DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "in communication with the heart which monitors the heart while the cardiac assist device is in operation" in lines 8-9. This limitation is confusing and indefinite. How can the heart monitor the heart while the CAD is in operation. Examiner believes this was a typo. Examiner will interpret as "in communication with a computer which monitors the heart while the cardiac assist device is in operation" and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "with the computer plots native pressure volume loops" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret as “with a computer plots native pressure volume loops” and suggests amending.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "comprising the steps of" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret as “comprising steps of” and suggests amending.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart" in lines 10-12. The limitation in these lines is repeated twice, this is believed to be a mistake. Examiner will interpret as "and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart” and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0237982 Tuval et al., hereinafter “Tuval”.
Regarding claim 1, Tuval discloses an apparatus for a heart of a patient (Abstract and Figure 10A) comprising: a cardiac assist device (Para 221 and Shown in Figure 1C) adapted to be implanted into the patient (Figure 1B and Para 222) to assist the heart with pumping blood (Para 10), the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart (Shaft is shown in Figure 2D, element 92, Figure 1C shows a shaft tube 126 and its placed within the heart as shown in Figure 1B), the cardiac assist device includes a motor (Figure 1A, element 23) and an impeller disposed in the shaft (Para 10, 225 and Figure 1C, element 50) which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood (Para 226), the pump draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the shaft (Para 10) and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart through an outlet port of the shaft (Para 10), thereby reducing mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery (This is a statement of intended use); and a sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient (Figure 16E, element 270), the sensor in communication with the cardiac assist device (Para 353) and the heart which measures native volume of the heart (Para 353), the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device (Para 353 and See Figure 16E, elements 270) that emit signals which are used to measure the native volume of the heart (Para 353), the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals (Figure 1A, element 25 and Para 353 computer processor), the computer in communication with the electrodes (Para 353), the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the measurements and analyze only the measurements to make real-time volume measurements of the heart (Para 353).
Regarding claim 10, Tuval discloses an apparatus for a heart of a patient (Abstract and Figure 10A) comprising: a cardiac assist device (Para 221 and Shown in Figure 1C) adapted to be implanted into the patient (Figure 1B and Para 222) to assist the heart with pumping blood (Para 10), the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart (Shaft is shown in Figure 2D, element 92, Figure 1C shows a shaft tube 126 and its placed within the heart as shown in Figure 1B), the cardiac assist device includes a motor (Figure 1A, element 23) and an impeller disposed in the shaft (Para 10, 225 and Figure 1C, element 50) which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood (Para 226), thereby reducing mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery (This is a statement of intended use); a sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient (Figure 16E, element 270), the sensor in direct contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device (Para 353, see also Figure 16E, element 270) and in communication with a computer which monitors the heart while the cardiac assist device is in operation (Para 353); and a pressure sensor (Figure 1A, element 216) adapted to be implanted into the patient (Para 346), the pressure sensor in contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart which monitors left ventricular pressure while the cardiac assist device is in operation (Para 344 and 346) and with a computer plots native pressure volume loops while the cardiac assist device is in operation (Para 312 and 353), the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device (Para 353 and See Figure 16E, elements 270) that emit signals which are used to measure the native volume of the heart using only the signals (Para 353), and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart (Para 353, see also Figure 16E, element 270), the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals (Figure 1A, element 25 and Para 353 computer processor), the computer in communication with the electrodes (Para 353), the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the measurements and analyze only the measurements to make real-time volume measurements of the heart (Para 353).
