DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites “…in response to detecting a motion of the support ar.”. This appears to be a typographical error and should recite “…in response to detecting a motion of the support arm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 11, and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (pub # 20190056601).
Consider claim 1. Lee teaches A wearable electronic device, (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0055, head-mounted display). comprising:
a display; (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0057, display module 1).
a support arm attached to the display, (Figs. 1 and 2 as well as paragraph 0056, support legs 3 attached to the display module 1).
the support arm defining a sleeve (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0094, a compartment or sleeve housing a cushion advance/retreat mechanism 60 and motor 62 that are installed in the support leg 3).
and comprising an extendable portion movable within the sleeve, (Figs. 4 and 5 as well as paragraph 0097, motor shaft 61 designed to advance and retreat).
the support arm having a retracted state (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0098, a retreat mode for moving the motor shaft 61 in the inward direction of the motor 62 as shown in FIG. 4).
and an extended state; (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0098, an advance mode for moving the motor shaft 61 in an outward direction of the motor 62 as shown in FIG. 5).
an inertial measurement unit (IMU) attached to the wearable electronic device; (paragraph 0101, motion sensors 6 and 7).
and an actuator connected to the extendable portion; (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0095, The motor 62 is an actuator for operating the cushion 50 controlled by the controller 8).
wherein the actuator transitions the extendable portion from the retracted state to the extended state (paragraph 0095, The motor 62 is an actuator for operating the cushion 50 controlled by the controller 8. Paragraph 0098, The motor 62 may have an advance mode for moving the motor shaft 61 in an outward direction of the motor 62 as shown in FIG. 5 and a retreat mode for moving the motor shaft 61 in the inward direction of the motor 62 as shown in FIG. 4).
in response to a signal received by the actuator from the IMU. (paragraph 0102, The acceleration sensor 6 may measure the acceleration of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The gyro sensor 7 may measure the angular speed of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. Paragraph 0113, The controller 8 may determine that the head-mounted display is currently in the static situation when new motion change is not sensed by the motion sensors 6 and 7 or motion is insignificant and control the load adjuster 5 and, more particularly, the motor 62 in the normal mode such that the pressing load caused by the support leg 3 is low. Paragraph 0114, The controller 8 may determine that the head-mounted display is currently in the dynamic situation when new motion change is sensed by the motion sensors 6 and 7 and such motion is equal to or greater than a predetermined value and control the load adjuster 5 and, more particularly, the motor 62 in the pressing mode such that the pressing load caused by the support leg 3 is high).
Consider claim 13. Lee teaches A support arm, (Figs. 1 and 2 as well as paragraph 0056, support legs 3 attached to the display module 1). comprising:
a static section; (Fig. 21 and paragraph 0185, connection leg 200).
a movable section connected to the static section, (Fig. 21 and paragraph 0185, moving leg 210).
the movable section configured to dynamically vary a length of the support arm; (Figs. 21 and 23 as well as paragraphs 0195 and 0196, When the moving leg 210 advances, a distance L1 between the rear end of the moving leg 210 and the rear end of the connection leg 200 may be small. When the moving leg 210 retreats, the distance L2 between the rear end of the moving leg 210 and the rear end of the connection leg 200 may be longer).
and an inertial measurement unit (IMU), (paragraph 0101, motion sensors 6 and 7).
the movable section extending in response to a signal from the IMU. (paragraph 0186, The load adjuster 5 may include an actuator 220 installed in any one of the connection leg 200 and the moving leg 210 and controlled by the controller 8. Paragraph 0102, The acceleration sensor 6 may measure the acceleration of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The gyro sensor 7 may measure the angular speed of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. Paragraph 0109, The controller 8 may control the load adjuster 5 according to the sensed results of the motion sensors 6 and 7).
Consider claim 18. Lee teaches A wearable electronic device, (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0055, head-mounted display). comprising:
a display; (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0057, display module 1).
and a support arm attached to the display, (Figs. 1 and 2 as well as paragraph 0056, support legs 3 attached to the display module 1).
the support arm defining a sleeve (Fig. 11 and paragraph 0135, a compartment or sleeve housing a cushion advance/retreat mechanism 60 that is installed in the support leg 3).
and comprising an extendable portion movable within the sleeve, (Fig. 11 and paragraph 0135, cushion 50 to advance or retreat).
the support arm having a retracted state (Fig. 11 and paragraph 0137, The air regulator 72 may be controlled to be in the normal mode for contracting the airbag 74 by the controller 8 as shown in FIG. 11).
and an extended state; (Fig. 12 and paragraph 0137, The air regulator 72 may be controlled to be in the pressing mode for inflating the airbag 74 by the controller 8 as shown in FIG. 12).
