Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see ‘Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112’, filed 3/19/2026, with respect to claims 3, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of claims 3, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see ‘Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, filed 3/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 11-17 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered. The Examiner agrees that Chen does not disclose a connector that includes an absorber, therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1).
Additionally, in regards to the citation of Chen EP 0642190. In the first office action it is noted that Chen would be cited from the pdf meaning the attached pdf labelled EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf this pdf has paragraph numbers. The OA will be adjusted to be clearer.
The Examiner would like to clarify, in response to argument in paragraph four of ‘Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102’ that the antenna body is made up of multiple parts as stated by Chen Paragraph 0032, “The microstrip feedlines 134 and 136, the slots 116 and 117 formed in the ground plane 114, the frame 119, the dielectric substrate 108, and the FSS 122 form an integral antenna 144 for the radar system 100 while also forming part of an enclosure for the radar system 100” where the FSS has an aperture for the radar device Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 includes a transmit aperture 146 and receive aperture 148 each including a plurality of uniformly spaced holes 150.” In paragraph 9 the fastener and the microstrips both act as connectors and as cited Paragraph 0031, “Fasteners 140 connect the lower housing 104, the DSPC 118, the dielectric substrate 108, the frame 119, the FSS 122, the spacer 123, and the radome 126 into a compact integral unit” the fastener does connect all of the pieces claimed in the instant application. However, as admitted above the fastener themselves do not include an absorber.
Applicant’s arguments, see ‘Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, filed 3/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 3, 7, 9, 10, and 18 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. The Examiner agrees that Chen does not disclose a connector that includes an absorber, therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claim 1 is made in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 14, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 0642190 A1) [cited from EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf] further in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1).
Regarding claim 1 Chen discloses
A waveguide antenna for a motor vehicle, the waveguide antenna comprising: a printed circuit board (Paragraph 0033, “Both the IF/MC 138 and the microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 are fabricated on the bottom surface 112 of the substrate 108 which can be made of Alumina or Quartz. The ground plane 114 fabricated on the top surface 115 of the substrate 108 using metal, for example copper or gold.”);
an at least partially hollow antenna body with at least one opening (Fig 13b elements 116, 114, +Z space; Paragraph 0040, “Figures 13a and 13b illustrate the integral antenna 144 of the present invention in detail. The microstrip feedline 134 is etched on the bottom surface 112 of the dielectric substrate 108. The ground plane 114 is fabricated on the top surface 115 and includes the slots 116 and 117 (not shown in Figures 13a and 13b) formed therein. The FSS 122 is spaced (by the frame 123) above the ground plane 114 with air, acting as a dielectric, located there between”; Paragraph 0032, “The microstrip feedlines 134 and 136, the slots 116 and 117 formed in the ground plane 114, the frame 119, the dielectric substrate 108, and the FSS 122 form an integral antenna 144 for the radar system 100 while also forming part of an enclosure for the radar system 100”);
a connector (Paragraph 0031, “Fasteners 140 connect the lower housing 104, the DSPC 118, the dielectric substrate 108, the frame 119, the FSS 122, the spacer 123, and the radome 126 into a compact integral unit. The radome 126 can be attached to the spacer 123. Alternately, the radome 126 can include a plurality of holes for receiving the fasteners 140, or the spacer 123 can be formed integrally with the radome 126.”; Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 is positioned above the substrate 108. Slots 116 and 117 which are fed by the microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 transmit and receive electromagnetic energy. The microstrip feedlines 134 and 136, the slots 116 and 117 formed in the ground plane 114, the frame 119, the dielectric substrate 108, and the FSS 122 form an integral antenna 144 for the radar system 100 while also forming part of an enclosure for the radar system 100” where the microstrip feedlines acts as a connector; Paragraph 0028, “Referring to Figures 6 - 9, a compact built-in packaging system for a radar system 100 includes a lower electronics housing 104 with an integral connector 106.”);
