DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 1-17 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 discloses a method of breeding organisms to produce progeny that lack an undesired trait, the method comprising: obtaining a first parent organism from a donor family of breeding stock; obtaining a second parent organism from a receptor family of breeding stock; and mating the first parent organism with the second parent organism to produce a progeny organism, wherein a combination of genetic material from the first parent organism and the second parent organism in the progeny organism prevents development of the undesired trait due to a non-native genetic construct present in the genetic material.
The scope of “organisms” would be extremely broad as it encompasses any life forms including animals, plants, bacteria, etc. While there is no particular limitation directed to the “organisms”, it is noted that figures of the instant application disclose chicken as a single example of breeding stock.
The scope of “undesired trait” is extremely broad as it can be any trait of the organism as the instant specification discloses it can be any trait of a user’s selection. Claim 13 discloses that the undesired trait is a sex of the progeny organism (i.e. sex selection). There is no other working embodiment or example for other trait being prevented in the progeny organism. As disclosed in the specification, the undesired trait can be sex, size, height, weight, coloring, appearance, etc. There is no disclosure in the specification how each of these traits can be prevented by the claimed method.
The claim is extremely broad as the non-native genetic material present in the first and the second parent organism is not particularly defined with regard to the functionality or characteristics. It is merely disclosed that the non-native genetic construct present in the both parent organisms would prevent the undesired trait when mating.
Claim 1 discloses that the combination of the genetic material from the parent organisms prevents development of the undesired trait in the progeny organism due to the “non-native genetic construct” present in the genetic material. However, the “non-native genetic construct” is not particularly limited in the claims. The instant specification does not provide any examples other than CRISPR/Cas9 and gRNAs. In order to arrest the development of the progeny organism, the gRNAs have to be specifically targeted to a gene(s) involved in development. However, the claims or the instant specification fails to provide any example of gRNAs that can necessarily produce the arrest in early development.
There is no example of gRNAs that targets the target region as the target is not specified, and it would be dependent on the type of trait that is intended to be eliminated or silenced. Furthermore, there is no written description with regard to the silent mutation introduced in the genetic sequence targeted by the gRNAs.
There is no working embodiment or examples showing the claimed method effectively and sufficiently produce progeny that lacks any undesired trait. The specification is generally prophetic without showing that any species of the claimed genus would be possessed by the inventors.
Based on the subject matter disclosed in the claims are extremely broad, the combination of the genus of each subject matter would result in extremely high number of possibilities, and yet the specification does not provide a single example or working embodiment for any species belonging to the genus.
Claim 3 discloses that the combination of genetic material from the first parent organism and the second parent organism in the progeny organism prevents development of the undesired trait by arresting development the progeny organism. The instant specification does not provide sufficient written description of how this arrest is carried out as the specification fails to provide any disclosure. As the specification as well as claims 5-6 discloses the use of Cas9 protein and a gRNA, the CRISPR technology is being utilized, however, there is no clear written description of how the CRISPR technology would be able arrest the development of the progeny organism by combining genetic materials from two parent organisms.
Claim 5 requires Cas9 and gRNAs expressed in the first parent organism, and the second parent organism expressing a target region (i.e. complementary to the gRNAs). There is no limitation in how the developmental arrest of the progeny organism is carried out.
Claim 6 discloses “an early embryonic promoter”. The term is not particularly defined and thus, it is understood as a promoter expressed in early embryonic stage. The specification does not provide any specific promoter for any specific organism. Thus, the scope of the term would be extremely broad based on the stage of embryonic development and the species of organisms.
Claims 7-9 disclose that the target sequence of gRNAs would be polymorphism or the polymorphism comprising a silent mutation. There is no working embodiment or example with regard to the polymorphism having silence mutation and its correction or deletion or mutation by CRISPR would necessarily remove any undesired trait from the progeny produced by the claimed method.
Claims 14-17 require that the second breeding stock (a receptor family) carry the target sequence complementary to the gRNA inserted by a knock-in construct. This sounds like the undesired trait is limited to the gene/trait introduced to the receptor family of breeding stock, and the method of breeding as claimed would correct the introduced undesired trait in the progeny. First, it is not sufficiently described in the specification such that any undesired trait would be introduced (including polymorphism comprising a silent mutation) that can be corrected by breeding with the donor organism having Cas9 and gRNA targeting the undesired trait in the receptor organism. The specification fails to provide sufficient written description with regard to this particular embodiment. The scope of the claimed undesired trait is extremely broad without defined in the claimed method, and yet the undesired trait could be the undesired trait introduced into the second organism. As the undesired trait is not particularly defined, the limitation directed to the gRNA is not defined, and there is no sufficient written description for types of gRNA responsible for the progeny lacking an undesired trait. Furthermore, as the second knock-in construct is dependent on the gRNA because the nucleic acid of the second construct is complementary to the gRNA organism, and in turn, the second construct appears to be the undesired trait.
Even if the sex selection is considered, there is no detailed guidance or working embodiment how the undesired sex being prevented by the claimed method.
While it is known in the art that sex selection of animals can be carried out by using CRISPR technology (e.g. Qimron et al. (US20200329685A1)), however, there is no known method consistent with the method disclosed in claim 14. Claims 14-17 require Cas9 and a gRNA being expressed in the first organism, and the second organism being mutated to carry polymorphism which is not present in the first organism as discussed above.
