Prosecution History Summary
Claims 12-13 are new.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 114802667.
As per claim 1, CN ‘667 teaches a biomimetic turtle, comprising:
-a waterproof housing unit (CN ‘667: pg. 12; abstract; Underwater robot with main body structure) that includes
-a waterproof casing defining a waterproof space therein (CN ‘667: figure 1, 200; pg. 8-9; body structure), and having
-two front limb connecting holes that are in fluid communication with said waterproof space (CN ‘667: figure 1, 100; pg. 8-9; forelimb structure arranged on both sides of main body), and
-two hind limb connecting holes that are in fluid communication with said
waterproof space (CN ‘667: figure 1, 300; pg. 11; hind limb structure arranged at two sides of the main body structure.),
Figure 1 (CN’667)
-two front limb connectors connected respectively to said front limb connecting holes (CN ‘667: figure 5, 106; pg. 8; Front limb structure including a connecting frame), and
-two hind limb connectors connected respectively to said hind limb connecting holes (CN ‘667: figure 21, 304; pg. 12);
Figure 5 (CN’667)
-two front limb driving motors (401) that are disposed in said waterproof space, each of said front limb driving motors including a front limb driving shaft that is connected to a respective one of said front limb connectors (CN ‘667: figure 5, 1083; linkage shaft);
-two hind limb driving motors (501) that are disposed in said waterproof space, each of said hind limb driving motors including a hind limb driving shaft that is connected to a respective one of said hind limb connectors (CN ‘667: figure 21, 3031, 3032; pg. 12);
-two front limb modules that are connected respectively and detachably to said front limb connectors, and that are driven respectively by said front limb driving motors via said front limb connectors (CN ‘667: figures 1 and 5);
-two hind limb modules that are connected respectively and detachably to said hind limb connectors, and that are driven respectively by said hind limb driving motors via said hind limb connectors (CN ‘667: figure 23, 501); and
Figure 21 (CN’667) Figure 23 (CN’667)
-a control unit that is mounted in said waterproof space of said waterproof casing, and that is configured to control said front limb driving motors and said hind limb driving motors (CN ‘667: pg. 5; Driving part connected to the control part used to control the coordinates of underwater exploration robot.).
As per claim 2, the turtle of claim 1 is as described. CN ‘667 further teaches wherein:
-each of said front limb driving motors further includes a front motor body (CN ‘667: figure 5);
-each of said hind limb driving motors further includes a rear motor body (CN ‘667: figure 21);
-said waterproof space has
-two front motor accommodating chambers accommodating respectively said front motor bodies of said front limb driving motors (CN ‘667: figure 2), and
-two rear motor accommodating chambers accommodating respectively said rear motor bodies of said hind limb driving motors (CN ‘667: figure 2); and
Figure 2
-said waterproof casing includes
-a main casing portion (CN ‘667: figure 2, 200),
-two front limb motor casing portions formed respectively with said front limb connecting holes, and cooperating with said main casing portion to define said front motor accommodating chambers (CN ‘667: figure 2), and
-two hind limb motor casing portions formed respectively with said hind limb connecting holes, and cooperating with said main casing portion to define said rear motor accommodating chambers (CN ‘667: figure 2).
As per claim 8, the turtle of claim 1 is as described. CN ‘667 further teaches wherein:
-each of said front limb connectors is rotatable about a first front rotating axis extending in a front-rear direction (CN ‘667: pg. 8); and
-each of said front limb modules includes an L-shaped link rod having a first segment that is mounted to a front portion of the respective one of said front limb connectors and that extends away from said first segment of said L-shaped link rod of another one of said front limb modules (CN ‘667: figure 5; pg. 8), and
-a second segment that extends forwardly from a distal end of said first segment in the front-rear direction (CN ‘667: figure 2), and
-a front limb mounted to and covering a front portion of said second segment, extending away from said front limb of said another one of said front limb modules (CN ‘667: figure 2), and
-rotatable about a second front rotating axis that is perpendicular to the first front rotating axis (CN ‘667: figure 2).
Figure 2 (CN ‘667)
As per claim 9, the turtle of claim 8 is as described. CN ‘667 further teaches wherein:
-each of said front limb modules further includes an angle limiting mechanism mounted between said L-shaped link rod and said front limb for limiting a rotation angle of said front limb relative to said second segment of said L-shaped link rod (CN ‘667: pg. 8-10; figure 5); and
-said angle limiting mechanism has
-an arcuate sliding groove formed in one of said L-shaped link rod and said front limb (CN ‘667: pg. 8-10; figure 5), and
-a sliding protrusion slidably engaging said arcuate sliding groove and formed on another one of said L-shaped link rod and said front limb (CN ‘667: pg. 8-10; figure 5).
