Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200005102 to Nakamoto in view of JP 2015170295 to Nakagawa.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamoto discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, that when executed, cause execution of a control method for an information processing apparatus that includes a display (paragraph 21, 23, 24; program stored in RAM/ROM that is executed by CPU cause method for control for client 101 (information processing apparatus) that include display 206), the control method comprising:
displaying, on the display, a print setting screen for receiving a print setting for printing by a printer (paragraph 38; remote UI for print job operation and settings; paragraph 39-40; Fig. 7 displays print setting screen 701 include for receiving setting for “MAIN UNIT”, “LAN SETTING” of the printer) the displayed print setting screen including (i) a plurality of selectable objects (paragraph 39-40; Fig. 7 displays plurality of selectable links (objects) such as links for “MAIN UNIT SETTINGS”, “LAN SETTINGS”);
(ii) an additional selectable object configured such that, when selected, information related to a fixed price print service for the printer is displayed (paragraph 40-43; selection item 702 (additional selectable object) if selected by user clicking on link, flat-rate printing service registration page (information related to a fixed price print service) is displayed for registering for flat-rate (fixed price print service) service).
Nakamoto disclose the plurality of selectable objects being configured as stated above. However Nakamoto does not disclose such that, when selectable object is selected, selectable settings to be implemented by the printer when the printer performs printing are displayed and
receiving one or more selectable settings to be implemented by the printer, when the printer performs printing, via the displayed print setting screen; and
causing the printer to perform the printing according to the one or more selectable settings received via the displayed print setting screen.
Nakagawa discloses such that, when selectable object is selected, selectable settings to be implemented by the printer when the printer performs printing are displayed (paragraph 16-17, 27-31; when link 406 (selectable object) is selected on initial print setting screen, it switches to display of Fig. 5 which display print settings screen 500 having selectable settings for performing printing such as paper size 505, orientation 506, collation 507, stapling 510 implemented by printer 2500; paragraph 26; ) and
receiving one or more selectable settings to be implemented by the printer, when the printer performs printing, via the displayed print setting screen (paragraph 31-32; selection of stapling 510 on display print settings screen 500); and
causing the printer to perform the printing according to the one or more selectable settings received via the displayed print setting screen (paragraph 28; when print button 408 is selected the printer prints based on selected settings on display print settings screen 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Nakagawa to provide print setting screen to provide selectable settings.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide link which when selected provides detailed print specific setting items such as stapling, collation and sheet size selection to help user select specific settings for printing a print job (paragraph 16-17, 27-31).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamoto discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the control method further comprises causing the information processing apparatus to obtain information related to the fixed price print service from a server that manages the fixed price print service (paragraph 20, 41-42; client device obtains the “Web page data for the flat-rate printing service registration page”( information relating to the fixed price print service) from the service provision apparatus 107 (server) that is managing this page; paragraph 35; service provision apparatus 107 manages users of the flat-rate printing service).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamoto discloses an information processing apparatus comprising (paragraph 21; client 101):
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions (paragraph 23; program stored in RAM/ROM); and
a processor configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to (paragraph 23; CPU executing the program in RAM/ROM):
cause a display of the information processing apparatus to display a print setting screen for receiving a print setting for printing by a printer(paragraph 38; remote UI for print job operation and settings; paragraph 39-40; Fig. 7 displays print setting screen 701 include for receiving setting for “MAIN UNIT”, “LAN SETTING” of the printer), the displayed print setting screen including (i) a plurality of selectable objects(paragraph 39-40; Fig. 7 displays plurality of selectable links (objects) such as links for “MAIN UNIT SETTINGS”, “LAN SETTINGS”),
(ii) an additional selectable object configured such that, when selected, information related to a fixed price print service for the printer is displayed(paragraph 40-43; selection item 702 (additional selectable object) if selected by user clicking on link, flat-rate printing service registration page (information related to a fixed price print service) is displayed for registering for flat-rate (fixed price print service) service).
