DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/04/2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “further comprising pre-charging the second subpack during the switching” which is unclear. It is unclear what is meant by “during the switching”. It is not clear if precharging is taking place while the switch is transitioning from discharging the first subpack to discharging the second subpack? Or is pre-charging taking place after the switch has switched to the second subpack and before the second subpack has begun discharging.
Examiner will interpret as pre-charging taking place after the switch has switched to the second subpack and before the second subpack has begun discharging.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7,13-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Syouda (US 20180062402).
As to claim 1, Syouda discloses a traction battery pack (storage battery 10) operating method, comprising: charging a traction battery pack of an electrified vehicle ([0017] to charge the storage battery 10,…), the charging including charging a first subpack of battery cells together with a second subpack of battery cells ([0017] to charge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected in series); and discharging the first subpack separately from the second subpack ([0017] … to discharge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected individually to the load unit 5).
As to claim 2, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first subpack of battery cells is a first subpack of battery cells having lithium metal anodes, wherein the second subpack of battery cells is a second subpack of battery cells having lithium metal anodes ([0017] The storage battery 10 is a lithium-ion battery).
As to claim 3, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, during the discharging, maintaining at least one switch in an open state to electrically isolate the first subpack from the second subpack (Fig. 2 and [0022]-[0023] During discharging, the switching unit 20 selects one of the battery modules 11, and connects the selected battery module 11 to the load unit 5. … In this manner, the switching unit 20 forms the battery module individual circuit Q in which the first battery module 11A is connected to the load unit 5. Therefore, the quick charging device 1 can discharge the first battery module 11A of the storage battery 10 at a voltage lower than, for example, a half or so of that used in the charging operation… In this manner, the switching unit 20 forms the battery module individual circuit Q in which the second battery module 11B is connected to the load unit 5. Therefore, the quick charging device 1 can discharge the second battery module 11B in the storage battery 10).
As to claim 4, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, when discharging the first subpack separately from the second subpack, providing electrical power from the first subpack to a load, and electrically isolating the second subpack from the load ([0017] … to discharge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected individually to the load unit 5).
As to claim 5, Syouda discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising transitioning at least one switch to electrically isolate the second subpack from the load (Fig. 4 and [0029] , from S2ato S5a “No” from step s2a to S6a).
As to claim 6, Syouda discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the load is at least one motor of the electrified vehicle ([0016] the inverter 5a converts the direct current from the storage battery 10 into an alternating current, and the alternating current is supplied to the motor generator 5b).
As to claim 7, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising switching from discharging the first subpack separately from the second subpack, to discharging the second subpack separately from the first subpack (Fig. 4 and [0029], from S2ato S5a “No” from step s2a to S6a).
As to claim 13, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the discharging the first subpack separately from the second subpack comprises discharging the first subpack to a load without discharging the second subpack to the load ([0017] … to discharge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected individually to the load unit 5).
As to claim 14, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising dividing the traction battery pack into the first subpack of battery cells, and the second subpack of battery cells, wherein dividing the traction battery pack into the first subpack and the second subpack comprises electrically isolating the second subpack from both the first subpack and a load ([0017] and [0022]-[0023]).
As to claim 17, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first subpack and the second subpack are both held within a battery enclosure ([0015] and Fig. 1 storage battery 10 provided onboard a vehicle 2).
As to claim 18, Syouda discloses a traction battery assembly (Fig. 1 vehicle 2), comprising: a traction battery pack that powers a load (storage battery 10); and
a switching system that is configured to transition between a charging state, a first discharging state, and a second discharging state ([0017] to charge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected in series… to discharge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected individually to the load unit 5), when the switching system is in charging state, a first subpack of battery cells in the traction battery pack and a second subpack of battery cells in the traction battery pack are both configured to be charged ([0017] and Fig. 3 to charge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected in series), when the switching system is in first discharging state, the first subpack is electrically connected to the load while the second subpack is electrically isolated from the load, when the switching system is in the second discharging state, the second subpack is electrically connected to the load while the first subpack is electrically isolated from the load (Fig. 2 [0017] … to discharge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected individually to the load unit 5. (Fig. 4 and [0029] , from S2ato S5a “No” from step s2a to S6a).
As to claim 19, Syouda discloses the traction battery assembly of claim 18, wherein the switching system electrically isolates the first subpack of battery cells from the second subpack of battery when the switching system is in the first discharging state and when the switching system is in the second discharging state (Fig. 2 [0017] … to discharge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected individually to the load unit 5. (Fig. 4 and [0029] , from S2ato S5a “No” from step s2a to S6a).
As to claim 20, Syouda discloses the traction battery assembly of claim 18, wherein the first subpack of battery cells is a first subpack of battery cells having lithium metal anodes, wherein the second subpack of battery cells is a second subpack of battery cells having lithium metal anodes ([0017] The storage battery 10 is a lithium-ion battery).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (US 20180062402) in view of Krieg (US 20200274370).
As to claim 8, Syouda discloses the method of claim 7.
Syouda does not disclose/teach further comprising pre-charging the second subpack during the switching.
