless network. As such, as part of connecting to the wireless network (e.g., through a radio head or through a base station), the UE 115-c may request the policies associated with the UE 115-c and that portion of the wireless network”. Paragraph [0106] also disclose policies stored by UE 1150b may need to be updated due to changing network conditions or changes in the policies themselves. Therefore, it is evident that one or more of the policies stored at the UE is retrieved since the UE determines it does not have all of the required policies of the particular portion of the network).
Griot does not clearly teach determine to register to a mobile network.
Jiang teaches determine to register to a mobile network (paragraph [0046] explicitly states; “When the mobile terminal loses network coverage or is in a roaming state, the mobile terminal determines whether the RPLMN or the HPLMN is available. If the RPLMN or the HPLMN is available, the mobile terminal selects the RPLMN or the HPLMN to perform registration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the registration process (as disclosed in Jiang) into Griot improving the speed and efficiency of network registration performed by the mobile terminal especially since the mobile terminal contains pre-stored list of available mobile networks (please see paragraph [0049] of Jiang).
The combination of Griot and Jiang do not clearly teach determine whether there is at least one UE policy associated with the mobile network;
and transmit, to the mobile network, a registration message, wherein the registration message comprises a policy identifier corresponding to the at least one UE policy based at least in part on whether the at least one UE policy is associated with the mobile network.
Watfa teaches determine whether there is at least one UE policy associated with the mobile network (see paragraph [0093], the WTRU may store the list of allowed NSAAIs in a memory of the WTRU (e.g., as part of the local policies of the WTRU). Upon receiving the updated assistance information, the WTRU may check its local policies and determine whether the updated assistance information is among those allowed by the local policies (e.g., supported by the current service network). If the WTRU determines that the updated assistance is allowed, the WTRU may send a request (e.g., a session management request) to the serving network to request a connection to a network slice that corresponds to the updated assistance information. Note: Examiner is reading said updated assistance information as said “fresh polices” especially since they are local policies supported by the current network);
and transmit, to the mobile network, a registration message, wherein the registration message comprises a policy identifier corresponding to the at least one UE policy based at least in part on whether the at least one UE policy (paragraph [0121] disclose the WTRU may resend the registration message periodically and may use the new and/or updated assistance information in a radio and/or NAS message. Therefore, it is evident that the registration message comprises of policy that is based on whether the WTRU policy is updated/fresh) is associated with the mobile network (paragraph [0093] disclose the updated assistance information are allowed policies supported by the current serving network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of updated assistance information (as disclosed in Watfa) into both Griot and Jiang as a way of enabling the terminal to subscribe to or more to a new network slice on an as-need basis (please see paragraph [0087] of Watfa).
The combination of Griot, Jiang and Watfa do not clearly teach wherein the policy identifier indicates a version of the at least one UE policy and whether the at least one UE policy is the latest policy available.
Bemmel teaches wherein the policy identifier indicates a version of the at least one UE policy and whether the at least one UE policy is the latest policy available (see Figure 3, step 304, paragraph [0026], the IP address server of the IP network examines the request from the client for a special mark or token (construed as said policy identifier) conformance with a latest security policy required for communication with the IP network. Step 306, paragraph [0026], if the communication from the client indicates conformance with the required latest security policy, the method 300 proceeds with step 306 where the address server issues an address for the client for communication with the network. Other sections like paragraph [0007], discloses address server for determining whether the client desiring connection to the network is in conformance with the current version of the security policies).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the latest security policy (as disclosed in Bemmel) into Griot, Jiang and Watfa) as a way of permitting the client device to access the network based on the currently enforced security policy (please see paragraph [0023] of Bemmel). Therefore, a client device having the latest security policy helps in preventing new/latest virus (please see paragraph [0003] of Bemmel).
The combination of Griot, Jiang, Watfa and Bemmel do not clearly teach wherein the policy identifier further indicates an expiration date of the at least one UE policy.
O’Neill teaches wherein the policy identifier further indicates an expiration date of the at least one UE policy (see Figure 5, paragraph [0049], disclose rule 508 includes an identification of a valid time period, during which policy 500 is active (that is, during which policy 500) will be implemented so as to disable the function identified by policy 500 at communication device 104).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the valid time period for an identified policy (as disclosed in O’Neill) into Griot, Jiang, Watfa and Bemmel as a way of enabling the communication device whether or not to disable/turn off some of its input and output components (please see paragraph [0054] of O’Neill).
As per claim 4:
Griot in view of Jiang and further in view of Watfa, Bemmel and O’Neill teaches the UE of claim 2.
Griot, Jiang and O’Neill do not clearly teach wherein the at least one UE policy is fresh and associated with the mobile network.
