DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The terms “positive locking” and “form lock feature” are undefined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaia (US PG Pub # 2013/0292192). With respect to claim 1, the Jaia reference discloses a weighing device comprising:
a chassis (30);
a load cell (12);
a weighing pan (34) functionally coupled to the load cell (para. # 0036); and
a locking device (56) adapted and configured to selectively fix the weighing pan relative to the chassis of the weighing device (para. # 0048-0052).
With respect to claim 3, the locking device (56) is a locking mechanism (52), and an actuation device to actuate the locking mechanism (para. # 0037-0040 & 0048-0049).
With respect to claim 5, see paragraphs # 0048-0049.
It is unclear what features are being claimed in claims 6-9, as the terms “positive lock” and “form lock feature” are undefined, but since the weighing pan (34) is locked into an immobile state by ramps (56), then these terms are sufficiently broad enough to read upon what is disclosed.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, the method of use was inherent to the device shown.
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghizzi et al (US PG Pub # 2004/0112651). With respect to claim 1, the Ghizzi reference discloses a weighing device comprising:
a chassis (13);
a load cell (15);
a weighing pan (7) functionally coupled to the load cell (para. # 0025); and
a locking device (17) adapted and configured to selectively fix the weighing pan relative to the chassis of the weighing device (para. # 0032-0035).
With respect to claim 3, the locking device (17) is a locking mechanism (19), and an actuation device to actuate the locking mechanism (para. # 0033-0034).
With respect to claim 4, Ghizzi discloses he pivotable lever (7b).
With respect to claim 5, the pivoting level (7b) lifts and supports the weighing pan (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troisi (US # 6,084,184) in view of Eaton et al (US PG Pub # 2004/0000437). With respect to claim 1, the Troisi reference discloses a weighing device (Fig. 8) comprising:
a chassis (132);
a load cell (122);
a weighing pan (124) functionally coupled to the load cell (Col. 8, ll. 12-30).
The Troisi reference does not disclose a locking device for fixing the weighing pan. However, the Eaton reference discloses that it was known to provide a clamping mechanism (20) to lock the load cell (and thus the weighing pan) into place while the weighing pan was being loaded or unloaded with the next item (para. # 0016-0018) in order to cancel out the transient vibrations that would make the weight reading less accurate, and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the scale of Troisi to use the locking mechanism (20) of Eaton for the same reason.
With respect to claim 2, the weighing pan (124) of the second embodiment of Troisi (Fig. 8) is a suspension weighing pan.
With respect to claim 3, the locking device (20) of Eaton has an actuation device (36).
It is unclear what features are being claimed in claims 6-9, as the terms “positive lock” and “form lock feature” are undefined, but since the weighing pan (34) is locked into an immobile state by ramps (56), then these terms are sufficiently broad enough to read upon what is disclosed in Eaton.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Jaia (US PG Pub # 2013/0292192) in view of Lüchinger et al (US # 4,789,034). The use of robotic arms to move weighing samples from a sample storage area to a precision scale was known as shown by the example of Lüchinger (Fig. 1), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to use a robotic arm to load and unload the scale of Jaia motivated by its art recognized suitability for its intended use.
Conclusion
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RANDY W. GIBSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2856
/RANDY W GIBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855