In the absence of any embodiment with working example and lack of adequate written description supporting the extremely broad scope of the claimed invention, it is the Examiner’s position that the instant specification failed to provide sufficient written description for the genus of the claimed invention.
M.P.E.P. §2163 states “To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116.”
M.P.E.P. § 2163 also recites, “An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention… one must define a compound by ‘whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it’. A lack of adequate written description issue also arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process.” and further, “The description needed to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 "varies with the nature and scope of the invention at issue, and with the scientific and technologic knowledge already in existence." Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d at 1357, 76 USPQ2d at 1084.< Patents and printed publications in the art should be relied upon to determine whether an art is mature and what the level of knowledge and skill is in the art. In most technologies which are mature, and wherein the knowledge and level of skill in the art is high, a written description question should not be raised for claims >present in the application when originally filed,< even if the specification discloses only a method of making the invention and the function of the invention. See, e.g., In re Hayes Microcomputer Products, Inc. Patent Litigation, 982 F.2d 1527, 1534-35, 25 USPQ2d 1241, 1246 (Fed. Cir. 1992) ("One skilled in the art would know how to program a microprocessor to perform the necessary steps described in the specification. Thus, an inventor is not required to describe every detail of his invention. An applicant's disclosure obligation varies according to the art to which the invention pertains. Disclosing a microprocessor capable of performing certain functions is sufficient to satisfy the requirement of section 112, first paragraph, when one skilled in the relevant art would understand what is intended and know how to carry it out."). In contrast, for inventions in emerging and unpredictable technologies, or for inventions characterized by factors not reasonably predictable which are known to one of ordinary skill in the art, more evidence is required to show possession.”
M.P.E.P. §2163 recites, “The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus…when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus.”
In this application, there is no embodiment showing any species for the genus of organism, target genetic sequence, undesired trait, etc., and thus, the instant specification is considered to fail to provide sufficient written description such that the inventors had possession for the entire scope of the genus encompassed by the claimed invention.
Claims 6-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 16 discloses the term “early embryonic promoter” and “early stage of the progeny organism’s development”. The term “early” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “early” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how one skilled in the art would determine which promoter being included or excluded for the “early embryonic promoter” or “early stage of the progeny organism’s development” as the term “early” is not particularly defined.
Claims 14-17 disclose that the second target organism comprises a second knock-in construct comprising a nucleic acid that is complementary to the guide RNA, and the second knock-in construct is introduced into a primordial germ cell of the second target organism. It is understood that the nucleic acid complementary to the guide RNA is considered to be a gene that carries the undesired trait, and the second target organism is engineered to carry the gene that is undesired. It appears that the second organism does not carry the undesired trait (polymorphism) initially, and it is not clear why the undesired trait is introduced to the organism which is deleted by breeding with the first organism that carries CRISPR/Cas9 and the gRNA targets the undesired gene. It is not clear if applicant intends to introduce genes carrying undesired trait and then delete or correct the undesired gene by breeding with an organism targeting the undesired gene. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qimron et al. (US20200329685A1).
Qimron et al. teach that the method is for selecting the desired gender of a eukaryotic organism and for modifying at least one undesired trait in the selected organism (para. 35). Qimron et al. teach a first step of providing a transgenic eukaryotic
heterogametic organism comprising at least one nucleic acid sequence encoding at
least one guide RNA directed against at least one target sequence within at least one of coding and non-coding sequences or any product/s thereof, of at least one chromosome of the organism (para. 37); a second step of providing a transgenic eukaryotic
homogametic organism comprising at least one nucleic acid sequence encoding at least one RNA guided DNA binding protein nucleic acids modifier protein (e.g., nuclease),
or any fragments, domains, or subunits thereof or any non-active variant or mutant thereof and any fusion protein comprising the same (para. 38), and then breeding the transgenic heterogametic organism provided in step (a) with the transgenic homogametic organism provided in step (b), thereby obtaining a progeny organism predominantly composed of said one desired gender having at least one modified undesired trait (para. 39). This teaching would meet the limitation of claims 1-3.
Qimron et al. teach the CRISPR-Cas9 is expressed from a CAG promoter and CRISPR-Cas9 knockin mice, the “Cas9-line” and mice expressing 3 CRISPR guide RNAs targeting Atp5b, Cdc20 and Casp8 in Y chromosome, the “Y-line” are used for breeding, i.e. breeding stocks of donor and receptor family, and the loss of these targeted genes would result in arrest in 2-cell stage embryos and consequently in early embryonic death and hence the progeny produced from the breeding would be female only (Example 1). This teaching would meet the limitation of claims 3-4.
Under the interpretation such that the offspring of the Cas9-line and Y-line as a first parent, i.e. the female offspring carrying both Cas9 and gRNA targeting genes in Y chromosome, and mating with a male animal, this
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed invention.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art references are relevant to the subject matter claimed but not cited in the claim rejections.
Douglas et al. (2021) CRISPR-Cas9 effectors facilitate generation of single-sex litters and sex-specific phenotypes. Nat Commun 12, 6926
Capon et al. Utilising polymorphisms to achieve allele-specific genome editing
in zebrafish. Biology Open (2017) 6, 125-131
Gamez et al. Exploiting a Y chromosome-linked Cas9 for sex selection and gene drive. NATURE COMMUNICATIONS (2021) 12:7202
Pennell et al. US 2020/0299717A1
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631