Regarding claim 11, Tuval discloses a method for treating a heart of a patient (Abstract and Figure 10A) comprising steps of: pumping blood of the patient (Para 10) with a cardiac assist device (Para 221 and Shown in Figure 1C) implanted into the patient (Figure 1B and Para 222), the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart Shaft is shown in Figure 2D, element 92, Figure 1C shows a shaft tube 126 and its placed within the heart as shown in Figure 1B), the cardiac assist device includes a motor (Figure 1A, element 23) and an impeller disposed in the shaft (Para 10, 225 and Figure 1C, element 50) which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood (Para 226), thereby reducing mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery (This is a statement of intended use); and measuring native volume of the heart (Para 353) with a sensor implanted into the patient (Figure 16E, element 270), the sensor in communication with the cardiac assist device and the heart (Para 353), the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device that emit signals which are used to directly measure the native volume of the heart with only the signals (Figure 16E, element 270 and Para 353), and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart (Figure 16E, element 270) the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals (Figure 1A, element 25 and Para 353 computer processor), the computer in communication with the electrodes (Para 353), the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the measurements and analyze only the measurements to make real-time volume measurements of the heart (Para 353).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0237982 Tuval et al., hereinafter “Tuval”, in view of WO 2019/234148 Schlebusch et al., hereinafter “Schlebusch”.
Regarding claim 2, Tuval discloses the computer provides electrical currents to the electrodes (Para 353) and measures corresponding voltages (Para 353); volume measurements of the heart by the computer include real-time measurement of both blood and muscle contributions (Para 353)
Tuval does not disclose to make admittance-based measurements and analyze the admittance–based measurements to make real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart.
However, Schlebusch discloses a cardiac assist device (Figure 1, element 2) and teaches to make admittance-based measurements (This is an intended use limitation, examiner strongly suggests amending to positively recite this limitation, however will be rejecting it to expedite prosecution. Para 27 discloses electrodes that measure impedance and since impedance is the reciprocal of admittance, it is therefore an admittance based measurement) and analyze the admittance–based measurements to make real-time admittance-based (This is an intended use limitation, examiner strongly suggests amending to positively recite this limitation, however will be rejecting it to expedite prosecution. Para 27, 20, and 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed admittance-based measurements as taught by Schlebusch, in the invention of Tuval, in order to determine volume measurements through impedance (Schlebusch; Para 19).
Regarding claim 3, Tuval discloses the sensor includes wiring (Figure 16E, element 270 includes wiring 272) that is in direct contact with the electrodes and which extends to the computer over which the electrical currents and corresponding voltages pass (Para 352-353).
Regarding claim 4, Tuval discloses the cardiac assist device has a marker to guide proper placement of the cardiac assist device in the heart (Figure 1B, element 10 is a guidewire, see also Para 223).
Regarding claim 5, Tuval discloses the cardiac assist device is a temporary mechanical circulatory support (MCS) device which is a catheter-mounted blood pump that draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the MCS and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart (Para 9 and 10), thereby reducing some of the mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery (This is an intended use limitation).
Regarding claim 6, Tuval discloses the currents have a frequency and the sensor dynamically shifting the frequency of the currents (Para 309 “Typically, as the tension in the drive cable changes due to the subject's cardiac cycle, this gives rise to a low frequency envelope in the signal measured by the Hall sensor, the low frequency envelope typically having a frequency of 0.5-2 Hz”) to avoid noise in the patient from the pump (This is an intended use limitation).
Regarding claim 7, Tuval discloses the computer of the sensor dynamically shifting the frequency of the currents (Para 309) to avoid noise from the cardiac assist device (This is an intended use limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Tuval discloses the frequency of the currents include currents at a desired frequency (Para 309).
Tuval does not disclose the computer includes a signal generator which generates the currents at the desired frequency and causes changes in the frequency of the currents when dynamically shifting the currents.
However, Schlebusch teaches the computer includes a signal generator which generates the currents at the desired frequency and causes changes in the frequency of the currents when dynamically shifting the currents (Para 31, 33, and 59; The measurement does not take place at a fixed frequency, but at several frequencies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed changes in the frequency of the currents as taught by Schlebusch, in the invention of Tuval, in order for the result to be the dependence of the electrical impedance on the frequency (Schlebusch; Para 59).