Nakamoto disclose the plurality of selectable objects being configured as stated above. However Nakamoto does not disclose such that, when selectable object is selected, selectable settings to be implemented by the printer when the printer performs printing are displayed and receive one or more selectable settings to be implemented by the printer, when the printer performs printing, via the displayed print setting screen; and
cause the printer to perform the printing according to the one or more selectable settings received via the displayed print setting screen.
Nakagawa discloses such that, when selectable object is selected, selectable settings to be implemented by the printer when the printer performs printing are displayed (paragraph 16-17, 27-31; when link 406 (selectable object) is selected on initial print setting screen, it switches to display of Fig. 5 which display print settings screen 500 having selectable settings for performing printing such as paper size 505, orientation 506, collation 507, stapling 510 implemented by printer 2500; paragraph 26; ) and receive one or more selectable settings to be implemented by the printer, when the printer performs printing, via the displayed print setting screen (paragraph 31-32; selection of stapling 510 on display print settings screen 500); and
cause the printer to perform the printing according to the one or more selectable settings received via the displayed print setting screen (paragraph 28; when print button 408 is selected the printer prints based on selected settings on display print settings screen 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Nakagawa to provide print setting screen to provide selectable settings.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide link which when selected provides detailed print specific setting items such as stapling, collation and sheet size selection to help user select specific settings for printing a print job (paragraph 16-17, 27-31).
Regarding claim 11, see rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200005102 to Nakamoto in view of JP 2015170295 to Nakagawa further in view of US 20220103717 to Yamada.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamoto discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the control method further comprises causing the information processing apparatus to obtain information relating to the fixed price print service (paragraph 41-42; client device obtains the “Web page data for the flat-rate printing service registration page”( information relating to the fixed price print service) from the service provision apparatus 107). However Nakamoto does not disclose obtaining information relating to the fixed price print service from the printer.
Yamada discloses obtaining information relating to the fixed price print service from the printer (paragraph 55, 89; acquiring from printer information indicating change to contract mode associated with flat-rate printing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Yamada to obtain fixed price data directly from printer.
The motivation to combine the references is to enable a printer to operate in normal mode and contract mode of fixed price printing based on the type of attached cartridge and to be able to obtain from the printer information about which of those two modes is set for the printer (paragraph 55, 89).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200005102 to Nakamoto in view of JP 2015170295 to Nakagawa further in view of US 20220103717 to Yamada further in view of JP 2013207711 to Yomogida.
Regarding claim 3, Nakamoto discloses information related to the fixed price print service (paragraph 40-43; flat-rate printing service registration page (information related to a fixed price print service)). Yamada discloses connection to the printer (paragraph 35; connection to the printing device). However Nakamoto does not disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the control method further comprises: causing the information processing apparatus to determine whether the information processing apparatus is connected; and displaying information indicating that the information is old information on the display in a case where it is determined that the information processing apparatus is not connected.
Yomogida discloses causing the information processing apparatus to determine whether the information processing apparatus is connected (paragraph 31, determining whether the PDA9 (information processing apparatus) is connected to server 7); and displaying information indicating that the information is old information on the display in a case where it is determined that the information processing apparatus is not connected (paragraph 35-37; when disconnected to server, the background color in menu is displayed with red color indicating old data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Yomogida to provide display notification of old data based on connection.
The motivation to combine the references is to let the user easily know whether the current data displayed is old data or updated data from a server by changing display color of the data area based on the status of the connection to the server (paragraph 35-37).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200005102 to Nakamoto in view of JP 2015170295 to Nakagawa further in view of JP 2013207711 to Yomogida.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamoto discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, discloses the information related to the fixed price print service (paragraph 40-43; flat-rate printing service registration page (information related to a fixed price print service)).
However Nakamoto does not disclose causing the information processing apparatus to determine whether obtainment of the information is succeeded and displaying information indicating that the information may be old information on the display in a case where it is determined that the obtainment of the information is not succeeded.
