DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang, US 20180210024 A1.
Claim 1
Wang in figs.1-11A discloses:
A system (1 in fig.1) for detecting and reporting stress or strain in a connection cable (shown with 20,30 in fig.1 and sleeve 410 : e.g., fig.4) connecting a tractor of a vehicle with a trailer (preamble is not considered a limitation unless it claimed in body of claim), the system 1 comprising:
a connection line breakage/strain detection system (100: fig.1) comprising a processor (205: fig.2) and a memory device (205A), the memory device 205A storing instructions (e.g., given and shown in figs.8,13) that when executed by the processor 205 configure the processor 205 to:
receive a signal corresponding to an output voltage measured across an electrical circuit (e.g., ¶0057), the electrical circuit connected with two ends (ends of 30,20 better shown in fig.1 )of a sleeve 410 over a core 400 of the connection cable (e.g., ¶0058,0060), the sleeve 410 including a plurality of fibers of piezo polymer material (PZT1,PZT2,…PZTn: e.g., ¶0045,0106, note that including is too broad and sleeve 410 with PZT meet this limitation);
identify an extent of stress or strain (e.g., ¶0060) on the connection cable ( shown by 30,20) based upon the received signal (e.g.,¶0060 ); and
in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection cable meeting a specific threshold condition (e.g., ¶0136) , generate and transmit an alert or a warning to an external receiver (FROM 215 and as cited e.g., ¶0136,0139, 0140, S925).
Regarding limitation “connecting a tractor of a vehicle with a trailer” : If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” See MPEP 2111.02 (II).
Claim 3
Wang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the connection cable (20,30) is an electrical cable (e.g., ¶0004,0008) and the core comprises electrically conductive material (fig.4 steel core 400).
Claim 8
Wang in figs.1-11A discloses:
A method of detecting and reporting stress or strain in a connection cable (shown with 20,30 in fig.1 and sleeve 410 : e.g., fig.4) connecting a tractor of a vehicle with a trailer (preamble is not considered a limitation unless it claimed in body of claim), the method comprising:
receiving a signal (e.g., ¶0057) corresponding to an output voltage measured across an electrical circuit (100 e.g., ¶0057,0060), the electrical circuit 100 connected with two ends of a sleeve 410 over a core 400 of the connection cable (20,30), the sleeve 410 including a plurality of fibers of piezo polymer material (PZT1,PZT2,…PZTn: e.g., ¶0045,0106, note that including is too broad and sleeve 410 with PZT meet this limitation);
identifying an extent of stress or strain (e.g., ¶0060) on the connection cable (20,30) based upon the received signal ((e.g.,¶0060); and
in response to the extent of stress or strain (e.g., ¶0136) on the connection cable 20,30 meeting a specific threshold condition, generating an alert or a warning (from 215 and as cited e.g., ¶0136,0139, 0140, S925).
Claim 11
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the connection cable (20,30) is an electrical cable (e.g., ¶0004,0008) and the core comprises electrically conductive material (fig.4 steel core 400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, US 20180210024 A1 in view of Nussen, US20190195398A1.
Claim 2
Wang teaches the system of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the connection cable is an air hose and the core is hollow carrying air.
In the similar field of endeavor, Nussen teaches wherein the connection cable is an air hose (1: e.g., ¶0001,093,0100) and the core (5) is hollow carrying air (e.g., ¶0100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Nussen‘s air hose for Wang‘s connection. One of ordinary skill in the art knows hose lines are used in particular when flexible connections are required for transferring solids or liquid or gaseous media would have been motivated to make this modification in order to meet specific requirements (e.g., ¶0002 of Nussen), and based on MPEP 2143 (F), courts have ruled that Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 2 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, US 20180210024 A1 in view of Dinh, US 20200233438 A1.
Claim 2
Wang teaches the system of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein the connection cable is an air hose and the core is hollow carrying air.
In the similar field of endeavor, Dinh in figs.2-3 and 5-6 teaches wherein the connection cable is an air hose (218: e.g., ¶0036) and the core (to pass air from 218 between 218 and 300) is hollow carrying air (e.g., ¶0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Dinh‘s air hose for Wang‘s connection. One of ordinary skill in the art knows hose lines are used in connection of trailers to the trucks would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use as a part of an autonomous vehicle (e.g., ¶0033 of Dinh), and based on MPEP 2143 (F), courts have ruled that Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, US 20180210024 A1 in view of KAWAMURA , WO 2016199626 A1.
