DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “receive (RX) channel” in line 4 should be changed to “receive (RX) channels.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (US10585247B2) in view of Takano et al. (US12066672B2), herein after referred to as Takano 672.
Regarding claim 1, Takano et al. discloses An apparatus (Fig. 49A.2), comprising:
a first connector (Fig. 49A.2; an MPO connector 4902) configured to interface with an optical transceiver (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 34-35; a 200G transceiver module 4901 may receive an MPO connector 4902), the first connector including a plurality of optical channels (Fig. 49A.2; Column 32, lines 61-63; a multiple-fiber push-on/pull-off (MPO) connector implies there is a plurality of optical channels with different fibers) comprising transmit (TX) channels and receive (RX) channel (Fig. 49A.2; the two LC uniboot connector 4904 is combined to the MPO connector 4902 as shown. Consequently, the MPO connector 4902 has two Tx channels and two RX channels. An LC uniboot connector is a specialized type of duplex connector. It combines two fiber connections into a single cable. A duplex connector means it has two separate fiber paths—one for transmitting (Tx) data and one for receiving (Rx) data);
a second connector coupled to the first connector (Fig. 49A.2; a second connector on the other end is shown. The second connector is connected to the MPO connector 4902 through a fiber cable as shown) via a first set of optical fibers (Fig. 49A.2; Fig. 52B; Column 32, lines 61-63; a multiple-fiber push-on/pull-off (MPO) connector implies there is a plurality of fibers; A MPO connector is shown on Fig. 52B, wherein the fibers are located at the front of the MT ferrule 5202 (e.g., at 5202a and 5202b)); and
a splitter portion (Fig. 49A.2; a cassette 4906) comprising:
a third connector communicatively coupled to the second connector (Fig. 49A. 2; a cassette 4906 implies that a female connector is located on the cassette 4906 and mates with the connector 4904 inserted into it) via a coupler component that mechanically and optically couples the second connector and the third connector (Fig. 49A. 2; the cassette 4906 has a plurality of female connectors that connect the MPO connector 4902 and LC uniboot 4904);
a fourth connector (Fig. 49A.2; a LC uniboot 4904 is shown) coupled to the third connector (Fig. 49A.2; a LC uniboot 4904 is connected to a cassette 4906) via a second set of optical fibers (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 37-39; Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904 (An LC uniboot fiber patch cable is a specialized duplex fiber optic connector that combines two fibers into a single, round cable jacket, using one boot)), the fourth connector configured to interface with a first optical transceiver (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 31-40; The use of a CS connector allows for a compact fiber implementation, as well as improved flexibility. For example, in some existing systems, as shown in FIGS. 49A.1-49A.2, a 200G transceiver module 4901 may receive an MPO connector 4902. The MPO connector may then be split out using an additional tool, such as a fan out 4903 or a cassette 4906. Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904. The 100G module device 4904 may then be inserted into a 100G transceiver 4905); and
a fifth connector (Fig. 49A.2; a second LC uniboot 4904 is shown) coupled to the third connector (Fig. 49A.2; a LC uniboot 4904 is connected to a cassette 4906) via a third set of optical fibers (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 37-39; Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904 (An LC uniboot fiber patch cable is a specialized duplex fiber optic connector that combines two fibers into a single, round cable jacket, using one boot)), the fifth connector configured to interface with a second optical transceiver (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 31-40; The use of a CS connector allows for a compact fiber implementation, as well as improved flexibility. For example, in some existing systems, as shown in FIGS. 49A.1-49A.2, a 200G transceiver module 4901 may receive an MPO connector 4902. The MPO connector may then be split out using an additional tool, such as a fan out 4903 or a cassette 4906. Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904. The 100G module device 4904 may then be inserted into a 100G transceiver 4905).
However, the present system does not expressly disclose the plurality of optical channels of the first connector are partitioned into a first subset and a second subset, the first subset of optical channels being routed exclusively to the fourth connector and the second subset of optical channels being routed exclusively to the fifth connector.