and a cover body that at least partially covers the at least one opening of the antenna body, wherein the printed circuit board, the antenna body, the connector, and the cover body are arranged stacked along a stacking direction (The ‘connection’ references cited above; Figure 6 element 126 where the radome acts as a cover; Figure 6 elements 108, 112, 114, 115, 118, 119, 122, 126 where there are microstrip feedlines that act as a connector and 108, 112 and 118 act as pcbs), wherein the connector includes at least one connecting element that connects the connector, the printed circuit board, the antenna body, and the cover body to one another (Paragraph 0031, “Fasteners 140 connect the lower housing 104, the DSPC 118, the dielectric substrate 108, the frame 119, the FSS 122, the spacer 123, and the radome 126 into a compact integral unit; Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 is positioned above the substrate 108. Slots 116 and 117 which are fed by the microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 transmit and receive electromagnetic energy. The microstrip feedlines 134 and 136, the slots 116 and 117 formed in the ground plane 114, the frame 119, the dielectric substrate 108, and the FSS 122 form an integral antenna 144 for the radar system 100 while also forming part of an enclosure for the radar system 100”). Chen does not disclose wherein the connector includes an absorber
Speck discloses
Wherein the connector includes an absorber (Abstract, "The fastener is provided with a fastener head disposable within the panel bore. The fastener head has a tool engagement recess formed therein. The fastener is further provided with a RAM treatment layer disposed upon the fastener head" where RAM is radar absorptive material).
Chen discloses a fastener connecting the multiple parts of the radar device but it does not disclose that the fastener has an absorbing element. It would be advantageous to coat the fastener with absorbing layer to prevent potential signal interference as with the ‘rusty bolt effect.’ As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Speck to prevent signal interference.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the antenna body and/or the cover body are arranged between the absorber and the printed circuit board (Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 is a perforated plate made of metal or metal-coated plastic. The FSS 122 includes a transmit aperture 146 and a receive aperture 148 each including a plurality of uniformly spaced holes 150. The FSS 122 is positioned above the substrate 108” where a frequency selective surface acts as an absorber to prevent interference and the cover is above FSS 122).
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the waveguide antenna includes a separate electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) device that is arranged between the connector and the cover body (Figure 6 elements 126, 122, 114, 116, 117; Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 is a perforated plate made of metal or metal-coated plastic. The FSS 122 includes a transmit aperture 146 and a receive aperture 148 each including a plurality of uniformly spaced holes 150. The FSS 122 is positioned above the substrate 108. Slots 116 and 117 which are fed by the microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 transmit and receive electromagnetic energy” where the FSS [122] is between the radome [126] and the connector [microstrips going to 116, 117] and the FSS acts to control electromagnetic signals and prevent interference which is tantamount to an EMC device, additionally 122 is between the radome and the fastener), and wherein the separate EMC device entirely or partially overlaps the printed circuit board (Figure 6 elements 122, 108, 112, 116, 117 where 122 is separate from the cover but connected).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the antenna body overlaps the printed circuit board, and wherein the antenna body is electrically connected to a ground of the printed circuit board (Fig 13b elements 108, 114, 115, 116, 117, +Z space; Paragraph 0040, “Figures 13a and 13b illustrate the integral antenna 144 of the present invention in detail. The microstrip feedline 134 is etched on the bottom surface 112 of the dielectric substrate 108. The ground plane 114 is fabricated on the top surface 115 and includes the slots 116 and 117 (not shown in Figures 13a and 13b) formed therein. The FSS 122 is spaced (by the frame 123) above the ground plane 114 with air, acting as a dielectric, located there between”; Paragraph 0031, “The radar circuit 110 located on the bottom surface of the substrate 108 can include a MMIC transceiver 132, microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 connected to slots 116 and 117”).
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the antenna body is connected directly to the printed circuit board in a thermally conductive manner (Figure 6 elements 108, 114, 115, 116, 117 where the resonating slots 116 and 117 are built into the ground plane that is connected to the pcb).
