DETAILED ACTION
An effective filing date of 03/03/2023 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 26 are pending.
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1
Line 3; remove “for” after “allows”
Line 5; insert comma after “authoring interface” for claim clarity.
Claim 2
Line 3; remove “for” after “allows”
Claim 3
The claim is dependent claim of claim 1; therefore, it inherits issues of claim 1
Claim 4
Line 5; remove “identified”
Line 8; remove “displayed” and “identified”
Claims 5 – 7
The claims are dependents claim of claim 1 either directly or indirectly; therefore, they inherit issues of claim 1
Claim 8
Line 3; “the selected data” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9
The claim is dependent claim of claim 8; therefore, it inherits issues of claim 8
Claim 10
Line 1; remove “for” after “allows”
Claim 11
Line 4; “the selected data” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12
The claim is dependent claim of claim 11; therefore, it inherits issues of claim 11
Claim 13
Line 1; insert --the-- before “configuring”
Line 2; “the selected configuration property” lacks antecedent basis, and remove “the” before “particular”.
Claim 14
Line 1; change “The” to --A--
Line 4; remove “for” after “allows”
Line 7; insert comma after “authoring interface” for claim clarity.
Claim 15
Line 4; remove “for” after “allows”
Claim 16
The claim is dependent claim of claim 1; therefore, it inherits issues of claim 1
Claim 17
Line 5; remove “identified”
Line 7; remove “displayed”
Line 8; remove “identified”
Claims 18 – 20
The claims are dependents claim of claim 14 either directly or indirectly; therefore, they inherit issues of claim 14
Claim 21
Line 3; “the selected data” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 22
The claim is dependent claim of claim 21; therefore, it inherits issues of claim 21
Claim 23
Line 1; remove “for” after “allows”
Claim 24
Line 5; “the selected data” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 25
The claim is dependent claim of claim 24; therefore, it inherits issues of claim 24
Claim 26
Line 2; remove “the” before “particular”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 10 –19, and 23 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koste et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0147205 A1; hereinafter Koste; IDS dated 07/23/2024.)
Claim 1
Koste teaches a method for data presentation, the method comprising:
generating for display an interface authoring interface (Koste; Fig. 4; [0055] FIG. 4 illustrates an example method 400 of using a card builder tool set within a data visualization tool to create a data visualization…; Fig. 22 & [0092 – 0093] method for generating visualization data), wherein the interface authoring interface allows for selection of visualization configuration properties from a plurality of visualization libraries (Koste; Fig. 4; [0055 – 0060] … The card builder tool set may be presented to the user within a user interface generated by a data visualization tool, for example as seen in FIGS. 6-7.
In the embodiment shown, the method 400 includes displaying a user interface including a canvas and a builder menu (step 402) … Once a card creation command has been received, the all the data visualization tool may also receive a definition of a data set (configuration properties, visualization library) to be used in the card or dashboard (step 406). The data visualization tool may further receive a definition of a chart style (configuration properties, visualization library) (step 408), which represents the type of visualization that the user wishes to view for the selected data set.
In example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive a definition of one or more time periods (configuration properties, visualization library) upon which to perform analysis (step 410) …
In further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive definition of one or more sorting or filtering features (configuration properties) (step 412). The filtering features can be defined by the user to allow viewers of the card or dashboard to filter data based on the data included in one or more columns within that visualization …
In still further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive a definition of card access rights (configuration properties, visualization library) for a given card or dashboard (step 414) …; Figs. 6 – 16: different tools for designing and configure data visualization. And, see Fig. 23 & [0095 – 0096] tools for method in Fig. 22);
receiving, via the interface authoring interface a selection of a subset of visualization configuration properties from at least one visualization library of the plurality of visualization libraries (Koste; Fig. 4; [0055 – 0060] … The card builder tool set may be presented to the user within a user interface generated by a data visualization tool, for example as seen in FIGS. 6-7.
In the embodiment shown, the method 400 includes displaying a user interface including a canvas and a builder menu (step 402) … Once a card creation command has been received, the all the data visualization tool may also receive a definition of a data set (configuration properties) to be used in the card or dashboard (step 406). The data visualization tool may further receive a definition of a chart style (configuration properties) (step 408), which represents the type of visualization that the user wishes to view for the selected data set.
In example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive a definition of one or more time periods (configuration properties) upon which to perform analysis (step 410) …
In further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive definition of one or more sorting or filtering features (configuration properties) (step 412). The filtering features can be defined by the user to allow viewers of the card or dashboard to filter data based on the data included in one or more columns within that visualization …
In still further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive a definition of card access rights (configuration properties) for a given card or dashboard (step 414) …; Figs. 6 – 16: different tools for designing and configure data visualization. And, see Fig. 23 & [0095 – 0096] tools for method in Fig. 22), wherein the selection of the subset of visualization configuration properties comprises selection of at least one user-interface element that virtualizes executable code for enabling respective visualization configuration property (Koste; [0071 – 0072] As seen in FIG. 11, a selection window 1102 allows a user to select a specific type of calculated field to filter among the calculations that may be performed. In the example shown, a variety of function, condition, and aggregate calculations are illustrated as being available to be performed on particular data sources; in alternative embodiments, other types or categorizations of data fields may be provided as well.
