DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are rejected in the Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of 63/488496 filed 3/4/2023.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 20 begins with “receiving a second request from the second client device to authenticate the identity of the first user” but the remainder of the claim proceeds as if the authentication is of the second user (see, e.g., “and providing, to the first client device, an indication of the identity of the second user”). The claim generally proceeds as a mirror to the previous claim, which authenticated the identity of the first user. Examiner views the use of “first” in the first limitation as a typo and Applicant meant “second” but the claim as written is self-contradictory and creates an indefiniteness of scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffing (US Pub. 2009/0117883) in view of Hatti (US Pub. 2020/0295948).
With respect to Claim 1, Coffing teaches a method of authenticating an individual, comprising: registering, at the server device, an agent account for an agent associated with the organization; (An agent of an organization will be taught later. para. 6, 95, 99, 109, 141; user creates profile that is stored in a database. para. 15, 27, 38; system provides access to profiles that include user-defined data such as name, phone number or contact information)
generating an authenticated identity object based on receiving an indication of an authenticated identity of the agent account from the organization account, wherein the authenticated identity object is maintained in a storage accessible to the server device; (Figs. 1-3, paras. 69-70, 74; authentication server stores user name and password that provide access to an account that has user ID, device ID and tokens.)
receiving an authentication request from a first client device to authenticate an identity of a first user of the first client device with respect to the organization; (paras. 69-70, 74, 78-80, 82; user logs in and server verifies the user’s identity.)
generating, based on the authentication request, a dynamic token associated with the authenticated identity object; (paras. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to the user’s device. paras. 15, 63, 69-70; tokens may be single use, finite use, or may expire over time.)
providing the dynamic token to the first client device; (para. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to client device.)
receiving the dynamic token from a second client device, the dynamic token having been received by a second user of the second client device from the first user; (Fig. 1, para. 63, 70, 83; User A transmits token to User B. Fig. 4, para. 71; User B sends User A’s token that it has received to the authentication server.)
authenticating the identity of the first user as the agent based on verifying that the dynamic token received from the second client device is associated with the authenticated identity object maintained at the server device; (paras. 71-73; server determines if token is valid by keeping a record of tokens as they are generated and looking up the received token on the list.)
and providing, to the second client device, an indication that the first user is associated with the organization. (para. 63, 71, 134; system returns User A’s profile to User B.)
But Coffing does not explicitly teach an agent associated with an organization.
Hatti, however, does teach registering, at a server device, an organization account for an organization; an agent associated with the organization (Coffing already taught registration, however Hatti also teaches registration, see paras. 46-47; verifier receives identity instance and extracts association record. Association record relates an organization ID to a user ID and includes association details. Para. 152; employment records. To the extent the reference does not explicitly disclose an agency relationship, Examiner takes official notice of agents of an organization and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to register the agent relationship in order to allow for verification of that relationship.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Coffing with the registration of the organization in order to verify a person’s status of association with an organization. (Hatti, para. 1)
With respect to Claim 2, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Hatti also teaches wherein providing the indication that the first user is associated with the organization includes providing, to the second client device, an indication that the first user is the agent. (paras. 96-97; system verifies association status of user. para. 116; system identifies status is valid.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 3, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Hatti also teaches wherein receiving the indication includes receiving, from the organization account, an indication of a trusted relationship between the organization and the agent. (paras. 96-97; system verifies association status of user. para. 116; system identifies status is valid. To the extent that the association does not explicitly identify a trust relationship, Examiner takes official notice of a trusted relationship and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to identify a trusted relationship as an association status in order to allow for verification of the trusted relationship.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 4, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein receiving the authentication request is based on a secure login of the first user to the agent account, and wherein receiving the dynamic token is based on a secure login of the second user to a second user account. (paras. 69-70, 74, 78-80, 82; user logs in and server verifies the user’s identity. para. 133; User B logs in to gain access to the service. Para. 132; user A and User B may both provide data to authenticate that there is an intended transmittal between the users. Regardless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to require a log in prior to submitting a token in order to keep track of messages sent and received between users and profiles viewed by users, see para. 38.)
With respect to Claim 5, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 4, and Coffing also teaches wherein the secure login of the agent account and of the second user account each includes an associated user providing a password and one or more biometrics on an associated client device. (paras. 17, 74, 79; login using password. para. 74, 88-89; credentials may include biometrics)
With respect to Claim 6, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Hatti also teaches wherein receiving the dynamic token from the second client device includes receiving, from the second client device, an indication of the organization. (paras. 47-48, 113; system requesting verification transmits organization id along with user id.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 7, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein generating the authenticated identity object includes receiving identity information associated with the agent and associating the identity information with the authenticated identity object. (Figs. 1-3, paras. 69-70, 74; authentication server stores user name and password that provide access to an account that has user ID, device ID and tokens.)