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1, wherein the antenna body has a metal layer at least on a surface thereof, and wherein the antenna body is made from a plastic (Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 is a perforated plate made of metal or metal-coated plastic. The FSS 122 includes a transmit aperture 146 and a receive aperture 148 each including a plurality of uniformly spaced holes 150. The FSS 122 is positioned above the substrate 108. Slots 116 and 117 which are fed by the microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 transmit and receive electromagnetic energy. The microstrip feedlines 134 and 136, the slots 116 and 117 formed in the ground plane 114, the frame 119, the dielectric substrate 108, and the FSS 122 form an integral antenna 144 for the radar system 100 while also forming part of an enclosure for the radar system 100” where the FSS is the top part of the radiating body).
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen further discloses a motor vehicle comprising at least one waveguide antenna, wherein the at least one waveguide antenna is the waveguide antenna according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0046, "Referring to Figures 14a and 14b, a vehicle 300 incorporating the compact packaging radar system 100 is illustrated"; Figure 6 element 100 whose parts are used in claim 1).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the at least one connecting element extends from a bottom surface of the connector in a direction towards the printed circuit board (Figure 9 element 108 and 140 where the connecting element is descending towards the pcb element 108).
Claim(s) 3, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 0642190 A1) [cited from EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf] further in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1) further in view of Tang (US 11682844 B2).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen discloses wherein the waveguide antenna includes a cooling and EMC device, and wherein the cooling and electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) device is arranged at least partially between the printed circuit board and the antenna body (Paragraph 0040, “Figures 13a and 13b illustrate the integral antenna 144 of the present invention in detail. The microstrip feedline 134 is etched on the bottom surface 112 of the dielectric substrate 108. The ground plane 114 is fabricated on the top surface 115 and includes the slots 116 and 117 (not shown in Figures 13a and 13b) formed therein. The FSS 122 is spaced (by the frame 123) above the ground plane 114 with air, acting as a dielectric, located there between” where the ground plane can act as a heatsink and the slots control electromagnetic interference by mitigating cross coupling and the cavity and 122 is part of the antenna body). The combination of Chen and Speck does not disclose wherein the cooling and EMC device is connected in a thermally conductive manner to the printed circuit board and/or the antenna body.
Tang discloses
Wherein the cooling and EMC device is connected in a thermally conductive manner to the printed circuit board and/or the antenna body (Column 3 lines 43-56 , "A heatsink antenna array structure, includes the fin-shaped metal heatsink 7, the metal bottom base of heatsink 1, and the substrate…The upper surface of substrate is connected with the metal bottom base of heatsink 1, the lower surface is connected with a chip (14). The chip (14) works as heat source. The metal bottom base of heatsink 1 has the rectangular through-cavity array 8 as radiation aperture. The substrate contains multiple metal layers and dielectric layers. The top metal layer has the rectangular apertures 9 corresponding to the rectangular through-cavity array 8 in the metal bottom base. The dielectric layers contain metallic vias to form the substrate integrated waveguide structure" where the radiating aperture also acts as a thermal via).
Chen discloses a ground plane that can act as a heatsink and slots for radiating that prevent cross coupling but it does not specify if the ground plane is in thermal connection with the pcb. Tang discloses connections between the pcb and the heat sink that allow for transmitting and thermal connection. This would be advantageous for Chen as with a better thermal connection the antenna has improved its heat tolerance which is good in the environment of a vehicle. Improved heat tolerance also allows for higher power components. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Tang to add in better heat conduction for improved heat tolerance in a vehicle environment.
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 3. Chen further discloses wherein the connector integrally or monolithically, includes a multiplicity of the at least one connecting element (Paragraph 0031, “The radar circuit 110 located on the bottom surface of the substrate 108 can include a MMIC transceiver 132, microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 connected to slots 116 and 117” where the feedlines are etched on the substrate and are an integral connection) and/or wherein the at least one connecting element includes a free end with a deformation, the deformation connecting the connector, the absorber the cover body, the cooling and EMC device, the antenna body, and/or the printed circuit board to one another.