In example embodiments, the available types of calculated fields can be implemented as code embedded within a particular card or dashboard that allow certain fields to be formed at the time the card is displayed. The code may embed calculations into the definition of the card or dashboard such that, at the time of display of the card or dashboard, each of the underlying data sources can be accessed and, embedded within the card, various data manipulations may be performed prior to display of data …), See picture below; and
configuring a visualization authoring interface based on the selection of the subset of visualization configuration properties received via the interface authoring interface, wherein the visualization authoring interface is configured using the executable code (Koste; Fig. 8; [0069] … The date selector 802 allows a user to define a date range for analysis, for example a prior day, prior week, prior month, prior quarter, or prior year. In the example shown the calendar selection toggle switch 804 is activated, and therefore the periods of time shown in the date selector represent dates that correspond to a fiscal calendar of the organization …
Figs. 10 – 11; [0070 – 0072] … In the example user interface 1000 as shown, a user may search for and select fields in previously-identified data sources in a field selection region 1002, and define one or more functions to be applied to those fields from a function selection region 1004 …
As seen in FIG. 11, a selection window 1102 allows a user to select a specific type of calculated field to filter among the calculations that may be performed …
In example embodiments, the available types of calculated fields can be implemented as code embedded within a particular card or dashboard that allow certain fields to be formed at the time the card is displayed …)
Claim 2
Koste also teaches
generating for display the visualization authoring interface, wherein the visualization authoring interface allows for: (a) selection of data for visualization; and (b) selection of a selected configuration property from a particular visualization library of the plurality of visualization libraries (Koste; Fig. 4; [0055 – 0060] … The card builder tool set may be presented to the user within a user interface generated by a data visualization tool, for example as seen in FIGS. 6-7.
In the embodiment shown, the method 400 includes displaying a user interface including a canvas and a builder menu (step 402) … Once a card creation command has been received, the all the data visualization tool may also receive a definition of a data set (configuration properties, visualization libraries) to be used in the card or dashboard (step 406). The data visualization tool may further receive a definition of a chart style (configuration properties, visualization libraries) (step 408), which represents the type of visualization that the user wishes to view for the selected data set.
In example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive a definition of one or more time periods (configuration properties, visualization libraries) upon which to perform analysis (step 410) …
In further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive definition of one or more sorting or filtering features (configuration properties, visualization libraries) (step 412) …
In still further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive a definition of card access rights (configuration properties) for a given card or dashboard (step 414) …; Figs. 6 – 16: different tools for designing and configure data visualization. And, see Fig. 23 & [0095 – 0096] tools for method in Fig. 22); and
generating for display, using the particular visualization library, a visualization for the selected data, wherein the visualization is formatted according to the selected configuration property (Koste; [0007] In a first aspect, a method includes displaying a user interface including a canvas and a card builder toolset, the card builder toolset including a plurality of selectable options, each of the plurality of selectable options responsive to user input to present a definition screen including one or more card definition parameter input fields … The method also includes rendering a card within the canvas in accordance with parameters defined by the user input, the card being included within a dashboard to be displayed to users.)
