DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 11-19 in the reply filed on 08/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/20/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brundage (US 2016/0137333 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Brundage discloses blanks and methods for forming containers having stacking platforms comprising a first side (138), a second side (122), a back side (130), a first bottom flap (192), and a second bottom flap (184); folding the first side and second side ninety degrees towards one another relative to the back side (see Figures 2-4); folding the first bottom flap ninety degrees towards second side (see Fig. 4); folding the second bottom flap ninety degrees towards the first side; and engaging a coupling feature (Examiner considers the coupling feature to be the engagement of locking tabs 250 and 222 with slots 214 and 216) between the first bottom flap and second bottom flap to maintain the container in a folded configuration while providing a substantially planar surface along both the first bottom flap and the second bottom flap.
Regarding claim 12, Brundage discloses a method further comprising folding a center bottom flap (188) extending from the back side ninety degrees towards the first bottom flap and the second bottom flap (see Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, Brundage discloses a method further comprising coupling the center bottom flap to both the first bottom flap and the second bottom flap (via slots 216 and 214) such that the center bottom flap, first bottom flap, and second bottom flap are coupled to one another in a substantially planar configuration.
Regarding claims 14-15, Brundage discloses a method wherein the coupling feature comprises a male dovetail feature (258/260/262) of the first bottom flap coupled to a female dovetail feature (228/230/232) of the second dovetail flap. Examiner considers the indentions to form “dovetail” features in the respective bottom flaps.
Claim(s) 11-13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drummond et al. (US 12145770 B2; hereinafter Drummond).
Regarding claim 11, Drummond discloses a blank for forming a shipping carton with an integrated display tray and method for making comprising a first side (116), a second side (136), a back side (162), a first bottom flap (118), and a second bottom flap (138); folding the first side and second side ninety degrees towards one another relative to the back side (see Figures 3-6); folding the first bottom flap ninety degrees towards second side (see Figures 5-6); folding the second bottom flap ninety degrees towards the first side; and engaging a coupling feature (Examiner considers the coupling feature to be the engagement of adhesive on glue flaps 120 and 140 to form the bottom) between the first bottom flap and second bottom flap to maintain the container in a folded configuration while providing a substantially planar surface along both the first bottom flap and the second bottom flap (see Col 3 lines 25-55; and Col 4 lines 37-65).
Regarding claim 12, Drummond discloses a method further comprising folding a center bottom flap (102) extending from the back side ninety degrees towards the first bottom flap and the second bottom flap (see Figures 1-6).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, Drummond discloses a method further comprising coupling the center bottom flap to both the first bottom flap and the second bottom flap (Col 4 lines 37-65) such that the center bottom flap, first bottom flap, and second bottom flap are coupled to one another in a substantially planar configuration.
Regarding claims 16-17, Drummond discloses a method further comprising folding a first outer flap (124) about 180 degrees relative to the first side and folding a second outer flap (144) about 180 degrees relative to the second side to form respective first and second angled edges there along when in the folded configuration (see Figures 3-5; Examiner notes that the top edge of each respective flap is angled).
Regarding claim 18, Drummond discloses a method further comprising applying an adhesive between the first outer flap and the first side and between the second outer flap and the second side to hold the first and second outer flap against the respective first or second side in the folded configuration (Col 3 lines 25-55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734