DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species of figure 4 in the reply filed on 05/04/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species of figure 4 should be examined with the species of figures 6-7 is found persuasive. Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0146802, hereafter referred to as ‘Gao ‘802’. Regarding claim 1, Gao ‘802 teaches an optical system (figures 1-18) comprising: a light source 21 configured to emit one or more substantially parallel light beams (para. #’s 90-99); a zoom lens module (1, 7, 12-1, 12-2, 12-3, 73, 77, see figures 2-4 and 14) optically coupled to the light source 21 (figures 2-4 and 14), the zoom lens module comprising: a converging lens (12-3, 73), configured to receive the one or more substantially parallel light beams emitted by the light source and to emit a converging light beam (figures 2-4 and 14 and para. #’s 90-99 and 121-138); and a tubular light spill shield 78 having a back end adjacent to a front surface of the converging lens (fig. 14) and a front end comprising an aperture (fig. 14), the aperture located adjacent to a focus of the converging lens (fig. 14, para. #’s 121-138), the tubular light spill shield configured to pass the converging light beam (para. #’s 121-138), wherein the converging lens and the tubular light spill shield are fixedly coupled to the zoom lens module (figure 14); and a positive power optical device (14-1, 75) configured to receive the converging light beam and to emit an output light beam from the optical system (figures 2-4 and 14 and para. #’s 90-99 and 121-138), wherein the light source and the positive power optical device are mounted in fixed positions in the optical system (para. #’s 90-138) and the zoom lens module is configured to move along an optical axis of the optical system between the light source and the positive power optical device (para. #’s 105-107).
Regarding claim 10, Gao ‘802 teaches a luminaire (figures 1-18) comprising: a head 2 (fig. 1) comprising: a light source 21, configured to emit one or more substantially parallel light beams (para. #’s 90-99 and 121-138); a zoom lens module (1, 7, 12-1, 12-2, 12-3, 73) optically coupled to the light source 21 (figures 2-4 and 14), the zoom lens module comprising: the zoom lens module comprising: a converging lens (12-3, 73), configured to receive the one or more substantially parallel light beams emitted by the light source and to emit a converging light beam (figures 2-4 and 14 and para. #’s 90-99 and 121-138); and a tubular light spill shield 78 having a back end adjacent to a front surface of the converging lens (fig. 14) and a front end comprising an aperture (fig. 14), the aperture located adjacent to a focus of the converging lens (fig. 14, para. #’s 121-138), the tubular light spill shield configured to pass the converging light beam (para. #’s 121-138), wherein the converging lens and the tubular light spill shield are fixedly coupled to the zoom lens module (figure 14); and a positive power optical device (14-1, 75) configured to receive the converging light beam and to emit an output light beam from the optical system (figures 2-4 and 14 and para. #’s 90-99 and 121-138), wherein the light source and the positive power optical device are mounted in fixed positions in the optical system (para. #’s 90-138) and the zoom lens module is configured to move along an optical axis of the optical system between the light source and the positive power optical device (para. #’s 105-107); and power circuits configured to provide electrical power to electrical circuits of the head 2 (inherently, the luminaire would have multiple power circuits for powering the lamp and adjusting some of the lens for automatically controlling the light).
Regarding claim 19, Gao ‘802 teaches the luminaire of claim 10. Gao ‘802 further teaches
a yoke assembly (5-1, 5-2, see fig. 1), wherein the head 2 is rotatably mounted in the yoke assembly for rotation about a tilt axis (para. # 86).
Regarding claim 20, Gao ‘802 teaches the luminaire of claim 19. Gao ‘802 further teaches
a base (where yoke assembly is attached), wherein the yoke assembly is rotatably mounted to the base for rotation about a pan axis (para. # 86).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao ‘802 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0290597, hereafter referred to as ‘Jurik ‘597’. Regarding claims 4 and 13, Gao ‘802 teaches the optical system of claim 1 and the luminaire of claim 10. However, Gao ‘802 fails to explicitly teach the tubular light spill shield comprises a black internal surface.
Jurik ‘597 teaches a luminaire (fig. 15) comprising a tubular light spill shield comprising black internal surfaces (131, 133, see para. # 63).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the spill shield of Gao ‘802 to include black internal surfaces as taught by Jurik ‘597 in order to efficiently block unwanted and stray light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 11-12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jurik ‘476, Jurik ‘027 and Jurik ‘008 teach luminaires with zoom optics and light spill shields which are similar to applicant’s invention.
/THOMAS M SEMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875