Claim 4
Wang teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the electrical circuit is a capacitor-resistor circuit.
However, PVDF sensor elements are well known as a part of electric circuit often modeled as charge source in parallel with capacitance to measure force or stress, and In the similar field of endeavor, KAWAMURA in fig.10 discloses piezoelectric sensor 2 is a capacitor-resistor circuit 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use KAWAMURA‘s capacitor-resistor circuit for Wang‘s circuit. One of ordinary skill in the art knows PVDF sensor elements are well known as a part of electric circuit often modeled as charge source in parallel with capacitance would have been motivated to make this modification in order to measure force or stress.
Claim 12
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the electrical circuit is a capacitor-resistor circuit. However, PVDF sensor elements are well known as a part of electric circuit often modeled as charge source in parallel with capacitance to measure force or stress. KAWAMURA in fig.10 discloses piezoelectric sensor 2 is a capacitor-resistor circuit 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use KAWAMURA‘s capacitor-resistor circuit for Wang‘s circuit. One of ordinary skill in the art knows PVDF sensor elements are well known as a part of electric circuit often modeled as charge source in parallel with capacitance would have been motivated to make this modification in order to measure force or stress.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, US 20180210024 A1 in view of Thiesen, US 7047800 B2.
Claim 5
Wang teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the piezo polymer material comprises polycrystalline ceramic material, lead zirconium titanate, barium titanate, or lead titanate.
In the similar field of endeavor, Thiesen teaches wherein the piezo polymer material comprises barium titanate (Abstract) and It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Thiesen‘s barium titanate for Wang‘s piezo polymer material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to for example improved piezoelectric materials for use in tire and wheel assembly applications (e.g., col.1 L.6-8).
Claim 13
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the piezo polymer material comprises polycrystalline ceramic material, lead zirconium titanate, barium titanate, or lead titanate.
Thiesen teaches wherein the piezo polymer material comprises barium titanate (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Thiesen‘s barium titanate for Wang‘s piezo polymer material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to for example improved piezoelectric materials for use in tire and wheel assembly applications (e.g., col.1 L.6-8).
Claims 6-7, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, US 20180210024 A1 in view of KIM, KR 20130088910 A.
Claim 6
Wang teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor further configure the processor to transition the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition.
In the similar field of endeavor, KIM teaches a control unit (50,10) for a vehicle wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor (10) further configure the processor (10) to transition the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode (limp mode e.g., Abstract and last step in fig.2) in response to the extent of the specific threshold condition (e.g., Claims: line 8-9: diagnosis apparatus for a hybrid vehicle that the engine power being provided to execute the limp home mode by receiving a predetermined engine output error signal from the engine control/ step: Allows engine operation to be stopped and vehicle operation in limp home mode by motor due to vehicle output torque limitation in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use KIM‘s vehicle‘s processor for the modified Wang‘s processor wherein the modified Wang’s instructions that when executed by the modified Wang’s processor further configure the modified Wang’s processor to transition the modified Wang’s vehicle in a reduced functionality mode in response to the extent of stress or strain on the modified Wang’s connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition. One of ordinary skill in the art knows the vehicle’s reduced functionality mode would have been motivated to make this modification in order to activate a protective state by the car's computer (ECU) when a serious issue is detected (malfunction of engine as cited in Abstract KIM)1 .
Claim 7
Wang teaches the system of claim 1, KIM in fig.2 teaches wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor further cause the processor to receive a signal to transition the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode (LIMP MODE ) upon transmitting the alert or warning to the external receiver (CLAIMS: receiving a predetermined engine output error signal from the engine control/last step of fig.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use KIM‘s processor for the modified wang‘s processor wherein the modified Wang’s instructions that when executed by the modified Wang’s processor further configure the modified Wang’s processor to transition the modified Wang’s vehicle in a reduced functionality mode in response to the extent of stress or strain on the modified Wang’s connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition. One of ordinary skill in the art knows the vehicle’s reduced functionality mode would have been motivated to make this modification in order to activate a protective state by the car's computer (ECU) when a serious issue is detected (malfunction of engine as cited in Abstract KIM) .
Claim 14
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, but does not teach wherein further comprising transitioning the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition.