Takano 672 discloses the plurality of optical channels of the first connector (Fig. 21A; Fig. 16; Column 8, lines 41-51; the VSFF MT uniboot connector 416 comprises a connector housing assembly 4161 for holding four 16-fiber MT ferrules 4163 (e.g., four plug bodies 4164 for holding the 16-fiber ferrules)) are partitioned into a first subset and a second subset (Fig. 21A; Fig. 16; Column 8, lines 41-51; the VSFF MT uniboot connector 416 comprises a connector housing assembly 4161 for holding four 16-fiber MT ferrules 4163 (e.g., four plug bodies 4164 for holding the 16-fiber ferrules)), the first subset of optical channels being routed exclusively to the fourth connector and the second subset of optical channels being routed exclusively to the fifth connector (Fig. 21A; Column 10, lines 19-28; a single sixteen-fiber VSFF MT connector 116′ at one end and two eight-fiber cables 781 that extend out of the rear end of the VSFF MT breakout connector. Each of the two cables 781 extends out of the strain relief boot 1164′ of the breakout connector 116′, and each of the cables 781 is terminated at its second end by an eight-fiber VSFF duplex uniboot connector 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the current system of Takano et al. to utilize the VSFF MT unitboot connector, as taught by Takano 672, in order transmit more data.
Regarding claim 2, the present combination discloses The apparatus of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the first subset of optical channels comprises a first group of transmit (TX) channels and a first group of receive(RX) channels, and the second subset comprises a second group of transmit channels and a second group of receive channels (Takano 672, Fig. 21A; Column 10, lines 19-28; a single sixteen-fiber VSFF MT connector 116′ at one end and two eight-fiber cables 781 that extend out of the rear end of the VSFF MT breakout connector. Each of the two cables 781 extends out of the strain relief boot 1164′ of the breakout connector 116′, and each of the cables 781 is terminated at its second end by an eight-fiber VSFF duplex uniboot connector 42. (A duplex connector means it has two separate fiber paths—one for transmitting (Tx) data and one for receiving (Rx) data. Since there are eight-fiber, four fibers are assigned for transmitting and four fibers for receiving data)).
Regarding claim 3, the present combination discloses The apparatus of claim 2, as described and applied above, wherein the first subset and the second subset each include an equal number of transmit channels and receive channels (Takano 672, Fig. 21A; Fig. 18; Column 9, lines 4-10; As can be seen in FIG. 18, the network system 1800 is an eight-fiber, one-to-four breakout system in which a single cable with eight fibers defining for four two-fiber transmit-receive communication channels is broken out in the adapter 22 into four two-fiber, single-channel patch cable assemblies 52).
Regarding claim 5, the present combination discloses The apparatus of claim 1, as described and applied above.
Regarding the limitation, the first connector, the second connector, the fourth connector, and the fifth connector comprises female connectors, the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem but merely amount to the selection of expedients known as design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art. There is no evidence that the system will operate any differently using female connectors instead of male connectors nor there is any evidence that female connectors rather than male connectors have any advantages or unexpected result over the prior art. That is, there is no evidence that the choice of female connector instead of male connector has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. Thus, the limitation do not define a patentably distinct invention over the prior arts. The applicant has not disclosed that the choice of female connector solve any stated problem, provides any advantage, nor any unexpected result. Therefore, the choice of female connector instead of male connector would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The apparatus of claim 1, as described and applied above.
Regarding the limitation, the third connector comprises a male connector, the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem but merely amount to the selection of expedients known as design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art. There is no evidence that the system will operate any differently using a male connector instead of a female connector nor there is any evidence that female connector rather than male connector have any advantages or unexpected result over the prior art. That is, there is no evidence that the choice of male connector instead of female connector has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. Thus, the limitation do not define a patentably distinct invention over the prior arts. The applicant has not disclosed that the choice of male connector solve any stated problem, provides any advantage, nor any unexpected result. Therefore, the choice of male connector instead of female connector would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, the present combination discloses The apparatus of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the second set of optical fibers and the third set of optical fibers are physically separated fiber groups extending from the third connector (Takano 672, Fig. 21A; Column 8, lines 14-15; the adapter 216 has a 16-fiber-per-port configuration. The fibers connected to different port of adapter 216 are physically separated from each other).
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (US10585247B2) in view of Jabil (2020).
