DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an acquisition device configured to obtain magnetic resonance images . . .” in claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 14-17 and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being US 12,245,848 B2 by Weiss.
Regarding claim 1, Weiss discloses a system (Fig. 1, MR device 1) for generating a graphical presentation of one or more distortion levels (column 8, line 65 through column 9, line 5, wherein FIG. 4 shows examples of sagittal slices of MR image data of the head/neck region. The image values of the two top images (FIGS. 4a and 4b) indicate the local geometrical image distortion (the magnitude of the B0-induced voxel shift). The top image (FIG. 4a) shows the geometrical distortion derived from the mDIXON B0 map. The image below (FIG. 4b) shows the geometrical distortion derived from conventional dedicated B0 mapping), the system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the system (column 6, lines 13-16, a computer program running on a computer by which the MR device is controlled such that it performs the above-explained method steps of the invention) to perform a distortion mapping sequence to generate a field map, the field map including spatial information related to anticipated distortions caused by variations of a static magnetic field (column 7, lines 59-61, wherein step 23 includes the derivation of a fat map, a water map and a B0 map from the acquired mDIXON data, as field map), segment the spatial information into one or more distortion levels (column 7, line 62 through column 8, line 4, wherein in step 24, the derived B0 map is analyzed to determine one or more low fidelity regions, as segmenting the field map. This involves the steps depicted in FIG. 3. In step 33, the magnitude of the spatial gradient of the B0 map is calculated for every image position. A map G is generated in step 34 covering all regions (i.e. indicating all image positions) in which this magnitude is larger than a pre-determined threshold, as one distortion level. In step 35, a map D is calculated covering all regions in which the geometrical distortion resulting from the B0 map at the respective image positions is larger than a further pre-determined threshold, as second distortion level), display a graphical representation including the one or more distortion levels (column 9, lines 8-12, and Figs 4A-B, wherein as can be seen, geometrical distortions are well estimated by mDIXON in regions with low spatial variation (e.g. region indicated by white circle 42, distortion level 2). Differences exceeding 50% occur in regions with high spatial variation of B0 (circle 41, distortion level 1).
Regarding claim 4, Weiss discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to generate a localizer image based on a localizer scan (column 7, lines 42-43, wherein after positioning the body 10 in the examination volume of the main magnet coil 2, a first MR imaging scan, inherently as the localizer scan image, is started in step 21 for acquiring first MR imaging data, e.g. using a T.sub.2-weighted scan.); and generate the graphical representation of the field map by overlaying the one or more distortion levels on the localizer image (column 8, lines 17-19, wherein an overlay of the low fidelity map E with the results of the delineation of anatomical structures in step 22 is displayed on video monitor 18 in step 25.).
Regarding claim 5, Weiss discloses wherein each of the one or more distortion levels is displayed in the field map (Fig. 4B, levels 41 and 42).
Regarding claim 6, Weiss discloses wherein each of the one or more distortion levels is displayed in a distinct color (Fig. 4B, wherein levels 41 and 42 are inherently indicators of light or dark color areas).
Regarding claim 7, Weiss discloses wherein the field map is masked based on thresholding using an output of the distortion mapping sequence (column 8, lines 35-39, wherein the mDIXON B0 map is then updated in step 29 accordingly in the regions indicated by map R by replacing the B0 values of the mDIXON B0 map by the corresponding values obtained from the dedicated B0 mapping scan in these regions, as the masks. The result is a refined, i.e. higher fidelity B0 map)
Regarding claim 9, Weiss discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to preconfigure the distortion mapping sequence based on at least one of an expected maximum off-resonance of the field map, a field strength, or a body part to be imaged (column 4, lines 56-63, wherein It is therefore proposed to automatically identify those regions in which errors in the mDIXON based B0 mapping and the related distortion estimation are large, as field strength, such that it will compromise dose planning. It is proposed to automatically perform dedicated B0 mapping to refine the B0 map using a gradient echo sequence restricted to at least one region in which said delineated anatomical structure and said low fidelity region overlap, as preconfiguring the distortion map).
Regarding claim 10, Weiss discloses wherein the one or more distortion levels are metal distortion levels (column 2, lines 51-55, wherein spatial variations in susceptibility, most pronounced at interfaces with large susceptibility differences such as air/tissue or bone/metal, cause B0 field inhomogeneities up to about 4 ppm in the human head, which can cause distortions of up to 4 mm at the sinus/tissue interface in the brain).
Regarding method claims 11, 14-17 and 19-20, please refer to corresponding system claims 1, 4-7 and 9-10 above, respectively, for further teachings.
Regarding system claim 21, please refer to the corresponding system claim 1 above for further teachings.