Claim 3
Koste also teaches the receiving further comprises receiving input of a keyword that identifies the selection of the subset of visualization configuration properties (Koste; [0070] FIGS. 10-11 illustrate an example user interface 1000 of a data visualization tool in which one or more calculated fields may be defined within a card or dashboard. Calculated fields, in accordance with the present disclosure, can correspond to fields which may be generated based on other fields already included in the card or dashboard or defined as being included in data sources. In the example user interface 1000 as shown, a user may search for and select fields (keyword) in previously-identified data sources in a field selection region 1002, and define one or more functions to be applied to those fields from a function selection region 1004…)
Claim 4
Koste also teaches
searching at least one of the plurality of visualization libraries to identify a suggested visualization configuration property from the at least one visualization library of the plurality of visualization libraries (Koste; [0070] FIGS. 10-11 illustrate an example user interface 1000 of a data visualization tool in which one or more calculated fields may be defined within a card or dashboard. Calculated fields, in accordance with the present disclosure, can correspond to fields which may be generated based on other fields already included in the card or dashboard or defined as being included in data sources. In the example user interface 1000 as shown, a user may search for and select fields (keyword) in previously-identified data sources in a field selection region 1002, and define one or more functions to be applied to those fields from a function selection region 1004…); and
generating for display a user interface element indicative of the identified suggested visualization configuration property (Koste; [0070] FIGS. 10-11 illustrate an example user interface 1000 of a data visualization tool in which one or more calculated fields may be defined within a card or dashboard. Calculated fields, in accordance with the present disclosure, can correspond to fields which may be generated based on other fields already included in the card or dashboard or defined as being included in data sources. In the example user interface 1000 as shown, a user may search for and select fields (keyword) in previously-identified data sources in a field selection region 1002, and define one or more functions to be applied to those fields from a function selection region 1004…);
wherein the receiving comprises receiving user interface interaction with the displayed user interface element indicative of the identified suggested visualization configuration property (Koste; [0070 – 0072] FIGS. 10-11 illustrate an example user interface 1000 of a data visualization tool in which one or more calculated fields may be defined within a card or dashboard. Calculated fields, in accordance with the present disclosure, can correspond to fields which may be generated based on other fields already included in the card or dashboard or defined as being included in data sources. In the example user interface 1000 as shown, a user may search for and select fields (keyword) in previously-identified data sources in a field selection region 1002, and define one or more functions to be applied to those fields from a function selection region 1004…
As seen in FIG. 11, a selection window 1102 allows a user to select a specific type of calculated field to filter among the calculations that may be performed. In the example shown, a variety of function, condition, and aggregate calculations are illustrated as being available to be performed on particular data sources; in alternative embodiments, other types or categorizations of data fields may be provided as well …)
Claim 5
Koste also teaches the subset of visualization configuration properties comprises less configuration properties than available from each of the plurality of visualization libraries (Koste; [0071] As seen in FIG. 11, a selection window 1102 allows a user to select a specific type of calculated field to filter among the calculations that may be performed. In the example shown, a variety of function, condition, and aggregate calculations are illustrated as being available to be performed on particular data sources …) selections “function, condition, & aggregate” in Fig. 11 are less than selections in Figs. 12, 13, 14, 15.
Claim 6
Koste also teaches the visualization authoring interface comprises the same type of configuration property from different visualization libraries (Koste; [0069] FIGS. 8-9 illustrate a user interface 800 of a data visualization tool in which a calendar-based time period may be defined for analysis of data within a dashboard … The date selector 802 allows a user to define a date range for analysis, for example a prior day, prior week, prior month, prior quarter, or prior year. In the example shown the calendar selection toggle switch 804 is activated, and therefore the periods of time shown in the date selector represent dates that correspond to a fiscal calendar of the organization …;
[0073] As illustrated in FIGS. 12-13, a further example user interface 1200 is shown which may be displayed upon selection of a filter option … In the example shown, the user interface 1200 allows a user to define one or more data filters that can be applied to data within a dashboard that is created or edited by the user, via a filter definition tool 1202 … The user interface 1300 presents a further filter addition screen 1302 that allows a user to name a filter, and define a dataset and column to be filtered based on the selected filter …); time period and filter == defining range of data for analysis [Wingdings font/0xE0] they are of same type of configuration property.
Claim 10
Koste also teaches the interface authoring interface allows for generation of a recipe for a particular data type, wherein the recipe defines a plurality of configuration properties from a particular visualization library of the plurality of visualization libraries (Koste; Fig. 4; [0058] In further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive definition of one or more sorting or filtering features (configuration properties) (step 412). The filtering features can be defined (generate, modify) by the user to allow viewers of the card or dashboard to filter data based on the data (particular data type) included in one or more columns within that visualization…
[0073 – 0075] As illustrated in FIGS. 12-13, a further example user interface 1200 is shown which may be displayed upon selection of a filter (recipe) option (e.g., viewer filter region 620) of a builder region 602, in the user interface 600 of FIG. 6. In the example shown, the user interface 1200 allows a user to define (generate, modify) one or more data filters (recipe) that can be applied to data (particular data type) within a dashboard that is created or edited by the user, via a filter definition tool 1202…)
Claim 11
Koste also teaches the visualization authoring interface comprises an option to select the recipe for the particular data type (Koste; Fig. 4; [0058] In further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive definition of one or more sorting or filtering (recipe) features (step 412). The filtering features can be defined (generate, modify) by the user to allow viewers of the card or dashboard to filter data based on the data (particular data type) included in one or more columns within that visualization…
[0073] … In the example shown, the user interface 1200 allows a user to define one or more data filters that can be applied to data (particular data type) within a dashboard that is created or edited by the user, via a filter definition tool 1202. As seen in FIG. 13, a further user interface 1300 can be displayed upon selecting (select) to add a filter within the user interface 1200. The user interface 1300 presents a further filter addition screen 1302 that allows a user to name a filter, and define a dataset and column to be filtered based on the selected filter. The filter may then be saved for use by other users who may elect (select) to view the card or dashboard.), and
in response to the selection of the recipe, generating for display, using the particular visualization library, a visualization for the selected data, wherein the visualization is formatted according to the plurality of configuration properties of the recipe (Koste; Fig. 4; [0058] In further example embodiments, the data visualization tool may receive definition of one or more sorting or filtering (recipe) features (step 412). The filtering features can be defined by the user to allow viewers of the card or dashboard to filter data based on the data included in one or more columns within that visualization…;
[0073 – 0075] … The filter may then be saved for use by other users who may elect (select filter) to view (display) the card or dashboard.