Regarding claim 4, the present combination discloses The apparatus of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose short-range 4 (SR4) transceivers.
Jabil discloses short-range 4 (SR4) transceivers (Page 1, first paragraph; The 100G QSFP28 SR4 transceiver is a four-channel, pluggable, parallel, fiber-optic QSFP28 SR4 for 100-Gigabit Ethernet. This transceiver is a high-performance module for short-range multi-lane data communication and interconnect applications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jabil to the present system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because in order to employ a 100G transceiver. The 100G optical communication system is well known and widely deployed in the industry, serving as a foundational industry standard. Their widespread adoption is attributable, in part, to the favorable balance they provide among transmission capacity, implementation cost, and power efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, the present system discloses The apparatus of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 12 (MPO12) connectors.
Jabil discloses connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 12 (MPO12) connectors (Page 1, Description; the optical interface uses 12-fiber MTP/MPO connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize 12-fiber MPO connector. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because a single MPO connector can bundle 12 fibers into one interface, whereas an LC uniboot holds only two fibers. This allows easier fiber management.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (US10585247B2) in view of FiberStamp (2003).
Regarding claim 7, the present system discloses The apparatus of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present system does not expressly disclose connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 24 (MPO24) connectors.
FiberStamp discloses connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 24 (MPO24) connector (Fig. 1; Page 1, Features; Page 1, Section, Description, first paragraph; The FIBERSTAMP Technologies FEL-200S8M10C is an Eight-Channel, Pluggable, Parallel, Fiber-Optic QSFP Double Density for 2x100 Gigabit Ethernet Applications. The optical interface uses an 24 fiber MTP (MPO) connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of FiberStamp with the present system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ an MPO-24 connector because MPO-24 is a well-known industry standard that allows a single 24-fiber trunk can cleanly break out into multiple lower-speed links into 8-fiber and 12-fiber configuration. Such an arrangement would simplify fiber management.
Claim(s) 10, 14-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US20040208563A1) in view of Takano et al. (US10585247B2) and Takano et al. (US12066672B2), herein after referred to as Takano 672.
Regarding claim 10, Roberts et al. discloses A system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first network port (Fig. 1; the head end 102 has a communication endpoint as shown);
a first storage node (Fig. 1; the remote module 104-1 with non-volatile memory (NVM) 117) comprising a second network port (Fig. 1; the remote module 104-1 has a second communication endpoint as shown);
a third storage node (Fig. 1; the remote module 104-N with non-volatile memory (NVM) 117) comprising a third network port (Fig. 1; the remote module 104-N has a third communication endpoint as shown); and
an optical splitter component (Fig. 1; the optical splitter 106) coupling the first network port to the second network port and the third network port (Fig. 1; the optical splitter 106 is connected to the head end, remote module 104-1, and remote module 104-N).
However, the present system does not expressly disclose the optical splitter component comprising: a first connector configured to interface with the first network port, the first connector including a plurality of optical channels comprising transmit (TX) channels and receive (RX) channels; a second connector coupled to the first connector via a first set of optical fibers; and a splitter portion comprising: a third connector communicatively coupled to the second connector via a coupler component; a fourth connector coupled to the third connector via a second set of optical fibers, the fourth connector configured to interface with the second network port; and a fifth connector coupled to the third connector via a third set of optical fibers, the fifth connector configured to interface with the third network port.
