DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“isokinetic resistance mechanism” (i.e., nonce term “mechanism” for isokinetic resistance in claim 1 to include a motor 40 as described in Applicant’s paras. [0030], [0040] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over by Habing et al. (US Pat. No. 5,435,798, July 25, 1995) (herein “Habing”).
Regarding claim 1, Habing teaches an exercise apparatus comprising: a motor-driven (see Fig. 1, motor 24), speed controlled isokinetic mechanism (see col. 5, lines 1-13, see Fig. 1 below) configured to move at a predetermined speed in a first direction (i.e., causing movement of a 22 via the motor 24 either clockwise or counterclockwise at a predetermined preset speed, see Fig. 1 below and col. 5, lines 1-13 and col. 4, lines 7-13, where the motor 24 may have a fixed speed or variable); a user engageable grip 12 coupled through a flexible element 14 and an associated force measuring device (i.e., sensor 38 which measures position, speed, and direction, see col. 4, lines 34-44) to said isokinetic mechanism whereby when said user applies a force with a speed greater than said predetermined speed, a resistive force is produced, and when said user applies a force with a speed less than said predetermined speed said resistive force is substantially zero (or reduced) (see col. 5, lines 1-13, where when “isokinetic exercise is desired and an increase in speed is detected during the exercise stroke more than the set speed, the amount of effective resistance may be increased to maintain a preset or computed speed. Conversely, if a decrease in speed is detected, the amount of effective resistance may be reduced until the appropriate speed is regained); and a programmable controller 34 (see col. 5, lines 7-8) configured to automatically vary said predetermined speed of the isokinetic resistive mechanism during a programmed use (i.e., speed of rotation of drum 22 which correlates to resistance, see col. 4, lines 1-61 and any resistance adjustment can be pro-programmed, see col. 6, lines 1-10) during use (including course adjustments made by the controller 34).
Regarding claim 2, Habing teaches wherein said speed is changed after each set of exercises (col. 6, lines 4-11, where adjustments to resistance may be pre-programed for successive sets of exercise repetitions, and resistance is directly correlated to speed at which motor 24 turns drum 22 via output shaft 28 and torque transmission device 26).
Regarding claim 3, Habing teaches wherein said speed is changed after each repetition of exercise (col. 6, lines 4-11, where adjustments to resistance may be pre-programed for successive sets of exercise repetitions, and resistance is directly correlated to speed at which motor 24 turns drum 22 via output shaft 28 and torque transmission device 26).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Habing teaches an electronically variable resistance that selection needs to be adjusted before each time the user desires to change speeds for exercise, whereas Applicant incorporates a force measuring device and programmable speed variation without weight assistance.
This is not persuasive because Habing explicitly teaches a sensor 38 (see col. 4, lines 34-44) that provides indications to a programmable controller 34 of the position, speed, and direction of cable/handle 12 and providing the indications to the controller 34 to precisely control an exercise stroke and resistance. The sensor 38 functions as a force sensor that sends the sensed indications to the controller 34 to effectuate the resistance throughout an exercise stroke, so that if increase in speed is detected during the stroke, the effective resistance may be increased to maintain a preset speed (see col. 5, lines 1-13) or permit course adjustments made by the controller 34 (see col. 6, lines 1-4).
Applicant argues that selection needs to be adjusted before each time the user desires to change speeds for exercise repetitions, but Habing teaches not only selection can be made before, but that isokinetic speed by the motor can be controlled during use (see col. 6, lines 1-4).
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, and the rejection of claims 1-3 over Habing are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784