With respect to Claim 8, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 7, and Coffing also teaches wherein the identity information includes one or more of a name of the agent, a photo associated with the agent, contact information of the agent, employment information of the agent, a task of the agent, permissions of the agent, an authentication history of the agent, or an authentication rating of the agent. (para. 27, 102; name, phone number, email address, photo)
With respect to Claim 9, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 7, and Coffing also teaches wherein providing the indication includes providing, to the second client device, a portion of the identity information associated with the authenticated identity object. (para. 63, 71, 134; system returns User A’s profile to User B. para. 20, 24; token provides access to whatever granular detail of profile information the user wants to share.)
With respect to Claim 10, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein the authenticated identity object maintained in the storage is encrypted. (para. 153; profile information may be encrypted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to encrypt the stored profile in order to protect user information. See, e.g., para. 103; profile contains credit card information.)
With respect to Claim 11, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein the dynamic token includes one or more of a quick read (QR) code, an alphanumeric code, a password, or a passphrase. (para. 155-156; system may use QR codes in same manner as tokens. Para. 72; token stores password information. Para. 96; generation of tokens due to random code such as a cryptographic key.)
With respect to Claim 12, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein generating the dynamic token includes determining a time threshold for the dynamic token to expire. (para. 15, 63; tokens may be set to expire over time.)
With respect to Claim 14, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein the dynamic token is received by the second user from the first user through a dialogue between the first user and the second user including one or more of in-person communication, telecommunication, messaging, or email. (Fig. 1, para. 63, 70, 83; User A transmits token to User B. para. 63, 85-86, 97; in person communication. Para. 67, 86; token passes over messaging or email.)
With respect to Claim 15, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein the dynamic token is received by the second user from the first user through an interaction of the first user and the second user exchanging data through one or more of a QR code, a bar code, near-field communication (NFC), radio frequency identification (RFID), Bluetooth, or a data network. (para. 97; NFC. Para. 155-156; qr code)
With respect to Claim 16, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, and Coffing also teaches wherein receiving the dynamic token from the second client device is based on user input by the second user to the second client device. (para. 71; Request for another party’s profile, which suggests an input. Profile delivery may be due to subsequent input where input is prompted.)
With respect to Claim 17, Coffing teaches a method of authenticating an individual, comprising: registering, at a server device, a first user account for a first user; (para. 6, 95, 99, 109, 141; user creates profile that is stored in a database. para. 15, 27, 38; system provides access to profiles that include user-defined data such as name, phone number or contact information)
registering, at the server device, a second user account for a second user; (para. 6, 95, 99, 109, 141; user creates profile that is stored in a database. para. 15, 27, 38; system provides access to profiles that include user-defined data such as name, phone number or contact information)
generating an authenticated identity object based on receiving an indication of an authenticated identity of the first user account; wherein the authenticated identity object is maintained in a storage accessible to the server device; (paras. 69-70, 74, 78-80, 82; user logs in and server verifies the user’s identity. Figs. 1-3, paras. 69-70, 74; authentication server stores user name and password that provide access to an account that has user ID, device ID and tokens.)
generating, based on the authentication request, a dynamic token associated with the authenticated identity object; (paras. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to the user’s device. paras. 15, 63, 69-70; tokens may be single use, finite use, or may expire over time.)
providing the dynamic token to the first client device; (para. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to client device.)
receiving the dynamic token from a second client device, the dynamic token having been received by the second user from the user of the first client device; (Fig. 1, para. 63, 70, 83; User A transmits token to User B. Fig. 4, para. 71; User B sends User A’s token that it has received to the authentication server.)
determining that the user of the first client device is the first user based on verifying that the dynamic token received from the second client device is associated with the authenticated identity object maintained at the server device; (Verifying association will be taught later. paras. 71-73; server determines if token is valid by keeping a record of tokens as they are generated and looking up the received token on the list.)
and providing, to the second client device, an indication that the user of the first client device is the first user. (para. 63, 71, 134; system returns User A’s profile to User B.)
But Coffing does not explicitly teach authenticating an association.
Hatti, however, does teach receiving an authentication request from a first client device to authenticate an association of a user of the first client device with the second user; (paras. 46-47; verifier receives identity instance and extracts association record. Association record relates an organization ID to a user ID and includes association details. Para. 152; employment records. To the extent the reference does not explicitly disclose an user to user association, Examiner takes official notice of agents of an organization and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to register the relationship in order to allow for verification of that relationship.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Coffing with the authentication of an association in order to verify a person’s status of association with an organization. (Hatti, para. 1)
With respect to Claim 18, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 17, and Coffing also teaches wherein the authenticated identity object is accessible to only the first user and the second user. (paras. 20, 24, 75; profile data may be shared granularly. Para. 15; profile contains private data. Therefore the identity object is only visible to the first user because the first user is the owner and the second user because the second user has a token that allows access.)