wherein the support arm defines a pressurized chamber adjacent to the extendible portion; (Fig. 11 and paragraph 0135, The present embodiment may include an airbag 74 for inflating or contracting the cushion advance/retreat mechanism 60 by air to enable the cushion 50 to advance or retreat and an air regulator 72 for regulating air of the airbag 74).
and wherein the pressurized chamber exerts a force on the extendable portion in response to a detected motion. (Fig. 12 and paragraph 0141, In the pressing mode of the air regulator 72, the air regulator 72 may supply air to the airbag 74 to inflate the airbag 74 as shown in FIG. 12, and the airbag 74 may be inflated between the support leg 3 and the cushion 50 to press the cushion 50 toward the wearer's head H. Paragraph 0137, The air regulator 72 may be controlled to be in the pressing mode for inflating the airbag 74 by the controller 8. Paragraph 0102, The acceleration sensor 6 may measure the acceleration of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The gyro sensor 7 may measure the angular speed of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. Paragraph 0109, The controller 8 may control the load adjuster 5 according to the sensed results of the motion sensors 6 and 7).
Consider claim 2. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the support arm is a first support arm, the extendable portion is a first extendable portion, and the actuator is a first actuator; (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0064, left support leg 3A includes cushion 50 comprising motor shaft 61 and motor 62).
the wearable electronic device further comprising a second support arm attached to the display, the second support arm comprising a second extendable portion, and a second actuator connected to the second extendible portion. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0064, right support leg 3B includes cushion 50 comprising motor shaft 61 and motor 62).
Consider claim 3. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 2, wherein a distance between the first extendable portion and the second extendable portion is greater in the retracted state than in the extended state. (Fig. 2 when right and left cushions 50 are retracted the distance between them will be greater than when they are extended).
Consider claim 4. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the IMU generates the signal in response to a detected motion. (paragraph 0101, The head-mounted display may further include motion sensors 6 and 7 for sensing motion of the wearer's head H).
Consider claim 5. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the actuator comprises a mechanical actuator engaged with the extendable portion. (paragraph 0097, The motor 62 may be a linear motor for enabling the motor shaft 61 to advance and retreat. The motor 62 may enable linear reciprocating movement of the motor shaft 61 upon being driven, thus a mechanical actuator).
Consider claim 6. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the extendable portion defines a radius of curvature in the extended state. (Fig. 5, deformation part 52 forms a radius of curvature when the motor shaft 61 is extended).
Consider claim 7. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the support arm defines a pressurized chamber adjacent to the extendible portion; (Fig. 11 and paragraph 0135, The present embodiment may include an airbag 74 for inflating or contracting the cushion advance/retreat mechanism 60 by air to enable the cushion 50 to advance or retreat and an air regulator 72 for regulating air of the airbag 74).
and the actuator causes the pressurized chamber to exert a force on the extendable portion in response to the signal. (Fig. 12 and paragraph 0141, In the pressing mode of the air regulator 72, the air regulator 72 may supply air to the airbag 74 to inflate the airbag 74 as shown in FIG. 12, and the airbag 74 may be inflated between the support leg 3 and the cushion 50 to press the cushion 50 toward the wearer's head H. Paragraph 0137, The air regulator 72 may be controlled to be in the pressing mode for inflating the airbag 74 by the controller 8. Paragraph 0102, The acceleration sensor 6 may measure the acceleration of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The gyro sensor 7 may measure the angular speed of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. Paragraph 0109, The controller 8 may control the load adjuster 5 according to the sensed results of the motion sensors 6 and 7).
Consider claim 10. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein: a proximal end of the support arm is connected to the display; (Fig. 2, proximal ends of support legs 3A and 3B are connected to display unit 1).
and the extendable portion is located at a distal end of the support arm. (Fig. 2, cushions 50 comprising the motor shaft 61 is located at the distal ends of the support legs 3A and 3B).
Consider claim 11. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the extendable portion is bi-stable. (Paragraph 0098, The motor 62 may have an advance mode for moving the motor shaft 61 in an outward direction of the motor 62 as shown in FIG. 5 and a retreat mode for moving the motor shaft 61 in the inward direction of the motor 62 as shown in FIG. 4, thus bi-stable).
Consider claim 14. Lee further teaches The support arm of claim 13, wherein the IMU is configured to generate the signal in response to detecting a motion of the support ar. Paragraph 0102, The acceleration sensor 6 may measure the acceleration of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The gyro sensor 7 may measure the angular speed of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The head-mounted display includes the support legs 3A and 3B).