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 3. Chen further discloses wherein the printed circuit board includes at least one transmitter and/or at least one receiver, wherein the at least one transmitter and/or the at least one receiver are designed to transmit signals into and/or receive signals from the antenna body (Paragraph 0031, “The radar circuit 110 located on the bottom surface of the substrate 108 can include a MMIC transceiver 132, microstrip feedlines 134 and 136 connected to slots 116 and 117” where 116 and 117 are a part of the antenna body).
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 11. Chen further discloses wherein the cooling and EMC device has at least one recess for the at least one transmitter and/or the at least one receiver (Paragraph 0040, “The ground plane 114 is fabricated on the top surface 115 and includes the slots 116 and 117 (not shown in Figures 13a and 13b) formed therein. The FSS 122 is spaced (by the frame 123) above the ground plane 114 with air, acting as a dielectric, located there between” where the ground plane is made of copper and can act as a heatsink and the slots prevent cross coupling; Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 is a perforated plate made of metal or metal-coated plastic. The FSS 122 includes a transmit aperture 146 and a receive aperture 148 each including a plurality of uniformly spaced holes 150”).
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 3. Chen further discloses wherein the waveguide antenna has at least one thermally conductive heat transfer element between the printed circuit board and the antenna body (Figure 6 elements 108, 114, 116, 117, +Z space/cavity from 119 where the ground plane is between the pcb and the cavity/resonating body of the antenna body), between the printed circuit board and the cooling and EMC device, or between the printed circuit board and the component holder of the motor vehicle.
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 3. Chen further discloses wherein the connector, the absorber, the cover body, the cooling and EMC device, the antenna body, and/or the printed circuit board are planar and have a base area of equal size, orthogonal to the stacking direction (Figure 6 elements 108, 114, 116, 117, 119, 122, 126 and Fig 7 the microstrip feedlines 134, 136).
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 3. Chen further discloses wherein the waveguide antenna further comprises a body which is a housing, wherein the body at least partially encloses the connector, the absorber, the cover body, the cooling and EMC device, the antenna body, and/or the printed circuit board (Paragraph 0006, “Conventional methods for constructing a radar sensor use electronics and an antenna which are separate components. The electronics are typically packaged inside a sealed conductive box for environmental protection and electromagnetic shielding. The electronics and the antenna are then assembled”; Figure 6 elements 108, 114, 116, 117, 119, 122, 126 and Fig 7 the microstrip feedlines 134, 136 where the contents of the device i.e., Figure 6 are packaged inside a housing also seen as the radar device inside dome 306 of figure 14b ), or wherein the body is connected in a thermally conductive manner to the connector, the absorber, the cover body, the cooling, the EMC device, the antenna body, and/or the printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 0642190 A1) [cited from EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf] further in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1) further in view of Tang (US 11682844 B2) further in view of Huang (CN 103500885 B) [cited from CN_103500885_B_FullCopy.pdf].
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 3. Chen discloses wherein the connector (as cited in claim 1), the absorber (Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 includes a transmit aperture 146 and a receive aperture 148 each including a plurality of uniformly spaced holes 150. The FSS 122 is positioned above the substrate 108” where a frequency selective surface acts as an absorber to prevent interference), the cover body (as cited in claim 1), the cooling and EMC device (Paragraph 0040, “The ground plane 114 is fabricated on the top surface 115 and includes the slots 116 and 117 (not shown in Figures 13a and 13b) formed therein. The FSS 122 is spaced (by the frame 123) above the ground plane 114 with air, acting as a dielectric, located there between” where the ground plane is made of copper and can act as a heatsink and the slots prevent cross coupling; Paragraph 0032, “The FSS 122 is a perforated plate made of metal or metal-coated plastic. The FSS 122 includes a transmit aperture 146 and a receive aperture 148 each including a plurality of uniformly spaced holes 150. The FSS 122 is positioned above the substrate 108. Slots 116 and 117” where the FSS acts to control electromagnetic signals and prevent interference which is tantamount to an EMC device), the antenna body, and/or the printed circuit board (as cited in claim 1). The combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang does not disclose that the different components are at least partially adhesive-bonded to one another.
