DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/22/2026, in which claims 1-3 and 5-21 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 11, 14, and 19-20 are currently amended.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 rejected under 35 USC 102, 103 in Remarks filed on 01/22/2026 have been considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 USC 103 based on Chiang (US Pub. 20210392364 A1) in view of Wiegan (WO 2019166508 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Pub. 20210392364 A1) in view of Wiegan (WO 2019166508 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chiang discloses a method of video processing, comprising (Chiang; Para. [0058]. A video coding system/method is used for video coding.):
determining, during a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video unit, multiple hypothesis information of the video unit, the video unit being a multiple hypothesis coded video unit (Chiang; Para. [0050]. Multiple hypothesis information is determined during conversion between video unit and a bitstream, wherein video unit being a multiple hypothesis coded unit.);
inserting the multiple hypothesis information into a history-based motion candidate table (Chiang; Para. [0051]. Multiple hypothesis information is inserted into a history-based motion candidate table.), wherein whether to inherit multiple hypothesis data from a neighbor video unit of the video unit to a merge candidate depends on usage of the merge candidate or a merge candidate list which includes the merge candidate (Chiang; Para. [0051]. For merge candidate, inheriting mode data for neighboring blocks, being used with multiple hypothesis data, merge candidate list includes merge candidates with multiple hypotheses. Whether to inherit multiple hypothesis from a neighbor or not actually depends on whether merge mode is used or not, wherein the motion information of neighbor merge candidate blocks is re-used/inherited.).; and
performing the conversion based on the history-based motion candidate table (Chiang; Para. [0052]. Video conversion/coding is performed based on history-based motion candidate table.).
But it does not specifically teach wherein a base hypothesis of multiple hypotheses of the video unit is intra-mode coded.
However, Wiegan teaches wherein a base hypothesis of multiple hypotheses of the video unit is intra-mode coded (Wiegan; Pg. 28, Ln. 10-25. A first/base hypothesis of multiple hypotheses of a block include at least an intra mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Chiang to adapt a multiple hypothesis coding approach, by incorporating Wiegan’s teaching wherein a first/base hypothesis include intra mode, uni-inter mode, and bi-inter mode, for the motivation to perform coding by using composed prediction signals (Wiegan; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, Chiang discloses wherein the multiple hypothesis information comprises multiple hypothesis data of an additional hypothesis of the video unit, or wherein the multiple hypothesis information comprises coding information of the base hypothesis of the video unit, or wherein a history-based motion candidate is generated from the video unit, and the history- based motion candidate comprises coding information of the base hypothesis and multiple hypothesis data of an additional hypothesis of the video unit, and wherein if coding information of the base hypothesis of the video unit is inserted into the history-based motion candidate table, the number of multiple hypothesis of the history-based motion candidate is perceived as zero, or wherein which part of coding information of the video unit is included in a history-based motion candidate depends on prediction information of the video unit, and wherein the coding information of the video unit comprises at least one of: coding information of the base hypothesis of the video unit, or multiple hypothesis data of an additional hypothesis of the video unit, or wherein the prediction information of the video unit comprises at least one of: a prediction mode of the video unit, a prediction method of the video unit, or a coded block size of the video unit, or wherein if the video unit is regular merge coded, coding information of the base hypothesis of the video unit and multiple hypothesis data of an additional hypothesis of the video unit are included in a history-based motion candidate and inserted into the history-based motion candidate table, or wherein if the video unit is one of: a combined inter and intra prediction (CIIP) coded, geometric partitioning mode (GPM) coded, or template matching (TM) coded, coding information of the base hypothesis of the video unit is included in a history-based motion candidate and inserted into the history-based motion candidate table (Chiang; Para. [0051]. Multiple hypothesis information includes multiple hypotheses including an additional hypothesis of a video unit.).
Regarding claim 3, Chiang discloses wherein whether multiple hypothesis data of the video unit is included in a history-based motion candidate depends on usage of the history-based motion candidate (Chiang; Para. [0051]. Whether multiple hypothesis data of a video unit is used in history-based motion candidate is in accordance with the use of a history-based motion candidate.), and wherein if the history-based motion candidate is being added to an advanced motion vector predication (AMVP) list, the history-based motion candidate does not comprise the multiple hypothesis data of the video unit, or wherein if the history-based motion candidate is being added to a merge list, the history-based motion candidate comprises the multiple hypothesis data of the video unit (Chiang; Para. [0051]. For history-based motion candidate being used with a merge list, a history-based motion candidate includes multiple hypothesis data of a video unit.).