Watfa teaches wherein the at least one UE policy is fresh and associated with the mobile network (see paragraph [0093], upon receiving the updated assistance information, the WTRU may check its local policies and determine whether the updated assistance information is among those allowed by the local policies (e.g., supported by the current serving network)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of updated assistance information (as disclosed in Watfa) into Griot, Jiang and O’Neill as a way of enabling the terminal to subscribe to or more to a new network slice on an as-need basis (please see paragraph [0087] of Watfa).
Similarly, Bemmel also teaches wherein the at least one UE policy is fresh and associated with the mobile network (see paragraph [0026], discloses the latest security policy required for communication with the IP network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the latest security policy (as disclosed in Bemmel) into Griot, Jiang and O’Neill as a way of permitting the client device to access the network based on the currently enforced security policy (please see paragraph [0023] of Bemmel). Therefore, a client device having the latest security policy helps in preventing new/latest virus (please see paragraph [0003] of Bemmel).
As per claim 5:
Griot in view of Jiang and further in view of Watfa, Bemmel and O’Neill teaches the UE of claim 2.
Griot, Jiang and O’Neill do not clearly teach wherein the registration message includes the policy identifier.
Watfa teaches wherein the registration message includes the policy identifier (paragraph [0121] disclose the WTRU may resend the registration message periodically and may use the new and/or updated assistance information in a radio and/or NAS message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of updated assistance information (as disclosed in Watfa) into Griot, Jiang and O’Neill as a way of enabling the terminal to subscribe to or more to a new network slice on an as-need basis (please see paragraph [0087] of Watfa).
Similarly, Bemmel teaches wherein the registration message includes the policy identifier Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the latest security policy (as disclosed in Bemmel) into Griot, Jiang and O’Neill as a way of permitting the client device to access the network based on the currently enforced security policy (please see paragraph [0023] of Bemmel). Therefore, a client device having the latest security policy helps in preventing new/latest virus (please see paragraph [0003] of Bemmel).
As per claim 8:
Griot teaches a processor for wireless communication (see Figure 9, paragraph [0180], processor 920 coupled to memory 925 via bus 910), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (see Figure 9, UE communications manager 915 coupled to processor 920 and memory 925 via bus 910) and configured to cause the processor to:
retrieve one or more UE policies for routing UE application traffic via the mobile network (see paragraph [0099], an example policy implemented at the UE is the SSC Mode Selection Policy (SSCMSP). The SSCMSP is used by the UE 115-a to associate the UE applications with SSC modes and to determine the PDU session which this traffic should be routed to), the one or more policies stored at the UE (see Figure 3, paragraph [0120], explicitly states: “Before establishing a communication link, it is likely that the UE 115-c does not have stored all of the policies for that particular portion of the wireless network. As such, as part of connecting to the wireless network (e.g., through a radio head or through a base station), the UE 115-c may request the policies associated with the UE 115-c and that portion of the wireless network”. Paragraph [0106] also disclose policies stored by UE 1150b may need to be updated due to changing network conditions or changes in the policies themselves. Therefore, it is evident that one or more of the policies stored at the UE is retrieved since the UE determines it does not have all of the required policies of the particular portion of the network).
Griot does not clearly teach determine to register to a mobile network.
Jiang teaches determine to register to a mobile network (paragraph [0046] explicitly states; “When the mobile terminal loses network coverage or is in a roaming state, the mobile terminal determines whether the RPLMN or the HPLMN is available. If the RPLMN or the HPLMN is available, the mobile terminal selects the RPLMN or the HPLMN to perform registration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the registration process (as disclosed in Jiang) into Griot improving the speed and efficiency of network registration performed by the mobile terminal especially since the mobile terminal contains pre-stored list of available mobile networks (please see paragraph [0049] of Jiang).
The combination of Griot and Jiang do not clearly teach determine whether there is at least one UE policy associated with the mobile network;
and transmit, to the mobile network, a registration message, wherein the registration message comprises a policy identifier corresponding to the at least one UE policy based at least in part on whether the at least one UE policy is associated with the mobile network.
Watfa teaches determine whether there is at least one UE policy associated with the mobile network (see paragraph [0093], the WTRU may store the list of allowed NSAAIs in a memory of the WTRU (e.g., as part of the local policies of the WTRU). Upon receiving the updated assistance information, the WTRU may check its local policies and determine whether the updated assistance information is among those allowed by the local policies (e.g., supported by the current service network). If the WTRU determines that the updated assistance is allowed, the WTRU may send a request (e.g., a session management request) to the serving network to request a connection to a network slice that corresponds to the updated assistance information. Note: Examiner is reading said updated assistance information as said “fresh polices” especially since they are local policies supported by the current network);
and transmit, to the mobile network, a registration message, wherein the registration message comprises a policy identifier corresponding to the at least one UE policy based at least in part on whether the at least one UE policy (paragraph [0121] disclose the WTRU may resend the registration message periodically and may use the new and/or updated assistance information in a radio and/or NAS message. Therefore, it is evident that the registration message comprises of policy that is based on whether the WTRU policy is updated/fresh) associated with the mobile network (paragraph [0093] disclose the updated assistance information are allowed policies supported by the current serving network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of updated assistance information (as disclosed in Watfa) into both Griot and Jiang as a way of enabling the terminal to subscribe to or more to a new network slice on an as-need basis (please see paragraph [0087] of Watfa).