Huang discloses
The different components are at least partially adhesive-bonded to one another (Page 4 Paragraph 2, "Referring to FIG. 2, left-handed materials coating 2, parasitic patch layer 3, Rohacell31HF the foam support layer 4, antenna, horizontal polarization coplanar waveguide feed layer 5 are adhered together by the conductive adhesive").
Chen discloses all the electronic components of claim 1 but Chen does not disclose that they are connected together through an adhesive. Using an adhesive to attach all the components together could be advantageous in that it save space and reduces the weight of the device. So, the device will be easier to place in a vehicle and have better portability. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Huang to use adhesives instead of screws and bolts to save space and reduce weight.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 0642190 A1) [cited from EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf] further in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1) further in view of Tang (US 11682844 B2) further in view of Wintermantel (US 20210194115 A1).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 3. The combination of Chen, Speck, and Tang does not disclose wherein the at least one connecting element extends through mutually aligned connecting holes in the connector, the cover body, the cooling and EMC device, the antenna body and/or the printed circuit board opposite the stacking direction.
Wintermantel discloses
Wherein the at least one connecting element extends through mutually aligned connecting holes in the connector, the cover body, the cooling and EMC device, the antenna body and/or the printed circuit board opposite the stacking direction (Figure 3 horizontal pathways orthogonal to the stacking direction of Chen; Paragraph 0029, "Due to said disadvantages of circuit board-based antennas, so-called waveguide antennas are increasingly being considered; antennas and their supply cables are realized with the aid of waveguides which, in the simplest case, constitute rectangular hollow spaces having metal or metallized walls. Such an antenna can be executed as a cuboid plastic part (see FIG. 2), wherein there are openings for emission on the front side depicted in the left image, openings for feeding on the back side depicted in the right image and within hollow space structures").
Chen discloses connecting paths through a pcb but it goes in the direction of the stacking. Typically, multiple connections, for more antennas, on the same side of the processor/chip would have to go farther and would require longer feedlines. Horizontal vias or connections that go through the pcb facilitates more space on the chip side of the pcb and simultaneously more slots on the opposite side of the pcb, where going through would have shorter distances with less signal loss. With more slots, the waveguide antenna could improve its gain leading to better accuracy on the road. Additionally, internal horizontal connections allow for a more compact system. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Wintermantel to add horizontal paths through the pcb for the connecting elements to facilitate more radiating slots and a more compact system.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 0642190 A1) [cited from EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf] further in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1) further in view of Viana (US 20020190891 A1).
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. Chen discloses wherein the waveguide antenna or the antenna body includes at least one fastener (Paragraph 0031, “Fasteners 140 connect the lower housing 104, the DSPC 118, the dielectric substrate 108, the frame 119, the FSS 122, the spacer 123, and the radome 126 into a compact integral unit.”). The combination of Chen and Speck does not disclose wherein the at least one fastener is designed to fasten the waveguide antenna to a component holder of the motor vehicle.
Viana discloses
Wherein the at least one fastener is designed to fasten the waveguide antenna to a component holder of the motor vehicle (Paragraph 0076, " the vehicle and the radar sensor 258 is attached to the clip 284 with hook and loop fasteners. In this manner, sensor 258 is removably coupled and thus portably mounted to the vehicle").
Chen discloses fasteners and it discloses the radar attached to the vehicle but it does not disclose that the radar is attached with a fastener. The invention using a fastener for the attachment between the radar and the vehicle is advantageous in that it facilitates the implementation of the device, since it does not go into details about how the attachment is made. Additionally, with fasteners the radar device is not permanently attached allowing for it to be removed facilitating easier repair. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Viana to use a fastener for the attachment between the radar and the vehicle to facilitate easier radar removal and repair.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 0642190 A1) [cited from EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf] further in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1) further in view of Viana (US 20020190891 A1) further in view of Ferri (US 12516556 B2).