Claim 19 is directed to an apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform a sequence of processing steps correspond to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a sequence of processing steps correspond to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 21, Chiang discloses storing the bitstream in anon-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Chiang; Para. [0033]. Bitstream is stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium.).
Claims 5-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Pub. 20210392364 A1) in view of Wiegan (WO 2019166508 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim (KR 1020210003054, English-equivalent document cited).
Regarding claim 5, Chiang discloses multiple hypothesis data (Chiang; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein if the merge candidate is used for TM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for TM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for a GPM coding or a variant associated with the GPM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for a GPM coding or a variant associated with the GPM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for CIIP coding or a variant associated with the CIIP coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for CIIP coding or a variant associated with the CIIP coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate.
But Kim teaches wherein if the merge candidate is used for TM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for TM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for a GPM coding or a variant associated with the GPM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for a GPM coding or a variant associated with the GPM coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for CIIP coding or a variant associated with the CIIP coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for CIIP coding or a variant associated with the CIIP coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate (Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para. For merge candidate, inheriting mode data for neighboring blocks, being used with CIIP and multiple hypothesis data, merge candidate list with multiple hypotheses are inherited from neighboring blocks.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Chiang to adapt a merge coding approach, by incorporating Kim’s teaching wherein merge mode is performed in conjunction with CIIP, for the motivation to configure merge candidate list for merge coding (Kim; Pg. 1.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chiang further teaches wherein if the merge candidate is used for merge mode with motion vector difference (MMVD) coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for MMVD coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for affine merge mode coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for affine merge coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) merge mode with motion vector difference (MMVD) coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for SbTMVP merge coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for regular merge mode coding, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate, or wherein if the merge candidate is used for regular merge coding, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from the neighbor vide unit to the merge candidate (Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para. For merge candidate, inheriting mode data for neighboring blocks, being used with MMVD and multiple hypothesis data, merge candidate list with multiple hypotheses are inherited from neighboring blocks.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chiang further teaches wherein whether to inherit multiple hypothesis data from a neighbor video unit of the video unit to a merge candidate depends on a condition reflecting where the multiple hypothesis data is from (Kim; Pg. 7, 5th Para. Prediction mode for multiple hypothesis is used to determine whether to inherit MH data from a neighbor block.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chiang further teaches wherein the condition indicates that whether the multiple hypothesis data is from one of: a spatial neighbor coded block, a temporal neighbor coded block, the history-based motion candidate table, a pairwise candidate, or a zero candidate, or wherein the condition indicates that whether the multiple hypothesis data is from non-adjacent neighbor of a current block associated with the video unit, or wherein the condition indicates that whether the multiple hypothesis data is from spatial neighbor adjacent to a current block associated with the video unit, or wherein the condition indicates that whether the multiple hypothesis data is from one of: a TM coded block, a GPM coded block, a CIIP coded block, a MMVD coded block, an affine coded block, a SbTMVP coded block, a regular merge coded block, or an AMVP coded block, or wherein the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from a spatial neighbor coded block associated with the video unit, or wherein the multiple hypothesis data is inherited from a temporal coded block associated with the video unit, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a TM coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a TM coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a GPM coded neighbor block or a variant of the GPM coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a GPM coded neighbor block or a variant of the GPM coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited to the merge candidate (Kim; Pg. 7, 5th Para. A condition of prediction modes, e.g. ATMVP or STMVP, is used to determine whether to inherit MH data from a neighbor block.).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chiang further teaches wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a CIIP coded neighbor clock or a variant of the CIIP coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a CIIP coded neighbor clock or a variant of the CIIP coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from an MMVD coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from an MMVD coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from an affine coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from an affine coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from an SbTMVP coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from an SbTMVP coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a regular merge coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is not inherited to the merge candidate, or wherein if the multiple hypothesis data is from a regular merge coded neighbor block, the multiple hypothesis data is inherited to the merge candidate (Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para., Pg. 7, 5th Para. For a coding mode, e.g. CIIP, MMVD, ATMVP, or STMVP, being used, merge candidate list with multiple hypotheses are inherited from neighboring blocks.).
