DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what concentrations or amounts applicant intends to cover by the term “overload” or overloading”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 38, 39 and 53 recite the broad recitations, and also recites narrower embodiments of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 36-56 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO 2010/019148 in view of (WO 148) WO 2009/135656 (WO 656) and WO 97/27757 (WO 757) and Lui et al., Journal of Chromatography A, 1218 (2011) 6943– 6952 (Lui).
WO 148 discloses a method for purification of proteins, in particular of an antibody, comprising:
- passing a composition comprising a polypeptide of interest and various contaminants through an ion exchange membrane, wherein the polypeptide and the membrane have opposite charge, at operating conditions comprised of a buffer having a pH sufficiently distinct from the pl of the polypeptide to enhance the charge of the polypeptide and a low ionic strength effective to prevent the shielding of charges by buffer ions, which cause the membrane to bind the polypeptide and at least one contaminant (step a);
-recovering the purified polypeptide from the effluent of the charged ion exchange chromatography step (step c), see pages 2+:
WO 148 does appear to differ from the subject-matter of the present claims in that steps (b)-(d) are not disclosed, i.e. overloading the ion exchange membrane such that at least one contaminant remains bound to the membrane while the polypeptide of interest is primarily in the effluent (overload chromatography) does not appear disclosed.
However, overload ion exchange chromatography in the purification of a protein, in particular of an antibody, was well known in the prior art.
Methods for purification of proteins, in particular of an antibody, by ion exchange chromatography in displacement/ overload mode using an ion exchange membrane does appear to be well known in the prior art. It is for that proposition that the rejection joins the ancillary references.
For example, WO 656 discloses a method for purification of proteins, in particular of an antibody, by ion exchange chromatography in displacement mode using an ion exchange membrane, see pages 13+:
See examples, page 16:
Anion Chromatography is exemplified:
WO 757 discloses a method for purification of proteins, in particular of an antibody, by overload ion exchange chromatography, see e.g. page 4:
See claim 1:
See Lui: “In summary, the findings reported above demonstrate that both the convective and diffusive cation exchange chromatographic matrices can be operated using isocratic overloaded conditions to reduce CHOP, DNA, HMW, leached protein A, and gentamicin, while allowing monoclonal antibody to flow through the matrices after the antibody reaches its DBC. . . [t]he application of overloaded chromatography to the cation exchange step using a perfusive resin and strong binding conditions enables the cation exchange step to be run in essentially a flow-through mode to garner cost and processing efficiency improvements, while still achieving the bulk of the impurity removal expected of traditional bind-elute cation exchange chromatography.
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have applied overload ion exchange chromatography in the manner required and in a predictable fashion for the purposes of recovering an antibody of interest. As outlined above, WO 148 discloses a method for purification of proteins. The secondary references are added for the proposition that overloading the ion exchange membrane is applicable to this process of protein purification. Specifically, the secondary references teach that particular known technique of overload ion exchange chromatography was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to protein (i.e., antibody) purification would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, using overload ion exchange chromatography for the purposes of purifying antibodies would have been prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-56 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 20-21, 27-28, 38-39, 41, 61, 88-89, 91, 111- 114, 116, 118-120, 122-124, 133-134, 136 and 138-143 of copending Application No. 17/542,138.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Specifically, the method steps covered in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered by the rejected claims and those covered by the conflicting claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 36-56 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11945837.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Specifically, the method steps covered in the conflicting claims anticipate those covered by the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods covered by the rejected claims and those covered by the conflicting claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant methods with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646