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The motor vehicle according to claim 17 and a component holder (Figure 14b elements 306 where the radar is in the dome). Chen does not disclose wherein the motor vehicle comprises a component holder for fastening the waveguide antenna, and wherein the component holder includes a heat sink.
Viana discloses
Wherein the motor vehicle comprises a component holder for fastening the waveguide antenna (Paragraph 0076, " the vehicle and the radar sensor 258 is attached to the clip 284 with hook and loop fasteners. In this manner, sensor 258 is removably coupled and thus portably mounted to the vehicle").
Chen discloses fasteners and it discloses the radar attached to the vehicle but it does not disclose that the radar is attached with a fastener. The invention using a fastener for the attachment between the radar and the vehicle is advantageous in that it facilitates the implementation of the device, since it does not go into details about how the attachment is made. Additionally, with fasteners the radar device is not permanently attached allowing for it to be removed facilitating easier repair. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Viana to use a fastener for the attachment between the radar and the vehicle to facilitate easier radar removal and repair.
Ferri discloses
Wherein the component holder includes a heat sink (Figure 20 elements 52, 58; Column 11 lines 26-29, "The heat sink 58 may include an indented portion 94 that protrudes into the main compartment 80 and to contact the radar module 52 for conducting heat therefrom").
Chen discloses a holder and a radar device in a holder but it does not disclose that the holder has a heatsink. A radar device, especially in an environment for a vehicle, would be improved with a cooling device to maintain performance in high ambient temperatures. For example, cars in southern states like Texas can reach high temperatures and those temperatures can adversely affect the radar device. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Ferri to add in a heat sink to maintain optimal function in high temperature environments.
Claim(s) 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 0642190 A1) [cited from EP_0642190A1_FullCopy.pdf] further in view of Speck (US 6315485 B1) further in view of Moghe (US 5127783 A).
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Chen and Speck discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 1. The combination of Chen and Speck does not disclose wherein the absorber is incorporated into a material of the connector.
Moghe discloses
Wherein the absorber is incorporated into a material of the connector (Colum 16 lines 61-66, "Where a carbon fiber reinforced carbon matrix composite bolt or cap screw is desired, the assembly discussed and depicted with request to FIGS. 3G and 3H is subsequently pyrolyzed and subjected to known infiltration/densification procedures for the manufacture of carbon/carbon composite materials" where carbon fiber will absorb radar).
Chen discloses a fastener/connector but does not disclose that its material contains absorbing material. Chen incorporating the absorbing material into the fastener would be advantageous for lowering the maintenance required for applying an absorbing layer to the fastener. Therefore, the radar mitigation will be less dependent on the weathering or torque stress that can affect the absorbing layer. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Moghe to lower the maintenance for an absorbing fastener.
Regarding claim 21 the combination of Chen, Speck, and Moghe discloses
The waveguide antenna according to claim 20. The combination of Chen and Speck does not disclose wherein the connector is formed of a thermoplastic plastic and the absorber is formed of metal and/or carbon particles that are incorporated into the thermoplastic plastic.
Moghe discloses
Wherein the connector is formed of a thermoplastic plastic and the absorber is formed of metal and/or carbon particles that are incorporated into the thermoplastic plastic (Column 10 lines 26-29, "The outer cylindrical surface of core 12 may be coated with or formed of a thermoplastic or thermosettable polymer capable of being pyrolyzed into carbon matrix"; Colum 16 lines 61-66, "Where a carbon fiber reinforced carbon matrix composite bolt or cap screw is desired, the assembly discussed and depicted with request to FIGS. 3G and 3H is subsequently pyrolyzed and subjected to known infiltration/densification procedures for the manufacture of carbon/carbon composite materials" where carbon fiber will absorb radar).
Chen discloses a fastener/connector but does not disclose that its material contains a thermoplastic. Chen incorporating a thermoplastic into the fastener would be advantageous for making the fastener lighter and more robust against heat. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Moghe so that the fastener was lighter and more heat resistant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER DAVON DOZE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648