Takano et al. discloses the optical splitter component (Fig. 49A.2) comprising: a first connector (Fig. 49A.2; an MPO connector 4902) configured to interface with the first network port (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 34-35; a 200G transceiver module 4901 may receive an MPO connector 4902), the first connector including a plurality of optical channels (Fig. 49A.2; Column 32, lines 61-63; a multiple-fiber push-on/pull-off (MPO) connector implies there is a plurality of optical channels with different fibers) comprising transmit (TX) channels and receive (RX) channels (Fig. 49A.2; the two LC uniboot connector 4904 is combined to the MPO connector 4902 as shown. Consequently, the MPO connector 4902 has two Tx channels and two RX channels. An LC uniboot connector is a specialized type of duplex connector. It combines two fiber connections into a single cable. A duplex connector means it has two separate fiber paths—one for transmitting (Tx) data and one for receiving (Rx) data);
a second connector coupled to the first connector (Fig. 49A.2; a second connector on the other end is shown. The second connector is connected to the MPO connector 4902 through a fiber cable as shown) via a first set of optical fibers (Fig. 49A.2; Fig. 52B; Column 32, lines 61-63; a multiple-fiber push-on/pull-off (MPO) connector implies there is a plurality of fibers; A MPO connector is shown on Fig. 52B, wherein the fibers are located at the front of the MT ferrule 5202 (e.g., at 5202a and 5202b)); and
a splitter portion (Fig. 49A.2; a cassette 4906) comprising:
a third connector communicatively coupled to the second connector (Fig. 49A. 2; a cassette 4906 implies that a female connector is located on the cassette 4906 and mates with the MPO connector inserted into it) via a coupler component (Fig. 49A. 2; the cassette 4906 has a plurality of female connectors that connect the MPO connector 4902 and LC uniboot 4904);
a fourth connector (Fig. 49A.2; a LC uniboot 4904 is shown) coupled to the third connector (Fig. 49A.2; a LC uniboot 4904 is connected to a cassette 4906) via a second set of optical fibers (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 37-39; Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904 (An LC uniboot fiber patch cable is a specialized duplex fiber optic connector that combines two fibers into a single, round cable jacket, using one boot)), the fourth connector configured to interface with the second network port (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 31-40; The use of a CS connector allows for a compact fiber implementation, as well as improved flexibility. For example, in some existing systems, as shown in FIGS. 49A.1-49A.2, a 200G transceiver module 4901 may receive an MPO connector 4902. The MPO connector may then be split out using an additional tool, such as a fan out 4903 or a cassette 4906. Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904. The 100G module device 4904 may then be inserted into a 100G transceiver 4905); and
a fifth connector (Fig. 49A.2; a second LC uniboot 4904 is shown) coupled to the third connector via a third set of optical fibers (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 37-39; Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904 (An LC uniboot fiber patch cable is a specialized duplex fiber optic connector that combines two fibers into a single, round cable jacket, using one boot)), the fifth connector configured to interface with the third network port (Fig. 49A.2; Column 31, lines 31-40; The use of a CS connector allows for a compact fiber implementation, as well as improved flexibility. For example, in some existing systems, as shown in FIGS. 49A.1-49A.2, a 200G transceiver module 4901 may receive an MPO connector 4902. The MPO connector may then be split out using an additional tool, such as a fan out 4903 or a cassette 4906. Once the cable is split out, it can be connected to a 100G module device (e.g., a LC uniboot as shown) 4904. The 100G module device 4904 may then be inserted into a 100G transceiver 4905).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Takano et al. to the present system in order increase the data transmission capability by providing more optical channels through use of multi-fiber system of Takano et al.
However, the present combination still lacks the plurality of optical channels of the first connector are divided into a first group and a second group, the first group being routed to the fourth connector and the second group being routed to the fifth connector.
Takano 672 discloses the plurality of optical channels of the first connector (Fig. 21A; Fig. 16; Column 8, lines 41-51; the VSFF MT uniboot connector 416 comprises a connector housing assembly 4161 for holding four 16-fiber MT ferrules 4163 (e.g., four plug bodies 4164 for holding the 16-fiber ferrules)) are divided into a first group and a second group (Fig. 21A; Fig. 16; Column 8, lines 41-51; the VSFF MT uniboot connector 416 comprises a connector housing assembly 4161 for holding four 16-fiber MT ferrules 4163 (e.g., four plug bodies 4164 for holding the 16-fiber ferrules)), the first group being routed to the fourth connector and the second group being routed to the fifth connector (Fig. 21A; Column 10, lines 19-28; a single sixteen-fiber VSFF MT connector 116′ at one end and two eight-fiber cables 781 that extend out of the rear end of the VSFF MT breakout connector. Each of the two cables 781 extends out of the strain relief boot 1164′ of the breakout connector 116′, and each of the cables 781 is terminated at its second end by an eight-fiber VSFF duplex uniboot connector 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the current system of Takano et al. to utilize the VSFF MT unitboot connector, as taught by Takano 672, in order transmit even more data.
