DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to application 18/593,759 filed 3/1/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. This action is non-final.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation in accordance with determining that there is no ledger-account map associated with the first ledger-account holder does not appear to be claiming anything. It appears that instead of a semi-colon, there should be a colon at the end of this limitation. For examination purposes, claim 14 will be interpreted as in accordance with determining that there is no ledger-account map associated with the first ledger-account holder [[;]] : determining a first set of items corresponding to deathcare services configured to be provided by the deathcare provider; and based on the first set of items, generating a default ledger-account map for the first ledger-account holder based on the first set of items. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1, 19, and 20 each recite a method, a computing device, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium, respectively, for performing the following: at an electronic device associated with a deathcare provider, the electronic device having one or more processors and memory, the memory storing instructions for causing presentation of a deathcare-servicing application: receiving a request to create a deathcare-servicing ledger for an end-of-life related event; in accordance with receiving the request, identifying particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider; based on the particular data objects identified as corresponding to the deathcare provider, identifying a set of items for selection by a user of the electronic device, wherein the set of items correspond to available deathcare service and/or merchandise items related to the end-of-life event; responsive to a selection, by the user, of a first item of the set of items, identifying a particular ledger entry from a plurality of ledger entries mapped to the first item, wherein the particular ledger entry is identified based on other data received by the electronic device about the end-of-life event; and providing the particular ledger entry to the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end-of-life event, wherein the deathcare-servicing ledger is configured to identify information relevant to performing all of a set of deathcare-servicing software operations for coordinating fulfillment of the selection of the available deathcare service and/or merchandise items related to the end-of-life event. Therefore, claims 1, 19, and 20 are each directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention: a method, a machine, and an article of manufacture, respectively.
Step 2A – Prong One: The limitations ... receiving a request to create a deathcare-servicing ledger for an end-of-life related event; in accordance with receiving the request, identifying particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider; based on the particular data objects identified as corresponding to the deathcare provider, identifying a set of items for selection by a user ... wherein the set of items correspond to available deathcare service and/or merchandise items related to the end-of-life event; responsive to a selection, by the user, of a first item of the set of items, identifying a particular ledger entry from a plurality of ledger entries mapped to the first item, wherein the particular ledger entry is identified based on other data received ... about the end-of-life event; and providing the particular ledger entry ... for the end-of-life event ... identify information relevant to performing all of a set of deathcare-servicing ... operations for coordinating fulfillment of the selection of the available deathcare service and/or merchandise items related to the end-of-life event, as drafted, is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, only covers concepts of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” (e.g., commercial interactions – business relations). That is, nothing in the claim elements disclose anything outside the groupings of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” (e.g., commercial interactions – business relations). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 19, and 20 merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of the aforementioned abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional elements of claims 1, 19, and 20, a computing device (claim 19), a non-transitory computer-readable medium (claim 20), an electronic device (claims 1, 19, and 20), one or more processors (claims 1, 19, and 20), memory (claims 1, 19, and 20), a deathcare-servicing application (claims 1, 19, and 20), ledger (claims 1, 19, and 20), and software (claims 1, 19, and 20), are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as generic computer tools to perform the aforementioned abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computerized system is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, the additional elements of claims 1, 19, and 20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims as a whole merely describe the abstract idea generally “applied” to a generic computer environment. The additional elements of claims 1, 19, and 20, a computing device (described in spec. para. [0024]), a non-transitory computer-readable medium (described in spec. para. [0007]), an electronic device (described in spec. para. [0021]), one or more processors (described in spec. para. [0021]), memory (described in spec. para. [0024]), a deathcare-servicing application (described in spec. para. [0024]), ledger (described in spec. para. [0035]), and software (described in spec. para. [0032]), are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as generic computer components upon which the abstract idea is “applied.” The high level of generality in which this additional element is described indicates that the additional element is sufficiently known such that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of the additional element to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-18 have been given the full two-part analysis including analyzing the limitations both individually and in combination. Claims 2-18 when analyzed individually, and in combination, are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The recited limitations of the dependent claims fail to establish that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because the recited limitations of the dependent claims merely further narrow the abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: The limitations of the dependent claims fail to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” a method of the aforementioned abstract idea. Although claim 4 recites the additional elements a first user interface element, a first user interface, digital, and a second user interface element, claim 7 recites a second user interface, claim 11 recites a third user interface element, claim 17 recite an item-ledger mapping user interface, and claim 18 recites a cemetery-mapping user interface, the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the aforementioned abstract idea in a generic computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims integrates the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Performing the further narrowed abstract ideas of the dependent claims on the additional elements of the independent claim, individually or in combination, does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas and amount to merely using a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Similarly, the recited limitations of the dependent claims fail to establish that the claims provide an inventive concept because claims that merely use a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept. Although claim 4 recites the additional elements a first user interface element (described in spec. para. [0046]), a first user interface (described in spec. para. [0031]), digital (described in spec. para. [0046]), and a second user interface element (described in spec. para. [0063]), claim 7 recites a second user interface (described in spec. para. [0066]), claim 11 recites a third user interface element (described in spec. para. [0070]), claim 17 recite an item-ledger mapping user interface (described in spec. para. [0076]), and claim 18 recites a cemetery-mapping user interface (described in spec. para. [0077]), they are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as generic computer components upon which the abstract idea is “applied.” The high level of generality in which the additional elements are described indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently known such that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of the additional elements to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 7-8, 11-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brown (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0014266). (Examiner’s Note: Claim is considered novel over the prior art and are not rejected under 35 USC § 102 or 35 USC § 103.)
