DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-21 are pending in this application and have been examined in response to application filed on 03/01/2024.
This application is a CON of 17/492,425 10/01/2021 PAT 11922584
17/492,425 is a CON of 16/581,679 09/24/2019 PAT 11138798
16/581,679 has PRO 62/855,973 06/01/2019
16/581,679 has PRO 62/844,010 05/06/2019
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 21 describes “a computer readable storage medium”.
Further, Applicant's specification fails to explicitly define the scope of “a computer readable storage medium”. Thus, in giving the term its plain meaning (see MPEP 2111.01), the claimed “computer readable storage medium” is considered to include data signals per se. Data signals per se are not statutory as they fail to fall into one of the four statutory categories of invention.
As an additional note, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having executable programming instructions stored thereon is considered statutory, as non-transitory computer readable media excludes transitory data signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaviv et al. (US 10,347,049 B2) in view of Brahmanapalli (US 2017/0201685 A1).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 2, Shaviv discloses a method, comprising: at an electronic device including a display generation component, one or more input devices, and one or more cameras: displaying, via the display generation component (col.2, l.1-8, col.3, l.11; a tablet computer with built-in camera and a touch input is disclosed), a first user interface for a … application that includes representations of a plurality of [images], including a first representation of a first [image] of the plurality of [images] (fig.5A; col.7, l.60-65; a plurality of item images are displayed);
while displaying the first user interface for the … application, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first sequence of one or more inputs including a first input corresponding to selection of the first representation of the first [image]; in response to detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs including the first input corresponding to selection of the first representation of the first [image]: ceasing display of the first user interface for the … application (fig.5A, fig.5B, col.7, 1.46-col.8, l.1-15; the user selects a first item image in the first interface to be displayed in the second interface); and
displaying, via the display generation component, a second representation of the first image in a second user interface that displays an augmented reality environment that includes content of at least a portion of a field of view of the one or more cameras (fig.5B; col.5, l.25-32; the selected item image is overlaid on the live video feed). Shaviv does not expressly disclose the application is a photos application and the images are photos.
In the same field of endeavor, Brahmanapalli discloses a photos application and the images are photos (fig.3A, [0007]; the user can select photos to place on a wall virtually).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Shaviv and Brahmanapalli before him prior to the effective filling date, to modify the interactive item placement simulation taught by Shaviv to include previewing personalized photo placement interface taught by Brahmanapalli with the motivation being to aiding the user in arranging and placing photos before developing said photos.
As to claim 3, the prior art as combined discloses wherein the second representation of the first photo in the second user interface replaces, in the augmented reality environment, at least a portion of a wall that is within the field of view of the one or more cameras (Brahmanapalli, fig.3A; the selected photo is displayed virtually on a real wall).
As to claim 4, the prior art as combined discloses while displaying the second representation of the first photo in the second user interface that displays the augmented reality environment, displaying, via the display generation component, one or more representations of objects within a physical environment corresponding to the field of view of the one or more cameras in front of the second representation of the first photo (Shaviv, fig.5F; Brahmanapalli, fig.3A; one object image is placed Infront of another object image).
As to claim 5, the prior art as combined discloses wherein the displayed second representation of the first photo overlays a respective plane in the field of view of the one or more cameras (Brahmanapalli, fig.3A; the selected photo is on a wall in an AR environment).
As to claim 6, the prior art as combined discloses while displaying the second representation of the first photo in the second user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input, corresponding to rotating the second representation of the first photo; and in response to detecting the second input, rotating the second representation of the first photo about an axis that is normal to the respective plane in the field of view of the one or more cameras over which the second representation of the first photo is displayed (Shaviv, col.2, l.15-22, col.8, l.42-44; Brahmanapalli, fig.3A; the user can rotate the item image that matches the perspective and angles of the AR environment).
As to claim 7, the prior art as combined discloses detecting first movement of the electronic device that adjusts the field of view of the one or more cameras (Shaviv, col.5, l.61-67; the user changes the orientation of the device); and
in response to detecting the first movement of the electronic device, adjusting the second representation of the first photo in accordance with a fixed spatial relationship between the second representation of the first photo and a respective plane in the field of view of the one or more cameras (Shaviv, col.5, l.66-col.6, l.1; the item image is regenerated with the captured orientation change).
As to claim 8, the prior art as combined discloses detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second sequence of one or more inputs including a third input corresponding to selection of a first representation of a second photo displayed in the first user interface for the photos application (Shaviv, fig.5A, fig.5B, 520C; Brahmanapalli, [0040]; the user can select another item image to add); and
in response to detecting the second sequence of one or more inputs including the third input corresponding to selection of the first representation, displaying, via the display generation component, a second representation of the second photo in the second user interface that includes the content of at least a portion of the field of view of the one or more cameras (Shaviv, fig.5B, 520C, fig.5C; Brahmanapalli, [0040]; a second item image is added to the AR environment).
As to claim 9, the prior art as combined discloses while displaying the second representation of the first photo in the second user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fourth input for changing a position of the second representation of the first photo relative to the content of at least a portion of a field of view of the one or more cameras; and in response to detecting the fourth input for changing the position of the second representation of the first photo, moving the second representation of the first photo based on the fourth input (Shaviv, col.8, l.42-52; Brahmanapalli, [0040]; the user uses touch input to move the selected item image).
As to claim 10, the prior art as combined discloses wherein the second representation of the first photo is displayed with an orientation that is perpendicular to a plane in the field of view of the one or more cameras (Brahmanapalli, fig.3A, [0028]; the item image is aligned to the x-y coordinate).
As to claim 11, the prior art as combined discloses while displaying the second representation of the first photo in the second user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input for changing a size of the second representation of the first photo relative to the content of at least a portion of a field of view of the one or more cameras; and in response to detecting the fifth input for changing the size of the second representation of the first photo, changing a simulated physical size of the second representation of the first photo based on the fourth input Shaviv, fig.5B; col.7, l.12-15; Brahmanapalli, fig.3A; the user can resize the selected item image using touch gestures).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 2 above.
As to claim 13, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 3 above.
As to claim 14, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 4 above.
As to claim 15, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 5 above.
As to claim 16, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 6 above.
As to claim 17, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 7 above.
As to claim 18, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 8 above.
As to claim 19, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 9 above.
As to claim 20, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 10 above.
As to INDEPENDENT claim 21, is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Conclusion
/HAOSHIAN SHIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179