Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “interceptor,” “publisher,” and “relayers” in claim 8.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be an “and” before the last step of the method. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the task” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, “the task” has been interpreted as “the tasks.” Claims 2-20 require commensurate subject matter; therefore, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 13-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaraj (US 2010/0005472) and further in view of Gassoway (US 2006/0029036).
Regarding claim 1, Krishnaraj teaches: A method for scheduling tasks, the method comprising:
receiving a work request (¶ 49, “At 210, a request to perform a task is received”);
generating tasks for carrying out the work request (¶ 50, “At 240, the task is decomposed into one or more messages representing one or more respective discrete subtask”);
storing the tasks in queues (¶ 44, “messages representing decomposed tasks can initially be placed on an outbound queue”);
retrieving the task from the queues (¶ 104, “The out-queue is a low-buildup queue where messages are immediately picked up by the process manager and, based on the type of message, the process manager invokes a respective business process handler”);
sending the tasks to at least one service performer for execution (¶ 106, “The message can be passed onto the process queue, which can be another low build-up queue from which messages are immediately picked up by the message router, which routes the message on to its destination business process nodes (e.g., subtask nodes)”).
Krishnaraj does not teach; however, Gassoway discloses: marshalling the tasks (¶ 44, “The client stub then performs marshaling (that is, a process of packaging, transporting, and unpackaging parameters between a client and a server) of the parameters (Step S602) by making calls into a library, giving a format of the data passed, having the library convert that data, and placing the data into a buffer”);
unmarshalling the retrieved tasks (¶ 44, “When the client receives the reply, it exits the critical section protecting the sequence number and unmarshals the transmitted data (Step S606)”);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of marshalling the tasks; and unmarshalling the retrieved tasks, as taught by Gassoway, in the same way to the tasks stored in queues, as taught by Krishnaraj. Both inventions are in the field of processing tasks, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “marshalling the remote calls into a format that can be understood both by the server and by the client,” as indicated by Gassoway (¶ 4).
Regarding claim 2, Gassoway teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the work request is a remote procedure call (¶ 27, “The first bind packet corresponds to a unique identifier that identifies the interface that a RPC connection is going to use”).
Regarding claim 6, Gassoway teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: gathering data for performing the marshalled tasks (¶ 44, “Once all the data is unmarshaled, the server stub can call the appropriate function to perform the call (Step S604)”).
Regarding claim 7, Gassoway teaches: The method of claim 6, further comprising: assigning the marshalled tasks and providing the gathered data to relayers configured to unmarshall the tasks (¶ 44, “the server stub can call the appropriate function to perform the call (Step S604). After the server performs the call, the data that goes back to the client is marshaled (Step S605). After the data is marshaled out, all buffers allocated for the call are freed, and a reply is sent to the client”).
Claims 8, 13-16, and 20 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 1, 2, 6, and 7. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaraj and Gassoway, as applied above, and further in view of Sawant (US 2024/0004739).
Regarding claim 3, Krishnaraj and Gassoway do not teach; however, Sawant discloses: the remote procedure call includes a flag (¶ 12, “receive RPC messages and to perform security operations and/or identity operations based on data stored in the header structures of the messages”) and wherein the method further comprises: identifying the flag in the remote procedure call (¶ 14, “The RPC messages are routed to rails and/or applications with respect to regions using header details passed from the sources in the payload of the message”); wherein the tasks are generated in response to identification of the flag (¶ 82, “At 514, a service interface function associated with the selected microservice is triggered based on routing data in the payload structure”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the remote procedure call includes a flag and wherein the method further comprises: identifying the flag in the remote procedure call; wherein the tasks are generated in response to identification of the flag, as taught by Sawant, in the same way to the remote procedure call, as taught by Krishnaraj and Gassoway. Both inventions are in the field of handling RPC calls, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “receiving and routing a remote procedure call (RPC) message from an external source,” as indicated by Sawant (abstract).
Claims 9 and 17 recite commensurate subject matter as claim 3. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10-12, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaraj and Gassoway, as applied above, and further in view of Broussard (US 2005/0155044).
Regarding claim 4, Krishnaraj and Gassoway do not teach; however, Broussard discloses: the marshalling comprises: converting the tasks to bytes (¶ 6, “RMI uses object serialization to marshal and unmarshal arguments for remote object calls. Object serialization refers to the ability to read or write an entire object to and from a raw byte stream”); wherein the storing comprises storing the bytes in persistent memory (¶ 6, “It allows Java objects and primitives to be encoded into a byte stream suitable for streaming to some type of network, to a file-system, or more generally to a transmission medium or storage facility” and ¶ 22, “stored on a computer readable medium, for generating stubs needed to complete a call to a remote object in a Java technology based application or environment. The software may reside on a persistent medium such as a magnetic disk, magnetic tape, CD ROM, flash memory or other form of electrically alterable ROM”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of the marshalling comprises: converting the tasks to bytes; wherein the storing comprises storing the bytes in persistent memory, as taught by Broussard, in the same way to the marshalling, as taught by Krishnaraj and Gassoway. Both inventions are in the field of marshalling tasks, and combining them would have predictably resulted in a method that “allows Java objects and primitives to be encoded into a byte stream suitable for streaming to some type of network,” as indicated by Broussard (¶ 6).
Regarding claim 5, Broussard teaches: The method of claim 4, wherein the retrieving comprises: retrieving the bytes from persistent memory; wherein the unmarshalling comprises converting the retrieved bytes to the tasks (¶ 12, “On server-side 203, a tie file 122 receives the serialized byte stream sent by stub file 118 and de-serializes or un-marshals the corresponding arguments to reconstruct the objects and parameters of the remote object call”).
Claims 10-12, 18, and 19 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 4 and 5. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/JACOB D DASCOMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198