DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on March 5, 2024, September 5, 2024, February 18, 2025, and January 21, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The usage of “antenna switch” is unclear, as the current wording refers independently to an antenna switch, a first antenna switch, and a second antenna switch. It thus seems to indicate three separate antenna switches in the circuit. Additionally, the claim reads that the second antenna switch is configured to bypass the first filter, when it is presumably meant to bypass the second filter. For purposes of prior art examination, the latter will be assumed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinett (US 6714760 B2).
Consider claim 1, Robinett discloses a communication circuit of an electronic device, the communication circuit comprising:
a plurality of antennas (see Figure 3A, the antennas 204, 208, 206a, and 206b);
an antenna switch configured to match a radio frequency (RF) signal of a designated frequency band with at least one antenna of the plurality of antennas (see Figure 3A, the diplexer 326 “includes a frequency selective power splitter to route RF signal 324 at the input of the diplexer to one of: 1. a satellite RF path 325a; and 2. a terrestrial RF path 325b, depending on whether the frequency of RF signal 324 corresponds to the satellite or the terrestrial transmit frequency band” (see Col. 8, lines 23-29). The subsequent switch 335 routes the RF signal to either the satellite transmit antenna 204 or the terrestrial mode antenna 208 (see Col. 8, lines 54-64));
a first amplifier configured to amplify the RF signal in the designated frequency band, thereby resulting in a first amplified signal (RF path 325b includes an RF amplifier 328b, which is analogous to “RF amplifier 328a [which operates] to amplify a filtered RF signal produced by BPF 327a” (see Col. 8, lines 32-33);
a first antenna switch connected to the first amplifier (see Figure 3A, switch 335);
a first filter configured to allow the first amplified signal in the designated frequency band, the first filter connected to the antenna switch (see Figure 3A, band pass filter 330b is analogous to “a second RF BPF 330a [which operates] to further filter an amplified RF signal produced by RF amplifier 328a” (see Col. 8, lines 33-35)),
wherein the first antenna switch is configured to selectively form a first connection path to the antenna switch via the first filter (see Figure 3A, terrestrial RF path 325b passes through filter 330b) or a second connection path to the antenna switch bypassing the first filter (satellite RF path 325a));
a second amplifier configured to amplify the RF signal in the designated frequency band, thereby resulting in a second amplified signal (see Figure 3A, the low noise amplifier);
a second antenna switch connected to the second amplifier (see Figure 3A, switch 360);
a second filter configured to allow the second amplified signal in the designated frequency band, the second filter connected to the antenna switch (see Figure 3A, band pass filter 368b “provides a filtered IF terrestrial signal to a second input of second IF switch 370” (see Col. 10, lines 29-30)),
wherein the second antenna switch is configured to selectively form a third connection path to the antenna switch via the second filter or a fourth connection path to the antenna switch bypassing the first filter (see Figure 3A, “Switch 360 can selectively route the IF signal at the switch input to a first switch output 362a coupled to a satellite IF path 364a, or a second switch output 362b coupled to a terrestrial IF path 364b, separate from satellite IF path 364a, in accordance with a mode select signal (not shown) provided to the switch” (see Col. 10, lines 9-15), where the third and fourth connection paths correspond to paths 364b and
364a, respectively); and
a processor configured to control the first antenna switch to form the second connection path and the second antenna switch to form the fourth connection path during communication with a satellite (digital baseband section 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39)).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the designated frequency band comprises a frequency band used for communication with a cellular network and communication with the satellite (see Figure 3A, the RF signal 324 can correspond to either the satellite or the terrestrial transmit frequency band (see Col. 8, lines 27-29)).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the processor is configured to control the first antenna switch and the second antenna switch based on control signals (see Figure 3A, digital baseband section 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39)).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the processor is configured to: cause the first antenna switch to form the first connection path and cause the second antenna switch to form the third connection path during communication with a cellular network based a first control signal (see Figure 3A, the controller 385 “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370…therefore, controller 385 can control these RF and IF signal routing switches, in accordance with a user selected operating mode, to thereby configure the WCD operating
mode” (see Col. 15, lines 37-43)); and
cause the first antenna switch to form the second connection path and cause the second antenna switch form the fourth connection path during communication with a satellite based a second control signal (see Figure 3A, the controller 385 “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370…therefore, controller 385 can control these RF and IF signal routing switches, in accordance with a user selected operating mode, to thereby configure the WCD operating mode” (see Col. 15, lines 37-43)).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the processor is configured to control the first antenna switch to form the first connection path and the second antenna switch to form the third connection path during communication with a cellular network (digital baseband section 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). During cellular network communication, “switch 335 is configured to route the power amplified transmit RF signal to an input of a duplexer 336 (further described below) associated with the terrestrial transmit and receive channels, and from the duplexer to terrestrial transmit antenna 208 coupled to an output of the duplexer” (see Col. 8, lines 58-63). Similarly, “when the IF signal at the input of switch 360 corresponds to a received terrestrial signal (that is, when WCD 300 is in the terrestrial mode), first and second switches 360 and 370 are configured to route the IF signal to terrestrial IF path 364b” (see Col. 10, lines 51-55)).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the antenna switch is configured to match the first amplified signal and the second amplified signal with at least one corresponding antenna of the plurality of antennas (see Figure 3A, the switch 344 conveys the amplified RF signal to antenna 204 or 208. Switch 360 carries a signal from either antenna 208, 206a, or 206b).
