DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/593,737 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Although the claims are substantially duplicate from each other, the instant application claims that the control is done with either the first or the second reader onto the other reader whereas the copending application is more specific in that the first reader controls the second AND (emphasis added) the second reader controls the first. This is an obvious variant of the instant application in that either reader can control the other whereas it would be obvious to have both controls occurring in certain situations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/427,665
18/593,737
1. An image forming system comprising:
an image former that forms an image on a recording medium;
a first reader that is disposed upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium; and
a second reader that is disposed downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium, wherein one of the first reader and the second reader is controlled based on a result of reading the recording medium in the other of the first reader and the second reader.
1. An image forming system comprising:
an image former that forms an image on a recording medium;
a first reader that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium; and
a second reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium, wherein the first reader controls the second reader based on a reading result of the first reader, and
the second reader controls the first reader based on a reading result of the second reader.
Claims 2, 8, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, 5, and 7 of copending Application No. 18/593,747 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims are substantially duplicate from each other, the instant application claims a second reader whereas the copending application claims a determiner and a controller for controlling the first reader and detector. This is an obvious variant of the instant application in that a determiner can function as the second reader and a controller can be used to control the readers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/593,747
18/593,737
2. An image forming system comprising:
an image former that forms an image on a recording medium;
a detector that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and detects a physical property of the recording medium;
a first reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium; and
a determiner that determines an abnormality of at least one of the detector or the first reader based on a detection result of the detector and a reading result of the first reader,
a controller for controlling at least one of the first reader or the detector based on the abnormality determination.
5. The image forming system according to claim 2, wherein the first reader is controlled based on the detection result of the detector, and
the detector is controlled based on the reading result of the first reader.
7. A method of controlling an image forming system including an image former that forms an image on a recording medium,
a detector that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and detects a physical property of the recording medium,
a first reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium, and
a controller for controlling at least one of the first reader or the detector based on an abnormality determination,
the method comprising:
detecting, by the detector, a physical property of a recording medium on which no image is formed;
forming an image on the recording medium by the image former;
reading, by the first reader, the recording medium on which the image is formed;
and determining an abnormality of at least one of the detector or the first reader based on a detection result of the detector and a reading result of the first reader.
2. An image forming system comprising:
an image former that forms an image on a recording medium;
a first reader that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium;
a second reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium; and
a determiner that determines an abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a reading result of the first reader and a reading result of the second reader.
8. The image forming system according to claim 2, wherein
the first reader controls the second reader based on the reading result of the first reader, and
the second reader controls the first reader based on the reading result of the second reader.
10. A method of controlling an image forming system including an image former that forms an image on a recording medium,
a first reader that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium, and
a second reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium,
the method comprising:
reading a recording medium on which no image is formed by the first reader;
forming an image on the recording medium by the image former;
reading the recording medium on which the image is formed by the second reader;
and determining an abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a reading result of the first reader and a reading result of the second reader.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 5-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami (US 2009/0086295).
Regarding Claim 2, Murakami teaches an image forming system (Paragraph 2) comprising:
an image former that forms an image on a recording medium (Paragraph 25, wherein there is a color printer unit);
a first reader that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 810 and paragraph 60, wherein there is a media sensor);
a second reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 70 and paragraph 39, wherein there is a color sensor provided after the image forming); and
a determiner that determines an abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a reading result of the first reader and a reading result of the second reader (Paragraphs 66-70, wherein based on the results it is determined how to correct the print data, which would correspond to an abnormality).
Regarding Claim 5, Murakami further teaches a fixer that fixes the image formed by the image former to the recording medium (Element 80 and paragraph 39, wherein there is a fixing device), wherein
the second reader reads the recording medium after fixing by the fixer (Fig. 1, wherein element 70 is after the fixing device), and
the determiner determines the abnormality of the second reader based on the size of the recording medium based on the reading result of the first reader and a size of the recording medium based on the reading result of the second reader (Paragraphs 66-70, wherein based on the results it is determined how to correct the print data, which would correspond to an abnormality. The properties can include size).
Regarding Claim 6, Murakami further teaches wherein the determiner determines the abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a color of the recording medium based on the reading result of the first reader or a color of the recording medium based on the reading result of the second reader (Paragraphs 66-70, wherein based on the results it is determined how to correct the print data, which would correspond to an abnormality).
Regarding Claim 7, Murakami further teaches wherein the second reader reads the recording medium on which the image is formed by the image former (Paragraph 39, wherein there is a color sensor provided after the image forming), and
the determiner determines the abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on image data of the image formed by the image former, a color based on the reading result of the first reader, and a color based on the reading result of the second reader (Paragraphs 66-70, wherein based on the results it is determined how to correct the print data, which would correspond to an abnormality).