KIM teaches wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor (10) further configure the processor (10) to transition the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode (limp mode e.g., Abstract) in response to the extent of the specific threshold condition (e.g., Claims: line 8-9: diagnosis apparatus for a hybrid vehicle that the engine power being provided to execute the limp home mode by receiving a predetermined engine output error signal from the engine control/fig.2 last step).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use KIM‘s processor for the modified wang‘s processor wherein the modified Wang’s method comprising transitioning the modified Wang’s vehicle in a reduced functionality mode in response to the modified Wang’s extent of stress or strain on the connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition. One of ordinary skill in the art knows the vehicle’s reduced functionality mode would have been motivated to make this modification in order to activate a protective state by the car's computer (ECU) when a serious issue is detected (malfunction of engine as cited in Abstract KIM)2 .
Claim 15
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, KIM teaches wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor further cause the processor to receive a signal to transition the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode (LIMP MODE ) upon transmitting the alert or warning to the external receiver (CLAIMS: receiving a predetermined engine output error signal from the engine control/fig.2 last step). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use KIM‘s processor for the modified Wang‘s processor wherein the modified Wang’s instructions that when executed by the modified Wang’s processor further cause the modified Wang’s processor to receive a signal to transition the modified Wang’s vehicle in a reduced functionality mode upon transmitting the alert or warning to the external receiver. One of ordinary skill in the art knows the vehicle’s reduced functionality mode would have been motivated to make this modification in order to activate a protective state by the car's computer (ECU) when a serious issue is detected (malfunction of engine as cited in Abstract KIM) .
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, US 20180210024 A1 in view of Dinh, US 20200233438 A1.
Claim 9
Wang teaches the method of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the connection cable is an air hose, and the core is hollow carrying air. In the similar field of endeavor, Dinh in figs.1-4 teaches wherein the connection cable 218 is an air hose (e.g,¶0033), and the core is hollow carrying air (e.g., ¶0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Dinh‘s air hose for Wang‘s connection. One of ordinary skill in the art knows hose lines are used in connection of trailers to the trucks would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use as a part of an autonomous vehicle (e.g., ¶0033 of Dinh), and based on MPEP 2143 (F), courts have ruled that Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 10
Wang ion view of Dinh teaches the method of claim 9, Wang combined with Dinh teaches further comprising disconnecting supply of air in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection (¶0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Dinh‘s disconnecting supply of air in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection for Wang’s method wherein the modified Wang’s connection cable is an air hose and the modified Wang’s core is hollow carrying air, and wherein the modified Wang’s instructions that when executed by the modified Wang’s processor further configure the processor to disconnect supply of air in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have an automated facility by automated vehicles with minimal user interaction and interface (e.g., ¶0002,0003).
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DENTON, WO 2024241042 in view of Wang, US 20180210024 A1.
Claim 16
DENTON teaches:
A vehicle 10 comprising:
a tractor 14;
a connection cable 12 configured to connect the tractor 14 to a trailer 16,
a processor (e.g., see citation3” The tractor-cable-line detection system 10 has a tractor-cab-mounted sensor apparatus 18, a processor and an alarm device.”); and
a memory device (e.g., see citation :” software trained by a machine-learning algorithm. The machine learning algorithm is configured to determine if the at least one cable line 12 is connected between the haulage tractor 14 and associated trailer 16 based on the optical feed.”), the memory device storing instructions that when executed by the processor configure the processor to ((e.g., see citation :” software trained by a machine-learning algorithm. The machine learning algorithm is configured to determine if the at least one cable line 12 is connected between the haulage tractor 14 and associated trailer 16 based on the optical feed.”):
receive a signal corresponding to an output (from sensors about distance 12);
identify an length or distance of the connection cable 12 based upon the received signal (see e.g., citation “If the processor determines simultaneously that the at least one cable line 12 is connected and the distance measured by the distance sensor exceeds the expected distance, a warning output is produced by the processor and sent to the alarm device.”); and
in response to the length of the connection cable meeting a specific threshold condition, generate an alert or a warning corresponding the extent the length or distance on the connection cable (see e.g., citation “If the processor determines simultaneously that the at least one cable line 12 is connected and the distance measured by the distance sensor exceeds the expected distance, a warning output is produced by the processor and sent to the alarm device.”).