Consider claim 10, Robinett discloses an electronic device comprising:
a first antenna module configured to transmit a first transmission signal (see Figure 3A, the terrestrial mode antenna 208);
a second antenna module configured to transmit a second transmission signal (see Figure 3A, the satellite transmit antenna 204);
a communication circuit connected to the first antenna module and the second antenna module, the communication circuit configured to perform signal processing, thereby providing the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal (see Figure 3A, the Wireless Communication Device 300); and
a processor connected to the communication circuit, wherein the processor is configured to:
identify a type of communication based on detecting a start of a communication service (the device “also includes a Digital Baseband Section (DBS) 382 coupled to BBP (Base Band Processor) 310” (see Col. 13, lines 61-62). When in use, “the user can provide information and mode control commands to WCD 300 to configure the WCD to operate in different satellite and terrestrial communication operating modes (as mentioned above), or these modes can be selected based on preset service provider or manufacturer supplied information or criteria” (see Col. 15, lines 22-27));
when the type of communication is cellular communication, generate a first control signal establishing a first connection path through the communication circuit for RF signal transmission (DBS 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). “When terrestrial transmit communication is desired, switch 335 is configured to route the power amplified transmit RF signal to an input of a duplexer 336 (further described below) associated with the terrestrial transmit and receive channels, and from the duplexer to terrestrial transmit antenna 208 coupled to an output of the duplexer” (see Col. 8, lines 58-63)); and
when the type of communication is satellite communication, generate a second control signal establishing a second connection path through the communication circuit for RF signal transmission (DBS 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). “When satellite transmit communication is desired, switch 335 is configured to route the power amplified transmit RF signal to satellite transmit antenna 204, as depicted in FIG. 3a” (see Col. 8, lines 54-57)).
Consider claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the first connection path passes through a filter (see Figure 4, the first connection path from BBP 310 to antenna 208 passes through RF Band Pass Filter 418b).
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 11 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the second connection path bypasses the filter (see Figure 3A, the second connection path from BBP 310 to antenna 204 bypasses RF Band Pass Filter 418b).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 10 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the communication circuit comprises designated switches configured to form the first connection path and the second connection path, and wherein the processor transmits the first control signal and the second control signal to the designated switches (DBS 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). Switch 335 forms either the first or second connection path depending on the control signal (see Col. 8, lines 54-64)).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 10 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal has a frequency in a frequency band used for the cellular communication and the satellite communication (“Satellite and Terrestrial Transmit Channels 214 and 224 include a common baseband processor (BBP) 310 shared between the channels to produce an IF transmit signal 312 corresponding to either RF satellite signal 112 or terrestrial transmit signals 124/128” (see Col. 17, lines 40-44). Referring to Figure 4, “mixer 406 frequency up-converts the IF signal routed thereto to an RF transmit signal having a frequency corresponding to a transmit frequency band of the satellite communication system…On the other hand, mixer 408 frequency up-converts the IF signal routed thereto to an RF transmit signal having a frequency corresponding to a transmit frequency band of the terrestrial communication system” (see Col. 16, lines 25-32)).