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Brown discloses the following limitations:
A method, comprising: at an electronic device associated with a deathcare provider, the electronic device having one or more processors and memory, the memory storing instructions for causing presentation of a deathcare-servicing application: [See [0051] Brown teaches a central database server creating a virtual transaction site enabling consumers to plan a funeral through a computer rather than relying solely on a funeral director. These embodiments provide computer programming modules that assist the consumer making informed decisions regarding the funeral process by providing appropriate information regarding funeral homes, funeral services, and funeral products. Furthermore, some embodiments guide the consumer through the funeral planning process by providing computer programming modules that implement a predetermined set of steps to obtain information and option selections from the consumer. These embodiments further provide a central database server that allows the consumer to have the planned funeral scheduled for execution by a selected funeral home in communication with the central database server.]
receiving a request to create a deathcare-servicing ledger for an end-of-life related event; [See [0068] Brown teaches using a GPL-microsite module 138 for a funeral service provider's microsite. A microsite is a web page or set of pages devoted to the services and products offered by the funeral service provider. The microsite permits the consumer to virtually visit the funeral service provider by viewing on-line content about the services and products offered (i.e., receiving a request to create a deathcare-servicing ledger for an end-of-life related event). Consumers may then choose to purchase services and/or products from the funeral service provider by making selections from the microsite. Brown [0085-0086] further teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., create a deathcare-servicing ledger for an end-of-life related event).]
in accordance with receiving the request, identifying particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider; [See [0068] Brown teaches using a GPL-microsite module 138 for a funeral service provider's microsite. A microsite is a web page or set of pages devoted to the services and products offered by the funeral service provider. The microsite permits the consumer to virtually visit the funeral service provider by viewing on-line content about the services and products offered (i.e., in accordance with receiving the request, identifying particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider). Consumers may then choose to purchase services and/or products from the funeral service provider by making selections from the microsite. Brown [0085-0086] further teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137.]
based on the particular data objects identified as corresponding to the deathcare provider, identifying a set of items for selection by a user of the electronic device in accordance with receiving the request, identifying particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider; [See [0068] Brown teaches using a GPL-microsite module 138 for a funeral service provider's microsite. A microsite is a web page or set of pages devoted to the services and products offered by the funeral service provider. The microsite permits the consumer to virtually visit the funeral service provider by viewing on-line content about the services and products offered (i.e., based on the particular data objects identified as corresponding to the deathcare provider, identifying a set of items for selection by a user of the electronic device in accordance with receiving the request, identifying particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provide). Consumers may then choose to purchase services and/or products from the funeral service provider by making selections from the microsite. Brown [0085-0086] further teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137.]
wherein the set of items correspond to available deathcare service and/or merchandise items related to the end-of-life event; [See [0068] Brown teaches using a GPL-microsite module 138 for a funeral service provider's microsite. A microsite is a web page or set of pages devoted to the services and products offered by the funeral service provider. The microsite permits the consumer to virtually visit the funeral service provider by viewing on-line content about the services and products offered (i.e., based on the particular data objects identified as corresponding to the deathcare provider, identifying a set of items for selection by a user of the electronic device in accordance with receiving the request, identifying particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provide). Consumers may then choose to purchase services and/or products from the funeral service provider by making selections from the microsite. Brown [0085-0086] further teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137.]