Regarding Claim 10, Murakami teaches a method of controlling an image forming system (Paragraph 2) including an image former that forms an image on a recording medium (Paragraph 25, wherein there is a color printer unit),
a first reader that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 810 and paragraph 60, wherein there is a media sensor), and
a second reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 70 and paragraph 39, wherein there is a color sensor provided after the image forming), the method comprising:
reading a recording medium on which no image is formed by the first reader (Paragraph 60 and 65, wherein the sheet information is obtained);
forming an image on the recording medium by the image former (Paragraph 69, wherein the image is printed);
reading the recording medium on which the image is formed by the second reader (Paragraph 69 and 70, wherein the image data is read by the colorimeter);
and determining an abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a reading result of the first reader and a reading result of the second reader (Paragraphs 66-70, wherein based on the results it is determined how to correct the print data, which would correspond to an abnormality).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 2009/0086295) in view of Kuroda (US 2021/0141572).
Regarding Claim 1, Murakami teaches an image forming system (Paragraph 2) comprising:
an image former that forms an image on a recording medium (Paragraph 25, wherein there is a color printer unit);
a first reader that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 810 and paragraph 60, wherein there is a media sensor); and
a second reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 70 and paragraph 39, wherein there is a color sensor provided after the image forming).
Murakami does not teach wherein the first reader controls the second reader based on a reading result of the first reader, and the second reader controls the first reader based on a reading result of the second reader.
Kuroda teaches wherein the first reader controls the second reader based on a reading result of the first reader, and the second reader controls the first reader based on a reading result of the second reader (Paragraph 208, wherein it can be determined if the sheet approaching the determination. From there a determination can be made if the reading can be adjusted for the next sensor).
Murakami and Kuroda are combinable because they both deal with detecting errors in printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Murakami with the teachings of Kuroda for the purpose of ensuring a proper verification process is performed only on sheets that have printed matter and avoiding partition pages (Kuroda: Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Murakami does not teach wherein the first reader controls the second reader based on the reading result of the first reader, and
the second reader controls the first reader based on the reading result of the second reader.
Kuroda teaches wherein the first reader controls the second reader based on the reading result of the first reader, and the second reader controls the first reader based on the reading result of the second reader (Paragraph 208, wherein it can be determined if the sheet approaching the determination. From there a determination can be made if the reading can be adjusted for the next sensor).
Murakami and Kuroda are combinable because they both deal with detecting errors in printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Murakami with the teachings of Kuroda for the purpose of ensuring a proper verification process is performed only on sheets that have printed matter and avoiding partition pages (Kuroda: Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Murakami teaches a method of controlling an image forming system (Paragraph 2) including an image former that forms an image on a recording medium (Paragraph 25, wherein there is a color printer unit),
a first reader that is provided upstream of the image former in a conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 810 and paragraph 60, wherein there is a media sensor), and
a second reader that is provided downstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and reads the recording medium (Element 70 and paragraph 39, wherein there is a color sensor provided after the image forming), the method comprising:
reading a recording medium on which no image is formed by the first reader (Paragraph 60 and 65, wherein the sheet information is obtained);
forming an image on the recording medium by the image former (Paragraph 69, wherein the image is printed);
reading the recording medium on which the image is formed by the second reader (Paragraph 69 and 70, wherein the image data is read by the colorimeter).
Murakami does not teach controlling the second reader by the first reader based on a reading result of the first reader and controlling the first reader by the second reader based on a reading result of the second reader.
Kuroda teaches controlling the second reader by the first reader based on a reading result of the first reader and controlling the first reader by the second reader based on a reading result of the second reader (Paragraph 208, wherein it can be determined if the sheet approaching the determination. From there a determination can be made if the reading can be adjusted for the next sensor).
Murakami and Kuroda are combinable because they both deal with detecting errors in printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Murakami with the teachings of Kuroda for the purpose of ensuring a proper verification process is performed only on sheets that have printed matter and avoiding partition pages (Kuroda: Paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 2009/0086295) in view of Tanaka (US 2022/0253260).
Regarding Claim 3, Murakami further teaches wherein the second reader reads the recording medium on which the image is formed by the image former (Paragraph 39, wherein there is a color sensor provided after the image forming).
Murakami does not teach the determiner determines the abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a size of the recording medium based on the reading result of the first reader and a distance from an end of the recording medium in a sheet conveyance direction to the image formed based on the reading result of the second reader.
Tanaka does teach the determiner determines the abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a size of the recording medium based on the reading result of the first reader and a distance from an end of the recording medium in a sheet conveyance direction to the image formed based on the reading result of the second reader (Paragraphs 82 and 129, wherein the size is used to determine if there are problems with printing).
Murakami and Tanaka are combinable because they both deal with determining issues with print jobs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Murakami with the teachings of Tanaka for the purpose of ensuring proper verification of printed images (Tanaka: Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Murakami further teaches a detector that is provided upstream of the image former in the conveyance direction of the recording medium and detects a physical property of the recording medium (Element 810 and paragraph 60, wherein there is a media sensor), wherein
the determiner determines the abnormality of at least one of the first reader or the second reader based on a detection result of the detector (Paragraphs 66-70, wherein based on the results it is determined how to correct the print data, which would correspond to an abnormality).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of B-F and H all relate to measuring characteristics of the media or image data during the production of print data.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699
/GEORGE ENG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699