Regarding claim 9, Tuval discloses a pressure sensor (Figure 1A, element 216) adapted to be implanted into the patient (Para 346), the pressure sensor in contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart which monitors left ventricular pressure while the cardiac assist device is in operation (Para 344 and 346) and with the computer plots native pressure volume loops while the cardiac assist device is in operation (Para 312 and 353).
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,799. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, see table below for the rejection of each claim against the claims of the US Patent.
Current Application No. 18/593,829
U.S. Patent No. 11,918,799
1. An apparatus for a heart of a patient comprising: a cardiac assist device adapted to be implanted into the patient to assist the heart with pumping blood, the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart, the cardiac assist device includes a motor and an impeller disposed in the shaft which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood, the pump draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the shaft and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart through an outlet port of the shaft, thereby reducing mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery; and a sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the sensor in communication with the cardiac assist device and the heart which measures native volume of the heart, the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device that emit signals which are used to measure the native volume of the heart, the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals, the computer in communication with the electrodes, the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the measurements and analyze only the measurements to make real-time volume measurements of the heart.
1. An apparatus for a heart of a patient comprising: a cardiac assist device adapted to be implanted into the patient to assist the heart with pumping blood, the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart, the cardiac assist device includes a motor and an impeller disposed in the shaft which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood, the pump draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the shaft and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart through an outlet port of the shaft, thereby reducing some mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery; and a sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the sensor in communication with the cardiac assist device and the heart which measures native volume of the heart using only admittance based measurements, the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device that produce signals which are used to measure the native volume of the heart, and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart, the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals, the computer in communication with the electrodes, the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the admittance-based measurements and analyze only the admittance-based measurements to make real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart.
2. The apparatus of Claim 1 wherein the computer provides electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make admittance-based measurements and analyze the admittance–based measurements to make real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart, the real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart by the computer include real-time measurement of both blood and muscle contributions.
6. The apparatus of claim 5 wherein the computer provides electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make admittance-based measurements and analyze the admittance-based measurements to make real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart, the real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart by the computer include real-time measurement of both blood and muscle contributions.
3. The apparatus of Claim 2 wherein the sensor includes wiring that is in direct contact with the electrodes and which extends to the computer over which the electrical currents and corresponding voltages pass.
7. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the sensor includes wiring that is in direct contact with the electrodes and which extends to the computer over which the electrical currents and corresponding voltages pass.
4. The apparatus of Claim 3 wherein the cardiac assist device has a marker to guide proper placement of the cardiac assist device in the heart.
8. The apparatus of claim 7 wherein the cardiac assist device has a marker to guide proper placement of the cardiac assist device in the heart.
5. The apparatus of Claim 4 wherein the cardiac assist device is a temporary mechanical circulatory support (MCS) device which is a catheter-mounted blood pump that draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the MCS and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart, thereby reducing some of the mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery.
9. The apparatus of claim 8 wherein the cardiac assist device is a temporary mechanical circulatory support (MCS) device which is a catheter-mounted blood pump that draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the MCS and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart, thereby reducing some of the mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery.
6. The apparatus of Claim 5 wherein the currents have a frequency and the sensor dynamically shifting the frequency of the currents to avoid noise in the patient from the pump.
2. The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the currents have a frequency and the sensor dynamically shifting the frequency of the currents to avoid noise in the patient to the sensor.
7. The apparatus of Claim 6 wherein the computer of the sensor dynamically shifting the frequency of the currents to avoid noise from the cardiac assist device.
3. The apparatus of claim 2 wherein the computer of the sensor dynamically shifting the frequency of the currents to avoid noise from the cardiac assist device.
8. The apparatus of Claim 7 wherein the frequency of the currents include currents at a desired frequency and the computer includes a signal generator which generates the currents at the desired frequency and causes changes in the frequency of the currents when dynamically shifting the currents.
