DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the greyscale renderings lack detail; proper black-and-white line drawings should be submitted.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: a comma appears to be missing in line 2 following “support portion.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are drawn to a “tipless” saddle. It is unclear what “tipless” is intended to specify in this context (that is, is “tip” related to an end or a tilt or something else).
Claim 3 recites “said rail frame comprise two rear rings…,” which is repeated from claim 1. It is unclear if this is intended to somehow further define the invention (note that “comprise” should read - - comprises - -). Claim 3 recites the limitation "said two rear" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5 and 6 recite “configured to implement.” It is unclear how this language should be interpreted in the context of the claims. That is, do the front portions simply connect with the protruding ridges or does “implement” imply some form of action? Further, it is unclear if a word is missing before or after “integrally” in the 7th line.
Claims 7-10 begin with language essentially repeated from claim 1. It is unclear if this is intended to somehow further define the invention. The claims further recite “reinforcing… in a tilt up manner so as to prevent… being sagged down under pressure” It is unclear what a tilt up manner might be as well as what might constitute being “sagged down” and under what pressure.
Claims 11 and 12 recite “front secure unit… comprises two front rings… configured to be secured to… front secure units.” It is unclear if the “front secure units” are different from the “front secure unit,” and if not, how the rings are secured to their own element.
Claims 13 and 14 recite the limitation "said two ends" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claims 13 and 14 recite “which one end” in line 4. Does Applicant intend - - with - - one end? The claims further recite “a securing member” in lines 5-6. Is this intended to differ from the “securing bracket?” The claims further recite “for detachably connected to” in line 6. Does Applicant intend - - connecting - - to?
Claims 2-20 are deemed indefinite because they are dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dodge et al. (US Patent Number 6471297).
Regarding claim 1, Dodge discloses a tipless saddle, comprising a saddle body (at least an upper portion of 110) having a front pelvic support portion a central recess extending from a rear end of said saddle body to said front pelvic support portion, and two buttock support surfaces gradually and symmetrically extended sidewardly and upwardly from two longitudinal sides of said central recess respectively (see at least Figures 1-5 showing this arrangement with a recess between upward and outwardly extending support portions and a front pelvic support), wherein said two buttock support surfaces have two curved retention surfaces inclinedly and upwardly extended to two tips of two sides of said saddle body respectively and symmetrically (see at least Figures 2 and 5), wherein said front pelvic support portion and two front portions of said two buttock support surfaces integrally form a pelvic support arrangement of said tipless saddle (at a front); a rigid bottom base (at least a bottom of 110) coupled to an underside of said saddle body; and a rail frame (at least 100, 200), which is secured to said bottom base for mounting a saddle clamp (at 154, 156, 158), comprising two rear rings (two rear members 212) arranged spacedly apart and configured to be secured to a pair of suspension units (116, 118) so as to mount to a rear portion of said bottom base, a front secure unit (other members 212 and/or 112, 114, or associated bolts) provided at a front portion of said bottom base, and a pair of rails (at 120 for instance) parallelly extended between said two rear rings and said front secure unit for mounting the saddle clamp.
Regarding claim 2, Dodge further discloses said rail frame further comprises a rail bridge support (at 210, or alternatively at the clamp) rigidly fixed between said pair of rails so as to reinforce said pair of rails and ensure a distance between said pair of rails.
Regarding claim 3, Dodge further discloses said rail frame comprise two rear ring arranged spacedly apart and configured to be secured to a pair of suspension units so as to mount to a rear portion of said bottom base (as above), wherein said rail bridge support is a panel having two opposing sides integrally affixed to rear positions of said pair of rails and one side integrally affixed to a rear rail connected between said two rear (at least as assembled and as best understood).
Regarding claim 4, Dodge further discloses said front pelvic support portion has two protruding ridges defined by a front portion of said central recess and said two front portions of said two buttock support surfaces (see Figure 2 for instance).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Dodge further discloses a front opening of said central recess extends vertically and downwardly to form a front recess dividing a front portion of said saddle body into said two protruding ridges which are positioned at said front opening of said central recess and said front recess and gradually protruded from said two buttock support surfaces (see again at least Figure 2), wherein said two front portions of said buttock support surfaces are two inclined and curved front surfaces configured to implement with said two protruding ridges of said front pelvic support portion integrally form said pelvic support arrangement of said tipless saddle (this is the general arrangement).
Regarding claims 7-10, Dodge further discloses said two buttock support surfaces are symmetrical curved surfaces gradually extended sidewardly and upwardly from said two longitudinal sides of said central recess and said two sides of said saddle body respectively (as above), wherein a height from a bottom surface of said saddle body to said two sides is higher than a height from said bottom surface to said two longitudinal sides (i.e. a height at an outside portion is greater than at a central portion based on the raised forms; see figures), forming two wing supports of said saddle body integrally, wherein said two sides of said saddle body are two elevated side supports respectively forming two curved retention surfaces of said two buttock support surfaces inclinedly and upwardly extended to two tips of said two sides for reinforcing said two wing supports in a tilt up manner so as to prevent said two wing supports being sagged down under pressure and provide upward and inward supporting capability (they are formed as claimed and would be at least capable of performing as claimed as best understood).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Dodge further discloses said front secure unit of said rail frame comprises two front rings (two members 212 for instance) arranged spacedly apart and configured to be secured to a pair of front secure units (springs or bolts for instance) so as to mount to a front portion of said bottom base.
Regarding claims 17-20, Dodge further discloses said central recess is a concave recess having an enlarged rear end opening, an enlarged front end opening and an enlarged center reservoir (see figures; the recess is viewed as shaped as claimed), such that said central recess forms an air flow channel for air ventilation therethrough, wherein a curvature of each of said two buttock support surfaces is configured for matching and conforming to a buttock of a rider of said tipless saddle while sitting on said saddle body (the device would be capable of functioning as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodge in view of Bailie et al. (US Patent Number 9745010).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Dodge discloses a saddle as explained above but does not disclose details of the front secure unit. Bailie discloses a related device including a rail frame having a front arm integrally extended between two front ends of a pair of rails, wherein said front arm and said two front ends of said pair of rails form a U-shaped front portion of said rail frame (at 182), wherein a front secure unit comprises a securing bracket (176, 178, and/or 258) which one end connected to said bottom base and another end extended across said front arm to form a securing member for detachably connected to said bottom base through a securing element (172 for instance), wherein said securing bracket further has a securing groove formed between said two ends thereof, which is sized and shaped to fittingly receive said front arm therein so as to securely hold and affix said U-shaped front portion of said rail frame in position (this is the general arrangement; see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a rail and secure arrangement as taught by Bailie in Dodge’s saddle because this could improve user comfort and safety.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Dodge discloses a saddle as explained above but does not disclose details of the front secure unit. Bailie discloses a related device including two front ends of a pair of rails are extended frontwardly to from a V-shape front end member (at 182), wherein a front secure unit is integrally provided on a bottom base and has an engaging slot (of 176, 178, and/or 180) facing rearwards to engage with said front end member of a rail frame, wherein said engaging slot is sized and shaped to engage with said front end member so as to securely hold and affix said front end member of said rail frame in position (this is the general arrangement; see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a rail and secure arrangement as taught by Bailie in Dodge’s saddle because this could improve user comfort and safety.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 15-20 of copending Application No. 18/377728 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to provide the components arranged as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it shows a range of related saddle designs.
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636