Regarding claim 14, the present combination discloses The system of claim 10, as described and applied above.
Regarding the limitation, the first connector, the second connector, the fourth connector, and the fifth connector comprises female connectors, the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem but merely amount to the selection of expedients known as design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art. There is no evidence that the system will operate any differently using female connectors instead of male connectors nor there is any evidence that female connectors rather than male connectors have any advantages or unexpected result over the prior art. That is, there is no evidence that the choice of female connector instead of male connector has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. Thus, the limitation do not define a patentably distinct invention over the prior arts. The applicant has not disclosed that the choice of female connector solve any stated problem, provides any advantage, nor any unexpected result. Therefore, the choice of female connector instead of male connector would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, the present combination discloses The system of claim 10, as described and applied above.
Regarding the limitation, the third connector comprises a male connector, the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem but merely amount to the selection of expedients known as design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art. There is no evidence that the system will operate any differently using a male connector instead of a female connector nor there is any evidence that female connector rather than male connector have any advantages or unexpected result over the prior art. That is, there is no evidence that the choice of male connector instead of female connector has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. Thus, the limitation do not define a patentably distinct invention over the prior arts. The applicant has not disclosed that the choice of male connector solve any stated problem, provides any advantage, nor any unexpected result. Therefore, the choice of male connector instead of female connector would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, the present combination discloses The system of claim 10, as described and applied above, the second set of optical fibers and the third set of optical fibers are physically separated fiber groups extending from the third connector (Takano 672, Fig. 21A; Column 8, lines 14-15; the adapter 216 has a 16-fiber-per-port configuration. The fibers connected to different port of adapter 216 are physically separated from each other).
Regarding claim 19, the present system teaches a device that necessarily perform this method claim in light of the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the present combination discloses The method of claim 19, as described and applied above, wherein each of the first subset and the second subset includes transmit (TX) channels and receive (RX) channels (Takano 672, Fig. 21A; Column 10, lines 19-28; a single sixteen-fiber VSFF MT connector 116′ at one end and two eight-fiber cables 781 that extend out of the rear end of the VSFF MT breakout connector. Each of the two cables 781 extends out of the strain relief boot 1164′ of the breakout connector 116′, and each of the cables 781 is terminated at its second end by an eight-fiber VSFF duplex uniboot connector 42. (A duplex connector means it has two separate fiber paths—one for transmitting (Tx) data and one for receiving (Rx) data. Since there are eight-fiber, four fibers are assigned for transmitting and four fibers for receiving data)).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US20040208563A1), Takano et al. (US10585247B2), and Takano et al. (US12066672B2) in view of Perrin (Precision Optical Transceiver, 2022), FiberStamp (2003), and Jabil (2020).
Regarding claim 11, the present combination discloses The system of claim 11, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose optical transceiver comprise non-return-to-zero (NRZ) transceivers.
Perrin discloses optical transceiver comprise non-return-to-zero (NRZ) transceivers (Fig. 3F.2; 4x25G Optical NRZ signal is shown. As shown in the figure, there are four different wavelengths requiring four different optical transceiver). (Perrin teaches that the simplest form of modulation is Intensity Modulation with Direct Detection (IM-DD) and the most common version of IM-DD is Non-Return to Zero(NRZ). It essentially means “bright for a 1, dim for a 0”. Historically, fiber optic systems were all purely NRZ based. NRZ is your typical binary code and most if not all 10G and below optical
technology is based on NRZ (Page 15, section, Pulse Amplitude Modulation 4 (PAM4), first paragraph). Perrin further teaches that the TOSAs (Transmitter Optical Sub Assembly) and ROSAs (Receiver Optical Sub Assembly) that can process PAM4 are much more complex than the typical NRZ / Manchester Phase Encoding (MPE) / 8B/10B encoding OSAs. And while PAM4 does double the number of bits in serial data transmissions by increasing the number of levels of pulse-amplitude modulation, it also creates a penalty on signal to noise ratio (SNR). (Page 16, second paragraph)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the NRZ transceivers, as taught by Perrin, in the present combination because NRZ is the simplest and most common intensity modulation scheme. It also allows to transmit optical signal further because it has higher SNR tolerance.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a 200G optical transceiver.
