DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is a single run-on paragraph with a series of limitations, however “Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation.” See MPEP 608.01(i). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-15, there are multiple issues with antecedent basis language, that leads to inconsistencies and confusion when read. Non-limiting examples include:
Claim 1: “high pressure steam heater (4)”, first recitation must be preceded by “a”, next recitation must be preceded by “the”.
Claim 1: “the post-stripping deodorization tower (5)” first recitation has insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 1: “the fatty acid collection unit (7)” first recitation has insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 2: “the suction port” and “the ejector (6)” each recitation has insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 3: “the ejector (6) exhaust port” recitation has insufficient antecedent basis, reciting “an exhaust port of the ejector…” would overcome this rejection.
Claims 4, 10: “the upper shell side” recitation has insufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 5, 11: “the bottom shell side outlet” and “the deodorizer transfer pump (3)” each recitation has insufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 9, 15: “the fatty acid collection unit (7) top outlet” recitation has insufficient antecedent basis, reciting “a top outlet of the fatty acid collection unit (7)” would overcome this rejection.
Regarding further claims 4 and 10, the limitations “the aforementioned” and “described” are non-standard antecedent basis language, and must recite “the” or “said” for clear antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (CN 211972260, with page/para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of CN 211972260 Obtained 4 December 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a vegetable oil deodorizing, deacidifying and refining device (title, abstract) that is suitable for VE recovery, the device comprising a falling film heat exchanger (2) and a connected deodorization tower (3), which is characterized in that: the falling film heat exchanger (2) is connected with high-pressure steam heater (17); high-pressure steam heater (18) is connected to the post-stripping deodorization tower (14); the bottom of the post-stripping deodorization tower (14) is connected (bottom stream of column 14 feeds heat exchanger 2) with aforementioned falling film heat exchanger (2); the top of the post-stripping deodorization tower (14) is connected with the fatty acid collection unit (6) (Fig 1, [0029, 0033-0035]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches wherein: the upper shell side of the falling film heat exchanger (2) is connected with the aforementioned high-pressure steam heater (18) by pipeline, and forms loop connection with described post-stripping deodorization tower (14) (Fig).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches wherein: the bottom shell side outlet of the falling film heat exchanger (2) is connected with the deodorization tower (3) through a pipeline, the bottom of the deodorization tower (3) is connected to a deodorizer transfer pump (15) through a pipeline, the deodorizer transfer pump (15) is then connected to the upper shell side of the falling film heat exchanger (2) through a pipeline, form a loop connection (Fig).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches wherein: the fatty acid collection unit (6) is connected with a circulating pump, forming loop connection with the circulating pump through a pipeline (see Fig, bottom circulation loop of 6, through 12).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches wherein: the falling film heat exchanger (2) is a vertical falling film heat exchanger (see vertical orientation Fig).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (CN 211972260, with page/para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of CN 211972260 Obtained 4 December 2025) as applied above and further in combination with Aoki et al (US 4,072,482).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 9, Li teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Li does not teach wherein the post-stripping deodorization tower top is connected with a suction port of an ejector, the ejector is connected with the fatty acid collection unit via the outlet, and vacuum source present.
Aoki teaches a deodorizing system for fats and oils (title, abstract), Aoki teaches feed degassing tank 2 with feed pipe 1 connected with deodorizing tower 9 that is kept at a vacuum of 2-6 mmHg via a steam ejector system 37,39,45,51 to keep the vacuum in tower 9 at predetermined range, with condensate recovery 43 (see Fig, C2:L31-35, C3:L51-C4:L47), the advantage of the system using steam at lower pressure to improve recovery (C1:L39-68).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Li in view of Aoki to include a vacuum source that is an ejector to improve recovery of oils with use of superheated steam in the system of Li as taught by Aoki and thereby have improved purity oils recovered.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches wherein: the upper shell side of the falling film heat exchanger (2) is connected with the aforementioned high-pressure steam heater (18) by pipeline, and forms loop connection with described post-stripping deodorization tower (14) (Fig).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches wherein: the bottom shell side outlet of the falling film heat exchanger (2) is connected with the deodorization tower (3) through a pipeline, the bottom of the deodorization tower (3) is connected to a deodorizer transfer pump (15) through a pipeline, the deodorizer transfer pump (15) is then connected to the upper shell side of the falling film heat exchanger (2) through a pipeline, form a loop connection (Fig).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches wherein: the fatty acid collection unit (6) is connected with a circulating pump, forming loop connection with the circulating pump through a pipeline (see Fig, bottom circulation loop of 6, through 12).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the falling film heat exchanger (2) however does not teach the exchanger is comprised of upper and lower segmented falling film heat exchanger shell, and equipped with a temperature control device, however these were routine implementations and duplications of part without unexpected results as it was notoriously well known to include control systems in heaters to ensure safe operation ranges, as well as preventing degradation of oils being purified without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches wherein: the falling film heat exchanger (2) is a vertical falling film heat exchanger (see vertical orientation Fig).
Regarding claims 15, Li teaches all limitations as set forth above, however Li does not teach wherein the post-stripping deodorization tower top is connected with a suction port of an ejector, the ejector is connected with the fatty acid collection unit via the outlet, and vacuum source present.
Aoki teaches a deodorizing system for fats and oils (title, abstract), Aoki teaches feed degassing tank 2 with feed pipe 1 connected with deodorizing tower 9 that is kept at a vacuum of 2-6 mmHg via a steam ejector system 37,39,45,51 to keep the vacuum in tower 9 at predetermined range, with condensate recovery 43 (see Fig, C2:L31-35, C3:L51-C4:L47), the advantage of the system using steam at lower pressure to improve recovery (C1:L39-68).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Li in view of Aoki to include a vacuum source that is an ejector to improve recovery of oils with use of superheated steam in the system of Li as taught by Aoki and thereby have improved purity oils recovered.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (CN 211972260, with page/para ref to Espacenet Machine Translation of CN 211972260 Obtained 4 December 2025).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches all limitations as set forth above, including the falling film heat exchanger (2) however Li does not teach the exchanger is comprised of upper and lower segmented falling film heat exchanger shell, and equipped with a temperature control device, however these were routine implementations and duplications of part without unexpected results as it was notoriously well known to include control systems in heaters to ensure safe operation ranges, as well as preventing degradation of oils being purified without unexpected results.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further citations herein are directed to fat and oil deodorization and purification systems including Marschner et al (US 4,804,555, etc), Massie et al (US 5,436,018), Copeland et al (US 2004/0253353), Kellens et al (US 6,953,499, etc), Schols et al (US 2013/0287925).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772