Consider claim 15, Robinett discloses an operating method of an electronic device, comprising:
identifying a type of communication based on detecting a start of a communication service (the device “also includes a Digital Baseband Section (DBS) 382 coupled to BBP (Base Band Processor) 310” (see Col. 13, lines 61-62). When in use, “the user can provide information and mode control commands to WCD 300 to configure the WCD to operate in different satellite and terrestrial communication operating modes (as mentioned above), or these modes can be selected based on preset service provider or manufacturer supplied information or criteria” (see Col. 15, lines 37-39));
when the type of communication is cellular communication, generating a first control signal establishing a first connection path through a communication circuit for Radio Frequency (RF) signal transmission (DBS 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). “When terrestrial transmit communication is desired, switch 335 is configured to route the power amplified transmit RF signal to an input of a duplexer 336 (further described below) associated with the terrestrial transmit and receive channels, and from the duplexer to terrestrial transmit antenna 208 coupled to an output of the duplexer” (see Col. 8, lines 58-63)); and
when the type of communication is satellite communication, generate a second control signal for establishing a second connection path through the communication circuit for RF signal transmission (DBS 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). “When satellite transmit communication is desired, switch 335 is configured to route the power amplified transmit RF signal to satellite transmit antenna 204, as depicted in FIG. 3a” (see Col. 8, lines 54-57)).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the first connection path passes through a filter (see Figure 4, the first connection path from BBP 310 to antenna 208 passes through RF Band Pass Filter 418b).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 16 above, Robinett further discloses wherein
the second connection path bypasses the filter (see Figure 3A, the second connection path from BBP 310 to antenna 204 bypasses RF Band Pass Filter 418b).
Consider claim 18, and as applied to claim 15 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the cellular communication and the satellite communication utilizes at least one common frequency band (Satellite and Terrestrial Transmit Channels 214 and 224 include a common baseband processor (BBP) 310 shared between the channels to produce an IF transmit signal 312 corresponding to either RF satellite signal 112 or terrestrial transmit signals 124/128 (see Col. 17, lines 40-44). Referring to Figure 4, “mixer 406 frequency up-converts the IF signal routed thereto to an RF transmit signal having a frequency corresponding to a transmit frequency band of the satellite communication system…On the other hand, mixer 408 frequency up-converts the IF signal routed thereto to an RF transmit signal having a frequency corresponding to a transmit frequency band of the terrestrial communication system” (see Col. 16, lines 25-32)).
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 15 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the first control signal is transmitted to a switch, causing the switch to establish the first connection path (DBS 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). Switch 335 forms either the first or second connection path depending on the control signal (see Col. 8, lines 54-64)).
Consider claim 20, and as applied to claim 19 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the second control signal is transmitted to the switch, causing the switch to establish the second connection path (DBS 382 comprises a controller 385, which “provides a switch (mode) select control signal to each of signal routing switches 335, 344, 360 and 370” via transceiver mode control bus 377 (see Col. 15, lines 37-39). Switch 335 forms either the first or second connection path depending on the control signal (see Col. 8, lines 54-64)).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinett (US 6714760 B2) in view of Lee et al. (US 20200186400 A1).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Robinett fails to disclose a first phase shifter disposed on the second connection path.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al. disclose a circuit further comprising a phase shifter (refer to Figure 2, “the third RFIC 526 may include multiple phase shifters 538, as part of the third RFFE 536 by way of example, corresponding to the multiple antenna elements” (see paragraph 0062)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the phase shifter disclosed by Lee et al. with the circuit taught by Robinett in order to align the phase of the satellite and terrestrial RF signals so they can be combined.
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 5 above, Robinett fails to disclose a second phase shifter disposed on the fourth connection path.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al. disclose a circuit further comprising a phase shifter (refer to Figure 2, “the third RFIC 526 may include multiple phase shifters 538, as part of the third RFFE 536 by way of example, corresponding to the multiple antenna elements” (see paragraph 0062)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the phase shifter disclosed by Lee et al. with the circuit taught by Robinett in order to
align the phase of the satellite and terrestrial RF signals so they can be combined.
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Robinett further discloses wherein the antenna switch combines RF signals (see Figure 3A, power combiner 350 combines the RF satellite and RF terrestrial signals from BPF 348 and 362, respectively (see Col. 9, lines 38-51)).
However, Robinett fails to disclose wherein the first phase shifter and the second phase shifter are configured to, when the second connection path and the fourth connection path are formed, change phases of the first amplified signal and second amplified signal, thereby resulting in substantially identical RF signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al. disclose a circuit wherein the first phase shifter and the second phase shifter are configured to, when the second connection path and the fourth connection path are formed, change phases of the first amplified signal and second amplified signal, thereby resulting in substantially identical RF signals (“the multiple phase shifters 538 may perform phase shift on the 5G Above6 RF signals received from the second network 594 through the corresponding antenna elements such that the signals are identical or substantially in phase” (see paragraph 0062)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the configuration of phase shifters disclosed by Lee et al. with the circuit taught by Robinett in order to align the phase of the satellite and terrestrial RF signals so the combined signals do not interfere with one another.
Conclusion
reached Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, RAFAEL PEREZ-GUTIERREZ can be reached at (571)272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER WU/
Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642