Yomogida discloses causing the information processing apparatus to determine whether obtainment of the information is succeeded (paragraph 34; when latest data is sent from server to PDA9 (information processing apparatus) then obtainment is success) and displaying information indicating that the information may be old information on the display in a case where it is determined that the obtainment of the information is not succeeded (paragraph 34-37; in determining obtaining data not succeeded due to disconnection with server, the background color in menu is displayed with red color indicating old data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Yomogida to provide display notification of old data based on connection.
The motivation to combine the references is to let the user easily know whether the current data displayed is old data or updated data from a server by changing display color of the data area based on the status of the connection to the server (paragraph 35-37).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200005102 to Nakamoto in view of JP 2015170295 to Nakagawa in view of US 20160292550 to Kawai.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamoto does not disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the information related to the fixed price print service is not displayed on the display in a case where use of the printer is not restricted.
Kawai discloses wherein the information related to the fixed price print service is not displayed on the display in a case where use of the printer is not restricted (paragraph 51-52, 76-77; in fixed price printing using specific cartridge number of sheets printed is restricted based on service; however in normal printing (normal cartridge) there is no restriction on number of sheet printing; if the normal cartridge is connected, then the display 230 indicating the service ON and num sheets printed is NOT displayed (information related to the fixed price print service))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Kawai to provide control of fixed price information display based on use restriction.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide a user with display information to readily indicate to user what type of printing mode is currently being used so that user can perform printing in accordance with the mode being normal or restricted fixed price printing in which user can find out amount of printed sheet on display (see Fig. 19; 51-52, 76-77).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200005102 to Nakamoto in view of JP 2015170295 to Nakagawa further in view of WO 2023075836 to Kim.
Regarding claim 7, Nakamoto does not disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the information related to the fixed price print service includes information related to a remaining printable sheet number based on a contract of the fixed price print service.
Kim discloses wherein the information related to the fixed price print service includes information related to a remaining printable sheet number based on a contract of the fixed price print service (paragraph 21-22, 88; service plan information (information related to the fixed price print service) includes info about remaining number of pages of quota from monthly fixed pricing such as 700 pages/month).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Kim to provide fixed price print service information on the display.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide user with displayed information about the remaining printable sheet to help in selecting a printer and also provide update to the remaining printable sheet so that the user is informed about the latest information of the printer (paragraph 76-77).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamoto discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 7, wherein an object for indicating information related to the fixed price print service with the printer is displayed on the print setting screen (paragraph 40; hyperlink 703 (object for indicating information related to the fixed price print service) is displayed on print setting screen 701).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200005102 to Nakamoto in view of JP 2015170295 to Nakagawa further in view of WO 2023075836 to Kim in view of US 20090261524 to Nakayama.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 8, remaining printable sheet number based on the contract of the fixed price print service (paragraph 21-22, 88; service plan information (information related to the fixed price print service) includes info about remaining number of pages of quota from monthly fixed pricing such as 700 pages/month).
However Nakamoto in view of Kim does not disclose wherein the control method further comprises highlighting the object in a case where the remaining printable sheet number is smaller than a predetermined threshold.
Nakayama discloses wherein the control method further comprises highlighting the object in a case where the remaining printable sheet number is smaller than a predetermined threshold (paragraph 316, 326, 528; print driver displays the screen in Fig. 9 which includes highlighting by graying object 201a when number of sheets is less than 1 (ie. 0) (threshold)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Nakamoto as taught by Nakayama to provide highlighted display by driver to indicate remaining number of sheets in printer.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide clear highlighted display of when the remaining sheet is low and provide user option to make changes to fix the problem with sheet (paragraph 316).
Other Prior Art Cited
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200004477 to Morita discloses print driver communicating with printers to acquire capability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/>. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Patent Examiner
Beniyam Menberu
/BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
09/03/2026