Regarding claim 22, Weiss discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to adjust one or more imaging protocols based on the one or more distortion levels (column 5, lines 14-21, wherein only those regions will be subject to refined B0 mapping that will potentially lead to large errors in dose planning, as exemplary imaging protocol. These regions are characterized by a large geometrical distortion (i.e., a high B0 deviation) and simultaneously a high spatial gradient of B0 (i.e., a strong spatial variation of B0). The respective thresholds can be selected by a user so as to achieve an optimum tradeoff between scan time and geometrical correctness).
Regarding claim 23, Weiss discloses wherein the imaging protocols are magnetic resonance imaging protocols (column 4, lines 15-16, wherein correcting geometrical distortions in said first and/or second MR imaging data using the refined B0 map).
Regarding claim 23, Weiss discloses generating a graphical presentation of one or more distortion levels (Figs. 4A and 4B, depicting graphical presentations of the distortion levels); and an acquisition device configured to obtain magnetic resonance images based on the magnetic resonance imaging protocols (column 4, lines 15-16, wherein correcting geometrical distortions in said first and/or second MR imaging data using the refined B0 map).
Regarding claim 25, Weiss discloses wherein the distortion levels are determined for use in medical imaging (column 8, line 65 through column 9, line 2, wherein FIG. 4 shows examples of sagittal slices of MR image data of the head/neck region. The image values of the two top images (FIGS. 4a and 4b) indicate the local geometrical image distortion (the magnitude of the B.sub.0-induced voxel shift)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss in view of US 10,638,949 B2 to Koch et al (hereinafter ‘Koch’).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Weiss does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more distortion levels includes a first distortion level and a second distortion level, the first distortion level including field offsets of greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold. Koch discloses the one or more distortion levels includes a first distortion level and a second distortion level, the first distortion level including field offsets of greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold (column 8, lines 51-57, wherein in the examples from FIGS. 6 to 9, the mScores were computed using off-resonance thresholds of Ti=[350 400 450 500 550 600] Hz, as 350Hz being the first threshold and 600Hz as the second threshold at 50Hz offsets and cluster size thresholds of Sj=[0.3 0.6 1.2 1.8 2.4] cm3. The choice of a minimum off-resonance threshold of 350 Hz can provide a conservative buffer above the chemical shift threshold). Weiss and Koch are combinable because they both disclose reducing distortion involved in an MRI image. Therefore, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine setting the first and second threshold in gathering field map data of Kock’s system/method with Weiss’ so that to reduce false-positive detection due to chemical shifts (column 8, lines 56-58).
Claims 3 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss in view of Koch and further in view of US 7,952,356 B2 to Koch et al (hereinafter ‘Koch ‘356’).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, in the combination of Weiss and Koch, Koch discloses wherein the first threshold is about 200Hz (column 7, lines 20-26, wherein the presence of chemical shift contamination establishes an off-resonance detection threshold, below which particulate deposits cannot be distinguished from normal fat/water tissue transitions (225 Hz at 1.5 T), inherently as about 200Hz, however, Weiss and Koch do not specifically disclose the second threshold being about 2kHz. Koch ‘356 discloses the second threshold being about 2kHz (column 10, lines 54-56, wherein the difference is negligible everywhere except for those locations where the B0 field varies extremely rapidly (e.g., over 1 kHz/pixel), inherently as about 2kHz). Weiss, Koch and Koch ‘356 are combinable because they all disclose reducing distortion involved in an MRI image. Therefore, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the setting of the second threshold to in gathering field map data to about 2KHz, of Kock’s ‘356 system/method with Weiss’ and Koch’s so that to avoid data with fast variations (column 10, lines 57-58). Additionally, lack some criticality or unexpected results the exact range of frequency data detection range is within the skill level of the ordinary practitioner in this field who would select the most appropriate range for field map data gathering for a given application.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss in view of US 10191134 B2 to Pfeuffer et al (hereinafter ‘Pfeuffer’).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Weiss does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to further cause the system to adjust the spatial information based on discontinuities included in the field map to create a modified field map. Pfeuffer discloses adjust the spatial information based on discontinuities included in the field map to create a modified field map (column 4, line 64 through column 5, line 3, wherein the basic reference field map is recorded with a reduced spatial resolution and adjusted to the resolution of the image data with the aid of an interpolation method. Following a comparison with distorted, dynamically obtained B0 field maps the basic reference field map is then replaced, as adjusted, by one of these or by a combination, preferably a weighted total of a plurality of these). Weiss Pfeuffer are combinable because they both disclose MRI image distortion correction. Therefore, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the adjust the spatial information based on discontinuities included in the field map to create a modified field map, of Pfeuffer’s system/method with Weiss’ in order to adjust the resolution back to the resolution of the image (column 4, line 65).
Contact Information
/SHERVIN K NAKHJAVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672