DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the carbonaceous negative polarity active material” which should be amended to read “the carbonaceous negative
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “and the half width of the peak having the mode value is 0.3 or more and 0.6 or less”, which renders the claim vague and indefinite, as it is not clear to which peak the limitation refers, as there are two, one at the D band and one at the G band, and the 0.3 and 0.6 carry no units, and so it is unclear how the half width is measured, and the specification does not clarify the meaning of this limitation, and so one skilled in the art would not be apprised of the intended scope of the claim.
For the purposes of examination, the examiner understands this limitation to more precisely require “the ratio of the half width of the peaks having the mode value is 0.3 or more and 0.6 or less”, and the examiner suggests such a similar amendment to correct these issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20240313223A1, hereafter Yushin, in view of Published Application US20230352651A1, hereafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Yushin discloses a negative electrode active material layer ([0071] battery anode coating) comprising a carbonaceous negative electrode active material ([0066] graphite active material particles),
wherein in the frequency distribution of D/G of the carbonaceous negative electrode active material, which is the ratio of the peak intensity of the D band to the peak intensity of the G band, obtained by Raman mapping measurement, the mode value is 0.50 or more and 0.80 or less ([0162] D/G peak intensity ratio of from about 0.50 to about 0.80), and the ratio of the half widths of the peaks having the mode value is 0.3 or more and 0.6 or less ([0162] FWHM of D band of 30-90 cm-1; FWHM of G band of 5-105 cm-1; thus, for example a FWHM of intensity peak at D of 40 cm-1 and a FWHM of intensity peak at G of 20 cm-1 would give a D/G half width ratio of 0.5).
Yushin is silent on wherein the negative electrode active material layer has an orientation I004/I110 of 1.00 or more and 2.00 or less as measured by X-ray diffractometry.
In the analogous art of carbonaceous negative electrode materials for secondary batteries, Lee discloses wherein the negative electrode active material layer has an orientation I004/I110 of 1.00 or more and 2.00 or less as measured by X-ray diffractometry ([0056] I(110)/I(004) of 0.8 or 0.7 or less, which would be I(004)/I(110) of 1.25 or 1.43 or more, which overlaps with the claimed range of between 1.00 or more and 2.00 or less. ‘In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists’ (MPEP 2144.05 (I)); [0056] When the negative electrode has I(110)/I(004) of about 0.1 or greater, DC internal resistance may not be increased and rate capabilities and particularly, high rate cycle-life characteristics may be improved).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Yushin to select an intensity ratio I004/I110 of 1.25 or 1.43 or more for the negative electrode active material layer as disclosed by Lee in order to suppress an increase in DC internal resistance and to improve rate capabilities, and particularly high rate cycle-life characteristics, as suggested by Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Yushin discloses wherein D50 particle size of the carbonaceous negative active material measured by laser diffraction method is 17.0 µm or less ([0156] D50 of suitable graphite ranges from about 0.025 µm to about 10 µm).
Regarding claim 3, Yushin discloses wherein the carbonaceous negative electrode active material is graphite ([0066] graphite active material particles).
Regarding claim 4, Yushin discloses wherein the density of the negative electrode active material layer is 1.2g/cc or more and 1.6g/cc or less ([0071] coating density of anode is 1.2g/cc to 1.4g/cc).
Regarding claim 5, Yushin discloses a secondary battery ([0029] lithium-ion battery) comprising at least the negative electrode active material layer according to Claim 1 (see above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1), a separator ([0029] separator), and a positive electrode active material layer ([0029] cathode).
Conclusion
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754