DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/16/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 14, 15, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blascok et al. in US Patent 6915718.
Regarding Claim 1, Blascok teaches a knob mechanism comprising: a knob body (the “selector handle”); and a lock mechanism associated with the knob body, the lock mechanism comprising a locking member (6) that is movable between an extended position (Fig. 1) and a retracted position (Fig. 2), a pivot member (2) that is pivotable with respect to the knob body to move the locking member, and a button (4) that is operable to pivot the pivot member to move the locking member from the extended position toward the retracted position; wherein the locking member is movable in a first direction (upward in Figs. 1 and 2), and the button is movable (left-right in Figs. 1-2) in a second direction transverse to the first direction, and wherein the pivot member is pivotable about a pivot axis (7) that extends between the button and the locking member, so that the pivot axis is spaced away from the button and the locking member.
Regarding Claim 2, Blascok teaches that the pivot member is engageable with the locking member (at 14) to move the locking member from the extended position toward the retracted position.
Regarding Claim 3, Blascok teaches that the pivot member has a curved end (14 is round) that is engageable with the locking member when the locking member is in the retracted position.
Regarding Claim 4, Blascok teaches that the button is engageable with the pivot member to pivot the pivot member (at 16).
Regarding Claim 5, Blascok teaches that the pivot member has a curved end (14 is round) that is engageable with the button when the locking member is in the extended position.
Regarding Claim 7, Blascok teaches that the pivot member has a longitudinal axis (along 14) that extends at an angle greater than zero degrees with respect to the second direction when the locking member is in the extended position.
Regarding Claim 12, Blascok teaches that the locking member comprises an elongated locking pin (6) and an enlarged locking portion (5) attached to the locking pin.
Regarding Claim 14, Blascok teaches a housing (11) attached to the knob body, and a biasing member (A, see below) disposed in an interior of the housing and configured to bias the locking member toward the extended position.
Regarding Claim 15, Blascok teaches that the biasing member comprises a compression spring.
Regarding Claim 21, Blascok teaches a knob mechanism comprising: a knob body (the “selector handle”); and a lock mechanism associated with the knob body, the lock mechanism comprising a locking member (6) that is movable between an extended position (Fig. 1) and a retracted position (Fig. 2), a pivot member (2) that is pivotable with respect to the knob body to move the locking member, and a button (4) that is operable to pivot the pivot member to move the locking member from the extended position toward the retracted position; wherein the locking member has a longitudinal axis (along the member) and a locking end (toward the lower end in Figs. 1-2), the pivot member is pivotable about a fixed pivot axis (7), and the pivot member has an end (at 14) that is engageable with the locking member, and wherein, when the locking member is in the retracted position, the end of the pivot member is disposed longitudinally further away from the locking end of the locking member than is the pivot axis (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 22, Blascok teaches that the locking member is movable in a first direction (upward in Figs 1-2) and the button is movable in a second direction (left-right in Figs. 1-2) transverse to the first direction.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blascok as applied to Claim 14 above in view of Yokoyama et al. in US Patent 5343836. Blascok is silent on the use of fasteners connecting the body to the housing. Yokoyama teaches a knob including a knob body (16/90) and a housing (12) wherein the housing is attached to the knob body with one or more fasteners (92) that are accessible from an interior of the knob body, and the knob body includes a cap (90) that is removable for providing access to the one or more fasteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Blascok by using a knob body attached to a housing as taught by Yokoyama in order to provide a secure means for connecting the two pieces of the assembly.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blascok as applied to Claim 14 above in view of Kato et al. in US Patent 4078447. Blascok is silent on the use of fasteners connecting the body to the housing. Kato teaches a knob including a knob body (8) and a housing (9) wherein the housing is attached to the knob body with one or more fasteners (11) that are accessible from an exterior of the knob body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Blascok by using a knob body attached to a housing as taught by Kato in order to provide an easy means for connecting the two pieces of the assembly.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4015442 (Grossele) in view of Blascok et al. in US Patent 6915718.
Regarding Claim 18, Grossele teaches a lift device comprising: a work platform (5); a movable support member (3) arrangement that supports the work platform; and a drive system (7) configured to move the support member arrangement in order to move the work platform, the drive system including an actuator that comprises a knob (72). Grossele teaches that the knob actuates a locking mechanism that moves into and out of engagement with a hole (73), but is silent on the details thereof. Blascok teaches a knob mechanism comprising: a knob body (the “selector handle”); and a lock mechanism associated with the knob body, the lock mechanism comprising a locking member (6) that is movable between an extended position (Fig. 1) and a retracted position (Fig. 2), a pivot member (2) that is pivotable with respect to the knob body to move the locking member, and a button (4) that is operable to pivot the pivot member to move the locking member from the extended position toward the retracted position; wherein the locking member is movable in a first direction (upward in Figs. 1 and 2), and the button is movable (left-right in Figs. 1-2) in a second direction transverse to the first direction, and wherein the pivot member is pivotable about a pivot axis (7) that extends between the button and the locking member, so that the pivot axis is spaced away from the button and the locking member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the knob of Grossele by using a knob as taught by Blascok in order to provide a comfortable handle for the user to grasp.
Regarding Claim 19, Grossele, as modified, teaches that the actuator comprises a rotatable member (71) and the knob mechanism is mounted on the rotatable member.
Regarding Claim 20, Grossele, as modified, teaches a locking member (73) mounted on the work platform or the support member arrangement, wherein the locking member (the inner end of 72 that engages the hoes 73) of the knob mechanism is engageable with the locking member on the work platform or the support member arrangement to lock the rotatable member with respect to the work platform or the support member arrangement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and its dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah C. Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636