responsive to a selection, by the user, of a first item of the set of items, identifying a particular ledger entry from a plurality of ledger entries mapped to the first item [See [0068] Brown teaches using a GPL-microsite module 138 for a funeral service provider's microsite. A microsite is a web page or set of pages devoted to the services and products offered by the funeral service provider. The microsite permits the consumer to virtually visit the funeral service provider by viewing on-line content about the services and products offered. Consumers may then choose to purchase services and/or products from the funeral service provider by making selections from the microsite. Brown [0085-0086] further teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option (i.e., selection, by the user, of a first item of the set of items), loads them to a virtual shopping cart (i.e., responsive to a selection, by the user, of a first item of the set of items, identifying a particular ledger entry from a plurality of ledger entries mapped to the first item), and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., a particular ledger entry from a plurality of ledger entries).]
wherein the particular ledger entry is identified based on other data received by the electronic device about the end-of-life event; [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID (i.e., wherein the particular ledger entry is identified based on other data received by the electronic device about the end-of-life event) and purchase information is stored in Order database 137.]
and providing the particular ledger entry to the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end-of-life event [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., providing the particular ledger entry to the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end-of-life event).]
wherein the deathcare-servicing ledger is configured to identify information relevant to performing all of a set of deathcare-servicing software operations for coordinating fulfillment of the selection of the available deathcare service and/or merchandise items related to the end-of-life event. [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137. Brown [0061] further teaches that the order status database 137 is provided to maintain the status for all orders from product suppliers, funeral service providers, and consumers including the products and/or services ordered, the ordering party, the supplying party, and whether the order has been fulfilled. The utility of these databases also will be discussed in greater detail below. Brown [0089] further teaches the orders are divided into sets of products that are being purchased from a given product supplier at order operation 604 (i.e., wherein the deathcare-servicing ledger is configured to identify information relevant to performing all of a set of deathcare-servicing software operations for coordinating fulfillment of the selection of the available deathcare service and/or merchandise items related to the end-of-life event). The transaction site provider generates purchase orders that are then disseminated to each of the product suppliers corresponding to the products ordered at supplier operation 606. The transaction site provider then updates order status maintained by the order database 137 of the production server 110 to indicate that purchase orders have been sent.]
Regarding claim 2, Brown discloses all claim 1 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
wherein: the other data received via the electronic device about the end-of-life event includes an indication whether the end-of-life event has occurred, or is yet to occur; [See [0138] Brown teaches a consumer interacting with the system in order to plan a funeral, and the consumer choosing whether the funeral planning is pre-need (i.e., the end-of-life event ... is yet to occur) or immediate need (i.e., the end-of-life event has occurred).]
in accordance with a first indication that the end-of-life event has not yet occurred: the particular ledger entry is identified as a pre-need ledger entry corresponding to a respective end-of-life event that has yet to occur; [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., the particular ledger entry). Brown [0061] further teaches that the order status database 137 is provided to maintain the status for all orders from product suppliers, funeral service providers, and consumers including the products and/or services ordered, the ordering party, the supplying party, and whether the order has been fulfilled. The utility of these databases also will be discussed in greater detail below. Brown [0089] further teaches the orders are divided into sets of products that are being purchased from a given product supplier at order operation 604. The transaction site provider generates purchase orders that are then disseminated to each of the product suppliers corresponding to the products ordered at supplier operation 606. The transaction site provider then updates order status maintained by the order database 137 of the production server 110 to indicate that purchase orders have been sent. Brown [0138] further teaches a consumer interacting with the system in order to plan a funeral, and the consumer choosing whether the funeral planning is pre-need or immediate need (i.e., in accordance with a first indication that the end-of-life event has not yet occurred: the particular ledger entry is identified as a pre-need ledger entry corresponding to a respective end-of-life event that has yet to occur).]
