DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: 1) “preferred” should be removed. 2) EACH use of “first and second part” should be “each of the two parts”. 3) “the first part” and “the second part”. 4) “comprising of a” should recite “comprising a”. 5) “the first and second waist latch devices” should recite “a first and a second waist latch device”. 6) “the shopping cart seat” should recite “the seat of the shopping cart”. 7) “the seat” should recite “a seat”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: Capital letters should be removed e.g. “A”, “S”, “C”, “I” and “T”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: It recites “looped end crotch portion strap material” but should recite “a looped end crotch portion strap material”.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7 recites “of vehicle” but should recite “of the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitations "other said end" and “both first and second ends”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “a vehicle, specifically a shopping cart” at line 2. The use of “specifically” makes it unclear if a shopping cart is or is not a required limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Naurois (US PG PUB 2002/00158433) in view of Divoky (US 6,186,521).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, de Naurois discloses a child safety apparatus using the preferred method of transportation LATCH (Lower Anchors and Tethers for Children) system (Restraints are conventional in the art of shopping carts and carriers and include tethers and anchors to attach to the cart frame members) while in the seat of a shopping cart comprising: a waist portion of strap material (de Naurois, FIG 6) having two parts, with first and second part (de Naurois, FIG 6 is exemplary and teaches portions that selectively connect to restrain the rider) respectively attached through an adjustable slide buckle mechanism (Restraints are conventionally adjustable. Regarding making adjustable, see In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified de Naurois with a reasonable expectation of success in order to adjust for plural sized children).
-However, de Naurois fails to disclose the other said end (See 112b rejection above) extending through crotch portion loop strap.
-Nevertheless, Divoky discloses a cart crotch strap (50) in FIG 1.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified de Naurois to have torso/crotch securement as taught by Divoky with a reasonable expectation of success in order to
Prevent falling.
-Regarding the remaining limitations: both first and second ends (See 112b rejection above and the combination of de Naurois/Divoky show exemplary restraint connections which can include any known fasteners and connectors) respectively comprising of a LATCH hooked end snap clip (de Naurois, FIG 6 is exemplary and teaches portions that selectively connect to restrain the rider); and a crotch portion of strap material (Divoky, FIG 1, 50 is an exemplary strap/belt) having two parts (Each strap inherently has a first and a second end), with first and second part (112b rejection above) respectively attached through an adjustable slide buckle mechanism (Restraints are conventionally adjustable and belts are conventionally adjustable for different users. Regarding making adjustable, see In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified de Naurois with a reasonable expectation of success in order to adjust for different sized children); the first part opposite end comprising of a closed loop fixed to said waist portion of strap material (Loops are conventional to secure belt segments); the second part (See 112b rejection above) comprising of a LATCH hooked end snap clip (de Naurois paragraph [0011] discloses exemplary use of conventional clips and fasteners which can be employed on any cart structure) extended perpendicular (Orientation is a matter of design choice); and the LATCH system of fastening the first and second waist latch devices (de Naurois, FIG 6) being releasably securable to a wire portion (de Naurois, FIG 6) of the shopping cart seat to anchor the child within (de Naurois, FIG 6), and the crotch latch device (52) extended downward between the child's legs (Divoky, FIG 1) to be releasably securable to the lower middle wire portion of the shopping cart (de Naurois FIG 6 and Divoky FIG 1 are exemplary and can connect to any desired structure) to anchor a child within the shopping cart (Divoky, FIG 1).
[CLAIM 3] Regarding claim 3, de Naurois/Divoky disclose a method of enhancing the safety of a seated child comprising the steps of: identifying a child seated in a vehicle, specifically a shopping cart seat; and applying a child safety restraint apparatus upon the child's lap; and connecting the hooked end snap clips from waist portion of strap material according to claim 1 (de Naurois, FIG 1) to the closest portion of vehicle nearest child's hips: and connecting the hooked end snap clips from crotch portion of strap material according to claim 1 to the closest portion of vehicle between child's legs (User can adjust the straps as desired for the infant’s comfort. Regarding adjustable, restraints are conventionally adjustable. Regarding making adjustable, see In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954) Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified de Naurois with a reasonable expectation of success in order to adjust for plural sized children) and securing a proper fit by adjusting the strap materials from both waist and crotch portions by way of adjustable slide buckles respectively (User can adjust the straps as desired for the infant’s comfort. de Naurois/Divoky are exemplary and as modified can be sized for a particular child); wherein, a proper fit of anchoring a child in a shopping cart by means of tethers and anchors (de Naurois, FIG 1) , secured at the hips with the use of the same hooked end snap clips used for transportation safety in automobiles to provide comfort for all children riding in a shopping cart seat (de Naurois/Divoky are exemplary and as modified can be secured for any child) and fully adjustable (The adjustable rejection above is incorporated herein), with ease of portability to carry by caretakers, this child safety apparatus for shopping carts will enhance security of children by providing safety from falls out of shopping cart seats and lessens the possibility of passerby abductions (de Naurois/Divoky are exemplary and provide safety in any seating device such as a cart, stroller, et and prevent abduction and falling).
1. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Divoky (US 6,186,521).
[CLAIM 2] Regarding claim 2, Divoky discloses a child safety restraint apparatus which is portable, compact, and easy to care for comprising: a padded cover apparatus to encase the system of waist portion strap material extended through (Divoky, panels 32-34 in FIG 2 can be formed of any known materials including a material that provides padding which can be positioned as desired. Regarding material choice, see In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Divoky to have any desired material with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide comfort) and looped end crotch portion strap material extended downward through (Divoky FIG 2 illustrates a harness including crotch and body portions), comprising of fabric quilting sewn inside luxury fabric cover comprising; and a stain resistant, water resistant, odor resistant, antimicrobial treated textile fabric cover (Each of these treatments are conventional and can be selectively applied to a child harness and can include “luxury materials” which are sewn quilting).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3614B
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614