With respect to Claim 19, Coffing teaches a method of authenticating an individual, comprising: receiving, at a server device, a request from a first client device to authenticate an identity of a first user of the first client device with respect to a second user of a second client device; (Authenticating an association will be taught later. para. 6, 95, 99, 109, 141; user creates profile that is stored in a database. para. 15, 27, 38; system provides access to profiles that include user-defined data such as name, phone number or contact information. Fig. 1, para. 63, 70, 83; User A transmits token to User B. Fig. 4, para. 71; User B sends User A’s token that it has received to the authentication server.)
identifying an authenticated identity object associated with an authenticated identity of the first user with respect to the second user, wherein the authenticated identity object is maintained in a storage accessible to the server device; (Figs. 1-3, paras. 69-70, 74; authentication server stores user name and password that provide access to an account that has user ID, device ID and tokens.)
generating, based on the request, a dynamic token associated with the authenticated identity object, (paras. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to the user’s device. paras. 15, 63, 69-70; tokens may be single use, finite use, or may expire over time.)
providing the dynamic token to the first client device; (para. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to client device.)
receiving the dynamic token from a second client device based on user input by a second user to the second client device, the dynamic token having been received by the second user from the first user; (Fig. 1, para. 63, 70, 83; User A transmits token to User B. Fig. 4, para. 71; User B sends User A’s token that it has received to the authentication server. para. 71; Request for another party’s profile, which suggests an input. Profile delivery may be due to subsequent input where input is prompted.)
authenticating the identity of the first user with respect to the second user based on verifying that the dynamic token received from the second client device is associated with the authenticated identity object maintained at the server device; (Verifying association will be taught later. paras. 71-73; server determines if token is valid by keeping a record of tokens as they are generated and looking up the received token on the list.)
and providing, to the second client device, an indication of the identity of the first user. (para. 63, 71, 134; system returns User A’s profile to User B.)
But Coffing does not explicitly teach authenticating an association.
Hatti, however, does teach authenticate an identity of a first user of the first client device with respect to a second user of a second client device; authenticating the identity of the first user with respect to the second user (paras. 46-47; verifier receives identity instance and extracts association record. Association record relates an organization ID to a user ID and includes association details. Para. 152; employment records. To the extent the reference does not explicitly disclose an user to user association, Examiner takes official notice of agents of an organization and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to register the relationship in order to allow for verification of that relationship.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Coffing with the authentication of an association in order to verify a person’s status of association with an organization. (Hatti, para. 1)
With respect to Claim 20, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 19, and Coffing also teaches further comprising: receiving a second request from the second client device to authenticate the identity of the first user; (This claim is essentially the reverse of Claim 19, and therefore the same citations apply because the system verifies User B in the same way it verifies User A. para. 6, 95, 99, 109, 141; user creates profile that is stored in a database. para. 15, 27, 38; system provides access to profiles that include user-defined data such as name, phone number or contact information.)
generating, based on the second request, a second dynamic token associated with the authenticated identity object; (paras. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to the user’s device. paras. 15, 63, 69-70; tokens may be single use, finite use, or may expire over time.)
providing the second dynamic token to the second client device; (para. 69-70, 80, 82; server generates tokens and provides them to client device.)
receiving the dynamic token from the first client device based on user input of the first user to the first client device, the second dynamic token having been received by the first user from the second user; (Fig. 1, para. 63, 70, 83; User A transmits token to User B. Fig. 4, para. 71; User B sends User A’s token that it has received to the authentication server.)
authenticating the identity of the second user with respect to the first user based on verifying that the second dynamic token received from the first device is associated with the authenticated identity object maintained at the server device; (Verifying association will be taught later. paras. 71-73; server determines if token is valid by keeping a record of tokens as they are generated and looking up the received token on the list.)
and providing, to the first client device, an indication of the identity of the second user. (para. 63, 71, 134; system returns User A’s profile to User B.)
and Hatti also teaches authenticating the identity of the second user with respect to the first user (paras. 46-47; verifier receives identity instance and extracts association record. Association record relates an organization ID to a user ID and includes association details. Para. 152; employment records. To the extent the reference does not explicitly disclose an user to user association, Examiner takes official notice of agents of an organization and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to register the relationship in order to allow for verification of that relationship.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Coffing (US Pub. 2009/0117883) in view of Hatti (US Pub. 2020/0295948), and further in view of Kwon (US Pub. 2022/0166769).
With respect to Claim 13, modified Coffing teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach end-to-end encryption.
Kwon, however, does teach wherein providing the dynamic token to the first client device includes transmitting the dynamic token to the first client device through an end-to-end encrypted communication to the first client device, and receiving the dynamic token from the second client device includes receiving the dynamic token through an end-to-end encrypted communication from the second client device. (para. 57; communication of a token over a channel that is end-to-end encrypted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of modified Coffing with the end-to-end encryption in order to increase the security of the transfer of the token.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449