4. The apparatus of claim 3 wherein the frequency of the currents include currents at a desired frequency and the computer includes a signal generator which generates the currents at the desired frequency and causes changes in the frequency of the currents when dynamically shifting the currents.
9. The apparatus of Claim 8 including a pressure sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the pressure sensor in contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart which monitors left ventricular pressure while the cardiac assist device is in operation and with the computer plots native pressure volume loops while the cardiac assist device is in operation.
5. The apparatus of claim 4 including a pressure sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the pressure sensor in contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart and the heart which monitors left ventricular pressure while the cardiac assist device is in operation and with the computer plots native pressure volume loops while the cardiac assist device is in operation.
10. An apparatus for a heart of a patient comprising: a cardiac assist device adapted to be implanted into the patient to assist the heart with pumping blood, the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart, the cardiac assist device includes a motor and an impeller disposed in the shaft which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood, thereby reducing mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery; a sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the sensor in direct contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart which monitors the heart while the cardiac assist device is in operation; and a pressure sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the pressure sensor in contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart which monitors left ventricular pressure while the cardiac assist device is in operation and with the computer plots native pressure volume loops while the cardiac assist device is in operation, the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device that emit signals which are used to measure the native volume of the heart using only the signals, and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart, the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals, the computer in communication with the electrodes, the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the measurements and analyze only the measurements to make real-time volume measurements of the heart.
10. An apparatus for a heart of a patient comprising: a cardiac assist device adapted to be implanted into the patient to assist the heart with pumping blood, the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart, the cardiac assist device includes a motor and an impeller disposed in the shaft which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood, the pump draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the shaft and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart through an outlet port of the shaft, thereby reducing some mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery; a sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the sensor in direct contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart which monitors the heart based on admittance while the cardiac assist device is in operation; and a pressure sensor adapted to be implanted into the patient, the pressure sensor in contact with the shaft of the cardiac assist device and in communication with the heart and the heart which monitors left ventricular pressure while the cardiac assist device is in operation and with the computer plots native pressure volume loops while the cardiac assist device is in operation, the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device that produce signals which are used to measure the native volume of the heart using only admittance-based measurements, and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart, the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals, the computer in communication with the electrodes, the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the admittance-based measurements and analyze only the admittance-based measurements to make real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart.
11. A method for treating a heart of a patient comprising the steps of: pumping blood of the patient with a cardiac assist device implanted into the patient, the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart, the cardiac assist device includes a motor and an impeller disposed in the shaft which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood, thereby reducing mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery; and measuring native volume of the heart with a sensor implanted into the patient, the sensor in communication with the cardiac assist device and the heart, the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device that emit signals which are used to directly measure the native volume of the heart with only the signals, and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart, the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals, the computer in communication with the electrodes, the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the measurements and analyze only the measurements to make real-time volume measurements of the heart.
12. A method for treating a heart of a patient comprising the steps of: pumping blood of the patient with a cardiac assist device implanted into the patient, the cardiac assist device has a shaft that is adapted to be positioned in the heart, the cardiac assist device includes a motor and an impeller disposed in the shaft which is driven by the motor to assist the heart with pumping blood, the pump draws blood from a left ventricle of the heart through an inlet port of the shaft and expels blood into an ascending aorta of the heart through an outlet port of the shaft, thereby reducing some mechanical load on the heart and promoting recovery; and measuring native volume of the heart using only admittance-based measurements with a sensor implanted into the patient, the sensor in communication with the cardiac assist device and the heart, the sensor includes electrodes directly attached to the cardiac assist device that produce signals which are used to measure the native volume of the heart, and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart, and the electrodes are in direct contact with the shaft that is positioned in the heart, the sensor includes a computer for data acquisition and analysis of the signals, the computer in communication with the electrodes, the computer produces the signals which include electrical currents to the electrodes and measures corresponding voltages to make the admittance-based measurements and analyze only the admittance-based measurements to make real-time admittance-based volume measurements of the heart.
Conclusion
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796