The combination of Griot, Jiang and Watfa do not clearly teach wherein the policy identifier indicates a version of the at least one UE policy and whether the at least one UE policy is the latest policy available.
Bemmel teaches wherein the policy identifier indicates a version of the at least one UE policy and whether the at least one UE policy is the latest policy available (see Figure 3, step 304, paragraph [0026], the IP address server of the IP network examines the request from the client for a special mark or token (construed as said policy identifier) conformance with a latest security policy required for communication with the IP network. Step 306, paragraph [0026], if the communication from the client indicates conformance with the required latest security policy, the method 300 proceeds with step 306 where the address server issues an address for the client for communication with the network. Other sections like paragraph [0007], discloses address server for determining whether the client desiring connection to the network is in conformance with the current version of the security policies).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the latest security policy (as disclosed in Bemmel) into Griot, Jiang and Watfa) as a way of permitting the client device to access the network based on the currently enforced security policy (please see paragraph [0023] of Bemmel). Therefore, a client device having the latest security policy helps in preventing new/latest virus (please see paragraph [0003] of Bemmel).
The combination of Griot, Jiang, Watfa and Bemmel do not clearly teach wherein the policy identifier further indicates an expiration date of the at least one UE policy.
O’Neill teaches wherein the policy identifier further indicates an expiration date of the at least one UE policy (see Figure 5, paragraph [0049], disclose rule 508 includes an identification of a valid time period, during which policy 500 is active (that is, during which policy 500) will be implemented so as to disable the function identified by policy 500 at communication device 104).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the valid time period for an identified policy (as disclosed in O’Neill) into Griot, Jiang, Watfa and Bemmel as a way of enabling the communication device whether or not to disable/turn off some of its input and output components (please see paragraph [0054] of O’Neill).
Claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Claim 11 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
As per claim 14:
Griot teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0005] teaches a method of updating policy information. The method involves the UE receiving a NAS message over a control plane that includes policy information associated with the UE), the method comprising:
retrieving one or more UE policies for routing UE application traffic via the mobile network (see paragraph [0099], an example policy implemented at the UE is the SSC Mode Selection Policy (SSCMSP). The SSCMSP is used by the UE 115-a to associate the UE applications with SSC modes and to determine the PDU session which this traffic should be routed to), the one or more policies stored at the UE (see Figure 3, paragraph [0120], explicitly states: “Before establishing a communication link, it is likely that the UE 115-c does not have stored all of the policies for that particular portion of the wireless network. As such, as part of connecting to the wireless network (e.g., through a radio head or through a base station), the UE 115-c may request the policies associated with the UE 115-c and that portion of the wireless network”. Paragraph [0106] also disclose policies stored by UE 1150b may need to be updated due to changing network conditions or changes in the policies themselves. Therefore, it is evident that one or more of the policies stored at the UE is retrieved since the UE determines it does not have all of the required policies of the particular portion of the network).
Griot does not teach determining to register to a mobile network.
Jiang teaches determining to register to a mobile network (paragraph [0046] explicitly states; “When the mobile terminal loses network coverage or is in a roaming state, the mobile terminal determines whether the RPLMN or the HPLMN is available. If the RPLMN or the HPLMN is available, the mobile terminal selects the RPLMN or the HPLMN to perform registration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the registration process (as disclosed in Jiang) into Griot improving the speed and efficiency of network registration performed by the mobile terminal especially since the mobile terminal contains pre-stored list of available mobile networks (please see paragraph [0049] of Jiang).
The combination of Griot and Jiang do not clearly teach determining whether there is at least one UE policy associated with the mobile network;
and transmitting, to the mobile network, a registration message, wherein the registration message comprises a policy identifier corresponding to the at least one UE policy based at least in part on whether the at least one UE policy is associated with the mobile network.
