DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed 3/10/2026; claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 3 recites “wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to an operation of another of the plurality of operation elements on the answerer terminal, control the graphical user interface layout of the examination screen to display a second question window, and the first question window and the second question window are simultaneously displayed.” There is no the written description in the original specification to support two question windows display simultaneously. The Office requests that Applicant to cite paragraphs and/or figures to support the newly added limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 4 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 2009/0017432 A1) in view of Konig (US 2011/0144898 A1).
Re claims 1, 6, 7:
Hoffmann teaches 1. An online examination answering system (Hoffman, Abstract) comprising:
a storage unit configured to store an examination information including a question number for each of a plurality of questions included in one unit of examination questions (Hoffman, fig. 1; [0049] – [0050]); and
a processing unit connected to the storage unit, wherein the processing unit (Hoffman, fig. 17) is configured to:
establish a data association between the question number and a corresponding hyperlink provided by a provider, and register the data association in the storage unit (Hoffman, [0052]),
dynamically generate and control a graphical user interface layout of an examination screen on an answerer terminal (Hoffman, figs. 4A – 6C; [0080], “The testing interface”), plurality of operation elements respectively associated with the plurality of answer fields (Hoffman, figs. 4A – 6C; 4B, “Main Text Area: include test questions”, “Item Status buttons: status and navigation to test questions”), and
in response to an operation of one of the plurality of operation elements on the answerer terminal, synchronously retrieve the corresponding hyperlink and control the graphical user interface layout to display a first question window showing a corresponding question of the plurality of questions (Hoffman, fig 4B, “Main Text Area: include test questions”, “Item Status buttons: status and navigation to test questions”),
wherein the first question window is a separate window from the answer window (Hoffman, fig 4B, “Main Text Area: include test questions”, “Item Status buttons: status and navigation to test questions”).
Hoffman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the graphical user interface layout includes an answer window displaying a list of a plurality of answer fields, and a plurality of operation elements respectively associated with the plurality of answer fields, and wherein the first question window is a separate window from the answer window, and the answer window partially overlaps the first question window while the list of the plurality of answer fields remains visible and operable.
Konig (US 2011/0144898 A1) teaches a graphical user interface for marking dynamic and static elements. Konig teaches a wherein the graphical user interface layout includes an answer window displaying a list of a plurality of answer fields, and a plurality of operation elements respectively associated with the plurality of answer fields, and wherein the first question window is a separate window from the answer window, and the answer window partially overlaps the first question window while the list of the plurality of answer fields remains visible and operable (Konig, fig. 3A – 4; i.e., fig. 3D, 322 – Markup Icons 322 - operation elements, “Stopover name 320a” “Stopover name 320b”, “Stopover name 320c”.. – answer fields; [0050], “user can select stopover points and an array of areas 320a through 320g for the names of selected stopover points”; “Popup 350” – answer windows partially overlaps the first question windows; [0062], “FIG. 3D is a diagram of the route plan graphical user interface 300 with a popup window 350 for selecting contacts”).
Therefore, in view of Konig, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system, computer program and method described in Hoffman, by providing pop-up windows as taught by Konig, since the popup window prompts the user to use the cursor to select whether to present or edit the answer fields for the corresponding stopover point (Konig, [0060]). The popup windows provide a quick way to edit the answers.
6. A non-transitory computer readable medium having recorded thereon an online examination questions answering program, wherein the online examination answering program causes a processing unit connected to a storage unit to execute a process comprising:
establishing a data association between a question number and a corresponding hyperlink provided by a provider, and registering the data association in the storage unit;
dynamically generating and controlling a graphical user interface layout of an examination screen on an answerer terminal, wherein the graphical user interface layout includes an answer window that displays a list of a plurality of answer fields and a plurality of operation elements respectively associated with the plurality of answer fields; and
in response to an operation of one of the plurality of operation elements on the answerer terminal, synchronously retrieving the corresponding hyperlink and controlling the graphical user interface layout to display a question window showing a corresponding question of the plurality of questions,
wherein the question window is a separate window from the answer window, and the answer window partially overlaps the question window while the list of the plurality of answer fields remains visible and operable (See claim 1 citation above).
7. An online examination questions answering method executed by a processing unit connected to a storage unit that stores an examination information including a question number for each of a plurality of questions included in one unit of examination questions, wherein the online examination answering method comprises:
establishing a data association between a question number and a corresponding hyperlink provided by a provider, and registering the data association in the storage unit;
dynamically generating and controlling a graphical user interface layout of an examination screen on an answerer terminal, wherein the graphical user interface layout includes an answer window that displays a list of a plurality of answer fields and a plurality of operation elements respectively associated with the plurality of answer fields; and
in response to an operation of one of the plurality of operation elements on the answerer terminal, synchronously retrieving the corresponding hyperlink and controlling the graphical user interface layout to display a question window showing a corresponding question of the plurality of questions,
wherein the question window is a separate window from the answer window, and the answer window partially overlaps the question window while the list of the plurality of answer fields remains visible and operable (See claim 1 citation above).
Re claim 2:
2. The online examination questions answering system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to the operation, identify and cause a corresponding answer field of the plurality of answer fields to be visually distinguished among the plurality of answer fields (Konig, fig. 3A – 4; i.e., fig. 3D, 350 – Markup Icons 322 - operation elements, “Stopover name 320a” “Stopover name 320b”, “Stopover name 320c”.. – answer fields are visually different when they are edited by the user).
Re claim 4:
4. The online examination questions answering system according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to an operation of another of the plurality of operation elements on the answerer terminal, control the first question window to show another corresponding question of the plurality of questions (Konig, fig. 3A – 4; i.e., fig. 3D, 350 – PopUp windows can be visually different based on the Markup Icons 322”).
Re claim 5:
5. The online examination questions answering system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of answer fields are displayed in different sections according to a classification of the plurality of questions (Hoffman, [0129], “English”; [0130], “Spanish”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 2009/0017432 A1) in view of Konig (US 2011/0144898 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Storistenau et al. (US 6,792,595 B1).
Re claim 3:
The combination of Hoffman and Konig does not explicitly disclose two simultaneous windows. Storistenau teaches an invention relates to a method for viewing, writing, and modifying source code in an integrated development environment (Storistenau, Abstract). Storistenau teaches a 3. The online examination answering system according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to an operation of another of the plurality of operation elements on the answerer terminal, control the graphical user interface layout of the examination screen to display a second question window, and the first question window and the second question window are simultaneously displayed (Storistenau, figs. 3A – 3B; col. 5, lines 35 – 41, “FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrate three background Edit Windows 56 and an Edit Window 56 with the current focus”). Therefore, in view of Storistenau, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system described in Huffman, by providing the simultaneous windows as taught by Storistenau, in order to allow a student to work on two questions at the same time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715