DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on October 1, 2025 has been received and entered.
Applicant’s Amendments to the Claims have been received and acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/20/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,429,543 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,954,051. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and patents claim associating virtual machine to region identifiers and processing commands related to the virtual machine with the region identifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 12, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, lines 2 and 3, “the underlying memory array” lacks proper antecedent basis since it was not mentioned previously.
In claims 12 and 18, line 3, it is not clear whether “an underlying memory array” is the same memory as the memory array and/or the memory device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DAVIS (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0265083 A1), hereafter referred to as DAVIS’083.
Referring to claim 1, DAVIS’083 as claimed, a method comprising: obtaining, by a host processor, a list of regions of a memory device, each region comprising a subset of physical addresses of a memory array of the memory device (storage system manager 114 serves as the communication agent for disk array 112 and implements virtualization of the physical storage units…aggregate physical storage space provided by the disk drives as a contiguous logical storage space that is divided into set of virtual partitions known as the LUNs (logical unit numbers) 118, see para. [0014] and Fig. 1); receiving a mapping of region identifiers to the list of regions (set of virtual partitions known as the LUNs (logical unit numbers) 118…LUN “block” level, where a block is a particular contiguous region in a particular LUN. For example, a LUN block may be represented as <LUN ID, offset, length>, see para. [0014] and Fig. 1); assigning a virtual machine to one of the region identifiers (LUN 118 maintained by a disk array that stores a virtual drive image comprising data that corresponds to an emulated local hard drive for virtual desktop 108; virtual drive image for each of the virtual desktops in LUN 118, see paras. [0013] and [0014] and Fig. 3); and processing write commands for the virtual machine using a region of the memory array mapped to a corresponding region identifier of the virtual machine (control commands (e.g. read and write commands) to disk array 112 at the LUN “block” level, a LUN block represented as <LUN ID, offset, length>…a read or write operation for block <LUN ID, offset, length> in the form of a SCSI operation, see paras. [0014], [0030] and Fig. 1; also note: receives the raw SCSI operations and performs the requested operation (i.e. read or write), see para. [0018]).
As to claim 2, DAVIS’083 also discloses initializing, by the memory device, the list of regions and providing the list of regions to the host processor (Disk array 112 comprises a storage system manager 114 that serves as the communication agent for disk array and implements virtualization of the physical storage units…aggregate physical storage space provided by the disk drives as a contiguous logical storage space that is divided into set of virtual partitions known as the LUNs (logical unit numbers) 118, see para. [0014] and Fig. 1).
As to claim 3, DAVIS’083 also discloses each region in the list of regions is a fixed sized region of memory addresses (physical storage space provided by the disk drives as a contiguous logical storage space that is divided into set of virtual partitions known as the LUNs (logical unit numbers) 118, see para. [0014] and Fig. 1).
As to claim 4, DAVIS’083 also discloses the host processor requests a desired allocation of regions prior to the memory device initializing the list of regions (servers 100 transmit data transfer and control commands (e.g. read and write commands) to disk array 112 at the LUN “block” level, a LUN block represented as <LUN ID, offset, length>…a read or write operation for block <LUN ID, offset, length> in the form of a SCSI operation, see paras. [0014], [0018] and Fig. 1).
As to claim 5, DAVIS’083 also discloses obtaining the list of regions comprises issuing a query to the memory device to obtain a capacity of the memory array and dividing the capacity into the list of regions (view the aggregate physical storage space provided by the disk drives as a contiguous logical storage space that is divided into set of virtual partitions known as the LUNs (logical unit numbers) 118, see para. [0014] and Fig. 1).
As to claim 6, DAVIS’083 also discloses transmitting the list of regions to the memory device (entries in index and lists, see paras. [0023]-[0026]), the memory device dividing the underlying memory array (note: disk arrays, see para. [0014]) in response to the list of regions (divided into set of virtual partitions known as the LUNs (logical unit numbers) 118, see para. [0014] and Fig. 1; also note: Fig. 3).
As to claim 7, DAVIS’083 also discloses assigning a virtual machine to one of the region identifiers comprises randomly assigning the virtual machine to one of the region identifiers (set of virtual partitions known as the LUNs (logical unit numbers) 118…LUN “block” level, where a block is a particular contiguous region in a particular LUN. For example, a LUN block may be represented as <LUN ID, offset, length>, see para. [0014] and Fig. 1; LUN 118 maintained by a disk array that stores a virtual drive image comprising data that corresponds to an emulated local hard drive for virtual desktop 108; virtual drive image for each of the virtual desktops in LUN 118, see paras. [0013] and [0014]).
Note claims 8 and 15 recite similar limitations of claim 1. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claims 9 and 16 recite similar limitations of claim 2. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claim 10 recite the corresponding limitations of claim 3. Therefore it is rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claim 11 recite the corresponding limitations of claim 4. Therefore it is rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claims 12 and 18 recite the corresponding limitations of claim 5. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claims 13 and 19 recite the corresponding limitations of claim 6. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claims 14 and 20 recite the corresponding limitations of claim 7. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Note claim 17 recite the corresponding limitations of claims 3 and 4. Therefore it is rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
In summary, DAVIS’083 teaches the claimed limitations as set forth.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/TITUS WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181