DENTON does not specifically teach: the connection cable including a sleeve over a core of the connection cable, the sleeve including a plurality of fibers of piezo polymer material;
an electrical circuit connected with two ends of the sleeve; voltage measured across the electrical circuit; identify an extent of stress or strain on the connection cable.
In the similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches connection cable (cable (shown with 20,30 in fig.1 and sleeve 410 : e.g., fig.4)) including a sleeve 410 over a core 400 of the connection cable 20,30, the sleeve 410 including a plurality of fibers of piezo polymer material (PZT1,PZT2,…PZTn: e.g., ¶0045,0106, note that including is too broad and sleeve 410 with PZT meet this limitation);
an electrical circuit 100 connected with two ends of the sleeve 410; voltage measured across the electrical circuit (¶0057,0060); identify an extent of stress or strain (¶0060)on the connection cable (20,30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ‘s for ‘s and the processor configure the processor to: receive a signal corresponding to an output voltage measured across the modified DENTON’s electrical circuit; identify an extent of stress or strain on the modified DENTON’s connection cable based upon the received signal; and in response to the extent of stress or strain on the modified DENTON’s connection cable meeting a specific threshold condition, generate an alert or a warning corresponding the extent of stress or strain on the modified DENTON’s connection cable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to monitoring the structural health of connectors in overhead transmission lines (Abstract Wang). Based on MPEP 2143 (F), courts have ruled that Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 17
DENTON in view of Wang teaches the vehicle of claim 16, DENTON teaches the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode (warning mode: e.g., Abstract) wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor further configure the processor to transition the vehicle in a reduced functionality mode in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition.
Claim 18
DENTON in view of Wang teaches the vehicle of claim 16, DENTON teaches a warning mode, therefore, DENTON combined with Wang teaches wherein the modified DENTON’s instructions that when executed by the modified DENTON’s processor further configure the modified DENTON’s processor to receive a signal (from 18) to transition the modified DENTON’s vehicle 10 in a reduced functionality mode (warning mode) upon transmitting the alert or warning (e.g., the processor being configured to produce a warning output if the at least one cable line is connected and a said increase in the expected distance is determined simultaneously/ the tractor-cable- line detection system can help prevent damage of the cable line or lines by alerting a user if the cable line or lines are connected whilst a mechanical connection is disconnected/ whilst still utilizing machine learning techniques to automatically alert when a problem is identified.) to an external receiver (138).
Claim 20
DENTON in view of Wang teaches the vehicle of claim 16, Wang teaches wherein the connection cable (20,30) is an electrical cable (e.g., ¶0004,0008) and the core comprises electrically conductive material (fig.4 steel core 400) for the same reason and motivation cited above.
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DENTON, WO 2024241042 in view of Wang, US 20180210024 A1 and Dinh, US 20200233438 A1.
Claim 19
DENTON in view of Wang teaches the vehicle of claim 16, wherein the connection cable is an air hose and the core is hollow carrying air, and wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor further configure the processor to disconnect supply of air in response to the extent of stress or strain on the connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition.
In the similar field of endeavor, Dinh in figs 1-4 teaches: wherein the connection cable 218 is an air hose (e.g.,¶0033 ) and the core is hollow carrying air (e.g., ¶0033), and wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor (200 e.g., ¶0036) further configure the processor (200) to disconnect supply of air (automatic shutdown e.g., ¶0036 ) in response to the (e.g., controller in response to the air connection is not made completely between the autonomous transport vehicle 105 and the cargo container 110 shutoff the air, e.g., ¶0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Dinh‘s air hose for DENTON ‘s vehicle wherein the modified DENTON’s connection cable is an air hose and the modified DENTON’s core is hollow carrying air, and wherein the modified DENTON’s instructions that when executed by the modified DENTON’s processor further configure the modified DENTON’s processor to disconnect supply of air in response to the extent of stress or strain on the modified DENTON’s connection cable meeting the specific threshold condition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have an automated facility by automated vehicles with minimal user interaction and interface (e.g., ¶0002,0003).
Conclusion
/FATEMEH ESFANDIARI NIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 This limitation is also obvious over warning mode of DENTON as an alternative as cited for claims 17-18
2 This limitation is also obvious over warning mode of DENTON as an alternative as cited for claims 17-18
3 See English translation by office