Krieg teaches comprising pre-charging the second subpack during the switching ([0050] it is determined whether an electrical component connected to the first output A1 and to the second output A2 is to be supplied by at least one electrical energy storage unit in the charging operation. For example, the electrical component here is supplied by the third electrical energy storage unit R3. In a second step ST71, the first switches S11 and S12 as well as the second switches S21 and S22 are opened or left in the open position. The third second switch S23 and the third first switch S13 are closed in order to ensure the supply of the electrical component by the third electrical energy storage unit R3. To achieve this, a pre-charging of an intermediate circuit with intermediate circuit capacitance 103 may take place after the third second switch S23 is closed and before the third first switch S13 is closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Syouda to comprise pre-charging the second subpack during the switching in order to ensure the supply of the load by the second subpack ([0050]).
As to claim 10, Syouda discloses the method of claim 7.
Syouda does not disclose/teach switching based on a state of health in the first subpack, the second subpack, or both
Krieg teaches switching based on a state of health in the first subpack, the second subpack, or both ([00025] … a state of health of the electrical energy storage units can also be used as a criterion, so that in the event of larger deviations in this parameter, the at least one electrical energy storage unit which is not yet as severely aged as the remainder of the electrical energy storage units of the system can be specifically selected to supply the electrical component).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify t the method of Syouda to comprise switching based on a state of health in the first subpack, the second subpack, or both in order to prolong the use of the battery and prevent damage.
Claims 9,11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (US 20180062402) in view of Elleman (US 20100123352)
As to claim 9, Syouda discloses the method of claim 7.
Syouda does not disclose/teach wherein the discharging is during a drive cycle.
Elleman teaches wherein the discharging is during a drive cycle ([0027] The hybrid power source is managed by a power management subsystem to dynamically optimize the driving range of the vehicle. ,,,, the hybrid power source includes and a plurality of batteries and a bio-diesel engine, for example, to drive one or more electric motors, coupled to the vehicle wheels. The battery supplying power to the electric motor is alternated to optimize the driving range of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Syouda to comprise wherein the discharging is during a drive cycle in order to optimize the driving range of the vehicle [0046].
As to claim 11, Syouda discloses the method of claim 7.
Syouda does not disclose/teach further comprising switching based on a drive mode of the electrified vehicle.
Elleman teaches further comprising switching based on a drive mode of the electrified vehicle ([0046] When the charge value drops below the predetermined value, that battery ("the discharged battery") is automatically disconnected from the drive motor 80 and another fully charged battery is connected. The discharged battery is then charged by the pneumatic subsystem 22, ... By alternating the batteries 82, 84 and 86 and only allowing them to be discharged by a predetermined amount, .., the discharged battery is disconnected from the electric motor 80 and another fully charged battery is connected in its place. The discharged battery is then discharged by battery charger 116. The process is repeated. The process allows the discharged battery to be fully charged faster providing an extended driving range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Syouda to further comprise switching based on a drive mode of the electrified vehicle in order to provide an extended driving range ([0046]).
As to claim 12, Syouda discloses the method of claim 7.
Syouda does not disclose/teach further comprising switching based on a range for the electrified vehicle when discharging from the first subpack reaching a threshold range.
Elleman teaches further comprising switching based on a range for the electrified vehicle when discharging from the first subpack reaching a threshold range ([0057] FIGS. 14 and 15 illustrate the control logic for optimizing the driving range of a vehicle…([0046] When the charge value drops below the predetermined value, that battery ("the discharged battery") is automatically disconnected from the drive motor 80 and another fully charged battery is connected. The discharged battery is then charged by the pneumatic subsystem 22, ... By alternating the batteries 82, 84 and 86 and only allowing them to be discharged by a predetermined amount, .., the discharged battery is disconnected from the electric motor 80 and another fully charged battery is connected in its place. The discharged battery is then discharged by battery charger 116. The process is repeated. The process allows the discharged battery to be fully charged faster providing an extended driving range).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Syouda to comprise switching based on a range for the electrified vehicle when discharging from the first subpack reaching a threshold range in order to optimize the driving range of the vehicle [0046].
Claims 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syouda (US 20180062402).
As to claim 15, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1.
Syouda does not disclose/teach wherein the traction battery pack is an 800 Volt traction battery pack, wherein the first subpack is 400 Volts and the second subpack is 400 Volts.
However, Examiner takes official notice that 400V and 800V traction batteries are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Syouda to wherein the traction battery pack is an 800 Volt traction battery pack, wherein the first subpack is 400 Volts and the second subpack is 400 Volts in order to power the electric vehicle with commonly used and available vehicle batteries.
As to claim 16, Syouda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising dividing the traction battery pack into the first subpack of battery cells, and the second subpack of battery cells; and the discharging is a discharging of the first subpack without discharging the second subpack ([0017] … to discharge the storage battery 10, the first battery module 11A and the second battery module 11B are connected individually to the load unit 5).
Syouda does not disclose/teach wherein the dividing further comprises dividing the traction battery pack into at least one third subpack.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to divide the traction battery pack into at least one third subpack as it is a duplication of parts (MPEP 2144 VI).
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mituta et al (US 11362524) is cited for having a 400V traction battery with precharging.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859