identification of a different ledger entry mapped to the first item, identified as an at-need ledger entry, is forgone. [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., the particular ledger entry). Brown [0061] further teaches that the order status database 137 is provided to maintain the status for all orders from product suppliers, funeral service providers, and consumers including the products and/or services ordered, the ordering party, the supplying party, and whether the order has been fulfilled. The utility of these databases also will be discussed in greater detail below. Brown [0089] further teaches the orders are divided into sets of products that are being purchased from a given product supplier at order operation 604. The transaction site provider generates purchase orders that are then disseminated to each of the product suppliers corresponding to the products ordered at supplier operation 606. The transaction site provider then updates order status maintained by the order database 137 of the production server 110 to indicate that purchase orders have been sent. Brown [0138] further teaches a consumer interacting with the system in order to plan a funeral, and the consumer choosing whether the funeral planning is pre-need or immediate need (i.e., in accordance with a first indication that the end-of-life event has not yet occurred: the particular ledger entry is identified as a pre-need ledger entry corresponding to a respective end-of-life event that has yet to occur). In other words, Brown teaches that the consumer decides between pre-need and immediate-need, and, when pre-need is selected by the consumer, immediate-need is thereby not associated with the order data in the database (i.e., identification of a different ledger entry mapped to the first item, identified as an at-need ledger entry, is forgone).]
Regarding claim 4, Brown discloses all claim 1 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
after the particular ledger entry has been provided to the deathcare-servicing ledger: responsive to a first request directed to a first user interface element of a first user interface of the deathcare-servicing application, performing a first set of software operations for generating a legally compliant digital form based on a set of ledger entries, including the particular ledger entry, included in the deathcare-servicing ledger; [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., the particular ledger entry). Brown [0119]; [0137] teaches that the consumer may log in to their account on the virtual transaction site to see information associated with that consumer within the consumer paging module 1604 (i.e., after the particular ledger entry has been provided to the deathcare-servicing ledger). Brown (Fig. 20, element 2006); [0138] teaches that the registered and logged-in consumer may navigate the virtual transaction site of the consumer paging module 1604 to a pre-need planning page. Brown [0142-0143] further teaches that, based on the consumer navigating to a will planner or estate planner (i.e., responsive to a first request directed to a first user interface element of a first user interface of the deathcare-servicing application), the consumer will be presented with will planning and estate planning forms to the extent legally permissible (i.e., performing a first set of software operations for generating a legally compliant digital form based on a set of ledger entries, including the particular ledger entry, included in the deathcare-servicing ledger).]
and responsive to a second request directed to a second user interface element of the first user interface, performing a second set of software operations, distinct from the first set of software operations, for modifying particular data associated with the deathcare provider, the particular data associated with a plurality of deathcare-servicing ledgers, including the deathcare-servicing ledger. [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., the particular ledger entry). Brown [0119]; [0137] teaches that the consumer may log in to their account on the virtual transaction site to see information associated with that consumer within the consumer paging module 1604 (i.e., after the particular ledger entry has been provided to the deathcare-servicing ledger). Brown (Fig. 20); [0063] further teaches that the registered and logged-in consumer may navigate the virtual transaction site (i.e., responsive to a second request directed to a second user interface element of the first user interface) in order to utilize the functions of a package modification module 142. Brown (Fig. 20); [0063] further teaches that the user can interact with the virtual transaction site to make changes to packages (e.g., a plurality of services and items) offered by a funeral provider when all elements of the package are not satisfactory (i.e., performing a second set of software operations, distinct from the first set of software operations, for modifying particular data associated with the deathcare provider, the particular data associated with a plurality of deathcare-servicing ledgers, including the deathcare-servicing ledger).]
Regarding claim 5, Brown discloses all claim 1 and 4 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
the legally compliant digital form is generated based on a selection of a form template from a set of form templates, wherein the form template is selected from the set of form templates based on a set of form-identification data, including at least particular data corresponding to the particular ledger entry. [See [0085-0086] Brown teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137 (i.e., the particular ledger entry). Brown [0119]; [0137] teaches that the consumer may log in to their account on the virtual transaction site to see information associated with that consumer within the consumer paging module 1604. Brown (Fig. 20, element 2006); [0138] teaches that the registered and logged-in consumer may navigate the virtual transaction site of the consumer paging module 1604 to a pre-need planning page. Brown [0142-0143] further teaches that, based on the consumer navigating to a will planner or estate planner, the consumer will be presented with will planning and estate planning forms to the extent legally permissible. Brown [0142-0143] further teaches that the logged-in consumer may select either will forms or estate plan forms (i.e., the legally compliant digital form is generated based on a selection of a form template from a set of form templates). Brown [0142-0143] further teaches that the forms presented (i.e., the form template is selected from the set of form templates) to the logged-in consumer are those that the logged-in consumer has selected (i.e., based on a set of form-identification data, including at least particular data corresponding to the particular ledger entry).]