[0007 – 0009] … The method also includes rendering a card within the canvas in accordance with parameters defined by the user input, the card being included within a dashboard to be displayed to users…)
Claim 12
Koste also teaches the visualization authoring interface comprises an option to modify the recipe for the particular data type (Koste; Figs. 12 – 13, [0073] … In the example shown, the user interface 1200 allows a user to define (generate, modify) one or more data filters that can be applied to data within a dashboard that is created or edited by the user, via a filter definition tool 1202. As seen in FIG. 13, a further user interface 1300 can be displayed upon selecting to add (generate, modify) a filter within the user interface 1200. The user interface 1300 presents a further filter addition screen 1302 that allows a user to name a filter, and define a dataset and column to be filtered based on the selected filter…)
Claim 13
Koste also teaches querying the particular visualization library via a network (Koste; [0055] FIG. 4 illustrates an example method 400 of using a card builder tool set within a data visualization tool to create a data visualization, in accordance with an example embodiment. The card builder tool set may be presented to the user within a user interface generated by a data visualization tool …
Fig. 1; [0038 – 0040] … a computing system 100 is communicatively connected to a plurality of retail databases 12, as well as other user devices 14 … The retail databases 12, user devices 14, and computing system 100 may be communicatively connected via a network 16…
In the embodiment shown, the computing system 100 includes a processor 102 communicatively connected to a memory 104 …
In the embodiment shown, the memory 104 stores a data visualization tool 112 …; computing system 100 comprises data visualization tool 112 which includes visualization configuration properties. User 14 utilizes data visualization tool 112 to create data visualization.
Figs. 10 – 11; [0070 – 0072] … In the example user interface 1000 as shown, a user may search for and select fields in previously-identified data sources in a field selection region 1002, and define one or more functions to be applied to those fields from a function selection region 1004 …)
Claim 14
This is a system version of the rejected method version in claim 1; therefore, it is also rejected for the same reasons. Furthermore, Koste also teaches the system comprising control circuitry (Koste; Fig. 1; [0039 – 0040] In the embodiment shown, the computing system 100 includes a processor 102 communicatively connected to a memory 104 via an interface 106 … In the embodiment shown, the memory 104 stores a data visualization tool 112 …)
Claim 15
This limitation is already discussed in claim 2; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 16
This limitation is already discussed in claim 3; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 17
This limitation is already discussed in claim 4; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 18
This limitation is already discussed in claim 5; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 19
This limitation is already discussed in claim 6; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 23
This limitation is already discussed in claim 10; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 24
This limitation is already discussed in claim 11; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 25
This limitation is already discussed in claim 12; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 26
This limitation is already discussed in claim 13; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 – 9 and 21 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koste in view of Conrad et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0184781 A1; hereinafter Conrad.)
Claim 8
Koste does not explicitly teach generating for display via the visualization authoring interface a plurality of previews of visualizations for the selected data using each of the same type of configuration properties from each of the plurality of visualization libraries.
However, Conrad teaches generating for display via the visualization authoring interface a plurality of previews of visualizations for the selected data using each of the same type of configuration properties from each of the plurality of visualizationcombine sampled subsets of entries according to one or more join configurations to generate a set of preview data; and provide a graphical user interface that displays at least a portion of the set of preview data …) (Emphasis added.)
Koste and Conrad are in the same analogous art as they are in the same field of endeavor, managing and analyzing data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Conrad teachings into Koste invention to allow user to generate preview of dataset for user review as the preview data can be reused without requiring sampling process to be performed again as suggested by Conrad ([0043 – 0044].)
Claim 9
Conrad teaches the previews are generated for display simultaneously (Conrad; Fig. 3; [0163] Another aspect of the proposed reporting systems is the efficient generation of a report preview. For example, in some embodiments, computing system 310 can generate a report preview (e.g., in a graphical user interface) in a manner that shows in the report preview a set of preview data that is most representative of the full connected data report … combine sampled subsets of entries according to one or more join configurations (configuration properties) to generate a set of preview data; and provide a graphical user interface that displays at least a portion of the set of preview data …) Motivation for incorporating Conrad into Koste is the same as motivation in claim 8.
Claim 21
This limitation is already discussed in claim 8; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 22
This limitation is already discussed in claim 9; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CUONG V LUU/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192