Claim 10, modified Chiang further teaches wherein whether to include multiple hypothesis data to a AMVP candidate depends on usage of the AMVP candidate or an AMVP list including the AMVP candidate, and wherein the usage of the AMVP candidate or the AMVP list refers to one of: a regular AMVP, an affine AMVP, or an AMVP with symmetric motion vector difference (SMVD), or wherein whether to include multiple hypothesis data to an AMVP candidate depends on a condition reflecting where the multiple hypothesis data is from, andwherein the condition indicates that whether the multiple hypothesis data is from one of: a spatial neighbor coded block, a temporal neighbor coded block, or the history-based motion candidate table, or wherein the condition indicates that whether the multiple hypothesis data is from one of: a TM coded block, a GPM coded block, a CIIP coded block, a MMVD coded block, an affine coded block, a SbTMVP coded block, a regular merge coded block, or an AMVP coded block (Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para., Pg. 7, 5th Para. A coding mode of ATMVP candidate is used to determine whether to include multiple hypothesis, or a condition indicates whether a multiple hypothesis is from one of a CIIP, a MMVD, or ATMVP, or STMVP.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Chiang further teaches wherein what kind of additional hypothesis is allowed for the video unit depends on the number of additional hypotheses associated with the video unit (Chiang; Para. [0051-52]. A number of additional hypotheses is used to determine what additional hypothesis is used for a video block. Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para., Pg. 7, 5th Para. A number of additional hypotheses is used to determine what additional hypothesis is used for a video block..), and wherein if multiple additional hypotheses are associated with the base hypothesis, prediction methods of the multiple additional hypotheses are not allowed to be the same, or wherein for the base hypothesis of the video unit, it is not allowed that the base hypothesis has more than one intra coded additional hypothesis or more than one planar coded additional hypothesis, or wherein a predetermined number of planar coded additional hypothesis is allowed for the base hypothesis of the video unit, or wherein a first prediction method is not allowed to be used as the base hypothesis of the video unit, and the video unit is a multi-hypothesis prediction (MHP) video unit, or wherein a second prediction method is not allowed to be used as an additional hypothesis of the video unit, and the video unit is a multi-hypothesis prediction (MHP) video unit, or wherein if a prediction method is not allowed for the video unit which is a MHP video unit, syntax elements related to the prediction method is not indicated for the MHP video unit (Kim; Pg. 13, 13th Para. For a prediction mode/method being not allowed, syntax elements for a prediction mode/method is not indicated for a MHP video block.).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chiang further teaches wherein the first prediction method is one of: a regular merge prediction method, a CIIP prediction method, a CIIP position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC) method, a GPM prediction method, a GPM MMVD prediction method, a GPM TM prediction method, a MMVD prediction method, a TM prediction method, an affine prediction method, an affine MMVD prediction method, a SbTMVP prediction method, an AMVP prediction method, an intra prediction method, a planar prediction method, a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) prediction method, a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) prediction method, a variant of AMVP prediction method,a variant of merge prediction method, or a variant of intra prediction method, andwherein the second prediction method is one of: a regular merge prediction method, a CIIP prediction method, a CIIP position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC) method, a GPM prediction method, a GPM MMVD prediction method, a GPM TM prediction method, a MMVD prediction method, a TM prediction method, an affine prediction method, an affine MMVD prediction method, a SbTMVP prediction method, an AMVP prediction method, an intra prediction method, a planar prediction method, a TIMD prediction method, a DIMD prediction method, a variant of AMVP prediction method, a variant of merge prediction method, or a variant of intra prediction method (Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para. A first prediction mode/method is one of a CIIP, MMVD, ATMVP, and/or SMVP.).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chiang further teaches wherein multiple hypothesis data of the video unit comprises at least one syntax element specifying coding information of at least one intra-prediction based additional hypothesis, and wherein an indication is indicated in a multiple hypothesis data structure specifying whether an additional hypothesis is coded by a first prediction method or not, and the prediction method comprises one of: an inter prediction method, or an intra prediction method, or wherein a first indication is indicated in a multiple hypothesis data structure specifying whether an additional hypothesis is a first prediction method coded or not, or wherein a second indication is indicated in a multiple hypothesis data structure specifying whether an additional hypothesis is a second prediction method coded or a third prediction method coded, and wherein a presence of the second indication is conditioned on a value of the first indication, or wherein the first indication and the second indication are independently indicated (Chiang; Para. [0051]. A first indication is indicated in a multiple hypothesis data structure indicates whether an additional hypothesis is a first prediction mode or not. Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para. A first indication is indicated in a multiple hypothesis data structure indicates whether an additional hypothesis is a first prediction mode or not.).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chiang further teaches wherein whether an indication is indicated or not depends on the number of a specified prediction method coded hypotheses associated with the video unit (Chiang; Para. [0051-52]. Whether an indication is indicated or not depends on a number of prediction mode coded hypotheses. Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para. Whether an indication is indicated or not depends on a number of prediction mode coded hypotheses.), and wherein the specified prediction method is one of: an intra prediction method, a TIMD prediction method, or a DIMD prediction method, or wherein if the number of coded intra coded hypothesis is greater than a threshold, no more intra coded hypothesis is allowed for the video unit, and wherein no more indication is indicated for a next hypothesis to specify whether the next hypothesis is intra or non-intra coded, or wherein a next hypothesis is inherited to be non-intra coded, or wherein whether an indication is indicated or not depends on a prediction method/mode of the base hypothesis of the video unit, and wherein if the base hypothesis is coded by a predetermined prediction method, the indication is not indicated and inferred to a certain value, or wherein if the base hypothesis is coded by a predetermined prediction method, the indication is not allowed to this video unit (Chiang; Para. [0051-52]. Whether an indication is used or not depends on a prediction mode of a base hypothesis, and for a base hypothesis being coded with a predetermined prediction mode, an indication is not used.).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chiang further teaches wherein the predetermined prediction method comprises one of: a regular merge prediction method, a CIIP prediction method, a CIIP position dependent intra prediction combination (PDPC) method, a GPM prediction method, a GPM MMVD prediction method, a GPM TM prediction method, a MMVD prediction method, a TM prediction method, an affine prediction method, an affine MMVD prediction method, a SbTMVP prediction method, an AMVP prediction method, an intra prediction method, a planar prediction method, a TIMD prediction method, a DIMD prediction method, a variant of AMVP prediction method, a variant of merge prediction method, or a variant of intra prediction method (Chiang; Para. [0051-52]. A predetermined prediction mode includes one of AMVP, MMVD/UMVE. Kim; Pg. 3, last two Para. A predetermined prediction mode includes one of CIIP, MMVD, AMVP, and SMVP.).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chiang further teaches wherein whether and/or how to apply an intra coded hypothesis for the video unit is dependent on a block size associated with the video unit, and wherein if the block size is no greater than a virtual pipeline data unit (VPDU) size, an intra coded hypothesis is allowed, or wherein if a width or height of the block size is smaller than a threshold, an intra coded hypothesis is allowed, or wherein the intra coded prediction is applied in a subblock way, and wherein if the block size of the video unit is greater than a threshold or a VPDU size, the video unit is split to into multiple subblocks, and the intra coded prediction is applied to each subblock, or wherein how to split the video unit into subblocks is pre-defined, and wherein the video unit is implicitly split into multiple subblocks, or wherein the video unit is quadtree split into four average sized subblocks, or wherein the video unit is horizontally split into a plurality of subblocks, or wherein the video unit is vertically split into a plurality of subblocks (Kim; Pg. 13, 13th Para. For a width or height of a block size being smaller than a threshold, an intra coded hypothesis is allowed.).
Regarding claim 17, modified Chiang further teaches wherein multiple hypothesis data of the video unit comprises at least one syntax element specifying weights to do a weighted sum of multiple hypotheses of the video unit (Chiang; Para. [0050]. At least one syntax element is used to indicate weights for weighted-sum of multiple hypotheses of a video block.), and
wherein at least one hypothesis of the video unit is an intra-prediction, or wherein the weights are implicitly derived from coding information, and wherein the coding information comprises a prediction mode of a neighbor video unit of the video unit, or wherein the weights related to an intra prediction-based hypothesis is implicitly derived from coding information and follow a same rule as CIIP weights derivation (Chiang; Para. [0049-50]. At least one hypothesis of a video block is an intra-prediction.).
Regarding claim 18, modified Chiang further teaches wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Para. [0049, 59]. Video conversion/coding includes coding video blocks into and from bitstream.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiang (US Pub. 20200275115 A1) teaches a video coding system that uses classification for multiple merge tools.
Chiang (US Pub. 20190379901 A1) teaches a video coding system that use multi-hypothesis mode reference and constraints.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485