Consider claim 15. Lee further teaches The support arm of claim 13, further comprising a mechanical actuator connected to the movable section. (paragraph 0097, The motor 62 may be a linear motor for enabling the motor shaft 61 to advance and retreat. The motor 62 may enable linear reciprocating movement of the motor shaft 61 upon being driven, thus a mechanical actuator).
Consider claim 16. The support arm of claim 13, further comprising an electrical actuator connected to the movable section. (paragraph 0186, The load adjuster 5 may include an actuator 220 installed in any one of the connection leg 200 and the moving leg 210 and controlled by the controller 8. Paragraph 0107, The controller 8 controls whole operation of the head-mounted display in addition to operation related to the application programs. The controller 8 may process signals, data or data input or output through the above-described components or execute the application programs stored in the memory 13, thereby providing or processing suitable information or functions to the wearer, thus an electrical actuator).
Consider claim 17. Lee further teaches The support arm of claim 13, wherein the static section defines an internal volume sized to receive the movable section. (Figs. 22 and 24, connection arm 200 comprises an internal volume to receive the moving load 222).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (pub # 20190056601) in view of Gui et al (pub # 20200174281).
Consider claim 9. Lee does not specifically disclose The wearable electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor configured to detect a removal of the wearable electronic device. However Gui et al in at least paragraph 0052 discloses a wearable electronic device 100 that includes a off-detection functionality 126 for detecting when the wearable electronic device 100 is in an unworn state (e.g., removal of wearable electronic device 100 from the user's face or head). Paragraph 0053 further discloses “To perform on-detection 124 and off-detection 126, processing apparatus 110 may analyze measurements from a variety of inertial sensors 116, proximity sensors 118, touch sensors 120, microphone 122, and/or other sensors or input devices in sensing apparatus 102”, thus a sensor configured to detect a removal of the wearable electronic device. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Gui et al with the system and method of Lee so that the wearable electronic device may be powered down and/or placed into a low-power mode to conserve battery while the wearable electronic device is not being used (Gui et al paragraph 0106).
Claim(s) 12, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (pub # 20190056601) in view of Tzvieli et al (pub # 20210318558).
Consider claim 12. Lee does not specifically disclose The wearable electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a camera secured to the wearable device, the camera configured to determine a position of the wearable electronic device relative to a head of a user. However Tzvieli et al in at least paragraphs 0439 and 0440 discloses a head-mounted device comprising a camera configured to capture images of a second region on the face of the user and a computer that calculates, based on the images, an orientation of the device relative to the face, thus a camera determining a position of the wearable electronic device relative to a head of a user. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Tzvieli et al with the system and method of Lee in order to provide a more accurate method of determining the position of the wearable electronic device on the user’s head.
Consider claim 19. Lee further teaches The wearable electronic device of claim 18, further comprising:
an actuator connected to the pressurized chamber; (paragraph 0137, The air regulator 72 may be controlled to be in the normal mode for contracting the airbag 74 by the controller 8).
and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) communicatively connected to the actuator; (paragraph 0102, The acceleration sensor 6 may measure the acceleration of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The gyro sensor 7 may measure the angular speed of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8).
wherein the IMU transmits a signal to the actuator when a motion is detected, (paragraph 0102, The acceleration sensor 6 may measure the acceleration of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8. The gyro sensor 7 may measure the angular speed of the head-mounted display and output the measured value to the controller 8).
the actuator causing the pressurized chamber to exert the force in response to the signal. (Fig. 12 and paragraph 0137, The air regulator 72 may be controlled to be in the pressing mode for inflating the airbag 74 by the controller 8 as shown in FIG. 12).
Lee does not specifically disclose a camera. However Tzvieli et al in at least paragraphs 0439 and 0440 discloses a head-mounted device comprising a camera configured to capture images of a second region on the face of the user. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Tzvieli et al with the system and method of Lee in order to provide a more accurate method of determining the position of the wearable electronic device on the user’s head.
Consider claim 20. Lee does not specifically disclse The wearable electronic device of claim 19, wherein the camera is configured to determine an orientation of the wearable electronic device relative to a head of a user. However Tzvieli et al in at least paragraphs 0439 and 0440 discloses a head-mounted device comprising a camera configured to capture images of a second region on the face of the user and a computer that calculates, based on the images, an orientation of the device relative to the face, thus a camera determining a position of the wearable electronic device relative to a head of a user. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Tzvieli et al with the system and method of Lee in order to provide a more accurate method of determining the position of the wearable electronic device on the user’s head.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 8. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious The wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the extendable portion further comprises a mass portion; and the extendable portion moves in response to a change in an orientation of the wearable electronic device relative to a gravitational vector.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624