Regarding claim 7, Brown discloses all claim 1 and 4 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the first set of software operations include instructions for: presenting, at a second user interface of the deathcare-servicing application, distinct from the first user interface, a preview of the legally compliant digital form. [See (Fig. 20, element 2006); [0138] Brown teaches that the registered and logged-in consumer may navigate the virtual transaction site of the consumer paging module 1604 to a pre-need planning page. Brown [0142-0143] further teaches that, based on the consumer navigating to a will planner or estate planner, the consumer will be presented with will planning and estate planning forms to the extent legally permissible. Brown (Fig. 21A, elements 2108, 2118); [0142-0143] further teaches that the logged-in consumer may select either will forms or estate plan forms (i.e., the legally compliant digital form). Brown (Fig. 21A, elements 2108, 2118); [0142-0143] further teaches that the consumer may fill out the forms by inputting information. Brown [0141-0143] further teaches that the consumer may then select an information section (Fig. 21A, elements 2110, 2120) to view established will and estate plan information (i.e., wherein the first set of software operations include instructions for: presenting, at a second user interface of the deathcare-servicing application, distinct from the first user interface, a preview of the legally compliant digital form). Brown [0141-0143] further teaches that the will and estate plan may be updated by the consumer as well.]
Regarding claim 8, Brown discloses all claim 1 and 4 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the second set of software operations include instructions for: determining an accounting of the particular ledger entry by applying one or more accounting principles, from a set of accounting principles associated with the particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider; [See (Fig. 5); [0086-0087] Brown teaches a consumer makes option selections for desired items for different funeral service options, and loads them into a virtual shopping cart. Brown (Fig. 5); [0086-0087] further teaches that the virtual transaction site 100, which the consumer interfaces with, is set up to handle payment through a credit card transaction for the items selected in their cart (i.e., wherein the second set of software operations include instructions for: determining an accounting of the particular ledger entry by applying one or more accounting principles, from a set of accounting principles associated with the particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider). Brown [0087] further teaches that the consumer must enter credit card information during the checkout process. The credit card information is validated at card operation 518 through standard electronic procedures and communications.
and presenting a representation related to the accounting of the particular ledger entry. [See (Fig. 5); [0086-0087] Brown teaches a consumer makes option selections for desired items for different funeral service options, and loads them into a virtual shopping cart (i.e., presenting a representation related to the accounting of the particular ledger entry). Brown [0086] further teaches that the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516 (i.e., presenting a representation related to the accounting of the particular ledger entry).]
Regarding claim 11, Brown discloses all claim 1 and 4 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
further comprising: responsive to a third request directed to a third user interface element of the first user interface, performing a third set of software operations, distinct from the first and second sets of software operations, for presenting informational representations for each respective ledger entry of the deathcare-servicing ledger. [See [0123] Brown further teaches users interfacing with a particular part of a splash page (i.e., responsive to a third request directed to a third user interface element of the first user interface) which provides an option to review consumer purchases (i.e., performing a third set of software operations, distinct from the first and second sets of software operations, for presenting informational representations for each respective ledger entry of the deathcare-servicing ledger).]
Regarding claim 12, Brown discloses all claim 1 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the items include one or more of: a set of deathcare service parameters associated with a particular deathcare service for the end-of-life event, wherein the set of deathcare service parameters include (i) a time frame corresponding to performance of the particular deathcare service, and (ii) a required participant to be available during the time frame; a physical item of merchandise associated with the end-of-life event, wherein the physical item is capable of being provided by the deathcare provider; and/or an available interment right at a physical location associated with the deathcare provider, wherein the available interment right is based on a set of cemetery plots owned or operated by the deathcare provider. [See [0068] Brown teaches using a GPL-microsite module 138 for a funeral service provider's microsite. A microsite is a web page or set of pages devoted to the services and products offered by the funeral service provider. The microsite permits the consumer to virtually visit the funeral service provider by viewing on-line content about the services and products offered (i.e., wherein the items include one or more of: ... a physical item of merchandise associated with the end-of-life event, wherein the physical item is capable of being provided by the deathcare provider). Brown [0123]; [0133] further teaches that a cemetery owners may sell burial plots via the system (i.e., wherein the items include one or more of: ... an available interment right at a physical location associated with the deathcare provider, wherein the available interment right is based on a set of cemetery plots owned or operated by the deathcare provider) Consumers may then choose to purchase services and/or products from the funeral service provider by making selections from the microsite. Brown [0085-0086] further teaches after displaying funeral services and products to a consumer. Brown further teaches the consumer makes option selections for the desired items for each funeral service option, loads them to a virtual shopping cart, and then proceeds to a virtual checkout provided by the consumer paging module where the purchase is confirmed at buy operation 516. At this point, the consumer ID and purchase information is stored in Order database 137.]