Watfa teaches determining whether there is at least one UE policy associated with the mobile network (see paragraph [0093], the WTRU may store the list of allowed NSAAIs in a memory of the WTRU (e.g., as part of the local policies of the WTRU). Upon receiving the updated assistance information, the WTRU may check its local policies and determine whether the updated assistance information is among those allowed by the local policies (e.g., supported by the current service network). If the WTRU determines that the updated assistance is allowed, the WTRU may send a request (e.g., a session management request) to the serving network to request a connection to a network slice that corresponds to the updated assistance information. Note: Examiner is reading said updated assistance information as said “fresh polices” especially since they are local policies supported by the current network);
and transmitting, to the mobile network, a registration message, wherein the registration message comprises a policy identifier corresponding to the at least one UE policy based at least in part on whether the at least one UE policy (paragraph [0121] disclose the WTRU may resend the registration message periodically and may use the new and/or updated assistance information in a radio and/or NAS message. Therefore, it is evident that the registration message comprises of policy that is based on whether the WTRU policy is updated/fresh) is associated with the mobile network (paragraph [0093] disclose the updated assistance information are allowed policies supported by the current serving network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the transmission of updated assistance information (as disclosed in Watfa) into both Griot and Jiang as a way of enabling the terminal to subscribe to or more to a new network slice on an as-need basis (please see paragraph [0087] of Watfa).
The combination of Griot, Jiang and Watfa do not clearly teach wherein the policy identifier indicates a version of the at least one UE policy and whether the at least one UE policy is the latest policy available.
Bemmel teaches wherein the policy identifier indicates a version of the at least one UE policy and whether the at least one UE policy is the latest policy available (see Figure 3, step 304, paragraph [0026], the IP address server of the IP network examines the request from the client for a special mark or token (construed as said policy identifier) conformance with a latest security policy required for communication with the IP network. Step 306, paragraph [0026], if the communication from the client indicates conformance with the required latest security policy, the method 300 proceeds with step 306 where the address server issues an address for the client for communication with the network. Other sections like paragraph [0007], discloses address server for determining whether the client desiring connection to the network is in conformance with the current version of the security policies).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the latest security policy (as disclosed in Bemmel) into Griot, Jiang and Watfa) as a way of permitting the client device to access the network based on the currently enforced security policy (please see paragraph [0023] of Bemmel). Therefore, a client device having the latest security policy helps in preventing new/latest virus (please see paragraph [0003] of Bemmel).
The combination of Griot, Jiang, Watfa and Bemmel do not clearly teach wherein the policy identifier further indicates an expiration date of the at least one UE policy.
O’Neill teaches wherein the policy identifier further indicates an expiration date of the at least one UE policy (see Figure 5, paragraph [0049], disclose rule 508 includes an identification of a valid time period, during which policy 500 is active (that is, during which policy 500) will be implemented so as to disable the function identified by policy 500 at communication device 104).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the valid time period for an identified policy (as disclosed in O’Neill) into Griot, Jiang, Watfa and Bemmel as a way of enabling the communication device whether or not to disable/turn off some of its input and output components (please see paragraph [0054] of O’Neill).
Claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
4. Claims 6, 7, 12, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griot in view of Jiang and further in view of Watfa, Bemmel, O’Neill and Youn (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0077356).
As per claim 6:
Griot in view of Jiang and further in view of Watfa, Bemmel and O’Neill teaches the UE of claim 5 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine that the at least one UE policy is not associated with the mobile network.
Youn teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine that the at least one UE policy is not associated with the mobile network (see paragraph [0681], the UE determines that there is no rule associated with the SSC mode selection policy. Said SSC mode selection policy is associated with a network, please see paragraph [0368]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of PDU session based on the SSC mode selection policy (as disclosed in Youn) into Griot, Jiang, Watfa, Bemmel and O’Neill as a way of enabling the UE to determine a type of session and a service continuity mode associated with an application or groups of application (please see paragraph [0677] of Youn).The motivation for doing so would be to reduce battery consumption as well as efficient use of resources (please see paragraph [0023] of Youn).
As per claim 7:
Griot in view of Jiang and further in view of Watfa, Bemmel, O’Neill and Youn teaches the UE of claim 6.
Griot, Jiang, Watfa, Bemmel and O’Neill do not teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to exclude the policy identifier in the registration message in response to determining that the at least one UE policy is not associated with the mobile network.
Youn teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to exclude the policy identifier in the registration message in response to determining that the at least one UE policy is not associated with the mobile network (see paragraph [0681], if the SSCMSP does not include a default SSCMP rule and no other rule matches the application, the UE requests the PDU session without providing the SSC mode).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of PDU session based on the SSC mode selection policy (as disclosed in Youn) into Griot, Jiang, Watfa, Bemmel and O’Neill as a way of enabling the UE to determine a type of session and a service continuity mode associated with an application or groups of application (please see paragraph [0677] of Youn).The motivation for doing so would be to reduce battery consumption as well as efficient use of resources (please see paragraph [0023] of Youn).
Claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Claim 13 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474