FiberStamp discloses a 200G optical transceiver (Fig. 1; Page 1, Features; Page 1, Section, Description, first paragraph; The FIBERSTAMP Technologies FEL-200S8M10C is an Eight-Channel, Pluggable, Parallel, Fiber-Optic QSFP Double Density for 2x100 Gigabit Ethernet Applications. The optical interface uses an 24 fiber MTP (MPO) connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of FiberStamp with the present system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ an MPO-24 connector because MPO-24 is a well-known industry standard that allows a single 24-fiber trunk can cleanly break out into multiple lower-speed links into 8-fiber and 12-fiber configuration. Such an arrangement would simplify fiber management.
However, the present combination still lacks 100G optical transceiver.
Jabil discloses 100G optical transceiver (Page 1, first paragraph; The 100G QSFP28 SR4 transceiver is a four-channel, pluggable, parallel, fiber-optic QSFP28 SR4 for 100-Gigabit Ethernet. This transceiver is a high-performance module for short-range multi-lane data communication and interconnect applications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jabil to the present system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because in order to employ a 100G transceiver. The 100G optical communication system is well known and widely deployed in the industry, serving as a foundational industry standard. Their widespread adoption is attributable, in part, to the favorable balance they provide among transmission capacity, implementation cost, and power efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, the present combination discloses The system of claim 11, as described and applied above, wherein the 200G optical transceiver comprises a short-range 8 (SR8) transceiver (FiberStamp, Fig. 1; Page 1, Section, Description, first paragraph; The FIBERSTAMP Technologies FEL-200S8M10C is an Eight-Channel, Pluggable, Parallel, Fiber-Optic QSFP Double Density for 2x100 Gigabit Ethernet Applications. The 200G QSFP DD SR8 optical transceiver module is shown in the figure. This transceiver is a high performance module for short-range multi-lane data communication system).
Regarding claim 13, the present combination discloses The system of claim 11, as described and applied above, wherein the first 100G optical transceiver and the second 100G optical transceiver comprises short-range 4 (SR4) transceivers (Jabil, Page 1, first paragraph; The 100G QSFP28 SR4 transceiver is a four-channel, pluggable, parallel, fiber-optic QSFP28 SR4 for 100-Gigabit Ethernet. This transceiver is a high-performance module for short-range multi-lane data communication and interconnect applications).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US20040208563A1), Takano et al. (US10585247B2), and Takano et al. (US12066672B2) in view of FiberStamp (2003).
Regarding claim 16, the present combination discloses The system of claim 10, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 24 (MPO24) connectors.
FiberStamp discloses connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 24 (MPO24) connectors (Fig. 1; Page 1, Features; Page 1, Section, Description, first paragraph; The FIBERSTAMP Technologies FEL-200S8M10C is an Eight-Channel, Pluggable, Parallel, Fiber-Optic QSFP Double Density for 2x100 Gigabit Ethernet Applications. The optical interface uses an 24 fiber MTP (MPO) connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of FiberStamp with the present system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ an MPO-24 connector because MPO-24 is a well-known industry standard that allows a single 24-fiber trunk can cleanly break out into multiple lower-speed links into 8-fiber and 12-fiber configuration. Such an arrangement would simplify fiber management.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US20040208563A1), Takano et al. (US10585247B2), and Takano et al. (US12066672B2) in view of Jabil (2020).
Regarding claim 17, the present combination discloses The system of claim 10, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 12 (MPO12) connectors.
Jabil discloses connectors comprise multi-fiber push-on 12 (MPO12) connectors (Page 1, Description; the 100G QSFP28 SR4 transceiver is a four-channel, pluggable, parallel, fiber-optic QSFP28 SR4 for 100-Gigabit Ethernet. This transceiver is a high-performance module for short-range multi-lane data communication and interconnect applications. The optical interface uses 12-fiber MTP/MPO connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jabil to the present system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because in order to employ a 100G transceiver. The 100G optical communication system is well known and widely deployed in the industry, serving as a foundational industry standard. Their widespread adoption is attributable, in part, to the favorable balance they provide among transmission capacity, implementation cost, and power efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634