Regarding claim 13, Brown discloses all claim 1 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
before identifying the particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider, determining that the user is associated with a first ledger-account holder of a plurality of ledger-account holders associated with the deathcare-servicing application; and based on the indication that the user is associated with the first ledger-account holder, identifying a first ledger-account map, the first ledger-account map configured for mapping respective items of deathcare services available to be provided by the first ledger-account holder. [See [0119] Brown teaches that a funeral service provider 118 can use their client device to log into the system. Brown [0124] further teaches that by logging into the system, the funeral service provider can interact with the FDM (funeral director/manager) paging module 1608 including a home page for the specific FDM member. Brown [0065] further teaches, after logging in (i.e., determining that the user is associated with a first ledger-account holder of a plurality of ledger-account holders associated with the deathcare-servicing application), that a funeral service provider may upload product catalog entries, which they want to offer for sale in association with their account, into a catalog database (i.e., based on the indication that the user is associated with the first ledger-account holder, identifying a first ledger-account map, the first ledger-account map configured for mapping respective items of deathcare services available to be provided by the first ledger-account holder). Brown [0065] further teaches that after the catalog entries are uploaded, these uploaded product catalog entries will be presented to consumers for purchase (i.e., identifying the particular data objects corresponding to the deathcare provider).]
Regarding claim 17, Brown discloses all claim 1 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
before receiving the request to create the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end-of-life event, and responsive to a request by the user to configure an item-ledger map within the deathcare-servicing application: presenting an item-ledger mapping user interface [See [0119] Brown teaches that a funeral service provider 118 can use their client device to log into the system. Brown [0124] further teaches that by logging into the system, the funeral service provider can interact with the FDM (funeral director/manager) paging module 1608 including a home page for the specific FDM member. Brown [0065] further teaches, after logging in, that a funeral service provider may upload product catalog entries, which they want to offer for sale in association with their account, into a catalog database (i.e., responsive to a request by the user to configure an item-ledger map within the deathcare-servicing application: presenting an item-ledger mapping user interface). Brown [0065] further teaches that after the catalog entries are uploaded, these uploaded product catalog entries will be presented to consumers for purchase (i.e., before receiving the request to create the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end-of-life event).]
wherein the item-ledger mapping user interface allows the user of the deathcare-servicing application to identify relationships between a particular deathcare service and a plurality of respective potential ledger entries that the particular deathcare service is configured to correspond to, based on particular other data being received. [See [0119] Brown teaches that a funeral service provider 118 can use their client device to log into the system. Brown [0124] further teaches that by logging into the system, the funeral service provider can interact with the FDM (funeral director/manager) paging module 1608 including a home page for the specific FDM member. Brown [0065] further teaches, after logging in, that a funeral service provider may upload product catalog entries (i.e., a plurality of respective potential ledger entries that the particular deathcare service is configured to correspond to), which they want to offer for sale in association with their account, into a catalog database (i.e., wherein the item-ledger mapping user interface allows the user of the deathcare-servicing application to identify relationships between a particular deathcare service and a plurality of respective potential ledger entries that the particular deathcare service is configured to correspond to, based on particular other data being received). Brown [0065] further teaches that after the catalog entries are uploaded, these uploaded product catalog entries will be presented to consumers for purchase.]
