DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: the claim recites, “driving the plugging head (31) to be away from the first liquid outlet (11) when the misaligned gap (21) is at least partially connected to the first liquid outlet (11).”
Describing the gap (21) as being at least “partially connected” to the first outlet when the plugging head moved away (i.e., when first outlet is open) is not an accurate way of describing the relationship and is likely a translation error. Instead of at least “partially connected”, the examiner assumes the applicant means something along the lines of, at least “partially aligned.” This is how the examiner shall interpret the claim when applying prior art.
The applicant is required to provide correction and/or clarification.
Regarding claim 11: similar to the above discussion, the phrase, “when the misaligned gap (21) is connected to the first liquid outlet (11)” shall be interpreted, ““when the misaligned gap (21) is aligned with the first liquid outlet (11).”
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong (US 2021/0354888).
Regarding claim 1: see the above §112 discussion. Wong discloses a lid structure, comprising: a lid body (at 112, fig 2a) in which a first liquid outlet (11) and a second liquid outlet (12) are constructed, the second liquid outlet (123, fig 2a) being provided with a suction nozzle (114, fig 9D); a rotating cover (131) rotatably disposed on a side, facing the suction nozzle, of the lid body so as to be capable of bending the suction nozzle (¶0074) during rotation; the rotating cover being provided with a misaligned gap (141, fig 2a) so that the suction nozzle rebounds at the misaligned gap (¶0077, figs 9b-9c) to reset; a plugging assembly (150, fig 2a) detachably disposed on a side, away from the rotating cover, of the lid body, the plugging assembly being provided with a plugging head (152, fig 6) capable of plugging the first liquid outlet (¶0074); and a driving assembly (134/135, figs 5a and 6) capable of synchronously rotating with the rotating cover and driving the plugging head to be away from the first liquid outlet when the misaligned gap is at least partially aligned to the first liquid outlet (¶¶0074-0076, figs 8a-8c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 2021/0354888), as applied above to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2: Wong, as applied above, discloses wherein the lid body is provided with a shaft hole (121, figs 3a-3b), a pin shaft (i.e., shaft that extends from bottom of 131, called out in above annotated figure) penetrating into the shaft hole (fig 4) is constructed on the rotating cover (fig 2b), a rectangular end (called out in above annotated figure) is constructed on an end of the pin shaft extending to the lid body away from the rotating cover (fig 4), the driving assembly comprises a chuck (134, figs 5a-6), and the chuck is provided with a rectangular hole (i.e., the bottom opening in 134 that receives legs 133 is shown to be rectangular, see fig 5b) cooperating with the square end (221).
Wong, as applied above, discloses all of the limitations except for the explicit disclosure that the pin shaft has a square end and the chuck hole is square. As discussed above, both elements are depicted as being rectangular but it is not clear if they are square. Before the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the pin shaft to have a square end and the chuck to have a square hole, as claimed, because it would be a simple change in shape that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the particular shape was significant, served a particular purpose or was otherwise critical (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B). Further the device of Wong would function in the exact same way if said elements in question were made square.
Regarding claim 3: Wong, as applied above, discloses wherein the square end (see above discussion of claim 2) is provided with an internal shrinkage groove (i.e., the space between legs 133 function as a shrinking groove because legs 133 are compressed inward when press fitted into 134; ¶0067) passing through the radial direction of the pin shaft, a clamping bulge (1331, fig 5b, ¶0067) is disposed on an outer wall, facing away from the internal shrinkage groove, of the square end, and the clamping bulge is located on a side, away from the lid body (fig 5b), of the chuck.
Regarding claim 10: Wong, as applied to claim 1 above, discloses wherein a sealing ring (140, fig 2b, ¶0067) is disposed between an outer wall of the pin shaft and an inner wall of the shaft hole (¶0067).
The examiner noting that the additional clauses of the claim are proceeded by “and/or” indicating that they are not required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding clam 4: Wong fails to disclose a toggling bulge structure (412) is constructed on a side, away from the lid body (1), of the chuck (41), and the toggling bulge structure (412) is provided with a driving slope (413) gradually away from the lid body (1) so as to drive the plugging head (31) to be away from the first liquid outlet (11) during rotation.
The plugging head of Wong is moved away from the first liquid outlet by a different mechanism. The bottom of the lid has a sloped surface (116, fig 8c) and a projection (118, fig 8c) that cooperate to hold the plug in place. Rotating the cover causes the plugging head to move off of sloped surface (116) and to lower.
Wong discloses a second embodiment (figs 11-25) with a chuck (234, figs 15B-16B) that has a surface (2352) that narrows along its path to engage guide pin (261 fig 15D) to move plugging head (252, fig 15D) away from a first liquid outlet. However, the claim requires “a driving slope gradually away from the lid body” which the examiner understands to mean the slope needs to be in the up-down direction when the lid is installed. The surface (2352) narrows in the horizontal direction when installed, and it would not be reasonable to say that it teaches, “a driving slope gradually away from the lid body.” To paraphrase, the camming surface of Wong is oriented in a different direction than the claimed camming surface.
Further, there is no reference of record that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wong to include said limitations.
Regarding claim 11: Wong does not disclose wherein the rotating cover (2) is provided with a first blocking part (23), a toggling point groove (24) and a second blocking part (25) sequentially disposed in a circumferential direction; the lid body (1) is provided with a toggling point (18); when the suction nozzle (13) rebounds at the misaligned gap (21) to reset, the toggling point (18) abuts against a side, facing the toggling point groove (24), of the first blocking part (23); when the misaligned gap (21) is connected to the first liquid outlet (11), the toggling point (18) abuts against a side, facing the toggling point groove (24), of the second blocking part (25); and the toggling point groove (24) is located between the first blocking part (23) and the second blocking part (25).
Wong discloses that the bottom of the lid has first and second stopper (115A, 115B, fig 3b) that interact with the rotating cover. But Wong does not disclose all of said limitations and there is no reference of record that would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wong to include said limitations.
Conclusion
/DON M ANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733