Figure 5 (CN ‘667)
As per claim 10, the turtle of claim 8 is as described. CN ‘667 further teaches wherein
-said front limb of each of said front limb modules includes
-a front limb frame mounted to the front portion of said second segment of said L-shaped link rod (CN ‘667: pg. 8-10; figure 5), and
-a deformable front flipper portion surrounding and covering said front limb frame (CN ‘667: pg. 8-10; figure 5), and
-extending rearwardly away from said deformable front flipper portion of another one of said front limb modules (CN ‘667: pg. 8-10; figure 5).
As per claim 11, the turtle of claim 1 is as described. CN ‘667 further teaches wherein:
-each of said hind limb connectors is rotatable about a rear rotating axis extending in a transverse direction (CN ‘667: figure 21-22); and
-each of said hind limb modules includes
-a hind limb link rod extending in a direction parallel to the transverse direction, and mounted to a rear portion of the respective one of said hind limb connectors (CN ‘667: figure 21-22), and
-a deformable hind flipper mounted to and covering a rear portion of said hind limb link rod and extending rearwardly in the front-rear direction (CN ‘667: figure 22).
Figure 21 (CN ‘667) Figure 22 (CN ‘667)
As per claim 13, the turtle of claim 1 is as described. CN ‘667 further teaches wherein said front limb driving motors and said hind limb driving motors are motors without a waterproof function (CN ‘667: pg. 12; In addition but not required to include waterproof motors.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114802667 in view of CN 114590376.
As per claim 3, the turtle of claim 1 is as described. CN ‘667 does not explicitly teach the following, however, CN ‘376 teaches wherein:
-said biomimetic turtle further comprises:
-a weight module disposed in said waterproof space and including a weight member (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 5, 504) that is slidable relative to said waterproof casing along a longitudinal axis extending in a front-rear direction (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1, 5; a front and back gravity center adjusting mechanism),
-a weight member driving motor that is mounted to said waterproof casing (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 5, 506), and
-a crank connecting mechanism that is connected between said weight member and said weight member driving motor (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 5, 505); and
-said control unit is configured to control said weight member driving motor to drive movement of said weight member via said crank connecting mechanism (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1, 4 and 6).
Figure 1 (CN ‘376)
Figure 5 (CN ‘376)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the biomimetic turtle as taught by CN ‘667 by adding a weight module through out the turtle taught by CN ‘376 to allow control of movement of the turtle.
As per claim 4, the turtle of claim 3 is as described. CN ‘667 does not explicitly teach the following, however, CN ‘376 teaches wherein said weight member is a battery unit (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 5, 504).
The motivation to combine the teachings is same as claim 3.
As per claim 5, the turtle of claim 3 is as described. CN ‘667 does not explicitly teach the following, however, CN ‘376 teaches wherein said weight member driving motor includes
a weight driving shaft rotatable about an upright axis perpendicular to the front-rear
direction, and connected co-movably to said crank connecting mechanism for driving the
movement of said weight member (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 5).
The motivation to combine the teachings is same as claim 3.
As per claim 6, the turtle of claim 3 is as described. CN ‘667 does not explicitly teach the following, however, CN ‘376 teaches wherein:
-said waterproof casing further has a head connecting hole in fluid communication with said waterproof space (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1);
-said biomimetic turtle further comprises a head module extending through said head connecting hole and connected to said weight member (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1, 5 all the way to 6 (head)); and
-said waterproof housing unit further includes a waterproof cover mounted between said head module and said waterproof casing (CN ‘376: pg. 4; underwater bionic turtle shell).
The motivation to combine the teachings is same as claim 3.
As per claim 7, the turtle of claim 6 is as described. CN ‘667 does not explicitly teach the following, however, CN ‘376 teaches wherein:
-said head module includes
-a connecting rod extending through said head connecting hole and connected to said weight member (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1),
-a head casing opening rearwardly in the front-rear direction (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1), and
-a dual shaft motor connected between said connecting rod and said head casing (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1), and driving said head casing to rotate relative to said connecting rod (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1); and
-said waterproof cover cooperates with said head casing to define a head space for accommodating said dual shaft motor therein (CN ‘376: pg. 4; figure 1).
The motivation to combine the teachings is same as claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is allowable over prior arts and would be if not dependent from a rejected claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed for claims 1-2 and 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Li fails to teach at least the front limb driving motors and hind limb driving motors being disposed in the waterproof space and drive detachable front and hind limb modules through corresponding front and hind limb connectors, as required by claim 1. Examiner disagrees. Li teaches forelimb driving motor as 401 and hindlimb driving motor 501 being inside the waterproof sealed cabin. If you look at figures 1 and 2, it is shown the motors not sticking out, but placed inside the waterproof shell; the battery and control system are further inside the sealed cabin (200).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Han was added to teach the weight-module features, which provides better propulsion by utilizing adjustment of the net buoyancy and the energy consumption is low (Han: background).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 114056520 – Teaches a bionic marine exploration turtle with a turtle body.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEETAL R PAULSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615