Regarding claim 18, Brown discloses all claim 1 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
the deathcare-servicing application further includes a cemetery-mapping user interface, the cemetery-mapping user interface configured to allow respective users to identify interment rights to a plurality of plots within a cemetery site [See [0127] Brown teaches its system may include a cemetery finder section which may provide plot maps for member cemeteries (i.e., the deathcare-servicing application further includes a cemetery-mapping user interface, the cemetery-mapping user interface configured to allow respective users to identify interment rights to a plurality of plots within a cemetery site).]
the interment rights are configured to be identified using a variable number of descriptors corresponding to physical aspects of respective plots of the plurality of plots within the cemetery site. [See [0127] Brown teaches its system may include a cemetery finder section which may provide plot maps for member cemeteries indicating the location of the available plots (i.e., the interment rights are configured to be identified using a variable number of descriptors corresponding to physical aspects of respective plots of the plurality of plots within the cemetery site). Brown [0173] further teaches that, while searching for burial property (i.e., the interment rights), the consumer can filter by state or region (i.e., a variable number of descriptors corresponding to physical aspects of respective plots of the plurality of plots within the cemetery site). Brown [0173] further teaches that the consumer may be given additional information, such as the layout of a chosen cemetery and the available plots (i.e., the interment rights are configured to be identified using a variable number of descriptors corresponding to physical aspects of respective plots of the plurality of plots within the cemetery site) which can then be purchased through the virtual transaction site.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0014266) in view of Strieber (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0351255 ).
Regarding claim 6, Brown discloses all claim 1, 4, and 5 limitations. Although Brown teaches recommending certain forms based on an individual’s end-of-life situation (See Brown paras. [0141-0143]), Brown does not explicitly teach recommending certain forms based on location. Therefore, Brown does not, however Strieber does, disclose the following limitations:
wherein the form-identification data further includes a location related to the ... event. [See [0060] Strieber teaches generating appropriate forms based on the state and associated state laws (i.e., wherein the form-identification data further includes a location related to the ... event).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the recommendation of forms in Brown with the recommendation of forms in Strieber. By making this combination, Brown would be able to intelligently recommend applicable will and estate planning forms based on appropriate state laws associated with the end-of-life event.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0014266) in view of Nadig (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0121260).
Regarding claim 9, Brown discloses all claim 1, 4, and 8 limitations. Although Brown teaches its system handling payments for purchased funeral services and merchandise, Brown does not explicitly teach applying appropriate state taxes to these purchases. Therefore, Brown does not, however Nadig does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein the accounting principles include one or more of: trusting requirements based on additional data about a timing of need of respective deathcare services corresponding to the first item; taxation requirements based on one or more state laws implicated by contracting for respective deathcare services and/or merchandise corresponding to the first item; and/or a commissioning parameter associated with the request to create the deathcare- servicing ledger for the end-of-life event. [See [0040] Nadig teaches adding taxes to an invoice including state tax (i.e., wherein the accounting principles include one or more of: ... taxation requirements based on one or more state laws implicated by contracting for respective deathcare services and/or merchandise corresponding to the first item).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the invoicing system of Brown with the invoicing system of Nadig. By making this combination, Brown would be able to include mandatory state tax in its invoices, thereby conforming to state tax law.
Regarding claim 10, Brown discloses all claim 1, 4, and 8 limitations. Brown in view of Nadig discloses all claim 9 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the accounting principles further include instructions for: identifying an amount of a resource to be allotted from the deathcare-servicing ledger to a first accounting ledger of a plurality of accounting ledgers mapped to the deathcare-servicing ledger; [See [0069]; [0092-0093] Brown teaches each funeral service provider establishing a billing account within the system (i.e., a first accounting ledger of a plurality of accounting ledgers mapped to the deathcare-servicing ledger). Brown [0077-0079] further teaches a funeral service provider setting prices (i.e., an amount of a resource) for goods and services that they sell (i.e., identifying an amount of a resource to be allotted from the deathcare-servicing ledger to a first accounting ledger of a plurality of accounting ledgers mapped to the deathcare-servicing ledger).]
based on the amount of the resource and the other data received about the end-of-life event, determining a subject amount of the resource to store within the first accounting ledger of the plurality of accounting ledgers mapped to the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end-of-life event. [See [0069]; [0092-0093] Brown teaches each funeral service provider establishing a billing account within the system (i.e., the first accounting ledger of the plurality of accounting ledgers mapped to the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end-of-life event). Brown [0086] further teaches that a consumer selects goods and services offered by the funeral service provider and adds them to a virtual shopping cart. Brown further teaches that the consumer then goes through a virtual checkout and pays the total amount (i.e., determining a subject amount of the resource) for the goods and services selected to the funeral service provider (i.e., based on the amount of the resource and the other data received about the end-of-life event, determining a subject amount of the resource to store within the first accounting ledger of the plurality of accounting ledgers mapped to the deathcare-servicing ledger for the end- of-life event).]
