DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. In line 1, “New and novel…..disclosed” should be deleted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For example, “1)” should read –Claim 1--. All pending claims should be identified in this manner.
The preamble, “A device” is vague and/or broad. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited. The recitation that “a device” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. The Examiner recommends the language, --A food preparation device to be used with a work-surface and a sink comprising: --;
Claim 1 recites "to be" and “can be” is interpreted as indefinite. The inclusion of such subjective expressions introduces ambiguity by suggesting that the claimed element(s) to which they relate, are optional.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the coupling structure, food preparation device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 10-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,182,305 B1 to O’Connell et al in view of EP 2324743 A1 to KRUSCHITZ.
Re. claims 1-2, 10-11, O’Connell discloses a device (see figure below) to be used with a work-surface 15, 17 and a sink 14 comprising at least a first guide 66,67 (see figure 8) to be disposed generally atop said sink (see figure below), a food preparation device, with a coupling structure on a first end of said device and a low friction structure disposed at a second end of said device, where said first end of said food preparation device may be slidably coupled to said first guide (see col. 1, lines 29-31), so that said food preparation device may freely traverse laterally over said sink. Although O’Connell discloses all of the limitations of the invention including rails for sliding, the O’Connell reference fails to explicitly disclose a coupling structure on a first end of said device and a low friction structure, namely a wheel, disposed at a second end of said device, and where said low friction structure at said second end of said device is in sliding contact with said work-surface at a point outside of said sinks’ envelope, as claimed, attention is directed to the KRUSCHITZ reference (see figure below) which teaches a low-friction structure 19, wheel, and coupling structure 5, 27. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a coupling and low friction structure in view of KRUSCHITZ because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
The motivation for including a low-friction structure and coupling would have been to easily slide the device from one side of the counter to another.
KRUSCHITZ:
Re. claims 5 and 14, O’Connell further discloses the first guide is secured to at least one of: the work-surface, the faucet, or the sink (see figure above).
Re. claim 8, O’Connell further discloses the food preparation device is a caddy for other food preparation devices (see figure above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see USPTO Form 892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. More specifically, US Patent 9185970 B1 to Lyewarun is directed to the state of the art as a teaching of a portable cutting table.
Claims 3-4,6-7,9,12-13, 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Providing representative information in an Application Data Sheet (ADS) does not constitute a power of attorney. See 37 CFR 1.76(b)(4) and MPEP § 408. For information on appointing a power of attorney, see MPEP § 402.02 et seq.
/LORI L BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754
Patents Application Assistance Center
Toll-Free:
1-888-786-0101
Local:
1-571-272-4000
Email: HelpAAU@uspto.gov
Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) Customer Service Center
Toll-Free:
866-217-9197
Local:
571-272-4100
ebc@uspto.gov
PAIR https://ppair.uspto.gov/epatent/portal/home
For ordering issues or general questions please contact:
Customer service phone line
Hours: 8:30 am – 5 pm ET, Monday – Friday (except federal holidays)
Toll free: 1-800-972-6382 | Local number: 571-272-3150
For sign in and USPTO.gov account issues contact:
USPTO.gov account customer service
Hours: 8:30 am – 8 pm ET, Monday – Friday (except federal holidays)
Toll free: 1-800-786-9199 | Local number: 571-272-1000
TTY: 1-800-877-8339
Inventor and Entrepreneur Resources
https://www.uspto.gov/learning-and-resources/inventors-entrepreneurs-resources
Inventors Assistance Center (IAC)
The Inventors Assistance Center (IAC) provides patent information and services to the public. The IAC is staffed by former Supervisory Patent Examiners, experienced Primary Patent Examiners, various intellectual property specialists and attorneys who can answer general questions concerning patent examining policy and procedure.
The IAC is available Monday-Friday, 8:30AM to 8PM EDT, except for federal holidays or when the USPTO is otherwise closed.
Contact the IAC
Toll Free: 800-786-9199
Local: 571-272-1000
TTY: 800-877-8339
The MPEP can be accessed at the following web address: https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/index.html
Information about the Pro Se Assistance Program, which can aid inventors who file patent applications without the assistance of a registered attorney or agent, is available at the following web address:
hftps://www.uspto.gov/patents
COMMUNICATIONS VIA THE INTERNET AND AUTHORIZATION
Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant.
Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
The following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
A written authorization may be withdrawn by filing a signed paper clearly identifying the original authorization. The following is a sample form which may be used by applicant to withdraw the authorization:
"The authorization given on______, to the USPTO to communicate with me via the Internet is hereby withdrawn. I understand that the withdrawal is effective when approved rather than when received."