DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 15-17, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 9-14, 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelfenbeyn (US 20230351118 A1) in view of Tiwari (US 20240070399 A1).
Claim 1: Gelfenbeyn discloses a system comprising:
a hardware processor; ([0006])
a memory storing a software code; ([0006])
the hardware processor configured to execute the software code to: receive dialogue data, the dialogue data identifying a character, a storyline including the character, and a speech for the character intended to at least one of advance the storyline or achieve a goal of the speech; ([0072]: dialogue output; [0075]: language responses configured to advance goal and reflect a character personality)
assess, using the dialogue data, a plurality of quality assurance (QA) metrics of the speech, the plurality of QA metrics including at least one of: (i) a fluency of the speech, (ii) a responsiveness of the speech to speech by an interaction partner of the character, (iii) a consistency of the speech with the goal of the speech, (iv) a consistency of the speech with a character profile of the character, or (v) a consistency of the speech with a story-world of the storyline; ([0050]: verify a relevancy of the response; [0064]-[0065]: process the text through a goals model)
determine, using the plurality of QA metrics, whether the speech is suitable for advancing the storyline; ([0050]: verify a relevancy of the response; [0064]-[0065]: process the text through a goals model)
when determining determines that the speech is suitable for advancing the storyline or achieving the goal, approve the speech; ([0050]: verify a relevancy of the response; [0064]-[0065]: process the text through a goals model)
when determining determines that the speech is unsuitable for advancing the storyline or achieving the goal, flag the speech as being unsuitable. ([0050]-[0056]: control, modify, or filter LLM output)
Gelfenbeyn does not explicitly teach receiving dialogue data from a natural language generator or a human performer over a communication network.
However, Tiwari does teach receiving dialogue data from a natural language generator or a human performer over a communication network. ([0046]: dialogue data may be received from dialogue speech source).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to receive dialogue data over a communication network because it enables distributing work across multiple computer systems (See Tiwari [0023]).
Claim 2: Elements of claim 1 are disclosed as described above. Gelfenbeyn further discloses the system wherein when determining determines that the speech is unsuitable for advancing the storyline or achieving the goal, the hardware processor is further configured to execute the software code to:
at least one of: identify one or more segments of the speech determined to be unsuitable, or provide a recommendation for improving the speech to render the speech suitable. ([0028], [0050]: change words in the response or filter unsafe words)
Claim 3: Elements of claim 1 are disclosed as described above. Tiwari further discloses the system wherein the hardware processor is further configured to execute the software code to:
display, via a user interface (UI), a summary of the dialogue data for review by a system administrator; (Figure 5: analysis of dialogue meant to be uttered by a digital character [0011]: manual review of dialogue)
wherein assessing the plurality of QA metrics includes receiving one or more evaluations of the speech as input from the system administrator via the UI. (Figure 5: analysis of dialogue meant to be uttered by a digital character [0011] manual review of dialogue)
Claim 4: Elements of claim 1 are disclosed as described above. Gelfenbeyn further discloses the system further comprising:
at least one trained machine learning (ML) model; ([0028]: LLM)
wherein assessing at least one of the plurality of QA metrics is performed using the at least one trained ML model. ([0063]-[0064]: e.g. goals model)
Claim 5: Elements of claim 4 are disclosed as described above. Gelfenbeyn further discloses the system wherein the at least one trained ML model comprises at least one of a large language model or a multimodal foundation model. ([0028]: LLM)
Claims 10-14 contain limitations analogous to those described above and are thus rejected in a similar fashion.
Claim 19: Gelfenbeyn discloses a system comprising:
a hardware processor; ([0006])
a memory storing a software code; ([0006])
the hardware processor configured to execute the software code to: receive dialogue data, the dialogue data identifying a character, a storyline including the character, and a speech for the character intended to at least one of advance the storyline or achieve a goal of the speech; ([0072]: dialogue output; [0075]: language responses configured to advance goal and reflect a character personality)
assess, using the dialogue data, a plurality of quality assurance (QA) metrics of the speech, the plurality of QA metrics including at least one of: (i) a fluency of the speech, (ii) a responsiveness of the speech to speech by an interaction partner of the character, (iii) a consistency of the speech with the goal of the speech, (iv) a consistency of the speech with a character profile of the character, or (v) a consistency of the speech with a story-world of the storyline; ([0050]: verify a relevancy of the response; [0064]-[0065]: process the text through a goals model)
Gelfenbeyn does not explicitly teach the speech including a plurality of alternative lines of dialogue;
determine, using the plurality of QA metrics, one of the alternative lines of dialogue as a best speech to advance the storyline or achieve the goal.
However, Tiwari does teach the speech including a plurality of alternative lines of dialogue; ([0028]: one or more candidate emotionally enhanced utterances)
determine, using the plurality of QA metrics, one of the alternative lines of dialogue as a best speech to advance the storyline or achieve the goal. ([0012]: emotionally enhanced utterances are augmented with a character’s personality, state, and history; [0058] select the best scoring candidate utterance)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a highest scoring option from a list of candidates because it constitutes the use of a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way.
Claim(s) 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelfenbeyn and Tiwari in view of Hida (US 20240143942 A1).
Claim 9: Gelfenbeyn further teaches the system wherein to assess the consistency of the speech with the story-world of the storyline, the hardware processor is further configured to execute the software code to:
generate a vector projection of the speech into an embedding space; ([0061]: dialogue may be in the form of embeddings)
compare the vector projection of the speech with a vector representation of a description of the story-world; ([0050], [0064]: use goals and dialogue embeddings to determine relevancy)
Gelfenbeyn does not teach, but Hida does teach:
wherein comparing comprises one of computing (i) a cosine similarity of the vector projection and the vector representation, or (ii) a Euclidean distance of the vector projection from the vector representation. ([0097], [0101]: semantic similarity)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use semantic similarity to compare dialogue to a subject as it is a known metric for determining the degree of relevance (see Hida [0101]).
Claim 18 is analogous to claim 9 and is rejected in a similar fashion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ALVIN ISKENDER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654