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0014266) in view of Hampton (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0282466 ).
Regarding claim 14, Brown discloses all claim 1 and 13 limitations. Although Brown teaches funeral service providers registering with the system and establishing a catalog of goods and services for sale, Brown does not, however Hampton does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
in accordance with determining that there is no ledger-account map associated with the first ledger-account holder; determining a first set of items corresponding to ... [offerings] ... configured to be provided by the ... provider; [See [0005-0006]; [0219]; (Fig. 13); Hampton teaches that when a vendor first establishes an online store, a set of items offered by the online store is determined based on a base product catalog associated with the type of online store (i.e., in accordance with determining that there is no ledger-account map associated with the first ledger-account holder; determining a first set of items corresponding to ... [offerings] ... configured to be provided by the ... provider). For example, of the organization operating the online store is a school, a school specific catalog may be generated from a base product catalog.]
and based on the first set of items, generating a default ledger-account map for the first ledger-account holder based on the first set of items. [See [0005-0006]; [0219]; (Fig. 13); Hampton teaches determining a set of items offered by an online store based on a base product catalog associated with the type of online store (i.e., and based on the first set of items, generating a default ledger-account map for the first ledger-account holder based on the first set of items). For example, of the organization operating the online store is a school, a school specific catalog may be generated from a base product catalog.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the online store system of Brown with the online store system of Hampton. By making this combination, Brown would be able to offer each vendor the ability to select products from a base product catalog or exclude products from a default store catalog generated automatically from the base product catalog (see Brown [0219]). This would make generating an online store catalog easier for a funeral service provider since they would not have to generate it from scratch.
Regarding claim 15, Brown discloses all claim 1, 13, and 14 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
a vendor type is determined based on the indication that the user is associated with the first ledger-account holder; [See [0005-0006]; [0219]; (Fig. 13); Hampton teaches that when a vendor first establishes an online store, a set of items offered by the online store is determined based on a base product catalog associated with the type of online store (i.e., a vendor type is determined based on the indication that the user is associated with the first ledger-account holder). For example, of the organization operating the online store is a school, a school specific catalog may be generated from a base product catalog.]
and the default ledger-account map is generated based on the vendor type associated with the first ledger-account holder. [See [0005-0006]; [0219]; (Fig. 13); Hampton teaches that when a vendor first establishes an online store, a set of items offered by the online store is determined based on a base product catalog associated with the type of online store. For example, of the organization operating the online store is a school, a school specific catalog may be generated from a base product catalog (i.e., and the default ledger-account map is generated based on the vendor type associated with the first ledger-account holder).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the online store system of Brown with the online store system of Hampton. By making this combination, Brown would be able to offer each vendor the ability to select products from a base product catalog or exclude products from a default store catalog generated automatically from the base product catalog (see Brown [0219]). This would make generating an online store catalog easier for a funeral service provider since they would not have to generate it from scratch.
Regarding claim 16, Brown discloses all claim 1 and 13-15 limitations. Brown further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the set of items is identified based on the vendor type. [See [0005-0006]; [0219]; (Fig. 13); Hampton teaches determining a set of items offered by an online store based on a base product catalog associated with the type of online store. For example, of the organization operating the online store (i.e., vendor) is a school, a school specific catalog may be generated from a base product catalog (i.e., wherein the set of items is identified based on the vendor type).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the online store system of Brown with the online store system of Hampton. By making this combination, Brown would be able to offer each vendor the ability to select products from a base product catalog or exclude products from a default store catalog generated automatically from the base product catalog (see Brown [0219]). This would make generating an online store catalog easier for a funeral service provider since they would not have to generate it from scratch.
Prior Art
The following prior art is relevant to the invention but was not used in prior art rejections:
Sutton (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0037227) – System and method for providing transferable pre-need funeral services.
Barrott (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0046046) – Computerized family advising system and method for making funeral arrangements.
Gasegawa (JP 2009009348) – Post-funeral message delivery system.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER GOMEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3628