DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/08/2025, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3 are currently amended. Claims 4-20 are newly added.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102, 103 in Remarks filed on 09/08/2025 have been considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 USC 103 based on Wang (US Pub. 20240205392 A1) in view of Wang’2 (US Pub. 20240195982 A1), and Wang (US Pub. 20240205392 A1) in view of Wang’2 (US Pub. 20240195982 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (US Pub. 20240275984 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub. 20240205392 A1) in view of Wang’2 (US Pub. 20240195982 A1).
Regarding claim 1, an image decoding device including a circuit configured to:
derive motion information for a geometric partitioning mode to generate a motion compensation sample (Wang; Para. [0244-245]. Inter/motion information is derived for geometric partition mode to generate motion samples, also see Para. [0239, 242].); and
derive an intra prediction mode for the geometric partitioning mode to generate an intra prediction sample (Wang; Para. [0244-245]. An intra mode is derived for geometric partition mode to generate intra prediction sample.),
wherein, in deriving the intra prediction mode, the circuit is configured to: derive a plurality of the intra prediction modes based on adjacent reference samples or adjacent reference blocks adjacent to the block to be decoded (Wang; Para. [0244-245]. Different intra modes are derived in accordance with neighboring samples and/or neighboring reference blocks adjacent to a block to be coded.), and
select one or a plurality of intra prediction modes from an intra prediction mode candidate list including the plurality of derived intra prediction modes to generate the intra prediction sample (Wang; Para. [0268]. At least one intra mode is selected, with a signaled index, from an intra mode list, including different derived intra modes to generate prediction samples, also see Para. [0210, 213, 215].).
But it does not specifically disclose select, with use of a signaled index, one or a plurality of intra prediction modes from an intra prediction mode candidate list including the plurality of derived intra prediction modes to generate the intra prediction sample.
However, Wang’s teaches select, with use of a signaled index, one or a plurality of intra prediction modes from an intra prediction mode candidate list including the plurality of derived intra prediction modes to generate the intra prediction sample (Wang; Para. [0205-210]. One or more different intra modes are determined from a intra mode list of derived modes in accordance with a signaled index, also see Para. [0246-248].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Wang to adapt an image processing approach, by incorporating Wang’2’s teaching wherein mode signaling is used to perform prediction for GEO prediction, for the motivation to perform intra mode derivation using signaled index (Wang’2; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wang teaches the signaled index comprises an intra prediction mode index signaled in control data from an encoder, the intra prediction mode index specifying one or more of the plurality of intra prediction modes derived from the adjacent reference samples or adjacent reference blocks (Wang’2; Para. [0205-210]. An intra mode index is signaled from an encoder to indicate different intra modes derived from neighboring reference samples.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wang teaches the circuit is configured to derive the plurality of intra prediction modes for the geometric partitioning mode based on the adjacent reference samples (Wang’2; Para. [0205-210]. Different intra modes are derived for GEO mode in accordance with neighboring samples, also see Para. [0246-248].).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wang teaches circuit is configured to derive the plurality of intra prediction modes for the geometric partitioning mode based further on a partition shape of the block to be decoded and to which the geometric partitioning mode is applied (Wang’2; Para. [0205-210]. Different intra modes are derived for GEO mode in accordance with different partition shapes, also see Para. [0246-248].).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wang teaches the block to be decoded is a Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) coded block, and the circuit is configured to: derive at least one of the intra prediction modes for geometric partitioning mode by using DIMD, and select, using the signaled index, one or more of the plurality of intra prediction modes for geometric partitioning mode, including the at least one intra prediction mode derived by using DIMD (Wang’2; Para. [0205-210]. Different intra prediction modes for GEO are determined in accordance with DIMD. One or more intra modes are determined using a signaled index for GEO mode, also see Para. [0246-248].).
Claims 2, 15-17 are directed to an image decoding method comprising a sequence of processing corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1, 4-6, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claims 3, 18-20 are directed to a program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium for causing a computer to function as an image decoding device comprising a circuit: the circuit performs a sequence of processing corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1, 4-6, and are rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub. 20240205392 A1) in view of Wang’2 (US Pub. 20240195982 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (US Pub. 20240275984 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wang teaches to derive at least one of the intra prediction modes (Wang; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically teach the circuit is configured to calculate a histogram of sample values of the adjacent reference samples, and to derive at least one of the intra prediction modes based on the histogram
However, Zhang teaches the circuit is configured to calculate a histogram of sample values of the adjacent reference samples, and to derive at least one of the intra prediction modes based on the histogram (Zhang; Para. [0620-622]. A HoG of samples values of neighboring samples are calculated for determining one of different intra modes, also see Para. [0627-628].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of modified Wang to adapt an image processing approach, by incorporating Zhang’s teaching wherein HoG is calculated for intra mode, for the motivation to determine the prediction mode based on coding cost (Zhang; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 9, modified Wang teaches the circuit is configured to derive at least one of the intra prediction modes using Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) based on a histogram of sample values of the adjacent reference samples (Zhang; Para. [0620-622]. A HoG of samples values of neighboring samples are calculated for determining one of different intra modes, also see Para. [0627-628].).
Claim 10, modified Wang teaches the circuit is configured to calculate a sum of absolute transformed difference (SATD) between the adjacent reference samples and intra prediction samples generated using predetermined intra prediction modes, and to derive at least one of the intra prediction modes based on the SATD calculation (Zhang; Para. [0842]. A SATD between neighboring samples and prediction samples is determined in accordance with predetermined intra modes for determine of one of different intra modes.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Wang teaches the circuit is configured to derive at least one of the intra prediction modes using Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) based on a cost function of the adjacent reference samples (Zhang; Para. [0637-641]. At least one of different intra modes is determined using TIMD based on a cost function of neighboring reference samples.).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wang teaches the circuit is configured to derive at least one of the intra prediction modes for the geometric partitioning mode using Block-based Intra Mode Derivation (BIMD) based on information relating to an assigned prediction mode of the adjacent reference blocks (Zhang; Para. [0334-340]. At least one intra prediction mode for GEO in accordance with block-based derivation is determined using a prediction mode of neighboring block information.).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wang teaches circuit is configured to derive the plurality of intra prediction modes for the geometric partitioning mode (GPM) using GPM-angle-based Intra Mode Derivation (GIMD), in which the intra prediction mode is derived based on a partition line of the geometric partitioning mode (Zhang; Para. [0334-340]. Different intra modes are determined for a GPM mode in accordance with GPM angle-based intra derivation, wherein an intra mode is determined in accordance with partition line of GPM.).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wang teaches the circuit is configured to derive the plurality of intra prediction modes for the geometric partitioning mode (GPM) by a combination of GPM-angle-based intra mode derivation (GIMD), in which the intra prediction mode is derived based on a partition line of the geometric partitioning mode (Zhang; Para. [0334-340]. Different intra modes are determined for a GPM mode in accordance with GPM angle-based intra derivation, wherein an intra mode is determined in accordance with partition line of GPM.), and at least one of Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD), Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD), and Block-based Intra Mode derivation (BIMD) (Zhang; Para. [0334-340]. At least one of decoder-side intra mode, template-based intra mode, block-based intra mode.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deng (US Pub. 20240195952 A1) teaches a video coding system that perform combined intra and inter prediction using GPM mode.
Zhang (US Pub. 20250126244 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs IBC-MBVD prediction.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485