DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application, filed August 6, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. The applicant has added new claims 18-20.
Examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA
The present application was filed on March 1, 2024, which is on or after March 16, 2013, and thus is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg et al. (US 2014/0280224 A1) in view of Brinton et al. (US 2021/0049923 A1).
As per claim 1: A method, comprising:
for receipt of time series data from sensors of one or more assets in a system:
Feinberg discloses [Fig. 1; 0045] receiving series data from one of a plurality of different types of devices. It is clear that the data could be from a sensor of the system and/or any other combinations.
estimating a likelihood of an event from the event types based on one or more discovered motifs from the time series data and an associated time series motif of the event;
providing, through a user interface, the estimated likelihood of the event, the associated time series motif, sequencing of the associated time series motif, and a recommendation; and
for an acceptance of the recommendation through the user interface, executing the recommendation for the one or more assets in the system.
Feinberg discloses [0039] estimating a likelihood of structures and network motifs that are similar based on the received data and the relationship recommendation system can identify the motifs based on the attributes within the graph database and suggest the nodes or edges to the researchers (through user interface) that would result in the desired combination.
executing feature extraction on the received time series data;
identifying event types from the feature extraction;
identifying pairs of event type and a window of the time series data;
clustering motifs of the identified pairs to update a motif dictionary;
Feinberg discloses [0039] similarity score is utilized to identify subgraphs and motifs and identifying pairs of motifs. Feinberg further discloses [Fig. 3; 0050-0052] identifying events that are similar and clustering similar motifs, but fails to explicitly disclose updating motif dictionary. Brinton discloses a similar method, which further teaches [0016] executing artificial intelligence to identify and update known motifs (dictionary). Brinton further discloses [0171-0174] clustering similar stored motifs for customizing delivery for a specific user-base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Feinberg with that of Brinton. One would have been motivated to update a motif dictionary because it allows to customize according to user base [Brinton; 0171-0174].
As per claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein the clustering motifs of the identified pairs to update the motif dictionary comprises executing a significance test to identify unknown motifs for updating the motif dictionary.
Brinton discloses [0016] executing artificial intelligence to identify and update known motifs (dictionary).
As per claim 3: The method of claim 1, wherein the window is an arbitrary window.
Feinberg discloses [Fig. 5; 0063] obtaining and gathering data from a database (arbitrary window).
As per claim 4: The method of claim 1, wherein the window is a designated window.
Brinton discloses [0122] time-series data window by time interval is selected by the instructor.
As per claim 5: The method of claim 1, further comprising validating the motif dictionary from the identified event types from the feature extraction corresponding to the clustered motifs; and executing a machine learning algorithm to provide labels associated with the associated time series motif.
Brinton discloses [0016] executing artificial intelligence to identify and update known motifs. Brinton further discloses [0105] machine learning algorithms can be used for defining and labeling for identifying key factors.
As per claim 6: The method of claim 5, wherein the machine learning algorithm is configured to provide natural language translation associated with the associated time series motif; wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained from time-series sequences utilizing a language model with associated training data to output the natural language translation for time series motifs.
Brinton discloses [0016] executing artificial intelligence to identify and update known motifs. Brinton further discloses [0105] machine learning algorithms can be used for defining and labeling for identifying key factors. Brinton further discloses [0048] using natural language processing and machine learnings methods to help deliver the best available content.
As per claim 7: The method of claim 1, wherein the time series data is across a plurality of different sensors, wherein the clustering of motifs is conducted on the time series data across the plurality of different sensors to form multi-dimensional motifs.
Feinberg discloses [Fig. 1; 0045] receiving series data from one of a plurality of different types of devices. It is clear that the data could be from a plurality of sensors of the system and/or any other combinations.
As per claim 8: The method of claim 1, further comprising executing a language model configured to output a natural language event description for the event, the language model trained an association between time series patterns, motifs, and event descriptions, wherein the recommendation is generated from a recommendation machine learning model that intakes the event description for the event and the estimated likelihood of the event to output the recommendation.
Brinton discloses [0016] executing artificial intelligence to identify and update known motifs. Brinton further discloses [0105] machine learning algorithms can be used for defining and labeling for identifying key factors. Brinton further discloses [0048] using natural language processing and machine learnings methods to help deliver the best available content.
As per claims 9-16: Although claims 9-16 are directed towards a medium claim, they are rejected under the same rationale as the method claims 1-8 above.
As per claim 17: Although claim 17 is directed towards an apparatus claim, it is rejected under the same rationale as the method claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The cited prior art references fail to disclose or suggest identifying asset failure type events and generating recommendation operation related tasks specific to failure types for maintenance before dispatching engineers, where the motif dictionary enables identification of hidden failure patterns not previously visible to a trained system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Feinberg and Brinton are nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art references must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Feinberg discloses generic computation over graphs, motif discovery, similarity scoring, ranking, which are expressly stated as broadly applicable to collaborative environments. Brinton similarly discloses generic pipeline of content tagging, user modeling, motif discovery, and prediction.
In response to applicant’s argument that motifs described relate to network connections or student learning behaviors, not asset failure events as in the claimed invention, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Feinberg defines motifs as statistically significant recurring subgraphs and uses them to rank and recommend, with explicit similarity scoring and significance measures, which is a canonical motif framework transferable to sequences or graphs built from time-series events. Brinton defines motifs as recurring sequences of actions with time factors, discovered via mixture modeling and SPM, and uses those motifs to update models and decisions, squarely meeting “discovered motifs” used downstream regardless of the downstream domain label.
In response to applicant’s argument that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest a motif dictionary that enables identification of hidden failure patterns not previously visible to a trained system, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Brinton explicitly discloses [0065-0067, 0171-0176] updating a motif library used to compare and update user models, discovered via MEME, and/or SPM. These methods, by definition, uncover previously hidden recurring patterns and incorporates them into a library for ongoing use.
In response to applicant’s argument that the cited references fail to teach or suggest estimate likelihood of events by extracting associated event time windows based on the motif dictionary, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Brinton discloses [0060-0067, 0175] by quantifying how specific motifs change the probability of outcome (e.g. CFA) via logistic models and predictive utilities. Feinberg further discloses [0039, 0060-0067] computing similarity scores, statistical significance, and ranking subgraphs to identify relationships indicative of likelihood of collaboration (i.e. motif-conditioned likelihood of events to recommend actions).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
· US 2024/0119319 A1 – Fahmy discloses performing analytics using automatically generated labels for time series data and numerical lists. The label assigned to a given data point may be descriptive of a pattern reflected other data points in the time series. The system further identifies a pattern of automatically assigned labels that is indicative of an event affecting the one or more resources.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIGAR P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114